Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 1 - 50 of 2,644
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Horse Protection Regulations; Correction
Document Number: 2022-06489
Type: Notice
Date: 2022-03-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) is correcting a notice that was published in the Federal Register on March 8, 2022. The notice announced APHIS' intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the Horse Protection Program and enforcement of the Horse Protection Act. We provided an invalid telephone number for one of the contacts listed under FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT. This notice provides the correct telephone number.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; National Management Information System
Document Number: 2022-06487
Type: Notice
Date: 2022-03-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the national management information system for cooperative wildlife damage management programs.
BASF Corporation; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Plant-Parasitic, Nematode-Protected and Herbicide-Tolerant Soybean
Document Number: 2022-05444
Type: Notice
Date: 2022-03-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that soybean designated as event GMB151, which has been developed using genetic engineering for resistance to the plant-parasitic nematode, soybean cyst nematode (Heterodera glycines), and for tolerance to 4- hydroxyphenylpyruvate dioxygenase (HPPD-4) inhibitor herbicides, is no longer considered regulated. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by BASF Corporation in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and public comments received in response to our previous notices announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated draft environmental assessment and draft plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our final environmental assessment, final plant pest risk assessment, written determination, and finding of no significant impact.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Horse Protection Regulations
Document Number: 2022-04791
Type: Notice
Date: 2022-03-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the Horse Protection Program and enforcement of the Horse Protection Act.
Classify the State of Sonora, Mexico, as Level I for Brucellosis
Document Number: 2022-04720
Type: Notice
Date: 2022-03-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to classify the State of Sonora, Mexico as Level I for brucellosis. This recognition is based on an evaluation we prepared in connection with this action, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Control of African Swine Fever; Restrictions on the Movement of Swine Products and Swine Byproducts From Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands
Document Number: 2022-04207
Type: Notice
Date: 2022-03-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with control of African swine fever and restrictions on the movement of swine products and swine byproducts from Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.
Standards for Birds Not Bred for Use in Research Under the Animal Welfare Act
Document Number: 2022-03565
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2022-02-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations to establish standards governing the humane handling, care, treatment, and transportation of birds, excluding birds bred for use in research, covered under the Animal Welfare Act. This action would ensure the humane handling, care, treatment, and transportation of birds not bred for use in research and covered under the Act.
Importation of Acer spp. (Acer buergerianum, A. palmatum, and A. pseudosieboldianum) Dwarf Plants From the Republic of Korea Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2022-01903
Type: Notice
Date: 2022-01-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis relative to the importation of three Acer spp. (Acer buergerianum, A. palmatum, and A. pseudosieboldianum) dwarf plants from the Republic of Korea into the continental United States. Currently, Acer spp. are included in our lists of taxa of plants for planting whose importation into the United States is not authorized pending pest risk analysis. Based on the findings of the pest risk analysis, we are proposing to remove Acer buergerianum, A. palmatum, and A. pseudosieboldianum dwarf plants from the Republic of Korea from the not authorized pending plant risk analysis lists, thereby allowing the importation of such Acer spp. into the United States, subject to certain conditions. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Decision To Revise the Requirements for the Importation of Plums (Prunus domestica) From Chile Into the United States
Document Number: 2022-01388
Type: Notice
Date: 2022-01-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to revise the requirements relative to the importation into the United States of plums from Chile. Based on the findings of a commodity import evaluation document, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we have determined that, in addition to the existing option of irradiation, plums from Chile may safely be imported under a systems approach for mitigation of the risk posed by European grapevine moth, with an additional option for fumigation with methyl bromide.
Determination of the Newcastle Disease Status of the Cantons of Neuchâtel and Ticino of Switzerland
Document Number: 2022-01010
Type: Notice
Date: 2022-01-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are reinstating the animal health status of the Cantons of Neuch[acirc]tel and Ticino in Switzerland as free of Newcastle disease. This recognition is based on an assessment we prepared and made available for public review and comment.
Importation of Sheep, Goats, and Certain Other Ruminants; Correction
Document Number: 2021-28413
Type: Rule
Date: 2022-01-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service recently issued a final rule that was published in the Federal Register on December 3, 2021. The rule amended the regulations governing the importation of animals and animal products to revise conditions for the importation of live sheep, goats, and certain other non-bovine ruminants, and products derived from sheep and goats, with regard to transmissible spongiform encephalopathies such as bovine spongiform encephalopathy and scrapie. The final rule improperly worded an amendatory instruction that resulted in the unintentional duplication of a sentence and left an obsolete section number in the regulations for the location of the requirements for the importation of sheep and goats from Canada for immediate slaughter. This document corrects that inadvertent error and amends the regulations with the proper wording.
