Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service November 2010 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Notice of Decision To Issue Permits for the Importation of Wall Rocket Leaves From the United Kingdom Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-29500
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-11-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin issuing permits for the importation into the continental United States of wall rocket leaves from the United Kingdom. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of wall rocket leaves from the United Kingdom.
Karnal Bunt; Regulated Areas in Arizona, California, and Texas
Document Number: C1-2010-28347
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-11-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Notice of Revision and Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Johne's Disease
Document Number: 2010-29254
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-11-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to revise an information collection associated with the interstate movement of animals affected with Johne's disease and to request extension of approval of the information collection to protect the U.S. animal population.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; South American Cactus Moth; Quarantine and Regulations
Document Number: 2010-29251
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-11-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the interstate movement of regulated articles to prevent the spread of South American cactus moth.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan; Reestablishment
Document Number: 2010-29104
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-11-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture has reestablished the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan (Committee) for a 2-year period. The Secretary of Agriculture has determined that the Committee is necessary and in the public interest.
Changes in Disease Status of the Brazilian State of Santa Catarina With Regard to Certain Ruminant and Swine Diseases
Document Number: 2010-28976
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-11-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of certain animals and animal products by adding the Brazilian State of Santa Catarina to the list of regions we recognize as free of foot-and- mouth disease (FMD), rinderpest, swine vesicular disease, classical swine fever, and African swine fever. We are also adding Santa Catarina to the list of regions that are subject to certain import restrictions on meat and meat products because of their proximity to or trading relationships with rinderpest- or FMD-affected countries. These actions will update the disease status of Santa Catarina with regard to FMD, rinderpest, swine vesicular disease, classical swine fever, and African swine fever while continuing to protect the United States from an introduction of those diseases by providing additional requirements for live swine, pork meat, pork products, live ruminants, ruminant meat, and ruminant products imported into the United States from Santa Catarina.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for a Biological Control Agent for Arundo donax
Document Number: 2010-28471
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-11-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to the control of Arundo donax (giant reed, Carrizo cane). The environmental assessment considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the release of Arundo scale into the continental United States for use as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of Arundo donax infestations. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Determination of the High Pathogenic Avian Influenza Subtype H5N1 Status of Czech Republic and Sweden
Document Number: 2010-28351
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-11-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination regarding the highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI) subtype H5N1 status of the Czech Republic and Sweden, following outbreaks of HPAI in Sweden during 2006 and in the Czech Republic during 2007. Based on an evaluation of the animal health status of the Czech Republic and Sweden, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, the Administrator has determined that the importation of live birds, poultry carcasses, parts or products of poultry carcasses, and eggs (other than hatching eggs) of poultry, game birds, and other birds from the Czech Republic and Sweden presents a low risk of introducing HPAI H5N1 into the United States.
Karnal Bunt; Regulated Areas in Arizona, California, and Texas
Document Number: 2010-28347
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-11-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Karnal bunt regulations to make changes to the list of areas or fields regulated because of Karnal bunt, a fungal disease of wheat. We are adding the Buckeye/Pretoria area of Maricopa County, AZ, to the list of regulated areas. We are also removing Throckmorton and Young Counties, TX, portions of Riverside County, CA, and certain areas in La Paz, Maricopa, and Pinal Counties, AZ, from the list of regulated areas based on our determination that those fields or areas meet our criteria for release from regulation. These actions are necessary to prevent the spread of Karnal bunt to noninfected areas of the United States and to relieve restrictions on certain areas that are no longer necessary.
Update of Noxious Weed Regulations
Document Number: 2010-28346
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-11-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation and interstate movement of noxious weeds by adding definitions of terms used in the regulations, adding details regarding the process of applying for the permits used to import or move noxious weeds, adding a requirement for the treatment of niger seed, and adding provisions for petitioning to add a taxon to or remove a taxon from the noxious weed lists. These changes will update the regulations to reflect current statutory authority and program operations and improve the effectiveness of the regulations. We are also adding seven taxa to the list of terrestrial noxious weeds and to the list of seeds with no tolerances applicable to their introduction. This action will prevent the introduction or dissemination of these noxious weeds into or within the United States.
Forage Genetics International; Supplemental Request for Partial Deregulation of Roundup Ready Alfalfa
Document Number: 2010-27985
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-11-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Inspection Service has received a supplemental request for ``partial deregulation'' from Forage Genetics International for the planting, harvesting, and movement interstate of Roundup Ready[reg] alfalfa under measures designed to ensure any risks posed by cultivation are mitigated. This notice seeks to inform interested or affected persons of the availability of the documents submitted to the Agency from Forage Genetics International requesting a ``partial deregulation.''
Monsanto Company and KWS SAAT AG; Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Supplemental Request for Partial Deregulation of Sugar Beets Genetically Engineered To Be Tolerant to the Herbicide Glyphosate
Document Number: 2010-27970
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-11-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has prepared a draft environmental assessment as part of its decisionmaking process to address a supplemental request for partial deregulation of sugar beets genetically engineered (GE) for tolerance to the herbicide glyphosate, or for similar administrative action to authorize the continued cultivation of the GE sugar beets subject to carefully tailored interim measures proposed by APHIS. This environmental assessment will be available for public comment for 30 days. Comments received by the end of the 30-day period will be analyzed and used to inform APHIS' decision on whether to grant the supplemental request for ``partial deregulation'' of the GE sugar beets or to grant some similar administrative action to authorize the continued cultivation of the GE sugar beets subject to carefully tailored interim measures proposed by APHIS.