Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service June 2010 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Notice of Revision and Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Animal Disease Traceability; Tribal Nations Using Systems for Location Identification
Document Number: 2010-15731
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to revise an information collection for Tribal Nations using systems for location identification for the animal disease traceability framework and to request extension of approval of the information collection.
Determination of Pest-Free Areas in Mendoza Province, Argentina; Request for Comments
Document Number: 2010-15455
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have received a request from the Government of Argentina to recognize additional areas as pest- free areas for Mediterranean fruit fly (Ceratitis capitata) in Argentina. After reviewing the documentation submitted in support of this request, the Administrator of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that these areas meet the criteria in our regulations for recognition as pest-free areas. We are making that determination, as well as an evaluation document we have prepared in connection with this action, available for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Unshu Oranges
Document Number: 2010-15454
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of Unshu oranges from Kyushu Island, Honshu Island, and Shikoku Island, Japan.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Blood and Tissue Collection at Slaughtering and Rendering Establishments
Document Number: 2010-15301
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for blood and tissue collection at slaughtering and rendering establishments to enhance animal disease surveillance.
Notice of Decision to Issue Permits for the Importation of Fresh False Coriander From Panama Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-14791
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin issuing permits for the importation into the continental United States of fresh false coriander from Panama. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh false coriander from Panama.
Secretary’s Advisory Committee on Animal Health; Notice of Solicitation for Membership
Document Number: 2010-14660
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary has established the Advisory Committee on Animal Health for a 2-year period. The Secretary is soliciting nominations for membership for this Committee.
Secretary’s Advisory Committee on Animal Health
Document Number: 2010-14659
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture intends to establish the Secretary's Advisory Committee on Animal Health for a 2-year period. The Secretary of Agriculture has determined that the Committee is necessary and in the public interest.
Asian Longhorned Beetle; Quarantined Area and Regulated Articles
Document Number: 2010-14658
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Asian longhorned beetle regulations by adding a portion of Worcester County, MA, to the list of quarantined areas and restricting the interstate movement of regulated articles from that area. We are also updating the list of regulated articles in order to reflect new information concerning host plants. These actions are necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the Asian longhorned beetle to noninfested areas of the United States.
Notice of Revision and Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Citrus Canker; Interstate Movement of Regulated Nursery Stock and Fruit from Quarantined Areas
Document Number: 2010-14657
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to revise an information collection associated with regulations for the interstate movement of regulated nursery stock and fruit from quarantined areas to prevent the spread of citrus canker and to request an extension of approval of the information collection.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Clementines, Mandarins, and Tangerines from Chile
Document Number: 2010-14655
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of clementines, mandarins, and tangerines from Chile to prevent the introduction of plant pests.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Mango Fruit From Pakistan Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-14650
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation of fresh mango fruit from Pakistan into the continental United States. Based on that analysis, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the pest risk. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Citrus Greening and Asian Citrus Psyllid; Quarantine and Interstate Movement Regulations
Document Number: 2010-14495
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are quarantining the States of Florida and Georgia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, two parishes in Louisiana, and two counties in South Carolina due to the presence of citrus greening and quarantining Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Louisiana, Mississippi, Puerto Rico, Texas, the U.S. Virgin Islands, three counties in South Carolina, portions of one county in Arizona, and all of three and portions of an additional three counties in California due to the presence of Asian citrus psyllid, a vector of the bacterial pathogen that causes citrus greening. This action follows the discovery of these pests in the respective quarantined areas. We are also establishing restrictions on the interstate movement of regulated articles from the quarantined areas. This action is necessary on an emergency basis in order to prevent the spread of the disease and its vector to noninfested areas of the United States.
Animal Traceability; Public Meetings
Document Number: 2010-14245
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This is a notice to inform the public of upcoming meetings in Salt Lake City, UT, and Fort Worth, TX, to provide an opportunity for stakeholders to offer their input on the new framework being developed for animal disease traceability. The meetings are being organized by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. Additional meetings are currently being planned and will be announced in a future notice.
Notice of Revision and Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Swine Health
Document Number: 2010-14244
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to revise an information collection associated with regulations to prevent the interstate spread of swine diseases and protect swine health and to request extension of approval of the information collection
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Sweet Limes From Mexico Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-13934
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation of sweet limes from Mexico into the continental United States. Based on that analysis, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the pest risk. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Determination of Pest-Free Areas in the Republic of Chile
Document Number: 2010-13933
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are recognizing an additional area of the Republic of Chile as a pest-free area for Ceratitis capitata, Mediterranean fruit fly (Medfly). Based on our site visit to the area and our review of the documentation submitted by the Republic of Chile, which we made available to the public review and comment through a previous notice, the Administrator has determined that the area meets the criteria in our regulations for recognition as a pest-free area for Medfly.
Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.; Determination of Nonregulated Status for Genetically Engineered High-oleic Soybeans
Document Number: 2010-13722
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a soybean
Importation of Fresh Unshu Oranges from the Republic of Korea into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-13718
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-06-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations concerning the
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Brucellosis in Sheep, Goats, and Horses; Payment of Indemnity
Document Number: 2010-13450
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the payment of indemnity for sheep, goats, and horses destroyed because of brucellosis.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Interstate Movement of Certain Land Tortoises
Document Number: 2010-13448
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the interstate movement of certain land tortoises.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Mangoes from the Philippines
Document Number: 2010-13447
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of mangoes from the Philippines.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Artificially Dwarfed Plants
Document Number: 2010-13445
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of artificially dwarfed plants.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Horses, Ruminants, Swine, and Dogs; Inspection and Treatment for Screwworm
Document Number: 2010-13444
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of horses, ruminants, swine, and dogs from regions of the world where screwworm is considered to exist.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Veterinary Services Laboratories Request Forms
Document Number: 2010-13442
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of an information collection associated with the National Veterinary Services Laboratories animal health diagnostic system.
Importation of Peppers From Panama
Document Number: 2010-13002
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-06-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to allow, under certain conditions, the importation of commercial shipments of peppers from Panama into the United States without treatment. The conditions to which the proposed importation of peppers would be subject, including trapping, pre- harvest inspection, and shipping procedures, are designed to prevent the introduction of quarantine pests into the United States. This action would allow for the importation of peppers from Panama into the United States, while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.