Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 2010 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 101 - 150 of 160
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Brucellosis in Sheep, Goats, and Horses; Payment of Indemnity
Document Number: 2010-13450
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the payment of indemnity for sheep, goats, and horses destroyed because of brucellosis.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Interstate Movement of Certain Land Tortoises
Document Number: 2010-13448
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the interstate movement of certain land tortoises.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Mangoes from the Philippines
Document Number: 2010-13447
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of mangoes from the Philippines.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Artificially Dwarfed Plants
Document Number: 2010-13445
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of artificially dwarfed plants.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Horses, Ruminants, Swine, and Dogs; Inspection and Treatment for Screwworm
Document Number: 2010-13444
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of horses, ruminants, swine, and dogs from regions of the world where screwworm is considered to exist.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Veterinary Services Laboratories Request Forms
Document Number: 2010-13442
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of an information collection associated with the National Veterinary Services Laboratories animal health diagnostic system.
Importation of Peppers From Panama
Document Number: 2010-13002
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-06-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to allow, under certain conditions, the importation of commercial shipments of peppers from Panama into the United States without treatment. The conditions to which the proposed importation of peppers would be subject, including trapping, pre- harvest inspection, and shipping procedures, are designed to prevent the introduction of quarantine pests into the United States. This action would allow for the importation of peppers from Panama into the United States, while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Environmental Impact Statement; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Sugar Beet Genetically Engineered for Tolerance to the Herbicide Glyphosate
Document Number: 2010-12997
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service plans to prepare an environmental impact statement in connection with a court-mandated evaluation of the potential impacts on the human environment associated with the Agency's determination of nonregulated status for a Monsanto/KWS SAAT AG sugar beet line, designated as event H7-1. This notice identifies the environmental and interrelated economic issues raised by the Court and other potential issues that we may include in the environmental impact statement and requests public comment to further delineate the scope of the issues and reasonable alternatives.
Interstate Movement of Garbage from Hawaii; Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact
Document Number: 2010-12828
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact have been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service relative to a request to allow the interstate movement of garbage from Hawaii to a landfill in the State of Washington. The environmental assessment documents our review and analysis of the environmental impacts associated with, and alternatives to, the movement of palletized or containerized baled municipal solid waste to three existing ports on the Columbia River via barge and the transfer and transportation of the waste via truck or rail to the landfill. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Importation of Mexican Hass Avocados; Additional Shipping Options
Document Number: 2010-12823
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-05-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend our regulations for the importation of Hass avocados originating in Michoacan, Mexico, into the United States by adding the option to ship avocados to the United States in bulk shipping bins when safeguarding is maintained from the packinghouse to the port of first arrival in the United States and by making it clear that the avocados may be shipped by land, sea, or air. We are also proposing to allow avocados from multiple packinghouses that participate in the avocado export program to be combined into one consignment. We are proposing these actions in response to requests from the Government of Mexico and inquiries from a U.S. maritime port. These actions will allow additional options for shipping Hass avocados from Mexico to the United States and allow Mexican exporters to ship full container or truck loads from multiple packinghouses while continuing to provide an appropriate level of protection against the introduction of plant pests.
Emerald Ash Borer; Addition of Quarantined Areas in Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, and Wisconsin
Document Number: 2010-12533
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-05-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the emerald ash borer regulations by adding portions of Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, and the entire State of West Virginia to the list of quarantined areas. This action will restrict the interstate movement of regulated articles from areas in the States of Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. This interim rule is necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the emerald ash borer to noninfested areas of the United States.
Notice of Decision to Issue Permits for the Importation of Fresh Male Summer Squash Flowers From Israel Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-12532
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin issuing permits for the importation into the continental United States of fresh male summer squash flowers from Israel. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh male summer squash flowers from Israel.
Black Stem Rust; Additions of Rust-Resistant Varieties
Document Number: 2010-12529
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-05-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the black stem rust quarantine and regulations by adding 21 varieties to the list of rust-resistant Berberis species or cultivars and 2 varieties to the list of rust-resistant Mahonia species or cultivars in the regulations. This action will allow for the interstate movement of these newly developed varieties without unnecessary restrictions.
