Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 2010 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 51 - 100 of 160
Viruses, Serums, Toxins, and Analogous Products; Expiration Date Required for Serials and Subserials and Determination of Expiration Date of Product
Document Number: 2010-23186
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-09-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the Virus-Serum-Toxin Act regulations concerning expiration dating to clarify that the expiration date of a serial or subserial of a veterinary biologic should be computed from the date of the initiation of the first potency test. We also propose to require the expiration dating period (stability) of a product to be confirmed by conducting a real-time stability study with a stability-indicating assay; require stability monitoring of products after licensing; and specify a single standard for determining the expiration date for veterinary biologics in place of the current standard that specifies different procedures for products contingent upon whether they consist of viable or nonviable organisms. These amendments would update and clarify the regulations concerning expiration dating and establish a single uniform standard for determining the stability of veterinary biological products. This proposed rule replaces a previously published proposed rule, which we are withdrawing as part of this document.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing Foot-and-Mouth Disease Vaccine, Live Adenovirus Vector
Document Number: 2010-22365
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-09-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment (EA) concerning authorization to ship for the purpose of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed foot-and-mouth disease vaccine, live adenovirus vector. The EA, which is based on a risk analysis prepared to assess the risks associated with the field testing of this vaccine, examines the potential effects that field testing this veterinary vaccine could have on the quality of the human environment. Based on the risk analysis, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment, and that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared. We intend to authorize shipment of this vaccine for field testing following the close of the comment period for this notice unless new substantial issues bearing on the effects of this action are brought to our attention. We also intend to issue a U.S. Veterinary Biological Product license for this vaccine, provided the field test data support the conclusions of the EA and the issuance of a finding of no significant impact and the product meets all other requirements for licensing.
Pale Cyst Nematode; Update of Quarantined Areas
Document Number: 2010-22364
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-09-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have made changes to the area in the State of Idaho that is quarantined to prevent the spread of pale cyst nematode. The description of the quarantined area was updated on April 26, 2010. As a result of these changes, 209 acres have been removed from the quarantined area.
Black Stem Rust; Additions of Rust-Resistant Varieties
Document Number: 2010-22363
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-09-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the black stem rust quarantine and regulations by adding four varieties to the list of rust-resistant Berberis species or cultivars in the regulations. This action will allow for the interstate movement of these newly developed varieties without unnecessary restrictions.
Notice of Decision To Issue Permits for the Importation of Fresh Mango Fruit From Pakistan Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-21568
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-08-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin issuing permits for the importation into the continental United States of fresh mango fruit from Pakistan. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh mango fruit from Pakistan.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; National Management Information System
Document Number: 2010-21459
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-08-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with cooperative wildlife damage management programs.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Animals and Poultry, Animal and Poultry Products, Certain Animal Embryos, Semen, and Zoological Animals
Document Number: 2010-21458
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-08-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request extension of approval of an information collection associated with the importation of animals and poultry, animal and poultry products, and animal germplasm.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Sheep 2011 Study
Document Number: 2010-21455
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-08-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to initiate an information collection to support the National Animal Health Monitoring System Sheep 2011 Study.
Fiscal Year 2011 Veterinary Import/Export Services, Veterinary Diagnostic Services, and Export Certification for Plants and Plant Products User Fees
Document Number: 2010-21293
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-08-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This notice pertains to user fees charged for import- and export-related services that we provide for animals, animal products, birds, germ plasm, organisms, and vectors; for certain veterinary diagnostic services; and for export certification of plants and plant products. The purpose of this notice is to remind the public of the user fees for fiscal year 2011 (October 1, 2010, through September 30, 2011).
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Dairy Heifer Raiser 2010 Study
Document Number: 2010-21292
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-08-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to initiate an information collection to support the National Animal Health Monitoring System Dairy Heifer Raiser 2010 Study.
Notice of Availability of Pest Risk Analyses for the Importation of Fresh Celery, Arugula, and Spinach From Colombia
Document Number: 2010-21136
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-08-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared three pest risk analyses that evaluate, respectively, the risks associated with the importation into the continental United States of fresh celery, arugula, and spinach from Colombia. Based on these analyses, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh celery, arugula, and spinach from Colombia. We are making these pest risk analyses available to the public for review and comment.
