Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 1 - 50 of 2,616
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Virus-Serum-Toxin Act and Regulations
Document Number: 2021-16052
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-07-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the Virus-Serum-Toxin Act and regulations.
Withdrawal of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for High Pathogenicity Avian Influenza Control in Commercial Poultry Operations-A National Approach
Document Number: 2021-16049
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-07-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are withdrawing a final environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service prepared under the National Environmental Policy Act relative to a national approach for the control of highly pathogenic avian influenza outbreaks within the United States. We are withdrawing the final environmental assessment and the associated finding of no significant impact pending further evaluation.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Specimen Submission
Document Number: 2021-16033
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-07-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with livestock disease surveillance programs.
Movement of Organisms Modified or Produced Through Genetic Engineering; Notice of Exemptions
Document Number: 2021-15236
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-07-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to exempt plants with additional modifications that could otherwise be achieved through conventional breeding from the regulations that govern the introduction (importation, interstate movement, or release into the environment) of certain organisms modified or produced through genetic engineering. The exempt plants would have distinct modifications on the paternal and maternal alleles of a single gene resulting from repair of a targeted DNA break; deletions generated using an externally provided repair template; or deletions resulting from repair of two targeted double strand breaks on a chromosome. This action would reduce the regulatory burden for developers of certain plants modified or produced through genetic engineering that are unlikely to pose plant pest risks while enabling the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service to focus its regulatory resources on risk analyses of unfamiliar products and those more likely to pose a plant pest risk.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; National Poultry Improvement Plan
Document Number: 2021-15185
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-07-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the National Poultry Improvement Plan.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for the Release of Ramularia crupinae for Biological Control of Common Crupina (Crupina vulgaris) in the Contiguous United States
Document Number: 2021-15176
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-07-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a final environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to permitting the release of Ramularia crupinae for the biological control of common crupina (Crupina vulgaris) in the contiguous United States. Based on our finding of no significant impact, we have determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Release of Ganaspis brasiliensis for Biological Control of Spotted-Wing Drosophila in the Continental United States
Document Number: 2021-15167
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-07-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to permitting the release of the insect Ganaspis brasiliensis for the biological control of spotted-wing Drosophila (Drosophila suzukii) in the continental United States. Based on the environmental assessment and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that the release of this control agent within the continental United States will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Oral Rabies Vaccine Program; Availability of a Supplemental Environmental Assessment
Document Number: 2021-14442
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-07-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a supplemental environmental assessment (EA) relative to a 2019 EA of an oral rabies vaccination (ORV) program in Maine, New Hampshire, New York, Ohio, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia. This supplement analyzes the proposed expanded use of ONRAB vaccine-baits throughout the ORV distribution zone in Pennsylvania in cooperation with the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Forest Service. We are making the supplemental EA available to the public for review and comment.
Addition of Malaysia to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2021-14255
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-07-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Malaysia to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in Malaysia.
Implementation of Revised Lacey Act Provisions
Document Number: 2021-14155
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-07-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008 amended the Lacey Act to provide, among other things, that importers submit a declaration at the time of importation for certain plants and plant products. Enforcement of the declaration requirement began on April 1, 2009, and products requiring a declaration are being phased-in. The purpose of this notice is to inform the public of a change in the date of implementation for Phase VI of the enforcement schedule.
National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee; Intent To Reestablish
Document Number: 2021-14032
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-07-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Pursuant to the Federal Advisory Committee Act, notice is hereby given that the Secretary of Agriculture (Secretary) intends to reestablish the National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee (the Committee) for a 2-year period. The Secretary has determined that the Committee is necessary and in the public interest.
Bayer; Notice of Intent To Prepare an Environmental Impact Statement for Determination of Nonregulated Status for Maize Developed Using Genetic Engineering for Dicamba, Glufosinate, Quizalofop, and 2,4-Dichlorophenoxyacetic Acid Resistance, With Tissue-Specific Glyphosate Resistance Facilitating the Production of Hybrid Maize Seed; Reopening of Comment Period
Document Number: 2021-13904
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-06-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our notice of intent to prepare an environmental impact statement regarding a request from Bayer seeking a determination of nonregulated status for maize developed using genetic engineering for dicamba, glufosinate, quizalofop, and 2,4-dichlorophenoxyacetic acid resistance with tissue- specific glyphosate resistance facilitating the production of hybrid maize seed. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Okanagan Specialty Fruits Inc.; Availability of a Request, a Draft Plant Pest Risk Similarity Assessment, and Preliminary Determination for an Extension of Determination of Nonregulated Status for Non-Browning Apple
Document Number: 2021-13901
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-06-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a request from Okanagan Specialty Fruits Inc. (OSF) to extend our determination of nonregulated status of GD743 apple and GS784 apple to PG451 apple which has been developed using genetic engineering to resist browning. We are making the OSF extension request, the preliminary determination, and the draft plant pest risk similarity assessment available for public comment.