Addition of the Dominican Republic to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2021-28054
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-12-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added the Dominican Republic to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in the Dominican Republic.
Classify Canada as Level I for Bovine Tuberculosis and Brucellosis
Document Number: 2021-28057
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-12-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to classify Canada as Level I for both bovine tuberculosis and brucellosis. This recognition is based on evaluations we prepared in connection with this action, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice.
Importation of Pummelo From Vietnam Into the United States
Document Number: 2021-27928
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-12-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh pummelo fruit from Vietnam into the United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh pummelo fruit from Vietnam. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Cooperative State-Federal Brucellosis Eradication Program
Document Number: 2021-28018
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-12-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the Cooperative State-Federal Brucellosis Eradication Program.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Release of Lophodiplosis indentata for Biological Control of Melaleuca quinquenervia (Myrtaceae) in the Contiguous United States
Document Number: 2021-27254
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-12-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment (EA) relative to permitting the release of Lophodiplosis indentata (Diptera: Cecidomyiidae) for the biological control of Melaleuca quinquenervia (Myrtaceae) in the contiguous United States. Based on the EA and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that the release of this control agent within the contiguous United States will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the EA available to the public for review and comment.
Horse Protection; Licensing of Designated Qualified Persons and Other Amendments
Document Number: 2021-26849
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2021-12-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are withdrawing a proposed rule that would have amended the horse protection regulations with respect to several program practices. We are taking this action to withdraw the proposed rule so that we may reevaluate these program practices based on the findings of research conducted after its publication.
Privacy Act of 1974; System of Records
Document Number: 2021-26684
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-12-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 and Office of Management and Budget Circular No. A-108, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) give notice that a component agency, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) proposes to modify an existing system of records notice titled Emergency Management Response System (EMRS), USDA/APHIS-11. This system, among other things, helps APHIS to manage and investigate incidents of foreign animal diseases within the United States.
Importation of Sheep, Goats, and Certain Other Ruminants
Document Number: 2021-26302
Type: Rule
Date: 2021-12-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of animals and animal products to revise conditions for the importation of live sheep, goats, and certain other non-bovine ruminants, and products derived from sheep and goats, with regard to transmissible spongiform encephalopathies such as bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) and scrapie. We are removing BSE-related import restrictions on sheep and goats and most of their products, and adding import restrictions related to transmissible spongiform encephalopathies for certain wild, zoological, or other non-bovine ruminant species. The conditions we are adopting for the importation of specified commodities are based on internationally accepted scientific literature and will generally align our regulations with guidelines established in the World Organization for Animal Health's Terrestrial Animal Health Code.
Handling of Animals; Contingency Plans
Document Number: 2021-26174
Type: Rule
Date: 2021-12-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service issued a final rule on December 31, 2012, to establish regulations under which research facilities and dealers, exhibitors, intermediate handlers, and carriers must meet certain requirements for contingency planning and training of personnel. Implementation of the final rule was stayed on July 31, 2013, so that the agency could conduct additional review to further consider the impact of contingency plan requirements on regulated entities. Since that time, we have conducted such a review, and the 2021 Congressional Appropriations Act has required us to propose to lift the stay. We are therefore lifting the stay and making minor revisions to the requirements in order to update compliance dates and clarify intent. The lifting of the stay and proposed revisions will better ensure that entities responsible for animals regulated under the Animal Welfare Act are prepared to safeguard the health and welfare of such animals in the event of possible emergencies or disasters.
Privacy Act of 1974; System of Records
Document Number: 2021-25859
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-11-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 and Office of Management and Budget Circular No. A-108, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) gives notice that a component agency, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS), proposes to modify an existing system of records notice titled LabWare Laboratory Information Management System (LabWare LIMS), USDA/APHIS-19. Among other changes, the system will be renamed National Veterinary Services Laboratories' Laboratory Information Management System (NVSL-LIMS), USDA/APHIS-19. NVSL-LIMS is a laboratory information system that tracks and saves test results on animal diagnostic samples received at the National Veterinary Services Laboratories.
