Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 2009 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan; Meeting
Document Number: E9-30666
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-12-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice of a meeting of the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan.
Notice of Availability of a Bovine Brucellosis Program Concept Paper
Document Number: E9-30684
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-12-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our notice that made a concept paper describing a new direction for the bovine brucellosis program available for public comment. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Change in Disease Status of the Republic of Korea With Regard to Foot-and-Mouth Disease and Rinderpest
Document Number: E9-30668
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-12-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations to add the Republic of Korea to the list of regions that are considered free of rinderpest and foot- and-mouth disease (FMD). We are taking this action because we have conducted an evaluation and determined that the Republic of Korea is free of rinderpest and FMD. We are also adding the Republic of Korea to the list of regions that are subject to certain import restrictions on meat and meat products because of their proximity to or trading relationships with rinderpest- or FMD-affected countries. These actions will update the disease status of the Republic of Korea with regard to rinderpest and FMD while continuing to protect the United States from an introduction of those diseases by providing additional requirements for meat and other animal products imported into the United States from the Republic of Korea.
Karnal Bunt; Regulated Areas
Document Number: E9-30130
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-12-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the Karnal bunt regulations to remove certain areas or fields in Riverside County, CA, from the list of regulated areas based on our determination that those areas or fields meet our criteria for release from regulation of Karnal bunt, a fungal disease of wheat. This interim rule relieved restrictions on certain areas or fields that are no longer necessary.
Tuberculosis in Cattle and Bison; State and Zone Designations; Michigan
Document Number: E9-30128
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-12-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the bovine tuberculosis regulations to adjust the boundaries of the modified accredited and modified accredited advanced tuberculosis risk classification zones for the State of Michigan. We have determined that Antrim, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Crawford, Emmet, and Otsego Counties, MI, which are currently designated as modified accredited, now meet our requirements for modified accredited advanced status. Therefore, we are removing these six counties from the list of modified accredited zones and adding them to the list of modified accredited advanced zones. This action lessens restrictions on the interstate movement of cattle and bison from these areas of Michigan.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Imported Seed and Screenings
Document Number: E9-30127
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-12-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for importation of seed and screenings.
Recognition of Breeds and Books of Record of Purebred Animals
Document Number: E9-30036
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-12-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Importation of Swine Hides and Skins, Bird Trophies, and Ruminant Hides and Skins
Document Number: E9-29798
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-12-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of animal byproducts to require that untanned swine hides and skins from regions with African swine fever and bird trophies from regions with exotic Newcastle disease meet certain requirements or go directly to an approved establishment upon importation into the United States. We are also setting out certain requirements for the importation of untanned bovine, deer, and other ruminant hides and skins into the United States from Mexico to prevent the spread of bovine babesiosis. These requirements will provide for the importation of these articles under conditions intended to prevent the introduction of African swine fever, bovine babesiosis, and exotic Newcastle disease.
Importation of Cooked Pork Skins
Document Number: E9-29797
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-12-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations to allow for the importation of cooked pork skins from regions affected with foot-and-mouth disease, swine vesicular disease, African swine fever, and classical swine fever under certain conditions. We are taking this action after preparing a risk assessment that concluded that the cooking methods examined are sufficient to inactivate the pathogens of concern. This action will relieve restrictions on the importation of cooked pork skins while continuing to protect against the introduction of those diseases of concern.
Swine Health Protection; Feeding of Processed Product to Swine
Document Number: E9-29265
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-12-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the swine health protection regulations to clarify the applicability of the regulations regarding the treatment of garbage that consists of industrially processed materials. The interim rule made clear that such materials are subject to the same treatment requirements as other regulated garbage, except for materials that meet the definition of processed product that we added to the regulations in the interim rule. The interim rule was necessary to ensure that garbage fed to swine has been treated to inactivate disease organisms that pose a risk to the U.S. swine industry.
Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.; Determination of Nonregulated Status for Corn Genetically Engineered for Tolerance to Glyphosate and Acetolactate Synthase-Inhibiting Herbicides
Document Number: E9-29264
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-12-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a corn line developed by Pioneer Hi-Bred International, designated as transformation event 98140, which has been genetically engineered for tolerance to glyphosate and acetolactate synthase-inhibiting herbicides, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by the Pioneer Hi-Bred International in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of other scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to a previous notice announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
National Veterinary Accreditation Program
Document Number: E9-29253
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-12-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations regarding the National Veterinary Accreditation Program to establish two accreditation categories in place of the former single category, to add requirements for supplemental training and renewal of accreditation, and to offer program certifications. We are making these changes in order to support the Agency's animal health safeguarding initiatives, to involve accredited veterinarians in integrated surveillance activities, and to make the provisions governing our National Veterinary Accreditation Program more uniform and consistent. These changes will increase the level of training and skill of accredited veterinarians in the areas of disease prevention and preparedness for animal health emergencies in the United States.
