Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 2010 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Importation of Clementines From Spain; Amendment to Inspection Provisions
Document Number: 2010-32770
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-12-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations governing the importation of clementines from Spain by removing from the regulations the number of clementines per consignment intended for export to the United States that are required to be sampled by inspectors of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS). In place of this number, we propose to state in the regulations that the number to be sampled will be determined by APHIS. By removing from the regulations the number of clementines per consignment from Spain to be sampled, APHIS would have the flexibility to respond to changing risk levels while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Asian Longhorned Beetle; Quarantined Area and Regulated Articles
Document Number: 2010-32768
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-12-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the Asian longhorned beetle regulations by adding a portion of Worcester County, MA, to the list of quarantined areas and restricting the interstate movement of regulated articles from that area. The interim rule also updated the list of regulated articles in order to reflect new information concerning host plants. The interim rule was necessary to prevent the artificial spread of Asian longhorned beetle to noninfested areas of the United States. As a result of the interim rule, the interstate movement of regulated articles from the quarantined area is restricted.
Hass Avocados From Mexico; Importation Into the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and Other Changes
Document Number: 2010-32589
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-12-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of fruits and vegetables to provide for the importation of Hass avocados from Mexico into Puerto Rico under the same systems approach currently required for the importation of Hass avocados into all States of the United States from Michoac[aacute]n, Mexico. The systems approach requirements include trapping, orchard certification, limited production area, trace back labeling, pre-harvest orchard surveys for all pests, orchard sanitation, post-harvest safeguards, fruit cutting and inspection at the packinghouse, port-of-arrival inspection, and clearance activities. This action will allow for the importation of Hass avocados from Michoac[aacute]n, Mexico, into Puerto Rico while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests. In addition, we are amending the regulations to provide for the Mexican national plant protection organization to use an approved designee to inspect avocados for export and to suspend importation of avocados into the United States from Michoac[aacute]n, Mexico, only from specific orchards or packinghouses when quarantine pests are detected, rather than suspending imports from the entire municipality where the affected orchards or packinghouses are located. These changes will provide additional flexibility in operating the export program while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Brucellosis Class Free States and Certified Brucellosis-Free Herds; Revisions to Testing and Certification Requirements
Document Number: 2010-32371
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-12-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the brucellosis regulations to reduce the amount of testing required to maintain Class Free status for States that have been Class Free for 5 or more years and have no Brucella abortus in wildlife. We are also removing the provision for automatic reclassification of any Class Free State or area to a lower status if two or more herds are found to have brucellosis within a 2-year period or if a single brucellosis-affected herd is not depopulated within 60 days. Further, we are reducing the age at which cattle are included in herd blood tests. We are also adding a requirement that any Class Free State or area with Brucella abortus in wildlife must develop and implement a brucellosis management plan approved by the Administrator in order to maintain Class Free status. Finally, we are providing an alternative testing protocol for maintaining the certified brucellosis- free status of dairy herds, which will give producers more flexibility for the herd certification process. These changes are necessary to refocus resources to control and prevent the spread of brucellosis and to protect and maintain the economic viability of the domestic livestock industry.
South American Cactus Moth Quarantine; Addition of the State of Louisiana
Document Number: 2010-32261
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-12-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the South American cactus moth regulations by adding the entire State of Louisiana to the list of quarantined areas. The interim rule restricted the interstate movement of regulated articles from areas in the State of Louisiana. This interim rule was necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the South American cactus moth to noninfested areas of the United States.
Plum Pox Virus; Update of Quarantined Areas
Document Number: 2010-32260
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-12-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the plum pox virus (PPV) regulations by adding portions of Niagara, Orleans, and Wayne Counties, NY, to the list of quarantined areas and restricting the interstate movement of regulated articles from these quarantined areas. We are also amending the regulations by removing the townships of Latimore and Huntington in Adams County, PA, from the list of quarantined areas. These actions are necessary to prevent the spread of PPV from the quarantined areas of New York to uninfected areas of the United States and to relieve restrictions in Pennsylvania that are no longer necessary.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Customer/Stakeholder Satisfaction Surveys for the National Animal Health Monitoring System and the National Veterinary Services Laboratories
Document Number: 2010-31705
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-12-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request extension of approval of an information collection to conduct surveys of customer/stakeholder satisfaction for both the National Animal Health Monitoring System and the National Veterinary Services Laboratories.