Cold Treatment Regulations
Document Number: 2010-21134
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-08-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, with changes, an interim rule that amended the phytosanitary treatment regulations for cold treatment enclosures and procedures, including regulations for precooling temperatures and temperature recording devices. The interim rule as amended by this document requires articles destined for cold treatment to be precooled at or below the highest temperature listed in the prescribed treatment schedule rather than at the intended treatment temperature. The amended interim rule also requires entities performing cold treatment to use measures approved by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service as adequate to ensure the security and integrity of cold treatment temperature data rather than requiring password- protected and tamperproof temperature recording devices specifically. These actions relieve certain requirements that we have determined are not necessary while continuing to ensure the effectiveness of cold treatment and prevent the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Notice of Availability of a Treatment Evaluation Document
Document Number: 2010-21131
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-08-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that it is necessary to revise a treatment schedule in the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual and to retain the current treatment schedule with a different treatment number. We have prepared a treatment evaluation document that discusses the existing treatment schedule, describes the new treatment schedule, and explains why these change are necessary. We are making the treatment evaluation document available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for Interstate Movement of Guavas From Hawaii Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-21129
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-08-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the interstate movement into the continental United States of fresh guava fruit from Hawaii. Based on that analysis, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the interstate movement of guavas from Hawaii. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Privacy Act System of Records; National Animal Health Laboratory Network (NAHLN)
Document Number: 2010-20360
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-08-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) proposes to add a new Privacy Act system of records to its inventory of records systems subject to the Privacy Act of 1974, as amended, and invites public comment on this new records system. The system of records being proposed is the National Animal Health Laboratory Network. This notice is necessary to meet the requirements of the Privacy Act to publish in the Federal Register notice of the existence and character of record systems maintained by the agency. Although the Privacy Act requires only that the portion of the system that describes ``routine uses'' of the system be published for comment, USDA invites comment on all portions of this notice.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Veterinary Services; Customer Service Survey
Document Number: 2010-19693
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-08-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request extension of approval of an information collection to evaluate service delivery by Veterinary Services to the public.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Credit Account Approval for Reimbursable Services
Document Number: 2010-19692
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-08-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with credit account approval for reimbursable services.
Notice of Request for Revision and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Live Swine, Pork, and Pork Products from Certain Regions Free of Classical Swine Fever in Chile and Mexico
Document Number: 2010-19689
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-08-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to revise an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of live swine, pork, and pork products from certain regions free of classical swine fever in Chile and Mexico and to request extension of approval of the information collection.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; U.S. Origin Health Certificate
Document Number: 2010-19685
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-08-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request extension of approval of an information collection associated with the export of animals and animal products from the United States.
Animal Traceability; Public Meetings
Document Number: 2010-19565
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-08-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This is a notice to inform the public of upcoming meetings in Madison, WI, Atlanta, GA, and Pasco, WA, to provide an opportunity for stakeholders to offer their input on the new framework being developed for animal disease traceability. The meetings are being organized by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service.
Changes to Treatments for Sweet Cherries from Australia and Irradiation Dose for Mediterranean Fruit Fly
Document Number: 2010-19135
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-08-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are adding new approved phytosanitary treatment schedules to the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual for sweet cherries imported from Australia into the United States. We are also adding to the treatment manual a new approved irradiation dose for Mediterranean fruit fly of 100 gray. These new treatments will continue to prevent the introduction or interstate movement of quarantine pests in the United States.
Lacey Act Implementation Plan; Definitions for Exempt and Regulated Articles
Document Number: 2010-19098
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-08-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In response to recent amendments to the Lacey Act, we are proposing to establish definitions for the terms ``common cultivar'' and ``common food crop.'' The amendments to the Act expanded its protections to a broader range of plant species, extended its reach to encompass products, including timber, that derive from illegally harvested plants, and require that importers submit a declaration at the time of importation for certain plants and plant products. Common cultivars and common food crops are among the categorical exemptions to the provisions of the Act. The Act does not define the terms ``common cultivar'' and ``common food crop'' but instead gives authority to the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the U.S. Department of the Interior to define these terms by regulation. Our proposed definitions would specify which plants and plant products will be subject to the provisions of the Act, including the declaration requirement.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Emerald Ash Borer; Host Material from Canada
Document Number: 2010-18989
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-08-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of certain articles from Canada to prevent the introduction and spread of emerald ash borer in the United States.