Import Regulations for Horses
Document Number: 2021-25613
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2021-11-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations for the importation of equines. These changes include increasing the number of days horses exported from regions free from contagious equine metritis (CEM) are allowed to spend in a CEM-affected region and re-enter the United States without testing from 60 days to 90 days; requiring an import permit for horses transiting through CEM-affected regions; adding requirements for health certifications to ensure health certifications properly attest to the health of the imported horse; removing the requirement that horses permanently imported from Canada undergo inspection at the port of entry; requiring that horses transiting Central America or the West Indies comply with the same regulations that apply to horses directly imported from these regions; and adding requirements for shipping containers used in transporting horses. We are also proposing a number of miscellaneous changes to the regulations such as clarifications of existing policy or intent, and corrections of inconsistencies or outdated information. Many of these proposed changes would better align our regulations with international standards and allow us and the equine industry more flexibility. The proposed changes would also add further safeguards that protect against introducing or disseminating pests or diseases of livestock into the United States.
AWA Research Facility Registration Updates, Reviews, and Reports
Document Number: 2021-25614
Type: Rule
Date: 2021-11-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) regulations governing facilities that conduct research, experimentation, teaching, and testing by removing duplicative and unnecessary reviews and requests for information. We are removing the requirement that registered research facilities update their registration information every 3 years because the information is already collected by other means. We are also removing a redundant requirement for the Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee at each facility to conduct a continuing review of research activities involving animals and instead requiring a complete resubmission and review of such activities at least every 3 years. We will also no longer require that research facilities request an inactive status if they no longer use, handle, or transport AWA covered animals. In addition, we are clarifying the duration of a registration and conditions for its cancellation and will no longer require that the Institutional Official or Chief Executive Officer sign the annual report. We are also making miscellaneous changes to improve readability. These changes will reduce duplicative requirements and administrative burden on facilities while continuing to ensure the integrity and credibility of research findings and the protection of research animals.
Addition of the Kingdom of Bhutan to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2021-25611
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-11-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added the Kingdom of Bhutan to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in the Kingdom of Bhutan.
Addition of Malaysia to the List of Regions Considered Affected With African Horse Sickness
Document Number: 2021-25588
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-11-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Malaysia to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African horse sickness (AHS). We have taken this action because of confirmation of AHS in Malaysia.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Permanent, Privately Owned Horse Quarantine Facilities
Document Number: 2021-25586
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-11-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for permanent, privately owned horse quarantine facilities.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Standards for Privately Owned Quarantine Facilities for Ruminants
Document Number: 2021-25565
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-11-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for privately owned quarantine facilities for ruminants.
Notice of Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Mango Fruit From Colombia Into the United States
Document Number: 2021-25361
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-11-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation into the United States of fresh mango fruit from Colombia. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh mango fruit from Colombia.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Agriculture Organisms and Vectors; Import and Transport Permits
Document Number: 2021-24925
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-11-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for safe importation and transport of organisms and vectors.
Notification of Decision To Authorize the Importation of Pummelo From Thailand Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2021-24490
Type: Rule
Date: 2021-11-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation into the continental United States of fresh pummelo fruit from Thailand. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh pummelo fruit from Thailand.
Notice of Decision To Revise Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Melon Fruit From Japan Into the United States
Document Number: 2021-24342
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-11-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public of our decision to revise requirements for the importation of fresh melon fruit with stems from Japan into the United States. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh melon fruit with stems from Japan into the entire United States.
Notice of Proposed Revision to Requirements for the Importation of Plums From Chile Into the United States
Document Number: 2021-23904
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-11-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a commodity import evaluation document (CIED) relative to the importation into the United States of plums from Chile. Chile plums are currently subject to irradiation, either in Chile or in the United States, as a mitigation for European grapevine moth (EGVM). Based on the findings of the CIED, in addition to the option of irradiation, we are also proposing to authorize the importation of plums from Chile under a systems approach for EGVM, as well as an option for fumigation with methyl bromide. We are making the CIED available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Turmeric (Curcuma longa) Rhizome From Samoa Into the United States (Including Territories)
Document Number: 2021-23358
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-10-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh turmeric (Curcuma longa) rhizome from Samoa into the United States (including territories). Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of turmeric (Curcuma longa) rhizome from Samoa. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Addition of the Republic of Mali to the List of Regions Affected With Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza
Document Number: 2021-22773
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-10-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we added the Republic of Mali to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected by highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). These actions follow our imposition of HPAI-related restrictions on avian commodities originating from or transiting the Republic of Mali, as a result of the confirmation of HPAI in the Republic of Mali.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Animal Disease Traceability
Document Number: 2021-22768
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-10-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with animal disease traceability.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Leaves and Stems of Garland Chrysanthemum (Glebionis coronarium) From Mexico Into the Continental United States, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands
Document Number: 2021-22692
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-10-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh leaves and stems of garland chrysanthemum (Glebionis coronarium) from Mexico into the continental United States, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh leaves and stems of garland chrysanthemum (Glebionis coronarium) from Mexico. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Citrus Canker, Citrus Greening, and Asian Citrus Psyllid; Quarantine and Interstate Movement Regulations
Document Number: 2021-21794
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-10-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations to prevent the spread of citrus canker, citrus greening, and citrus greening's vector, the Asian citrus psyllid, to noninfested areas of United States.