Gypsy Moth Generally Infested Areas; Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Ohio, and Virginia
Document Number: 2010-31460
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-12-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, with several changes, an interim rule that amended the regulations to add areas in Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Ohio, and Virginia to the list of generally infested areas based on the detection of infestations of gypsy moth in those areas. This document corrects errors in the listing of generally infested areas in Maine in the interim rule. The interim rule was necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the gypsy moth to noninfested areas of the United States.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Rambutan Fruit (Nephelium lappaceum) From Malaysia and Vietnam
Document Number: 2010-31461
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-12-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation into the continental United States of fresh rambutan fruit (Nephelium lappaceum) from Malaysia and Vietnam. Based on this analysis, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh rambutan fruit from Malaysia and Vietnam. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Revision and Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Equines Into the United States
Document Number: 2010-30643
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-12-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to revise an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of equines and to request extension of approval of the information collection to safeguard the health of the U.S. equine population.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Update of Nursery Stock Regulations
Document Number: 2010-30211
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-12-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of nursery stock into the United States.
APHIS User Fee Web Site
Document Number: 2010-30208
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-12-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service charges user fees, as authorized by law, to recover the costs of providing certain services. This notice announces the availability of a Web site that contains information about the Agency's user fees.
Importation of Wood Packaging Material From Canada
Document Number: 2010-30206
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-12-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations for the importation of unmanufactured wood articles to remove the exemption that allows wood packaging material from Canada to enter the United States without first meeting the treatment and marking requirements of the regulations that apply to wood packaging material from all other countries. This action is necessary in order to prevent the dissemination and spread of pests via wood packaging material from Canada.
Notice of Decision To Issue Permits for the Importation of Wall Rocket Leaves From the United Kingdom Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-29500
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-11-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin issuing permits for the importation into the continental United States of wall rocket leaves from the United Kingdom. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of wall rocket leaves from the United Kingdom.
Karnal Bunt; Regulated Areas in Arizona, California, and Texas
Document Number: C1-2010-28347
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-11-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Notice of Revision and Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Johne's Disease
Document Number: 2010-29254
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-11-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to revise an information collection associated with the interstate movement of animals affected with Johne's disease and to request extension of approval of the information collection to protect the U.S. animal population.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; South American Cactus Moth; Quarantine and Regulations
Document Number: 2010-29251
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-11-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the interstate movement of regulated articles to prevent the spread of South American cactus moth.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan; Reestablishment
Document Number: 2010-29104
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-11-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture has reestablished the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan (Committee) for a 2-year period. The Secretary of Agriculture has determined that the Committee is necessary and in the public interest.
Changes in Disease Status of the Brazilian State of Santa Catarina With Regard to Certain Ruminant and Swine Diseases
Document Number: 2010-28976
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-11-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of certain animals and animal products by adding the Brazilian State of Santa Catarina to the list of regions we recognize as free of foot-and- mouth disease (FMD), rinderpest, swine vesicular disease, classical swine fever, and African swine fever. We are also adding Santa Catarina to the list of regions that are subject to certain import restrictions on meat and meat products because of their proximity to or trading relationships with rinderpest- or FMD-affected countries. These actions will update the disease status of Santa Catarina with regard to FMD, rinderpest, swine vesicular disease, classical swine fever, and African swine fever while continuing to protect the United States from an introduction of those diseases by providing additional requirements for live swine, pork meat, pork products, live ruminants, ruminant meat, and ruminant products imported into the United States from Santa Catarina.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for a Biological Control Agent for Arundo donax
Document Number: 2010-28471
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-11-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to the control of Arundo donax (giant reed, Carrizo cane). The environmental assessment considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the release of Arundo scale into the continental United States for use as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of Arundo donax infestations. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Determination of the High Pathogenic Avian Influenza Subtype H5N1 Status of Czech Republic and Sweden
Document Number: 2010-28351
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-11-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination regarding the highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI) subtype H5N1 status of the Czech Republic and Sweden, following outbreaks of HPAI in Sweden during 2006 and in the Czech Republic during 2007. Based on an evaluation of the animal health status of the Czech Republic and Sweden, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, the Administrator has determined that the importation of live birds, poultry carcasses, parts or products of poultry carcasses, and eggs (other than hatching eggs) of poultry, game birds, and other birds from the Czech Republic and Sweden presents a low risk of introducing HPAI H5N1 into the United States.
Karnal Bunt; Regulated Areas in Arizona, California, and Texas
Document Number: 2010-28347
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-11-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Karnal bunt regulations to make changes to the list of areas or fields regulated because of Karnal bunt, a fungal disease of wheat. We are adding the Buckeye/Pretoria area of Maricopa County, AZ, to the list of regulated areas. We are also removing Throckmorton and Young Counties, TX, portions of Riverside County, CA, and certain areas in La Paz, Maricopa, and Pinal Counties, AZ, from the list of regulated areas based on our determination that those fields or areas meet our criteria for release from regulation. These actions are necessary to prevent the spread of Karnal bunt to noninfected areas of the United States and to relieve restrictions on certain areas that are no longer necessary.
