Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 2019 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Addition of Burma (Myanmar) to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2019-27910
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-12-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Burma (Myanmar) to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in Burma (Myanmar).
Addition of Serbia to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2019-27908
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-12-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Serbia to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in Serbia.
Privacy Act of 1974; System of Records
Document Number: 2019-27800
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-12-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposal to modify a system of records titled the Animal Welfare Act and Horse Protection Act, USDA/APHIS-8. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
National Poultry Improvement Plan and Auxiliary Provisions
Document Number: 2019-23973
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-12-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations governing the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP). These amendments would establish a U.S. Newcastle Disease Clean program within the NPIP, create an NPIP subpart specific to game birds, revise testing requirements, and clarify existing provisions of the regulations. We are also proposing to amend the regulations concerning the payment of indemnity and compensation for low pathogenic avian influenza to reflect current policy and operational practices, and to allow NPIP voting delegates to represent multiple States during the Biennial Conferences. These proposed changes were voted on and approved by the voting delegates at the NPIP's 2018 National Plan Conference.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Scrapie in Sheep and Goats; Interstate Movement Restrictions and Indemnity Program
Document Number: 2019-26115
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-12-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the current regulations for the interstate movement of sheep and goats and an indemnity program to control the spread of scrapie. This notice is separate from any new rulemaking.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Phytosanitary Export Certification
Document Number: 2019-26111
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-12-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the issuance of phytosanitary certificates for plants or plant products being exported to foreign countries.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact; Southwestern Willow Flycatcher Conservation Program
Document Number: 2019-26110
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-12-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the United States Department of Agriculture and its sub-agency, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, have prepared an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact for a conservation program pursuant to the Endangered Species Act to benefit the southwestern willow flycatcher, a small, neotropical migrant bird found in Arizona, California, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, and Utah. Based on our finding of no significant impact, we have determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
International Sanitary and Phytosanitary Standard-Setting Activities
Document Number: 2019-25443
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with legislation implementing the results of the Uruguay Round of negotiations under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, we are informing the public of the international standard- setting activities of the World Organization for Animal Health, the Secretariat of the International Plant Protection Convention, and the North American Plant Protection Organization, and we are soliciting public comment on the standard-setting activities.
Plants for Planting Whose Importation Is Not Authorized Pending Pest Risk Analysis; Notice of Availability of Data Sheets for Taxa of Plants for Planting That are Quarantine Pests or Hosts of Quarantine Pests
Document Number: 2019-25439
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that 26 taxa of plants for planting are quarantine pests, and that all Myrtaceae taxa (when destined to Hawaii), all subfamily Bambusoideae taxa, and 43 other taxa of plants for planting are hosts of 18 quarantine pests, and therefore should be added to our lists of taxa of plants for planting whose importation is not authorized pending pest risk analysis. We have prepared data sheets that detail the scientific evidence we evaluated in making the determination that the taxa are quarantine pests or hosts of quarantine pests. We are making these data sheets available to the public for review and comment.
Swine Health Protection Act; Amendments to Garbage Feeding Regulations
Document Number: 2019-25367
Type: Rule
Date: 2019-11-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Swine Health Protection Act regulations by removing the State status lists from the regulations in order to maintain these lists on the Agency's website. These changes will allow us to use a notice-based, streamlined approach to update the lists while continuing to protect swine health in the United States.
Environmental Impact Statement for Predator Damage Management in Oregon
Document Number: 2019-24720
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service plans to prepare an environmental impact statement analyzing alternatives for predator damage management in Oregon.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Carrots From the Republic of Korea Into the United States
Document Number: 2019-24535
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh carrots from the Republic of Korea into the United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh carrots from the Republic of Korea. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Concurrence With OIE Risk Designations for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
Document Number: 2019-24455
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to concur with the World Organization for Animal Health's (OIE) bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk designations for Nicaragua. The OIE recognizes this region as being of negligible risk for BSE. We are taking this action based on our review of information supporting the OIE's risk designations for this region.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Domestic Quarantine Regulations
Document Number: 2019-23905
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the domestic quarantine regulations for preventing the spread of plant pests and diseases within the United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Veterinary Services Field Operations Export Services Customer Service Survey Project
Document Number: 2019-23904
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection to evaluate service delivery by the Veterinary Services Field Operations Export Service Centers to the public.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Introduction of Organisms and Products Altered or Produced Through Genetic Engineering
Document Number: 2019-23344
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the introduction of organisms and products altered or produced through genetic engineering.
Concurrence With OIE Risk Designations for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
Document Number: 2019-23343
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our preliminary concurrence with the World Organization for Animal Health's (OIE) bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk designations for Ecuador and Serbia. The OIE recognizes Ecuador as being of controlled risk for BSE and Serbia as being of negligible risk for BSE. We are taking this action based on our review of information supporting the OIE's risk designations for these regions.