Elimination of the Voluntary Trichinae Certification Program
Document Number: 2021-20634
Type: Rule
Date: 2021-09-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations to eliminate the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) Voluntary Trichinae Certification Program and remove the regulations associated with the program. This action also notifies the public that APHIS will no longer maintain any activity associated with the program, such as training for qualified accredited veterinarians, on-farm audits, or any other administrative process associated with program maintenance and support. We are eliminating the program because it generates little producer participation. This action allows APHIS to direct APHIS resources to areas of greater need.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Pale Cyst Nematode
Document Number: 2021-20197
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-09-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the interstate movement of regulated articles to prevent the spread of pale cyst nematode to noninfested areas of the United States.
Notification of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Mango (Mangifera indica L.) Fruit From Grenada Into the United States
Document Number: 2021-19497
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-09-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation of fresh mango fruit from Grenada into the United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh mango fruit from Grenada. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; African Swine Fever; Importation of Live Dogs for Resale From Regions Where African Swine Fever Exists or Is Reasonably Believed To Exist
Document Number: 2021-18920
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-09-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the importation of live dogs for resale from regions where African swine fever exists or is reasonably believed to exist.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Control and Eradication of African Swine Fever; Conditions for Payment of Indemnity Claims
Document Number: 2021-18919
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-09-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection associated with the payment of indemnity claims related to African swine fever.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Qualitative Feedback on Agency Service Delivery
Document Number: 2021-18795
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-09-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with qualitative customer and stakeholder feedback on service delivery by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service.
Concurrence With OIE Risk Designations for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
Document Number: 2021-18788
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-08-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to concur with the World Organization for Animal Health's (OIE) bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk designations for Ecuador and Serbia. The OIE recognizes Ecuador as being of controlled risk for BSE and Serbia as being of negligible risk for BSE. We are taking this action based on our review of information supporting the OIE's risk designations for these regions.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Foreign Quarantine Notices
Document Number: 2021-18645
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-08-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations to prevent the introduction or spread of foreign plant pests and diseases into or within the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Contract Pilot and Aircraft Acceptance
Document Number: 2021-18602
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-08-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's (APHIS') intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the use of contract pilots and aircraft in APHIS' Plant Protection and Quarantine domestic, emergency, and biological control programs.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Special Need Requests Under the Plant Protection Act
Document Number: 2021-18599
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-08-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the intention of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations to allow States to impose prohibitions or restrictions on specific articles in addition to those required by APHIS to help protect against the introduction and establishment of plant pests.
Decision To Revise the Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Citrus Fruit From Australia Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2021-17709
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-08-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to revise the requirements for the importation of citrus from Australia in order to authorize the importation into the continental United States of citrus from additional areas of production. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of citrus from these additional authorized areas of production in Australia.
BASF Corporation; Availability of a Draft Plant Pest Risk Assessment and Draft Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Plant-Parasitic Nematode-Protected and Herbicide Tolerant Soybean
Document Number: 2021-17558
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-08-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a draft plant pest risk assessment and draft environmental assessment regarding a request from BASF Corporation seeking a determination of nonregulated status for soybean event GMB151, which has been developed using genetic engineering for resistance to the plant-parasitic nematode, soybean cyst nematode (Heterodera glycines), and for tolerance to 4-hydroxyphenylpyruvate dioxygenase (HPPD-4) inhibitor herbicides. We are making these documents available for public review and comment.
Definitions of the European Union and the United Kingdom
Document Number: 2021-16900
Type: Rule
Date: 2021-08-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the animal and animal product import regulations in order to reflect the exit of the United Kingdom (UK) from the European Union (EU). The revised regulations will treat as separate entities Great Britain (England, Scotland, and Wales) (GB) and Northern Ireland in various lists and definitions. We are also announcing that, for an interim period, during which the UK will transition to and implement their new animal health laws and policies, the current Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service import conditions for animals and animal products from the UK will continue to apply to imports from GB. In addition, we are announcing that because of Northern Ireland's stated intent to continue to follow EU animal health regulations and policies, we intend to consider the animal health statuses of Northern Ireland to be the same animal health statuses of equivalent EU Member States, wherever appropriate. We are also updating our definition of the EU, where necessary, to include Croatia. Lastly, we are further amending the regulations to update the names of staff offices and websites, and we are making other minor changes.