Importation of Tomatoes From Souss-Massa-Draa, Morocco; Technical Amendment
Document Number: 2010-12027
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-05-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule published in the Federal Register on November 2, 2009, and effective on December 2, 2009, we amended the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of commercial consignments of tomatoes from the Souss-Massa-Draa region of Morocco into the United States. However, we incorrectly referred to the national plant protection organization of Morocco as the Moroccan Ministry of Agriculture's Division of Plant Protection, Inspection, and Enforcement when it was recently changed to the National Office of Food Safety. The National Office of Food Safety is also responsible for export certification inspection and issuance of phytosanitary certificates rather than the Moroccan Ministry of Agriculture, Fresh Product Export. In order to prevent confusion, we are replacing all references to the Moroccan Ministry of Agriculture's Division of Plant Protection, Inspection, and Enforcement and the Moroccan Ministry of Agriculture, Fresh Product Export with the phrase ``national plant protection organization of Morocco.''
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for a Biological Control Agent for Asian Citrus Psyllid
Document Number: 2010-12026
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to the control of Asian citrus psyllid (Diaphorina citri Kuwayama). The environmental assessment considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the release of an insect, Tamarixia radiata, into the continental United States for use as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of Asian citrus psyllid infestations. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for a Biological Control Agent for Hemlock Woolly Adelgid
Document Number: 2010-12024
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to the control of hemlock woolly adelgid (Adelges tsugae). The environmental assessment considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the release of an insect, Laricobius osakensis, into the continental United States for use as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of hemlock woolly adelgid infestations. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Hass Avocados from Mexico; Importation into the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and Other Changes
Document Number: 2010-11598
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-05-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend our fruits and vegetables regulations to provide for the importation of Hass avocados from Mexico into Puerto Rico under the same systems approach currently required for the importation of Hass avocados into all States of the United States from Michoac[aacute]n, Mexico. The systems approach requirements include trapping, orchard certification, limited production area, trace back labeling, pre-harvest orchard surveys for all pests, orchard sanitation, post-harvest safeguards, fruit cutting and inspection at the packinghouse, port-of-arrival inspection, and clearance activities. This action would allow for the importation of Hass avocados from Michoac[aacute]n, Mexico, into Puerto Rico while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests. In addition, we are proposing to amend the regulations to provide for the Mexican national plant protection organization to use an approved designee to inspect avocados for export and to suspend importation of avocados into the United States from Michoac[aacute]n, Mexico, only from specific orchards or packinghouses when quarantine pests are detected, rather than suspending imports from the entire municipality where the affected orchards or packinghouses are located. These changes would provide additional flexibility in operating the export program while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Notice of Decision to Issue Permits for the Importation of Fresh Pomegranates and Baby Kiwi from Chile into the United States
Document Number: 2010-11438
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin issuing permits for the importation into the continental United States of fresh pomegranates and fresh baby kiwi from Chile. Based on the findings of pest risk analyses, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh pomegranates and fresh baby kiwi from Chile.
ArborGen, LLC; Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for a Controlled Release of Genetically Engineered Eucalyptus Hybrids
Document Number: 2010-11437
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment for proposed controlled field releases of a genetically engineered clone of a Eucalyptus hybrid. The purpose of this release is to continue research on the efficacy of genetic constructs intended to confer cold tolerance, alter lignin biosynthesis and alter fertility. After assessing the application, reviewing pertinent scientific information, and considering comments provided by the public, APHIS has concluded that these field releases are unlikely to pose a plant pest risk, nor are they likely to have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared for this field release.
Animal Traceability; Public Meetings
Document Number: 2010-10561
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This is a notice to inform the public of three upcoming meetings in Kansas City, MO, Riverdale, MD, and Denver, CO, to provide an opportunity for stakeholders to offer their input on the new framework being developed for animal disease traceability. Additional meetings are currently being planned and will be announced in a future notice. The meetings are being organized by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service.