Update of Noxious Weed Regulations
Document Number: 2010-28346
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-11-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation and interstate movement of noxious weeds by adding definitions of terms used in the regulations, adding details regarding the process of applying for the permits used to import or move noxious weeds, adding a requirement for the treatment of niger seed, and adding provisions for petitioning to add a taxon to or remove a taxon from the noxious weed lists. These changes will update the regulations to reflect current statutory authority and program operations and improve the effectiveness of the regulations. We are also adding seven taxa to the list of terrestrial noxious weeds and to the list of seeds with no tolerances applicable to their introduction. This action will prevent the introduction or dissemination of these noxious weeds into or within the United States.
Forage Genetics International; Supplemental Request for Partial Deregulation of Roundup Ready Alfalfa
Document Number: 2010-27985
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-11-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Inspection Service has received a supplemental request for ``partial deregulation'' from Forage Genetics International for the planting, harvesting, and movement interstate of Roundup Ready[reg] alfalfa under measures designed to ensure any risks posed by cultivation are mitigated. This notice seeks to inform interested or affected persons of the availability of the documents submitted to the Agency from Forage Genetics International requesting a ``partial deregulation.''
Monsanto Company and KWS SAAT AG; Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Supplemental Request for Partial Deregulation of Sugar Beets Genetically Engineered To Be Tolerant to the Herbicide Glyphosate
Document Number: 2010-27970
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-11-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has prepared a draft environmental assessment as part of its decisionmaking process to address a supplemental request for partial deregulation of sugar beets genetically engineered (GE) for tolerance to the herbicide glyphosate, or for similar administrative action to authorize the continued cultivation of the GE sugar beets subject to carefully tailored interim measures proposed by APHIS. This environmental assessment will be available for public comment for 30 days. Comments received by the end of the 30-day period will be analyzed and used to inform APHIS' decision on whether to grant the supplemental request for ``partial deregulation'' of the GE sugar beets or to grant some similar administrative action to authorize the continued cultivation of the GE sugar beets subject to carefully tailored interim measures proposed by APHIS.
Importation of Mexican Hass Avocados; Additional Shipping Options
Document Number: 2010-27426
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-10-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations for the importation of Hass avocados originating in Michoac[aacute]n, Mexico, into the United States by adding the option to ship avocados to the United States in bulk shipping bins when safeguarding is maintained from the packinghouse to the port of first arrival in the United States and by making it clear that the avocados may be shipped by land, sea, or air. We are also amending the regulations to allow avocados from multiple packinghouses that participate in the avocado export program to be combined into one consignment. We are taking these actions in response to requests from the Government of Mexico and inquiries from a U.S. maritime port. These actions will allow additional options for shipping Hass avocados from Mexico to the United States and allow Mexican exporters to ship full container or truck loads from multiple packinghouses while continuing to provide an appropriate level of protection against the introduction of plant pests.
Lacey Act Implementation Plan; Definitions for Exempt and Regulated Articles
Document Number: 2010-27425
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-10-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that would establish definitions for the terms ``common cultivar'' and ``common food crop.'' This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Change in Disease Status of Japan Because of Foot-and-Mouth Disease
Document Number: 2010-26849
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of certain animals, meat, and other animal products by removing Japan from the list of regions considered to be free of foot-and-mouth disease (FMD) and also from the list of FMD-free regions that are subject to certain import restrictions on meat and meat products because of their proximity to or trading relationships with FMD- or rinderpest-affected countries. We are taking this action because the existence of FMD has been confirmed in Japan. This action restricts the importation of ruminants and swine and the fresh meat and other animal products of ruminants and swine from that country and is necessary to prevent the introduction of FMD into the United States.
Removal of Varietal Restrictions on Apples From Japan
Document Number: 2010-26750
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-10-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations that allow the importation of Fuji variety apples from Japan to allow all varieties of Malus domestica apples into the United States under the same conditions as those for Fuji variety apples. We have determined that the risk associated with allowing other varieties of M. domestica apples from Japan into the United States is the same as that posed by Fuji variety apples. This rule allows all varieties of M. domestica apples from Japan to be imported into the United States while continuing to protect against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Beef From Uruguay
Document Number: 2010-26749
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-10-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of beef from Uruguay.