International Sanitary and Phytosanitary Standard-Setting Activities
Document Number: E9-28143
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-11-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with legislation implementing the results of the Uruguay Round of negotiations under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, we are informing the public of the international standard- setting activities of the World Organization for Animal Health, the Secretariat of the International Plant Protection Convention, and the North American Plant Protection Organization, and we are soliciting public comment on the standards to be considered.
Availability of a Draft Environmental Assessment for Oral Rabies Vaccine Program
Document Number: E9-28142
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-11-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a proposed environmental assessment relative to oral rabies vaccination programs in several States. Since the publication of our original environmental assessment and decision/finding of no significant impact in 2001, we have prepared, and made available to the public for comment, several supplemental environmental assessments and decisions/findings of no significant impact in order to reflect changes in the program. The new environmental assessment made available by this notice analyzes the further expansion the oral rabies vaccination program to include the States of New Mexico and Arizona, which is necessary to effectively combat the gray fox variant of the rabies virus. The new environmental assessment is intended to facilitate planning and interagency coordination in the event of rabies outbreaks, help streamline program management, and clearly communicate to the public the actions involved in the oral rabies vaccination program.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Classical Swine Fever Status of Chile
Document Number: E9-27401
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-11-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of live swine, pork, and pork products from Chile.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Spring Viremia of Carp; Import Restrictions on Certain Live Fish, Fertilized Eggs, and Gametes
Document Number: E9-27400
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-11-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of live fish, fertilized eggs, and gametes to prevent the introduction of spring viremia of carp into the United States.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for a Biological Control Agent for Water Hyacinth
Document Number: E9-27393
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-11-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to the control of water hyacinth (Eichhornia crassipes). The environmental assessment considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the release of an insect, Megamelus scutellaris, into the continental United States for use as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of water hyacinth infestations. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Asian Longhorned Beetle; Addition to Quarantined Areas in Massachusetts and New York
Document Number: E9-26679
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-11-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Asian longhorned beetle regulations by adding a portion of Worcester County, MA, to the list of quarantined areas and updating the description of the quarantined area in the Borough of Staten Island in the City of New York, NY. This action will restrict the interstate movement of regulated articles from these areas. This interim rule is necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the Asian longhorned beetle to noninfested areas of the United States.
Brucellosis in Cattle; State and Area Classifications; Montana
Document Number: E9-26678
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-11-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the brucellosis regulations concerning the interstate movement of cattle by changing the classification of Montana from Class A to Class Free. We determined that Montana met the standards for Class Free status. The interim rule relieved certain restrictions on the interstate movement of cattle from Montana.
Pale Cyst Nematode; Update of Quarantined Areas
Document Number: E9-26676
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-11-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have made changes to the area in the State of Idaho that is quarantined to prevent the spread of pale cyst nematode. The description of the quarantined area was updated on May 22, 2009, when 1,834 acres were removed from the quarantined area, and on June 3, 2009, when an additional 283 acres were removed from the quarantined area.
User Fees for Agricultural Quarantine and Inspection Services
Document Number: E9-26518
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-11-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This document withdraws the interim rule published in the Federal Register on September 28, 2009, adjusting the user fees charged for certain agricultural quarantine and inspection services provided in connection with certain commercial vessels, commercial trucks, commercial railroad cars, commercial aircraft, and international airline passengers arriving at ports in the customs territory of the United States. That interim rule was originally scheduled to become effective on October 1, 2009, but on October 2, 2009, we published in the Federal Register a second document delaying the effective date until November 1, 2009. We have now decided to withdraw the interim rule in order to explore other regulatory alternatives.