Concurrence With OIE Risk Designation for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
Document Number: 2021-13552
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-06-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our preliminary concurrence with the World Organization for Animal Health's (OIE) bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk designation for Bolivia and the United Kingdom's zone of Jersey. The OIE recognizes this country and this zone as being of negligible risk for BSE. We are taking this action based on our review of information supporting the OIE's risk designation for Bolivia and the United Kingdom's zone of Jersey.
Importation of Plants in Approved Growing Media Into the United States; Availability of a Final Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact
Document Number: 2021-13497
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-06-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that a final environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact have been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service for the importation of plants in approved growing media. The environmental assessment documents our review and analysis of the environmental impacts associated with, and alternatives to, the importation of plants in approved growing media. Based on its finding of no significant impact, we have determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Handling of Animals; Contingency Plans
Document Number: 2021-13152
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2021-06-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service issued a final rule on December 31, 2012, to establish regulations under which research facilities and dealers, exhibitors, intermediate handlers, and carriers must meet certain requirements for contingency planning and training of personnel. Implementation of the final rule was stayed on July 31, 2013, so that the agency could conduct additional review to further consider the impact of contingency plan requirements on regulated entities. Since that time, we have conducted such a review, and the 2021 Congressional Appropriations Act has required us to propose to lift the stay. We are therefore proposing to lift the stay and make minor revisions to the requirements in order to update compliance dates and clarify intent. The lifting of the stay and proposed revisions would better ensure that entities responsible for animals regulated under the Animal Welfare Act are prepared to safeguard the health and welfare of such animals in the event of possible emergencies or disasters.
Agrivida, Inc.; Availability of a Draft Plant Pest Risk Assessment, Draft Environmental Assessment, Preliminary Determination, and Preliminary Finding of No Significant Impact for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Maize Developed Using Genetic Engineering for the Production of Phytase Enzyme
Document Number: 2021-13341
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-06-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a preliminary determination of status, draft plant pest risk assessment, draft environmental assessment, and preliminary finding of no significant impact regarding a request from Agrivida, Inc., seeking a determination of nonregulated status for PY203 maize that has been developed using genetic engineering for the production of phytase enzyme. We are making these documents available for public review and comment.
Removal of Japan From the List of Regions Declared Free of Classical Swine Fever
Document Number: 2021-12595
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-06-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we removed Japan from the list of regions the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service recognizes as free of classical swine fever (CSF). This action follows the detection of CSF in Japan. This action is necessary in order to inform the public and to prevent the introduction of CSF into the United States.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Bison 2022 Study
Document Number: 2021-12420
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-06-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection to conduct the National Animal Health Monitoring System Bison 2022 Study.
Addition of Thailand to the List of Regions Considered Affected With African Horse Sickness
Document Number: 2021-12419
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-06-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Thailand to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African horse sickness (AHS). We have taken this action because of confirmation of AHS in Thailand.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Emergency Management Response System
Document Number: 2021-11831
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-06-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the Emergency Management Response System.
Notice of Decision To Add Taxa of Plants for Planting That Are Quarantine Pests or Hosts of Quarantine Pests to the Lists of Plants for Planting Whose Importation Is Not Authorized Pending Pest Risk Analysis
Document Number: 2021-11559
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-06-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to add 26 taxa of plants for planting that are quarantine pests (weeds), all Myrtaceae taxa (when destined to Hawaii), and 43 other taxa of plants for planting that are hosts of 17 quarantine pests, to our lists of plants for planting whose importation is now not authorized pending pest risk analysis. A previous notice made datasheets available for public comment that listed the evidence we used to determine that the taxa are quarantine pests or hosts of quarantine pests. This notice responds to the comments we received and announces final versions of the datasheets.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Movement of Plants and Plant Products From Hawaii and the Territories
Document Number: 2021-11555
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-06-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the interstate movement of fruits and vegetables from Hawaii and the Territories.
