Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service April 2010 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Importation of Papayas From Colombia and Ecuador
Document Number: 2010-9779
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-04-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow, under certain conditions, the importation of commercial shipments of fresh papayas from Colombia and Ecuador into the continental United States. The conditions for the importation of papayas from Colombia and Ecuador include requirements for field sanitation, hot water treatment, and fruit fly trapping in papaya production areas. This action allows for the importation of papayas from Colombia and Ecuador while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of injurious plant pests into the continental United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Communicable Diseases in Horses
Document Number: C1-2010-9054
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-04-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Viruses, Serums, Toxins, and Analogous Products and Patent Term Restoration; Nonsubstantive Amendments
Document Number: 2010-9072
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-04-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Virus-Serum-Toxin Act regulations
Syngenta Biotechnology, Inc.; Determination of Nonregulated Status for Corn Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2010-9198
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-04-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a corn line developed by Syngenta Biotechnology, Inc., designated as transformation event MIR162, which has been genetically engineered for insect resistance, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by Syngenta Biotechnology, Inc., in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of other scientific data, and our response to comments received from the public on the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination of nonregulated status and finding of no significant impact.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Communicable Diseases in Horses
Document Number: 2010-9054
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-04-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the interstate movement of horses that have tested positive for equine infectious anemia.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Plum Pox Compensation
Document Number: 2010-9053
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-04-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations that provide for the payment of compensation to owners of commercial stone fruit orchards and fruit tree nurseries whose trees or nursery stock were destroyed to eradicate plum pox virus.
Changes in Disease Status of the Brazilian State of Santa Catarina with Regard to Certain Ruminant and Swine Diseases
Document Number: 2010-8765
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-04-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations governing the importation of certain animals and animal products by adding the Brazilian State of Santa Catarina to the list of regions we recognize as free of foot-and-mouth disease, rinderpest, swine vesicular disease, classical swine fever, and African swine fever. We are proposing this action at the request of the Government of Brazil and after conducting a risk evaluation that concludes that the Brazilian State of Santa Catarina is free of these diseases. This proposed action would relieve certain restrictions on the importation into the United States of live swine, swine semen, pork meat, pork products, live ruminants, ruminant semen, ruminant meat, and ruminant products from Santa Catarina while continuing to protect against the introduction of these diseases into the United States.
Citrus Seed Imports; Citrus Greening and Citrus Variegated Chlorosis
Document Number: 2010-7736
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-04-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of nursery stock to prohibit the importation of propagative seed of several Rutaceae (citrus family) genera from certain countries where citrus greening or citrus variegated chlorosis (CVC) is present. We are also requiring propagative seed of these genera imported from all other countries to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration that neither citrus greening nor CVC are known to occur in the country where the seed was produced. Scientific evidence indicates that seed of certain genera of the family Rutaceae may be a pathway for the introduction of those diseases. This action is necessary in order to prevent the introduction or dissemination of citrus greening and CVC into or within the United States.
Notice of Availability of an Evaluation of the Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza Status of Czech Republic and Sweden
Document Number: 2010-7734
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-04-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an evaluation of the animal health status of the Czech Republic and Sweden relative to the H5N1 subtype of highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). The evaluation presents our assessment of the HPAI H5N1 detection, control, and eradication measures in place in the Czech Republic and Sweden following the outbreaks of HPAI in Sweden during 2006, and in the Czech Republic during 2007, as well as our assessment of the present status of the Czech Republic and Sweden with respect to HPAI H5N1. We are making this evaluation available to the public for review and comment. If, after the close of the comment period, we can identify no additional risk factors that would indicate that domestic poultry in the Czech Republic and Sweden continue to be affected with HPAI H5N1, we will remove those regions from our list of regions affected with HPAI H5N1.