Black Stem Rust; Additions of Rust-Resistant Varieties
Document Number: 2010-18756
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-07-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
On May 25, 2010, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service published a direct final rule. (See 75 FR 29191-29193.) The direct final rule notified the public of our intention to amend the black stem rust quarantine and regulations by adding 21 varieties to the list of rust-resistant Berberis species or cultivars and 2 varieties to the list of rust-resistant Mahonia species or cultivars in the regulations. We did not receive any written adverse comments or written notice of intent to submit adverse comments in response to the direct final rule.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Phytophthora Ramorum; Quarantine and Regulations
Document Number: 2010-18755
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-07-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the interstate movement of regulated articles to prevent the spread of Phytophthora ramorum.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Certificate for Poultry and Hatching Eggs for Export
Document Number: 2010-18750
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-07-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the export of poultry and poultry hatching eggs from the United States.
Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002; Biennial Review and Republication of the Select Agent and Toxin List; Reorganization of the Select Agent and Toxin List
Document Number: 2010-18581
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-07-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002, we are soliciting public comment regarding the list of select agents and toxins that have the potential to pose a severe threat to animal or plant health, or to animal or plant products. The Act requires the biennial review and republication of the list of select agents and toxins and the revision of the list as necessary. Accordingly, we are soliciting public comment on the current list of select agents and toxins in our regulations and suggestions regarding any addition or reduction of the animal or plant pathogens currently on the list of select agents. In addition, we are soliciting public comment on the potential reorganization of the list of select agents and toxins based on the relative potential of each select agent or toxin to be misused to adversely affect human, plant or animal health. Such tiering of the list could allow for the application of different security measures for those select agents or toxins which pose a higher risk to animal or plant health if they were to be stolen or otherwise misused.
Solicitation of Letters of Interest to Participate in Biotechnology Quality Management System Program
Document Number: 2010-17526
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-07-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) is soliciting letters of interest to participate in the APHIS Biotechnology Quality Management System Program. The Biotechnology Quality Management System Program is a voluntary compliance assistance program designed to help regulated entities develop and implement sound management practices, thus enhancing compliance with the regulatory requirements for field trials and movement of genetically engineered organisms in 7 CFR part 340.
South American Cactus Moth Regulations; Quarantined Areas
Document Number: 2010-17276
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-07-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the South American cactus moth regulations by adding the State of Louisiana to the list of areas quarantined because of South American cactus moth. As a result of this action, the interstate movement of regulated articles from Louisiana is restricted. This action is necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the South American cactus moth from infested areas in the State of Louisiana into noninfested areas of the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Interstate Movement of Fruit from Hawaii
Document Number: 2010-17271
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-07-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the interstate movement of certain fruit from Hawaii to help ensure that plant pests are not spread to the continental United States.
Viruses, Serums, Toxins, and Analogous Products and Patent Term Restoration; Nonsubstantive Amendments
Document Number: 2010-17076
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-07-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
On April 21, 2010, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service published a direct final rule. (See 75 FR 20771-20773.) The direct final rule notified the public of our intention to amend the Virus-Serum-Toxin Act regulations concerning veterinary biological
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for Importation of Wall Rocket Leaves from the United Kingdom into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-16709
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-07-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis with respect to perennial wall rocket leaves grown in the United Kingdom. The analysis evaluates the risks associated with the importation into the continental United States of fresh leaves of perennial wall rocket. Based on that analysis, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of wall rocket leaves from the United Kingdom. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Revision and Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Animal Disease Traceability; Tribal Nations Using Systems for Location Identification
Document Number: 2010-15731
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to revise an information collection for Tribal Nations using systems for location identification for the animal disease traceability framework and to request extension of approval of the information collection.
Determination of Pest-Free Areas in Mendoza Province, Argentina; Request for Comments
Document Number: 2010-15455
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have received a request from the Government of Argentina to recognize additional areas as pest- free areas for Mediterranean fruit fly (Ceratitis capitata) in Argentina. After reviewing the documentation submitted in support of this request, the Administrator of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that these areas meet the criteria in our regulations for recognition as pest-free areas. We are making that determination, as well as an evaluation document we have prepared in connection with this action, available for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Unshu Oranges
Document Number: 2010-15454
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of Unshu oranges from Kyushu Island, Honshu Island, and Shikoku Island, Japan.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Blood and Tissue Collection at Slaughtering and Rendering Establishments
Document Number: 2010-15301
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for blood and tissue collection at slaughtering and rendering establishments to enhance animal disease surveillance.