Privacy Act of 1974; System of Records
Document Number: 2021-10707
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-05-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Pursuant to the provisions of the Privacy Act of 1974 (5 U.S.C. 552a), and Office of Management and Budget Circular No. A-108, notice is given that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) is proposing to add a new system of records, entitled USDA/APHIS-23, Integrated Plant Health Information System (IPHIS). This system maintains records of activities conducted pursuant to APHIS' mission and responsibilities authorized by the Plant Protection Act (7 U.S.C. 7701 et seq.); the Honey Bee Act (7 U.S.C. 281 et seq.); and the Food Conservation and Energy Act 2008 (7 U.S.C. 8791 et seq.).
Notice of Proposed Revision to Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Melon Fruit From Japan Into the United States
Document Number: 2021-10706
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-05-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation of fresh melon fruit with stems from Japan into the United States. Based on the analysis, we are proposing to revise the existing conditions for importation of melons from Japan, which do not currently allow the importation of melons with stems, and which do not authorize importation to the continental United States or most territories. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Endangered Species Regulations and Forfeiture Procedures
Document Number: 2021-10634
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-05-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the protection of endangered species of terrestrial plants and for procedures related to the forfeiture of plants or other property.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Mango Fruit From Colombia Into the United States
Document Number: 2021-10042
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-05-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh mango fruit from Colombia into the United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh mango fruit from Colombia. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Addition of Republic of Korea to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2021-09568
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-05-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added the Republic of Korea (South Korea) to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Services considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in the Republic of Korea.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Lacey Act Declaration Requirement; Plants and Plant Products
Document Number: 2021-09033
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-05-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection required by the Lacey Act for the importation of certain plants and plant products.
Bayer; Notice of Intent To Prepare an Environmental Impact Statement for Determination of Nonregulated Status for Maize Developed Using Genetic Engineering for Dicamba, Glufosinate, Quizalofop, and 2,4-Dichlorophenoxyacetic Acid Resistance, With Tissue-Specific Glyphosate Resistance Facilitating the Production of Hybrid Maize Seed
Document Number: 2021-08879
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-04-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) plans to prepare an environmental impact statement (EIS) regarding a request from Bayer seeking a determination of nonregulated status for maize developed using genetic engineering for dicamba, glufosinate, quizalofop, and 2,4-dichlorophenoxyacetic acid resistance with tissue-specific glyphosate resistance facilitating the production of hybrid maize seed. APHIS is requesting public comment to help identify alternatives, and relevant information, studies, and/ or analyses APHIS should consider in the EIS.
J.R. Simplot Co.: Determination of Nonregulated Status for Z6 Potatoes With Late Blight Protection, Low Acrylamide Potential, Lowered Reducing Sugars, and Reduced Black Spot
Document Number: 2021-08625
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-04-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public that we have extended our determination of nonregulated status of J.R. Simplot Company's (Simplot's) W8 potato to event Z6 (hereafter Z6 potato). Z6 potato has been developed using genetic engineering for late blight protection, low acrylamide potential, lowered reducing sugars, and reduced black spot using the same construct and method of transformation as W8 potato. Our decision was based on our evaluation of data submitted by Simplot in its request for an extension of a determination of nonregulated status, an analysis of other scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to a previous notice announcing our preliminary determination.
Importation of Fresh Avocado Fruit From Continental Ecuador Into the Continental United States; Reopening of Comment Period
Document Number: 2021-07747
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2021-04-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for a proposed rule to allow the importation of commercial avocados from continental Ecuador into the continental United States after taking a new pest into consideration and including additional phytosanitary measures. We are also notifying the public of the availability of a revised pest risk assessment and revised risk management document associated with this notice. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Gypsy Moth Host Materials From Canada
Document Number: 2021-07679
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-04-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our notice announcing the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations to prevent the introduction of gypsy moth from Canada into noninfested areas of the United States. We are taking this action to allow interested persons the opportunity to prepare and submit comments.
Environmental Impact Statement; Movement of Certain Genetically Engineered Organisms: Record of Decision
Document Number: 2021-06978
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-04-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This notice advises the public of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's record of decision for the final environmental impact statement titled ``Revisions to USDA-APHIS 7 CFR part 340 Regulations Governing the Importation, Interstate Movement, and Environmental Release of Certain Genetically Engineered Organisms.''