Importation of Tomatoes From Souss-Massa-Draa, Morocco
Document Number: E9-26308
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-11-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations to allow the importation of commercial consignments of tomatoes from the Souss-Massa-Draa region of Morocco subject to a systems approach similar to that which is already in place for tomatoes imported into the United States from other areas within Morocco. The tomatoes will have to be produced under conditions that include requirements for pest exclusion at the production site, fruit fly trapping inside the production site, and pest-exclusionary packinghouse procedures. The tomatoes will also be required to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the Moroccan national plant protection organization with an additional declaration stating that the tomatoes have been grown in registered pest- exclusionary structures in the Souss-Massa-Draa region and were pink at the time of packing. This action will allow for the importation of commercial consignments of tomatoes from the Souss-Massa-Draa region of Morocco into the United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.; Availability of Petition and Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status for Genetically Engineered High-oleic Soybeans
Document Number: E9-25686
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-10-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is extending the public comment period on a petition from Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc., seeking a determination of nonregulated status for soybean designated as transformation event 305423, which has been genetically engineered to have higher levels of oleic acid and lower levels of linoleic and linolenic acids in their oil. Due to an Agency oversight, an incorrect version of the Pioneer petition was originally posted on the Internet for review and comment. With this notice, we are advising the public that the correct version of the petition has been posted and is available for review and comment. We are also extending the comment period for the petition, the draft environmental assessment, and the plant pest risk assessment in order to provide the public a full 60 days to consider the petition for determination of nonregulated status and the supporting documents associated with that petition.
User Fees for Agricultural Quarantine and Inspection Services; Public Meeting
Document Number: E9-25548
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2009-10-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Citrus Canker; Movement of Fruit From Quarantined Areas
Document Number: E9-25328
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-10-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the citrus canker regulations to modify the conditions under which fruit may be moved interstate from a quarantined area. We are eliminating the requirement that each lot of finished fruit be inspected at the packinghouse and found to be free of visible symptoms of citrus canker and removing the current prohibition on the movement of fruit from a quarantined area to commercial citrus- producing States. We are continuing to require fruit moved interstate from a quarantined area to be treated with an approved disinfectant and to be packed in a commercial packinghouse that operates under a compliance agreement. These changes will relieve some restrictions on the interstate movement of fresh citrus fruit from quarantined areas while maintaining conditions that will prevent the artificial spread of citrus canker.
Hazardous Materials: Harmonization With the United Nations Recommendations on the Transport of Dangerous Goods Model Regulations, International Maritime Dangerous Goods Code, International Civil Aviation Organization Technical Instructions for the Safe Transport of Dangerous Goods by Air, and Transport Canada's Transport of Dangerous Goods Regulations
Document Number: E9-25358
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2009-10-21
Agency: Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration, Department of Transportation, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, Department of Agriculture
PHMSA is considering amending the Hazardous Materials Regulations (HMR) by incorporating various amendments to international standards and modal regulations, including changes to proper shipping names, hazard classes, packing groups, special provisions, and packaging authorizations. These amendments may be necessary to harmonize the HMR with revised editions of the United Nations Recommendations on the Transport of Dangerous Goods Model Regulations and Manual of Tests and Criteria, the International Maritime Organization's Dangerous Goods Code, the International Civil Aviation Organization's Technical Instructions for the Safe Transport of Dangerous Goods by Air and Transport Canada's Transport of Dangerous Goods Regulations. In this notice, we are soliciting public comment regarding the safety consequences, regulatory burden, and cost implications of some of the more significant amendments adopted or under consideration for adoption in these international standards.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Nursery Stock
Document Number: E9-25332
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-10-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of nursery stock.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Untreated Oranges, Tangerines, and Grapefruit from Mexico Transiting the United States to Foreign Countries
Document Number: E9-25331
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-10-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the transit of untreated oranges, tangerines, and grapefruit from Mexico through the United States to other foreign countries.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Cut Flowers from Countries with Chrysanthemum White Rust
Document Number: E9-25330
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-10-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of cut flowers from countries with chrysanthemum white rust.
Environmental Impact Statement; Movement of Plant Pests, Biological Control Organisms, and Associated Articles
Document Number: E9-25184
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2009-10-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service intends to prepare an environmental impact statement relative to proposed regulatory requirements that are being developed for the movement of plant pests, biological control organisms, and associated articles. This notice identifies potential issues and alternatives that will be studied in the environmental impact statement and requests public comment to further delineate the scope of those issues and alternatives.
Amendments to Treatments for Sweet Cherry and Citrus Fruit from Australia and Irradiation Dose for Mediterranean Fruit Fly
Document Number: E9-25120
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2009-10-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations pertaining to approved phytosanitary treatments of fruits and vegetables by adding new treatment schedules for sweet cherries and for certain species of citrus fruit imported from Australia into the United States. Based on our treatment evaluation, we have determined that the proposed treatments would be effective against Mediterranean fruit fly and Queensland fruit fly, pests associated with sweet cherries and citrus fruit from Australia. We also propose to establish an approved irradiation dose for Mediterranean fruit fly of 100 gray, which is lower than the generic dose of 150 gray that is approved for all fruit flies. New peer-reviewed data indicate that the 100 gray irradiation dose will neutralize Mediterranean fruit fly. These changes would offer more flexibility in treatments while continuing to prevent the introduction or interstate movement of quarantine pests.