Notice of Decision to Issue Permits for the Importation of Fresh False Coriander From Panama Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-14791
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin issuing permits for the importation into the continental United States of fresh false coriander from Panama. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh false coriander from Panama.
Secretary’s Advisory Committee on Animal Health; Notice of Solicitation for Membership
Document Number: 2010-14660
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary has established the Advisory Committee on Animal Health for a 2-year period. The Secretary is soliciting nominations for membership for this Committee.
Secretary’s Advisory Committee on Animal Health
Document Number: 2010-14659
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture intends to establish the Secretary's Advisory Committee on Animal Health for a 2-year period. The Secretary of Agriculture has determined that the Committee is necessary and in the public interest.
Asian Longhorned Beetle; Quarantined Area and Regulated Articles
Document Number: 2010-14658
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Asian longhorned beetle regulations by adding a portion of Worcester County, MA, to the list of quarantined areas and restricting the interstate movement of regulated articles from that area. We are also updating the list of regulated articles in order to reflect new information concerning host plants. These actions are necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the Asian longhorned beetle to noninfested areas of the United States.
Notice of Revision and Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Citrus Canker; Interstate Movement of Regulated Nursery Stock and Fruit from Quarantined Areas
Document Number: 2010-14657
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to revise an information collection associated with regulations for the interstate movement of regulated nursery stock and fruit from quarantined areas to prevent the spread of citrus canker and to request an extension of approval of the information collection.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Clementines, Mandarins, and Tangerines from Chile
Document Number: 2010-14655
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of clementines, mandarins, and tangerines from Chile to prevent the introduction of plant pests.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Mango Fruit From Pakistan Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-14650
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation of fresh mango fruit from Pakistan into the continental United States. Based on that analysis, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the pest risk. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Citrus Greening and Asian Citrus Psyllid; Quarantine and Interstate Movement Regulations
Document Number: 2010-14495
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are quarantining the States of Florida and Georgia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, two parishes in Louisiana, and two counties in South Carolina due to the presence of citrus greening and quarantining Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Louisiana, Mississippi, Puerto Rico, Texas, the U.S. Virgin Islands, three counties in South Carolina, portions of one county in Arizona, and all of three and portions of an additional three counties in California due to the presence of Asian citrus psyllid, a vector of the bacterial pathogen that causes citrus greening. This action follows the discovery of these pests in the respective quarantined areas. We are also establishing restrictions on the interstate movement of regulated articles from the quarantined areas. This action is necessary on an emergency basis in order to prevent the spread of the disease and its vector to noninfested areas of the United States.
Animal Traceability; Public Meetings
Document Number: 2010-14245
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This is a notice to inform the public of upcoming meetings in Salt Lake City, UT, and Fort Worth, TX, to provide an opportunity for stakeholders to offer their input on the new framework being developed for animal disease traceability. The meetings are being organized by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. Additional meetings are currently being planned and will be announced in a future notice.
Notice of Revision and Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Swine Health
Document Number: 2010-14244
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to revise an information collection associated with regulations to prevent the interstate spread of swine diseases and protect swine health and to request extension of approval of the information collection
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Sweet Limes From Mexico Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-13934
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation of sweet limes from Mexico into the continental United States. Based on that analysis, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the pest risk. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Determination of Pest-Free Areas in the Republic of Chile
Document Number: 2010-13933
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are recognizing an additional area of the Republic of Chile as a pest-free area for Ceratitis capitata, Mediterranean fruit fly (Medfly). Based on our site visit to the area and our review of the documentation submitted by the Republic of Chile, which we made available to the public review and comment through a previous notice, the Administrator has determined that the area meets the criteria in our regulations for recognition as a pest-free area for Medfly.
Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.; Determination of Nonregulated Status for Genetically Engineered High-oleic Soybeans
Document Number: 2010-13722
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a soybean
Importation of Fresh Unshu Oranges from the Republic of Korea into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-13718
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-06-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations concerning the