Noxious Weeds; Old World Climbing Fern and Maidenhair Creeper
Document Number: 2010-10282
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-05-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the noxious weed regulations by adding Old World climbing fern (Lygodium microphyllum (Cavanilles) R. Brown) and maidenhair creeper (Lygodium flexuosum (Linnaeus) Swartz) to the list of terrestrial noxious weeds. This action is necessary to prevent the artificial spread of these noxious weeds within and into the United States.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for a Biological Control Agent for Water Hyacinth
Document Number: 2010-10280
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact have been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service relative to the release of an insect, Megamelus scutellaris, into the continental United States for use as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of water hyacinth infestations. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Notice of Revision and Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Cooperative Agricultural Pest Survey
Document Number: 2010-10279
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to revise an information collection associated with the Cooperative Agricultural Pest Survey and to request extension of approval of the information collection.
National Poultry Improvement Plan; General Conference Committee Meeting and 40th Biennial Conference
Document Number: 2010-10278
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice of a meeting of the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) and the NPIP's 40th Biennial Conference.
Multi-Agency Informational Meeting Concerning Compliance With the Federal Select Agent Program; Public Meeting
Document Number: 2010-10277
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This is to notify all interested parties, including individuals and entities possessing, using, or transferring biological agents and toxins listed in 7 CFR 331.3, 9 CFR 121.3 and 121.4, or 42 CFR 73.3 and 73.4, that a meeting will be held to provide regulatory guidance related to the Federal Select Agent Program established under the Public Health Security and Bioterrorism Preparedness and Response Act of 2002. The meeting is being organized by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, the Department of Health and Human Services' Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the Department of Justice's Federal Bureau of Investigation. Issues to be discussed include entity registration, security risk assessments, biosafety requirements, and security measures.
Importation of Papayas From Colombia and Ecuador
Document Number: 2010-9779
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-04-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow, under certain conditions, the importation of commercial shipments of fresh papayas from Colombia and Ecuador into the continental United States. The conditions for the importation of papayas from Colombia and Ecuador include requirements for field sanitation, hot water treatment, and fruit fly trapping in papaya production areas. This action allows for the importation of papayas from Colombia and Ecuador while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of injurious plant pests into the continental United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Communicable Diseases in Horses
Document Number: C1-2010-9054
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-04-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Viruses, Serums, Toxins, and Analogous Products and Patent Term Restoration; Nonsubstantive Amendments
Document Number: 2010-9072
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-04-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Virus-Serum-Toxin Act regulations
Syngenta Biotechnology, Inc.; Determination of Nonregulated Status for Corn Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2010-9198
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-04-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a corn line developed by Syngenta Biotechnology, Inc., designated as transformation event MIR162, which has been genetically engineered for insect resistance, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by Syngenta Biotechnology, Inc., in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of other scientific data, and our response to comments received from the public on the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination of nonregulated status and finding of no significant impact.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Communicable Diseases in Horses
Document Number: 2010-9054
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-04-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the interstate movement of horses that have tested positive for equine infectious anemia.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Plum Pox Compensation
Document Number: 2010-9053
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-04-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations that provide for the payment of compensation to owners of commercial stone fruit orchards and fruit tree nurseries whose trees or nursery stock were destroyed to eradicate plum pox virus.
Changes in Disease Status of the Brazilian State of Santa Catarina with Regard to Certain Ruminant and Swine Diseases
Document Number: 2010-8765
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-04-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations governing the importation of certain animals and animal products by adding the Brazilian State of Santa Catarina to the list of regions we recognize as free of foot-and-mouth disease, rinderpest, swine vesicular disease, classical swine fever, and African swine fever. We are proposing this action at the request of the Government of Brazil and after conducting a risk evaluation that concludes that the Brazilian State of Santa Catarina is free of these diseases. This proposed action would relieve certain restrictions on the importation into the United States of live swine, swine semen, pork meat, pork products, live ruminants, ruminant semen, ruminant meat, and ruminant products from Santa Catarina while continuing to protect against the introduction of these diseases into the United States.