Noxious Weeds; Old World Climbing Fern and Maidenhair Creeper
Document Number: E9-25119
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-10-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the noxious weed regulations by adding Old World climbing fern (Lygodium microphyllum (Cavanilles) R. Brown) and maidenhair creeper (Lygodium flexuosum (Linnaeus) Swartz) to the list of terrestrial noxious weeds. This action is necessary to prevent the artificial spread of these noxious weeds into the United States.
Notice of Availability of a Bovine Tuberculosis Program Concept Paper
Document Number: E9-23948
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-10-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making a concept paper describing a new direction for the bovine tuberculosis program available for public review and comment. The cooperative Federal-State-industry effort to eradicate bovine tuberculosis from cattle in the United States has made significant progress since the program's inception in 1917. However, several challenges impede eradication. The concept paper we are making available presents our current thinking about changes we are
Notice of Availability of a Bovine Brucellosis Program Concept Paper
Document Number: E9-23947
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-10-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making a concept paper describing a new direction for the bovine brucellosis program available for public review and comment. The cooperative Federal-State-industry effort to eradicate bovine brucellosis from cattle in the United States has made significant progress since the program's inception in 1934. However, unique challenges impede eradication. The concept paper we are making available presents our current thinking about changes we are planning
User Fees for Agricultural Quarantine and Inspection Services
Document Number: E9-23930
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-10-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
On September 28, 2009, we published an interim rule in the Federal Register to adjust the fees charged for certain agricultural quarantine and inspection (AQI) services that are provided in connection with certain commercial vessels, commercial trucks, commercial railroad cars, commercial aircraft, and international airline passengers arriving at ports in the customs territory of the United States. That interim rule was scheduled to become effective on October 1, 2009. We are delaying the effective date of the interim rule until November 1, 2009. This delay will provide entities affected by the changes in AQI user fees additional time to make the necessary preparations to comply with the new fees.
Submission of Itineraries
Document Number: E9-23679
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2009-10-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the Animal Welfare Act regulations to include more specific requirements in the regulations concerning the submission of itineraries by any person who is subject to the Animal Welfare Act regulations and who intends to exhibit any animal at any location other than the person's approved site(s). We believe APHIS' inspectors' access to animals, facilities, and records for unannounced inspections when animals are exhibited at a location other than at a regulated person's approved site(s) is necessary to improve compliance with the regulations and the Animal Welfare Act.
User Fees for Agricultural Quarantine and Inspection Services
Document Number: E9-23387
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-09-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the user fee regulations by adjusting the fees charged for certain agricultural quarantine and inspection (AQI) services that are provided in connection with certain commercial vessels, commercial trucks, commercial railroad cars, commercial aircraft, and international airline passengers arriving at ports in the customs territory of the United States. The recent downturn in the U.S. economy has negatively impacted travel volumes, and, as a result, our user fee collections, which fund these services, have diminished. Although the volume of international travel and trade has decreased, inspection and related support services continue to be provided at their existing levels, so expenses have not decreased. As a result, our user fee collections have not been sufficient to enable us to provide those services and maintain a reasonable reserve balance. We are therefore increasing our AQI user fees in order to provide adequate funds for these purposes.
Commuted Traveltime
Document Number: E9-23327
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-09-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations concerning overtime services provided by employees of the Agency's Plant Protection and Quarantine (PPQ) program by adding or amending commuted traveltime allowances for travel between certain locations in the District of Columbia, Florida, Illinois, and Minnesota. Commuted traveltime allowances are the periods of time required for PPQ employees to travel from their dispatch points and return there from the places where they perform Sunday, holiday, or other overtime duty. The Government charges a fee for certain overtime services provided by PPQ employees and, under certain circumstances, the fee may include the cost of commuted traveltime. This action is necessary to inform the public of commuted traveltime for these locations.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for a Biological Control Agent for Japanese Beetle
Document Number: E9-23326
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-09-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to the control of Japanese beetle (Popillia japonica). The environmental assessment considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the release of a bacterium, Bacillus thuringiensis japonensis, into the continental United States for the use of biological control to reduce the severity of infestations of Japanese beetle on turfgrass. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Fiscal Year 2010 Veterinary Import/Export User Fees and Veterinary Diagnostic Services User Fees
Document Number: E9-23320
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-09-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This notice pertains to user fees charged for import- and export-related services that we provide for animals, animal products, birds, germ plasm, organisms, and vectors and for certain veterinary diagnostic services. The purpose of this notice is to remind the public of the user fees for fiscal year 2010 (October 1, 2009, through September 30, 2010).