Importation of Dianthus spp. From Kenya
Document Number: 2021-06947
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-04-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public that we are updating the U.S. Department of Agriculture Plants for Planting Manual to allow the importation of Dianthus spp. cuttings from Kenya without postentry quarantine, subject to certain conditions. We are taking this action in response to a request from this country and after determining that the cuttings can be imported, under certain conditions, without resulting in the introduction into, or the dissemination within, the United States of a plant pest.
Addition of India to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2021-06172
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-03-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added India to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in India.
Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Pepper Fruit From Colombia Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2021-06169
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-03-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation of fresh pepper fruit from Colombia into the continental United States. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh pepper fruit from Colombia.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; On-Farm Monitoring of Antimicrobial Use and Resistance in U.S. Broiler Production Study
Document Number: 2021-05360
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-03-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection associated with the National Animal Health Monitoring System's On-Farm Monitoring of Antimicrobial Use and Resistance in U.S. Broiler Production Study.
Addition of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2021-05275
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-03-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste.
Notice of Proposed Revision To Import Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Sand Pears From the Republic of Korea Into the United States
Document Number: 2021-05273
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-03-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis relative to the importation into the United States of sand pear (Pyrus pyrifolia var. culta) fruit from the Republic of Korea. Currently, sand pear fruit may be imported into the United States from the Republic of Korea under an Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service preclearance program or as non-precleared fruit into the port of Honolulu, HI. Based on the findings of our analysis, we are proposing to authorize imports of non-precleared sand pear fruit from the Republic of Korea into all U.S. ports as an alternative to the preclearance program. All sand pear fruit intended for importation into the United States from the Republic of Korea would be subject to a systems approach currently required for precleared fruit. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Regulation of the Movement of Animals Modified or Developed by Genetic Engineering
Document Number: 2021-04716
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2021-03-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, Food Safety and Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our advance notice of proposed rulemaking on establishing regulations for the movement of certain animals modified or developed by genetic engineering. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Control of Chronic Wasting Disease
Document Number: 2021-04511
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-03-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the control of chronic wasting disease in farmed and captive cervid herds.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; APHIS Student Outreach Program
Document Number: 2021-04510
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-03-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection associated with the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's Student Outreach Program.
Elimination of the Voluntary Trichinae Certification Program
Document Number: 2021-03772
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2021-03-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to eliminate the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) Voluntary Trichinae Certification Program and remove the regulations associated with the program. This action would also notify the public that APHIS will no longer maintain any activity associated with the program, such as training for qualified accredited veterinarians, on-farm audits, or any other administrative process associated with program maintenance and support. We are proposing to eliminate the program because it generates little producer participation. This action would allow APHIS to direct APHIS resources to areas of greater need.
Classify Canada as Level I for Bovine Tuberculosis and Brucellosis
Document Number: 2021-03773
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-02-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to classify Canada as Level I for both bovine tuberculosis and brucellosis. This proposed recognition is based on evaluations we have prepared in connection with this action, which we are making available for review and comment.
Classify the State of Sonora, Mexico, as Level I for Brucellosis
Document Number: 2021-03771
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-02-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to classify the State of Sonora, Mexico as Level 1 for brucellosis. This proposed recognition is based on an evaluation we have prepared in connection with this action, which we are making available for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Gypsy Moth Identification Worksheet and Checklist
Document Number: 2021-02905
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-02-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the gypsy moth program.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; Citrus Canker, Citrus Greening, and Asian Citrus Psyllid; Interstate Movement of Regulated Nursery Stock
Document Number: 2021-02904
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-02-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection associated with the interstate movement of regulated nursery stock from quarantined areas to prevent the spread of citrus canker, citrus greening, and Asian citrus psyllid.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Communicable Diseases in Horses
Document Number: 2021-02903
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-02-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for approving laboratories to test for equine infectious anemia and for the interstate movement of horses that have tested positive for equine infectious anemia.
Environmental Impact Statement for Predator Damage Management in Oregon
Document Number: 2021-01148
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-01-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is preparing an environmental impact statement analyzing alternatives for predator damage management in Oregon. This notice proposes issues and alternatives for consideration in the environmental impact statement and requests public comments to further delineate the scope of the alternatives, the environmental issues, and other issues of public concern to be considered. This notice also serves to inform the public that the U.S. Forest Service and the U.S. Department of the Interior's Bureau of Land Management have joined as cooperating agencies in the environmental impact statement process.