Draft Guidelines on Pharmacovigilance of Veterinary Medicinal Products: Electronic Standards for Transfer of Data
Document Number: 2010-26748
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-10-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The International Cooperation on Harmonization of Technical Requirements for the Registration of Veterinary Medicinal Products (VICH) has developed a draft guideline titled ``Pharmacovigilance of Veterinary Medicinal Products: Electronic Standards for Transfer of Data.'' This draft guideline provides information concerning the development of a single electronic message to transmit adverse event reports concerning veterinary biologics between regulatory authorities in the European Union, Japan, and the United States and marketing authorization holders (veterinary biologics licensees and permittees) in those regions. Because the draft guideline applies to pharmacovigilance and adverse event reporting on veterinary vaccines regulated by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service under the Virus-Serum-Toxin Act, we are requesting comments on the scope of the guideline and its provisions so that we may include any relevant public input on the draft in the Agency's comments to the VICH Steering Committee.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for a Biological Control Agent for Hawkweeds
Document Number: 2010-26467
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-10-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to the control of hawkweeds (Hieracium spp.). The environmental assessment considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the release of the hawkweed gall wasp, Aulacidea subterminalis, into the continental United States as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of infestations of hawkweeds. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Importation of Fresh Unshu Oranges From the Republic of Korea Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-25570
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-10-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations concerning the importation of citrus fruit to remove certain restrictions on the importation of Unshu oranges from the Republic of Korea that are no longer necessary. Specifically, we are removing requirements for the fruit to be grown in specified canker-free export areas and for joint inspection in the groves and packinghouses by the Government of the Republic of Korea and the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. We are also amending the regulations to clarify that surface sterilization of the fruit must be conducted in accordance with 7 CFR part 305 and to expand the area in the continental United States where Unshu oranges from the Republic of Korea may be distributed. Finally, we are requiring that each shipment be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate containing an additional declaration stating that the fruit was given the required surface sterilization and inspected and found free of Elsinoe australis. These changes will make the regulations concerning the importation of Unshu oranges from the Republic of Korea consistent with our domestic regulations concerning the interstate movement of citrus fruit from areas quarantined because of citrus canker.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Strawberries From Jordan
Document Number: 2010-25569
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-10-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation into the continental United States of fresh strawberries from Jordan. Based on this analysis, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh strawberries from Jordan. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Importation of Shepherd's Purse With Roots From the Republic of Korea Into the United States
Document Number: 2010-25556
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-10-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations concerning the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of fresh shepherd's purse with roots from the Republic of Korea into the United States under a combination of mitigations to reduce the risk of introducing plant pests. As a condition of entry, the shepherd's purse would have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that would include requirements for importation of commercial consignments, pest-free place of production, removal of soil, and inspection for quarantine pests by the national plant protection organization of the Republic of Korea. The shepherd's purse would also have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that it was grown, packed, and inspected and found to be free of pests in accordance with the proposed requirements. This action would allow the importation of fresh shepherd's purse with roots from the Republic of Korea while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Bees and Related Articles
Document Number: 2010-25388
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-10-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of bees and related articles.
Monsanto Company and KWS SAAT AG; Supplemental Request for Partial Deregulation of Roundup Ready Sugar Beet
Document Number: 2010-25387
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-10-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a supplemental request for ``partial deregulation'' or similar administrative action from the Monsanto Company and KWS SAAT AG for the planting, harvesting, and interstate movement of Roundup Ready[supreg] sugar beets under measures designed to ensure any risks posed by cultivation are mitigated. This notice is to inform the public of the availability of the documents submitted to the Agency from Monsanto Company and KWS SAAT AG requesting a ``partial deregulation.''
Notice of Availability of Biotechnology Quality Management System Audit Standard and Evaluation of Comments
Document Number: 2010-24995
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-10-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has developed an audit standard for its biotechnology compliance assistance program. The audit standard, which was made available in draft form for comment in an earlier notice, will be used by participating regulated entities to develop and implement sound management practices, thus enhancing compliance with the regulatory requirements for field trials and movement of genetically engineered organisms in 7 CFR part 340. We are also making available a document containing our evaluation of the comments we received on the draft audit standard.
Interstate Movement of Garbage From Hawaii; Withdrawal of Finding of No Significant Impact
Document Number: 2010-24817
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-10-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
On May 27, 2010, we advised the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service prepared an environmental assessment and a finding of no significant impact relative to a request to allow the interstate movement of municipal solid waste from Hawaii to a landfill in the State of Washington. Because we have been made aware of additional information that was not previously provided and we have an interest in examining that information to determine the potential impacts, we are withdrawing the finding of no significant impact effective immediately in order to reevaluate the potential for environmental impacts that may be associated with this action.