Notice of Determination of the Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza Subtype H5N1 Status of Hungary
Document Number: E9-23129
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-09-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination regarding the highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI) subtype H5N1 status of Hungary following outbreaks in 2006 and 2007. Based on our evaluation of the animal health status of two counties (B[aacute]cs-Kiskun and Csongr[aacute]d) in Hungary, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, the Administrator has determined that the importation of live birds, poultry carcasses, parts or products of poultry carcasses, and eggs (other than hatching eggs) of poultry, game birds, and other birds from Hungary presents a low risk of introducing HPAI H5N1 into the United States.
Tuberculosis in Cattle and Bison; State and Zone Designations; New Mexico
Document Number: E9-22960
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the bovine tuberculosis regulations by establishing two separate zones with different tuberculosis risk classifications for the State of New Mexico. Prior to the interim rule, the entire State of New Mexico had been classified as modified accredited advanced; however, all its affected herds were located in Curry and Roosevelt Counties, NM, along the State's eastern border. The interim rule was necessary to relieve restrictions on the interstate movement of cattle and bison from areas of New Mexico outside those two counties.
Notice of Determination of the Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza Subtype H5N1 Status of Saxony, Germany
Document Number: E9-22931
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination regarding the highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI) subtype H5N1 status of Saxony, Germany, following an outbreak in 2008. Based on our assessment of the animal health status of Saxony, Germany, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, the Administrator has determined that the importation of live birds, poultry carcasses, parts or products of poultry carcasses, and eggs (other than hatching eggs) of poultry, game birds, and other birds from Saxony, Germany, presents a low risk of introducing HPAI H5N1 into the United States.
Notice of Determination of the Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza Subtype H5N1 Status of Suffolk and Norfolk Counties in England
Document Number: E9-22929
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination regarding the highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI) subtype H5N1 status of Suffolk and Norfolk Counties, England, following outbreaks in 2007. Based on an evaluation of the animal health status of Suffolk and Norfolk Counties, England, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, the Administrator has determined that the importation of live birds, poultry carcasses, parts or products of poultry carcasses, and eggs (other than hatching eggs) of poultry, game birds, and other birds from Suffolk and Norfolk Counties, England, presents a low risk of introducing HPAI H5N1 into the United States.
Emerald Ash Borer; Quarantined Areas; Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wisconsin
Document Number: E9-22635
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-09-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the emerald ash borer regulations by adding areas in Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wisconsin to the list of areas quarantined because of emerald ash borer. As a result of this action, the interstate movement of regulated articles from those areas is restricted. This action is necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the emerald ash borer from infested areas in the States of Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wisconsin into noninfested areas of the United States.
Gypsy Moth Generally Infested Areas; Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Ohio, and Virginia
Document Number: E9-22634
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-09-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the gypsy moth regulations by adding areas in Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Ohio, and Virginia to the list of generally infested areas based on the detection of infestations of gypsy moth in those areas. As a result of this action, the interstate movement of regulated articles from those areas is restricted. This action is necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the gypsy moth to noninfested areas of the United States.
Pine Shoot Beetle; Additions to Quarantined Areas
Document Number: E9-22633
Type: Rule
Date: 2009-09-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the pine shoot beetle regulations by adding the entire State of Ohio and counties in Maine and Indiana to the list of quarantined areas. We are taking this action following the detection of pine shoot beetle in those areas. This action is necessary to prevent the spread of pine shoot beetle, a pest of pine trees, into noninfested areas of the United States.
Regulation of the Interstate Movement of Lemons From an Area Quarantined for Mediterranean Fruit Fly
Document Number: E9-22631
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2009-09-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the list of regulated articles in our domestic fruit fly quarantine regulations. The regulations currently indicate that smooth-skinned lemons (all varieties of Citrus limon) harvested for packing by commercial packinghouses are not regulated articles for Mediterranean fruit fly. We are proposing to amend the regulations to designate all yellow lemons as regulated articles. This proposed change is based on research indicating that, under certain conditions, yellow lemons are a host for Mediterranean fruit fly. As a result of this proposed action, yellow lemons produced in an area quarantined for Mediterranean fruit fly would be subject to certain interstate movement restrictions in order to prevent the spread of that pest into uninfested areas of the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Permanent, Privately Owned Horse Quarantine Facilities
Document Number: E9-22226
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-09-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for permanent, privately owned horse quarantine facilities.
Determination of Pest-Free Areas in the Republic of South Africa; Request for Comments
Document Number: E9-22225
Type: Notice
Date: 2009-09-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our notice that would recognize 16 additional magisterial districts in 3 provinces as pest- free areas for citrus black spot in the Republic of South Africa. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.