Citrus Seed Imports; Citrus Greening and Citrus Variegated Chlorosis
Document Number: 2010-7736
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-04-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of nursery stock to prohibit the importation of propagative seed of several Rutaceae (citrus family) genera from certain countries where citrus greening or citrus variegated chlorosis (CVC) is present. We are also requiring propagative seed of these genera imported from all other countries to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration that neither citrus greening nor CVC are known to occur in the country where the seed was produced. Scientific evidence indicates that seed of certain genera of the family Rutaceae may be a pathway for the introduction of those diseases. This action is necessary in order to prevent the introduction or dissemination of citrus greening and CVC into or within the United States.
Notice of Availability of an Evaluation of the Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza Status of Czech Republic and Sweden
Document Number: 2010-7734
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-04-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an evaluation of the animal health status of the Czech Republic and Sweden relative to the H5N1 subtype of highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). The evaluation presents our assessment of the HPAI H5N1 detection, control, and eradication measures in place in the Czech Republic and Sweden following the outbreaks of HPAI in Sweden during 2006, and in the Czech Republic during 2007, as well as our assessment of the present status of the Czech Republic and Sweden with respect to HPAI H5N1. We are making this evaluation available to the public for review and comment. If, after the close of the comment period, we can identify no additional risk factors that would indicate that domestic poultry in the Czech Republic and Sweden continue to be affected with HPAI H5N1, we will remove those regions from our list of regions affected with HPAI H5N1.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Live Poultry, Poultry Meat, and Other Poultry Products From Specified Regions
Document Number: 2010-7050
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-03-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of live poultry, poultry meat, and other poultry products from specified regions.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Table Eggs From Regions Where Exotic Newcastle Disease Exists
Document Number: 2010-7048
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-03-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of table eggs from regions where Exotic Newcastle Disease exists.
Notice of Revision and Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza; Subtype H5N1
Document Number: 2010-7046
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-03-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to revise an information collection associated with regulations to prevent the introduction of the H5N1 subtype of highly pathogenic avian influenza through imported birds, poultry, and unprocessed bird and poultry products and to request extension of approval of the information collection.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Export Health Certificate for Animal Products
Document Number: 2010-7044
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-03-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the export of animal products from the United States.
Regulation of the Interstate Movement of Lemons from Areas Quarantined for Mediterranean Fruit Fly
Document Number: 2010-5945
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-03-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the list of regulated articles in our domestic fruit fly quarantine regulations. The regulations have indicated that smooth-skinned lemons (all varieties of Citrus limon) harvested for packing by commercial packinghouses are not regulated articles for Mediterranean fruit fly. We are amending the regulations to designate all yellow lemons as regulated articles. This change is based on research indicating that, under certain conditions, yellow lemons are a host for Mediterranean fruit fly. As a result of this action, yellow lemons in an area quarantined for Mediterranean fruit fly will be subject to certain interstate movement restrictions in order to prevent the spread of that pest into uninfested areas of the United States.
Notice of Availability of a Draft Response to Petitions for the Reclassification of Light Brown Apple Moth as a Non-Quarantine Pest
Document Number: 2010-5599
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-03-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available, for public review and comment, a draft response to two petitions we received requesting the reclassification of light brown apple moth [Epiphyas postvittana (Walker)] as a non-quarantine pest. Following the review period, APHIS will consider the comments prior to the release of a final petition response.
Notice of Availability of a Draft Pest Risk Assessment on Honey Bees Imported from Australia
Document Number: 2010-5573
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-03-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an evaluation of the pest risks associated with the importation of honey bees from Australia. The draft pest risk assessment considers potential pest risks involved in the importation of honeybees into the United States from Australia after concerns that exotic honey bee pathogens or parasites may have been introduced into Australia. We are making the draft pest risk assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Pale Cyst Nematode; Update of Quarantined Areas
Document Number: 2010-5119
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-03-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have made changes to the area in the State of Idaho that is quarantined to prevent the spread of pale cyst nematode. The description of the quarantined area was updated several times between October 2009 and February 2010. As a result of these changes, 5,710 acres have been removed from the quarantined area.