Privacy Act of 1974; System of Records
Document Number: 2019-23210
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 and Office of Management and Budget Circular No. A-108, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) gives notice that a component agency, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS), proposes to modify an existing system of records notice titled Veterinary ServicesAnimal Welfare, USDA/APHIS-8. Among other changes, the system will be renamed Animal Welfare Act and Horse Protection Act, USDA/APHIS-8.
Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Guava From Taiwan Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-22648
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation of fresh guava fruit from Taiwan into the continental United States. Based on the findings of the pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public to review and comment through a previous notice, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh guava fruit from Taiwan.
Notice of Determination of the Foot-and-Mouth Disease Status of Singapore
Document Number: 2019-22646
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination to recognize Singapore as being free of foot-and-mouth disease (FMD). Based on our evaluation of the FMD status of Singapore, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, the Administrator has determined that Singapore is free of FMD.
Notice of a Determination Regarding the Fever Tick Status of the State of Baja California, Mexico
Document Number: 2019-22645
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that the State of Baja California, Mexico is free from Rhipicephalus (formerly Boophilus) spp. ticks, known as fever ticks. The evaluation determined that this region is free from fever ticks and that ruminants imported from the area pose a low risk of exposing ruminants within the United States.
Notice of Determination; Changes to the Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Certification Program Standards
Document Number: 2019-22453
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are updating the Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) Herd Certification Program Standards. In a previous notice, we made available to the public for review and comment proposed changes to the CWD Program Standards to provide guidance on how to meet CWD Herd Certification Program and interstate movement requirements.
Changes to the National Poultry Improvement Plan Program Standards
Document Number: 2019-22299
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are updating the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) Program Standards. In a previous notice, we made available to the public for review and comment proposed changes to the NPIP Program Standards. These changes will be added to the NPIP Program Standards.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Health Management on U.S. Feedlots 2020 Study
Document Number: 2019-21924
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection to conduct the National Animal Health Monitoring System Health Management on U.S. Feedlots 2020 Study.
Determination of Regulatory Review Period for Purposes of Patent Extension; Porcine Circovirus Vaccine, Type 1-Type 2 Chimera, Killed Virus, Mycoplasma Hyopneumoniae Bacterin
Document Number: 2019-21677
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined the regulatory review period for Porcine Circovirus Vaccine, Type 1-Type 2 Chimera, Killed Virus, Mycoplasma Hyopneumoniae Bacterin and is publishing this notice of that determination as required by law. We have made this determination in response to the submission of an application to the Commissioner for Patents, Department of Commerce, for the extension of a patent that claims that veterinary biologic.
Monsanto Company; Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Cotton Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2019-20961
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from Monsanto Company seeking a determination of nonregulated status for cotton designated as MON 88702, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to certain insects, primarily Lygus spp. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the Monsanto petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that APHIS may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for the Release of Cheilosia urbana for Biological Control of Invasive Hawkweeds
Document Number: 2019-20583
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to the release of the hoverfly Cheilosia urbana for the biological control of hawkweeds (Pilosella species), a significant invasive weed, within the contiguous United States. Based on our finding of no significant impact, we have determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Pork-Filled Pasta Products
Document Number: 2019-20578
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of pork- filled pasta products into the United States.
Notice of Request for an Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Interstate Movement of Certain Land Tortoises
Document Number: 2019-20576
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the interstate movement of certain land tortoises.
Import Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Sand Pears From Japan Into the United States
Document Number: 2019-20532
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis relative to the importation into the United States of sand pears (Pyrus pyrifolia) fruit from Japan. Currently, sand pears may only be imported from certain authorized production areas within Japan. Based on the findings of the analysis, we are proposing to authorize the importation of sand pears from all of Japan, rather than specific areas of production, and to revise the conditions under which sand pears from Japan may be imported into the United States. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Import Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Unshu Oranges From Japan Into the United States
Document Number: 2019-20531
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared commodity import evaluation documents (CIEDs) relative to the importation into the United States of Unshu oranges from Japan. Currently, Unshu oranges imported into the United States from the islands of Shikoku or Honshu must be fumigated with methyl bromide as a mitigation for mites and mealybugs if the oranges are destined to a port of entry in Arizona, California, Florida, Hawaii, Louisiana, or Texas. Additionally, Unshu oranges from the island of Kyushu are prohibited entry into Arizona, California, Florida, Hawaii, or Texas. Based on the findings of the CIEDs, we are proposing to remove the fumigation requirement for Unshu oranges from the islands of Honshu and Shikoku and to allow Unshu oranges from the island of Kyushu to be imported into any port of entry in the United States (excluding territories). We are making the CIEDs available to the public for review and comment.
Addition of Hong Kong to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2019-20522
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Hong Kong to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Services considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in Hong Kong.
Addition of Laos to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2019-20521
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Laos to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in Laos.
Addition of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2019-20520
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK) to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of the confirmation of ASF in the DPRK.
