Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service February 2010 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Draft Environmental Impact Statement; Determination of Regulated Status of Alfalfa Genetically Engineered for Tolerance to the Herbicide Glyphosate
Document Number: 2010-3659
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-02-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our notice of availability of a draft environmental impact statement in connection with making a determination on the status of the Monsanto Company and Forage Genetics International alfalfa lines designated as events J101 and J163 as regulated articles. This notice also provides notice that a public meeting scheduled for February 9, 2010, has been rescheduled for February 24, 2010.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Commercial Transportation of Equines for Slaughter
Document Number: 2010-2850
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the commercial transportation of equines to slaughtering facilities.
Notice of Determination of Pest-Free Areas in the Republic of South Africa
Document Number: 2010-2846
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-02-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are recognizing 16 additional magisterial districts in 3 provinces in the Republic of South Africa as pest-free areas for citrus black spot. Based on our site visit to the area and our review of the documentation submitted by South Africa's national plant protection organization, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, the Administrator has determined that those districts meet the criteria in our regulations for recognition as pest-free areas for citrus black spot.
Notice of Availability of Pest Risk Analyses for Importation of Fresh Figs, Pomegranates, and Baby Kiwi from Chile into the United States
Document Number: 2010-2795
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-02-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared two pest risk analyses, one with respect to fresh figs and pomegranates grown in Chile and one with respect to fresh baby kiwi fruit grown in Chile. The analyses evaluate the risks associated with the importation into the continental United States of fresh figs, pomegranates, and baby kiwi fruit from Chile. Based on those analyses, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of figs, pomegranates, and baby kiwi from Chile. We are making the pest risk analyses, as well as an environmental assessment we have prepared in connection with this action, available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Male Summer Squash Flowers From Israel Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-2784
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-02-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation of fresh male summer squash flowers from Israel into the continental United States. Based on that analysis, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the pest risk. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh False Coriander From Panama Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-2782
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-02-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation into the continental United States of fresh false coriander from Panama. Based on that analysis, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh false coriander from Panama. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Determination of Pest-Free Areas in the Republic of Chile; Request for Comments
Document Number: 2010-2009
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-02-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have received a request from the government of the Republic of Chile to recognize additional areas as pest-free areas for Mediterranean fruit fly (Ceratitis capitata) in the Republic of Chile. After reviewing the documentation submitted in support of this request, the Administrator of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that these areas meet the criteria in our regulations for recognition as pest-free areas. We are making that determination, as well as an evaluation document we have prepared in connection with this action, available for review and comment.