Removal of Varietal Restrictions on Apples from Japan
Document Number: 2010-5114
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-03-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations that allow the importation of Fuji variety apples from Japan to allow all varieties of Malus domestica apples into the United States under the same conditions as those for Fuji variety apples. We have determined that the risk of introducing insects and diseases through the pathway of all varieties of M. domestica fresh apples to be very low under the mitigation measures presently in place for Fuji apples. This action would allow all varieties of M. domestica apples from Japan to be imported into the United States while continuing to protect against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Agricultural Inspection and AQI User Fees Along the U.S./Canada Border
Document Number: 2010-4949
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-03-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, with changes, an interim rule that amended the foreign quarantine and user fee regulations by removing the exemptions from inspection for imported fruits and vegetables grown in Canada and the exemptions from user fees for commercial vessels, commercial trucks, commercial railroad cars, commercial aircraft, and international air passengers entering the United States from Canada. The interim rule was necessary in part because we were not recovering the costs of the inspection activities we were engaged in at the U.S./Canada border. In addition, our data showed an increasing number of interceptions on the U.S./Canada border of prohibited material that originated in Canada and countries other than Canada that presents a high risk of introducing plant pests or animal diseases into the United States. These findings, combined with additional Canadian airport preclearance data on interceptions of ineligible agricultural products approaching the U.S. border from Canada, strongly indicated that we needed to expand and strengthen our pest exclusion and smuggling interdiction efforts at that border. As a result of the interim rule, all agricultural products imported from Canada are subject to inspection, and all commercial conveyances, with certain exceptions established by this final rule, as well as airline passengers arriving on flights from Canada, are subject to user fees.
Low Pathogenic Avian Influenza; Voluntary Control Program and Payment of Indemnity
Document Number: 2010-4874
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-03-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, with changes, an interim rule that amended the regulations by establishing, under the auspices of the National Poultry Improvement Plan, a voluntary program for the control of the H5/H7 subtypes of low pathogenic avian influenza in commercial poultry. As amended by this document, the rule provides that the amount of indemnity for which contract growers are eligible will be reduced by any payment they have already received on their contracts when poultry in their care are destroyed, clarifies the roles of cooperating State agencies with respect to H5/H7 low pathogenic avian influenza outbreaks, provides that consistency with humane euthanasia guidelines will be considered when selecting a method for the destruction of poultry, and provides additional guidance for cleaning and disinfecting an affected premises. The control program and indemnity provisions established by the interim rule are necessary to help ensure that the H5/H7 subtypes of low pathogenic avian influenza are detected and eradicated when they occur within the United States.
Draft Environmental Impact Statement; Determination of Regulated Status of Alfalfa Genetically Engineered for Tolerance to the Herbicide Glyphosate
Document Number: 2010-3659
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-02-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our notice of availability of a draft environmental impact statement in connection with making a determination on the status of the Monsanto Company and Forage Genetics International alfalfa lines designated as events J101 and J163 as regulated articles. This notice also provides notice that a public meeting scheduled for February 9, 2010, has been rescheduled for February 24, 2010.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Commercial Transportation of Equines for Slaughter
Document Number: 2010-2850
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the commercial transportation of equines to slaughtering facilities.
Notice of Determination of Pest-Free Areas in the Republic of South Africa
Document Number: 2010-2846
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-02-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are recognizing 16 additional magisterial districts in 3 provinces in the Republic of South Africa as pest-free areas for citrus black spot. Based on our site visit to the area and our review of the documentation submitted by South Africa's national plant protection organization, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, the Administrator has determined that those districts meet the criteria in our regulations for recognition as pest-free areas for citrus black spot.
Notice of Availability of Pest Risk Analyses for Importation of Fresh Figs, Pomegranates, and Baby Kiwi from Chile into the United States
Document Number: 2010-2795
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-02-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared two pest risk analyses, one with respect to fresh figs and pomegranates grown in Chile and one with respect to fresh baby kiwi fruit grown in Chile. The analyses evaluate the risks associated with the importation into the continental United States of fresh figs, pomegranates, and baby kiwi fruit from Chile. Based on those analyses, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of figs, pomegranates, and baby kiwi from Chile. We are making the pest risk analyses, as well as an environmental assessment we have prepared in connection with this action, available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Male Summer Squash Flowers From Israel Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-2784
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-02-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation of fresh male summer squash flowers from Israel into the continental United States. Based on that analysis, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the pest risk. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.