Deregulation of Pine Shoot Beetle
Document Number: 2019-20381
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend our regulations to remove the domestic pine shoot beetle (PSB) quarantine and to eliminate the restrictions that apply to the importation of PSB host material from Canada. We have prepared an analysis of regulatory options, which we are making available for public review and comment, that evaluates the effectiveness of the regulatory program in slowing the spread of the pest and reducing damages. This action would provide flexibility to the States as they manage PSB, would allow Federal resources spent on this program to be allocated elsewhere, and would remove PSB-related interstate movement and importation restrictions on PSB regulated articles.
Notification of Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Cape Gooseberry Fruit From Ecuador to the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-20096
Type: Rule
Date: 2019-09-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation into the continental United States of fresh cape gooseberry fruit from Ecuador. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh cape gooseberry fruit from Ecuador.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for the Biological Control of Yellow Starthistle
Document Number: 2019-20097
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a final environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to the release of Ceratapion basicorne for the biological control of yellow starthistle, Centaurea solstitialis (Asteraceae), in the continental United States. Based on our finding of no significant impact, we have determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Notice of Availability of an Evaluation of the Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza and Newcastle Disease Status of Romania
Document Number: 2019-19893
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to recognize Romania as being free of highly pathogenic avian influenza and Newcastle disease. This proposed recognition is based on a risk evaluation we have prepared in connection with this action, which we are making available for review and comment.
National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee; Meeting; Correction
Document Number: 2019-19892
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are correcting an error in a notice published in the Federal Register on August 6, 2019, which announced a forthcoming National Wildlife Services Committee meeting. We provided an incorrect arrival time for attendees. This document corrects that error. The meeting will still begin at 8 a.m. and end at 5 p.m. on September 18 and 19, 2019.
Environmental Impact Statement; Regulation of the Importation, Interstate Movement, and Intrastate Movement of Plant Pests: Record of Decision
Document Number: 2019-19856
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This notice advises the public of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's record of decision for the final environmental impact statement titled ``Regulation of the Importation, Interstate Movement, and Intrastate Movement of Plant Pests.''
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Table Eggs From Regions Where Newcastle Disease Exists and Exportation of Poultry and Hatching Eggs
Document Number: 2019-19753
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of table eggs from regions where Newcastle disease exists and exportation of poultry and hatching eggs from the United States.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment for the Release of Sericothrips staphylinus for Biological Control of Gorse
Document Number: 2019-17809
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-08-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to permitting the release of Sericothrips staphylinus for the biological control of gorse, a spiny shrub, within the contiguous United States. Based on the environmental assessment and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that the release of this control agent will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Addition of Vietnam to the List of Regions Affected by African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2019-17471
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-08-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Vietnam to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We are taking this action because of the confirmation of ASF in Vietnam.
Addition of Cambodia to the List of Regions Affected by African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2019-17468
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-08-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Cambodia to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We are taking this action because of the confirmation of ASF in Cambodia.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Irradiation Phytosanitary Treatment of Imported Fruits and Vegetables
Document Number: 2019-17467
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-08-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the use of irradiation as a phytosanitary treatment of imported fruits and vegetables.
Privacy Act of 1974; System of Records
Document Number: 2019-17461
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-08-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service proposes to add a system of records to its inventory of records systems subject to the Privacy Act of 1974, as amended. The system of records being proposed is the Agricultural Quarantine Activity System, USDA/APHIS-20. This notice is necessary to meet the requirements of the Privacy Act to publish in the Federal Register notice of the existence and character of record systems maintained by the agency. Although the Privacy Act requires only that the portion of the system which describes the ``routine uses'' of the system be published for comment, we invite comment on all portions of this notice.
BASF Plant Science, LP; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Canola Genetically Engineered for Altered Oil Profile and Resistance to an Imidazolinone Herbicide
Document Number: 2019-16921
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-08-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that canola designated as event LBFLFK, which has been genetically engineered to allow for the synthesis of long chain omega-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids, including eicosapentaenoic acid and docosahexaenoic acid, from oleic acid in canola seed, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by BASF Plant Science, LP, in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notices announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Verdeca LLC; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Yield Increase and Resistance to Glufosinate
Document Number: 2019-16920
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-08-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that the new plant variety HB4 soybean designated as event IND-00410-5, which has been genetically engineered for increased yield and resistance to the herbicide glufosinate, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by Verdeca LLC in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notices announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Addition of Scotland to the List of Regions Classified as Having Controlled Risk for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
Document Number: 2019-16902
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-08-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Scotland, a region within the United Kingdom, to our list of regions classified as having controlled risk for bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) and have removed Scotland from our list of regions considered negligible risk for BSE. We are taking this action because of the confirmation of classical C-type BSE in an indigenous cow in Scotland.
National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee; Meeting
Document Number: 2019-16758
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-08-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice of a meeting of the National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee.