Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 2010 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 151 - 160 of 160
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh False Coriander From Panama Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-2782
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-02-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation into the continental United States of fresh false coriander from Panama. Based on that analysis, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh false coriander from Panama. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Determination of Pest-Free Areas in the Republic of Chile; Request for Comments
Document Number: 2010-2009
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-02-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have received a request from the government of the Republic of Chile to recognize additional areas as pest-free areas for Mediterranean fruit fly (Ceratitis capitata) in the Republic of Chile. After reviewing the documentation submitted in support of this request, the Administrator of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that these areas meet the criteria in our regulations for recognition as pest-free areas. We are making that determination, as well as an evaluation document we have prepared in connection with this action, available for review and comment.
Phytosanitary Treatments; Location of and Process for Updating Treatment Schedules
Document Number: 2010-1375
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-01-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the phytosanitary treatment regulations in 7 CFR part 305 by removing the lists of approved treatments and treatment schedules from the regulations, while retaining the general requirements for performing treatments and certifying or approving treatment facilities. We are removing treatment schedules from other places where they are currently found in 7 CFR chapter III as well. Approved treatment schedules will instead be found in the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual, which is available on the Internet. We are also establishing a new process to provide the public with notice and the opportunity to comment on changes to treatment schedules. Finally, we are harmonizing and combining the requirements for performing irradiation treatment for imported articles, articles moved interstate from Hawaii and U.S. territories, and articles moved interstate from an area quarantined for fruit flies. These changes will simplify and expedite our processes for adding, changing, and removing treatment schedules while continuing to provide for public participation in the process. These changes will also simplify our presentation of treatments to the public by consolidating all treatments into one document and eliminating redundant text from the regulations.
Interstate Movement of Garbage from Hawaii; Availability of an Environmental Assessment
Document Number: 2010-944
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-01-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to a request to allow the interstate movement of garbage from Hawaii to a landfill in the State of Washington. The environmental assessment documents our review and analysis of the environmental impacts associated with, and alternatives to, the movement of palletized or containerized baled municipal solid waste to three existing ports on the Columbia River via barge and the transfer and transportation of the waste via truck or rail to the landfill. We are making the assessment available to the public for review and comment.
ArborGen, LLC; Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Controlled Release of a Genetically Engineered Eucalyptus Hybrid
Document Number: 2010-762
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-01-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for an environmental assessment for a proposed controlled field release of a genetically engineered clone of a Eucalyptus hybrid. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments on the revised environmental assessment.
Wildlife Services; Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact
Document Number: 2010-806
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-01-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to oral rabies vaccination programs in several States. The environmental assessment made available by this notice analyzes the further expansion of the oral rabies vaccination program to include the States of New Mexico and Arizona, which is necessary to effectively combat the gray fox variant of the rabies virus. The environmental assessment provides a basis for our conclusion that the expansion of the oral rabies vaccination program will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Change in Disease Status of the Republic of Korea With Regard to Foot-and-Mouth Disease and Rinderpest
Document Number: 2010-478
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-01-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
On December 28, 2009, we published a final rule in the Federal Register to add the Republic of Korea to the list of regions that are considered free of rinderpest and foot-and-mouth disease (FMD) and the list of regions that are subject to certain import restrictions on meat and meat products because of their proximity to or trading relationships with rinderpest- or FMD-affected countries. The final rule was scheduled to become effective on January 12, 2010. However, due to an outbreak of FMD reported by the Republic of Korea on January 6, 2010, we are delaying indefinitely the effective date of the final rule. This delay will allow the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service to consider the issues raised by this development and decide what subsequent actions to take.
Syngenta Biotechnology, Inc.; Availability of Petition and Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status for Corn Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2010-407
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-01-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition from Syngenta Biotechnology, Inc., seeking a determination of nonregulated status for corn designated as transformation event MIR162, which has been genetically engineered for insect resistance. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. In accordance with those regulations, we are soliciting comments on whether this genetically engineered corn is likely to pose a plant pest risk. We are also making available for public comment an environmental assessment for the proposed determination of nonregulated status.
Draft Environmental Impact Statement; Determination of Regulated Status of Alfalfa Genetically Engineered for Tolerance to the Herbicide Glyphosate
Document Number: 2010-345
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-01-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a draft environmental impact statement in connection with making a determination on the status of the Monsanto Company and Forage Genetics International alfalfa lines designated as events J101 and J163 as regulated articles. This notice also provides notice of public meetings.
Importation of Hass Avocados From Peru
Document Number: E9-31182
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-01-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of Hass avocados from Peru into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, Hass avocados from Peru will have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that includes requirements for importation in commercial consignments; registration and monitoring of places of production and packinghouses; grove sanitation; pest-free areas or trapping for the South American fruit fly; pest-free areas or treatment for the Mediterranean fruit fly; surveys for the avocado seed moth; and inspection for quarantine pests by the national plant protection organization of Peru. Hass avocados from Peru will also be required to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that the avocados were grown, packed, and inspected and found to be free of pests in accordance with these requirements. This action will allow the importation of Hass avocados from Peru into the United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.