Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service October 2010 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Importation of Mexican Hass Avocados; Additional Shipping Options
Document Number: 2010-27426
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-10-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations for the importation of Hass avocados originating in Michoac[aacute]n, Mexico, into the United States by adding the option to ship avocados to the United States in bulk shipping bins when safeguarding is maintained from the packinghouse to the port of first arrival in the United States and by making it clear that the avocados may be shipped by land, sea, or air. We are also amending the regulations to allow avocados from multiple packinghouses that participate in the avocado export program to be combined into one consignment. We are taking these actions in response to requests from the Government of Mexico and inquiries from a U.S. maritime port. These actions will allow additional options for shipping Hass avocados from Mexico to the United States and allow Mexican exporters to ship full container or truck loads from multiple packinghouses while continuing to provide an appropriate level of protection against the introduction of plant pests.
Lacey Act Implementation Plan; Definitions for Exempt and Regulated Articles
Document Number: 2010-27425
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-10-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that would establish definitions for the terms ``common cultivar'' and ``common food crop.'' This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Change in Disease Status of Japan Because of Foot-and-Mouth Disease
Document Number: 2010-26849
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of certain animals, meat, and other animal products by removing Japan from the list of regions considered to be free of foot-and-mouth disease (FMD) and also from the list of FMD-free regions that are subject to certain import restrictions on meat and meat products because of their proximity to or trading relationships with FMD- or rinderpest-affected countries. We are taking this action because the existence of FMD has been confirmed in Japan. This action restricts the importation of ruminants and swine and the fresh meat and other animal products of ruminants and swine from that country and is necessary to prevent the introduction of FMD into the United States.
Removal of Varietal Restrictions on Apples From Japan
Document Number: 2010-26750
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-10-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations that allow the importation of Fuji variety apples from Japan to allow all varieties of Malus domestica apples into the United States under the same conditions as those for Fuji variety apples. We have determined that the risk associated with allowing other varieties of M. domestica apples from Japan into the United States is the same as that posed by Fuji variety apples. This rule allows all varieties of M. domestica apples from Japan to be imported into the United States while continuing to protect against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Beef From Uruguay
Document Number: 2010-26749
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-10-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of beef from Uruguay.
Draft Guidelines on Pharmacovigilance of Veterinary Medicinal Products: Electronic Standards for Transfer of Data
Document Number: 2010-26748
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-10-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The International Cooperation on Harmonization of Technical Requirements for the Registration of Veterinary Medicinal Products (VICH) has developed a draft guideline titled ``Pharmacovigilance of Veterinary Medicinal Products: Electronic Standards for Transfer of Data.'' This draft guideline provides information concerning the development of a single electronic message to transmit adverse event reports concerning veterinary biologics between regulatory authorities in the European Union, Japan, and the United States and marketing authorization holders (veterinary biologics licensees and permittees) in those regions. Because the draft guideline applies to pharmacovigilance and adverse event reporting on veterinary vaccines regulated by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service under the Virus-Serum-Toxin Act, we are requesting comments on the scope of the guideline and its provisions so that we may include any relevant public input on the draft in the Agency's comments to the VICH Steering Committee.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for a Biological Control Agent for Hawkweeds
Document Number: 2010-26467
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-10-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to the control of hawkweeds (Hieracium spp.). The environmental assessment considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the release of the hawkweed gall wasp, Aulacidea subterminalis, into the continental United States as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of infestations of hawkweeds. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Importation of Fresh Unshu Oranges From the Republic of Korea Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-25570
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-10-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations concerning the importation of citrus fruit to remove certain restrictions on the importation of Unshu oranges from the Republic of Korea that are no longer necessary. Specifically, we are removing requirements for the fruit to be grown in specified canker-free export areas and for joint inspection in the groves and packinghouses by the Government of the Republic of Korea and the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. We are also amending the regulations to clarify that surface sterilization of the fruit must be conducted in accordance with 7 CFR part 305 and to expand the area in the continental United States where Unshu oranges from the Republic of Korea may be distributed. Finally, we are requiring that each shipment be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate containing an additional declaration stating that the fruit was given the required surface sterilization and inspected and found free of Elsinoe australis. These changes will make the regulations concerning the importation of Unshu oranges from the Republic of Korea consistent with our domestic regulations concerning the interstate movement of citrus fruit from areas quarantined because of citrus canker.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Strawberries From Jordan
Document Number: 2010-25569
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-10-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation into the continental United States of fresh strawberries from Jordan. Based on this analysis, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh strawberries from Jordan. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Importation of Shepherd's Purse With Roots From the Republic of Korea Into the United States
Document Number: 2010-25556
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-10-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations concerning the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of fresh shepherd's purse with roots from the Republic of Korea into the United States under a combination of mitigations to reduce the risk of introducing plant pests. As a condition of entry, the shepherd's purse would have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that would include requirements for importation of commercial consignments, pest-free place of production, removal of soil, and inspection for quarantine pests by the national plant protection organization of the Republic of Korea. The shepherd's purse would also have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that it was grown, packed, and inspected and found to be free of pests in accordance with the proposed requirements. This action would allow the importation of fresh shepherd's purse with roots from the Republic of Korea while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Bees and Related Articles
Document Number: 2010-25388
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-10-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of bees and related articles.
Monsanto Company and KWS SAAT AG; Supplemental Request for Partial Deregulation of Roundup Ready Sugar Beet
Document Number: 2010-25387
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-10-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a supplemental request for ``partial deregulation'' or similar administrative action from the Monsanto Company and KWS SAAT AG for the planting, harvesting, and interstate movement of Roundup Ready[supreg] sugar beets under measures designed to ensure any risks posed by cultivation are mitigated. This notice is to inform the public of the availability of the documents submitted to the Agency from Monsanto Company and KWS SAAT AG requesting a ``partial deregulation.''
Notice of Availability of Biotechnology Quality Management System Audit Standard and Evaluation of Comments
Document Number: 2010-24995
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-10-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has developed an audit standard for its biotechnology compliance assistance program. The audit standard, which was made available in draft form for comment in an earlier notice, will be used by participating regulated entities to develop and implement sound management practices, thus enhancing compliance with the regulatory requirements for field trials and movement of genetically engineered organisms in 7 CFR part 340. We are also making available a document containing our evaluation of the comments we received on the draft audit standard.
Interstate Movement of Garbage From Hawaii; Withdrawal of Finding of No Significant Impact
Document Number: 2010-24817
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-10-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
On May 27, 2010, we advised the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service prepared an environmental assessment and a finding of no significant impact relative to a request to allow the interstate movement of municipal solid waste from Hawaii to a landfill in the State of Washington. Because we have been made aware of additional information that was not previously provided and we have an interest in examining that information to determine the potential impacts, we are withdrawing the finding of no significant impact effective immediately in order to reevaluate the potential for environmental impacts that may be associated with this action.
Tuberculosis in Cattle and Bison; State and Zone Designations; Minnesota
Document Number: 2010-24667
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-10-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the bovine tuberculosis regulations regarding State and zone classifications by reclassifying the two zones in Minnesota. We have determined that the zone consisting of an area in the northwest corner of the State meets the criteria for designation as a modified accredited advanced zone, and the zone comprising the remainder of the State meets the criteria for designation as an accredited-free zone. This action relieves certain restrictions on the interstate movement of cattle and bison from Minnesota.