Tuberculosis in Cattle and Bison; State and Zone Designations; Minnesota
Document Number: 2010-24667
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-10-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the bovine tuberculosis regulations regarding State and zone classifications by reclassifying the two zones in Minnesota. We have determined that the zone consisting of an area in the northwest corner of the State meets the criteria for designation as a modified accredited advanced zone, and the zone comprising the remainder of the State meets the criteria for designation as an accredited-free zone. This action relieves certain restrictions on the interstate movement of cattle and bison from Minnesota.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Lacey Act Declaration Requirement; Plants and Plant Products
Document Number: 2010-24351
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-09-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection required by the Lacey Act for the importation of certain plants and plant products.
National Veterinary Accreditation Program; Currently Accredited Veterinarians Performing Accredited Duties and Electing to Participate
Document Number: 2010-24294
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-09-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are announcing to the public that veterinarians who are currently accredited in the National Veterinary Accreditation Program (NVAP) may continue to perform accredited duties and to elect to continue to participate in the NVAP until further notice. The regulations indicate that currently accredited veterinarians must elect to continue their participation in the NVAP in order to maintain their accredited status, after which we will confirm their continued participation and notify them of their first renewal date. Various logistical obstacles have prevented us from processing in a timely manner the elections to participate that we have received. Allowing currently accredited veterinarians to continue to perform accredited duties and to elect to participate will ensure that we obtain an accurate and complete record of accredited veterinarian participation while continuing to allow veterinarians to provide accredited services to the public.
Importation of Wooden Handicrafts from China
Document Number: 2010-23817
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing a change related to our proposed rule published in the Federal Register on April 9, 2009, that would amend the regulations to provide for the importation of wooden handicrafts from China under certain conditions. One of those conditions would have required that, unless the handicrafts are under 6 inches in diameter and treated with methyl bromide, they must be treated with heat treatment or heat treatment with moisture reduction that raises the temperature at the center of the handicraft to at least 71.1 [deg]C and maintains the handicraft at that center temperature for at least 75 minutes. Based on a recently published article, in this supplemental proposed rule we are proposing measures that would modify this requirement to a temperature at the center of at least 60 [deg]C for a duration of at least 60 minutes.
National Veterinary Accreditation Program; Correcting Amendment
Document Number: 2010-23671
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-09-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule that was published in the Federal Register on December 9, 2009 (74 FR 64998-65013, Docket No. APHIS-2006-0093), and effective on February 1, 2010, we amended the National Veterinary Accreditation Program regulations, adding new provisions and reorganizing others. In that final rule, we redesignated the section containing the standards for performing accredited veterinarian duties, but we neglected to update citations of that section elsewhere in 9 CFR chapter I. This document corrects those errors.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Veterinary Services Laboratories; Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy Surveillance Program Documents
Document Number: 2010-23670
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-09-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of an information collection associated with National Veterinary Services Laboratories diagnostic support for the bovine spongiform encephalopathy surveillance program.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Small-Scale Livestock Operations 2011 Study
Document Number: 2010-23668
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-09-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to initiate an information collection to support the National Animal Health Monitoring System Small-Scale Livestock Operations 2011 Study.
National Poultry Improvement Plan and Auxiliary Provisions
Document Number: 2010-23248
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-09-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the National Poultry Improvement Plan (the Plan) and its auxiliary provisions by providing new or modified sampling and testing procedures for Plan participants and participating flocks. The proposed changes were voted on and approved by the voting delegates at the Plan's 2008 National Plan Conference. These changes would keep the provisions of the Plan current with changes in the poultry industry and provide for the use of new sampling and testing procedures.
Removal of the List of Ports of Embarkation and Export Inspection Facilities from the Regulations
Document Number: 2010-23245
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-09-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the live animal export regulations by removing the list of designated ports of embarkation and their associated export inspection facilities. As a result of this rulemaking, those ports and facilities would henceforth be listed on the Internet rather than in the regulations, thus enabling us to amend the list, when necessary, in a timelier manner than we can now and allowing us greater flexibility in regulating animal exports.
Notice of Decision To Issue Permits for the Importation of Sweet Limes From Mexico Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-23238
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-09-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin issuing permits for the importation into the continental United States of sweet limes from Mexico. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of sweet limes from Mexico.
Live Goats and Swine for Export; Removal of Certain Testing Requirements
Document Number: 2010-23235
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-09-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the livestock exportation regulations to eliminate the requirement for pre-export tuberculosis and brucellosis testing of goats and breeding swine intended for export to countries that do not require such tests. This action would facilitate the exportation of goats and breeding swine by eliminating the need to conduct pre-export tuberculosis and brucellosis testing when the receiving country does not require such testing.