Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 2012 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Handling of Animals; Contingency Plans
Document Number: 2012-31422
Type: Rule
Date: 2012-12-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Animal Welfare Act regulations to add requirements for contingency planning and training of personnel by research facilities and by dealers, exhibitors, intermediate handlers, and carriers. We are taking this action because we believe all licensees and registrants should develop a contingency plan for all animals regulated under the Animal Welfare Act in an effort to better prepare for potential disasters. This action will heighten the awareness of licensees and registrants regarding their responsibilities and help ensure a timely and appropriate response should an emergency or disaster occur.
Submission of Itineraries
Document Number: 2012-31417
Type: Rule
Date: 2012-12-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Animal Welfare Act regulations to include more specific requirements in the regulations concerning the submission of itineraries by any person who is subject to the Animal Welfare Act regulations and who intends to exhibit any animal at any location other than the person's approved site when travel will extend overnight. APHIS inspectors need access to animals, facilities, and records for unannounced inspections when animals are exhibited at a location other than at a regulated person's approved site to improve compliance with the regulations and the Animal Welfare Act.
Data Standards for Electronic Interstate Certificates of Veterinary Inspection
Document Number: 2012-31401
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-12-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This notice announces the availability of new data standards required to generate an official interstate certificate of veterinary inspection (ICVI). The data standards would define the minimum data elements required to generate an ICVI using an electronic data system, outline the methods by which data can be shared between participating systems, and provide methods of approving data systems for data quality control. We are making these standards available for public review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Animal Disease Traceability Information Systems, Agreements, and Reports
Document Number: 2012-31346
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-12-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection that will help the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service to strengthen its animal disease prevention and response capabilities.
Importation of Sand Pears From China
Document Number: 2012-30532
Type: Rule
Date: 2012-12-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of sand pears (Pyrus pyrifolia) from China into the United States. As a condition of entry, sand pears from areas in China in which the Oriental fruit fly (Bactrocera dorsalis) is not known to exist will have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that includes requirements for registration of places of production and packinghouses, sourcing of pest-free propagative material, inspection for quarantine pests at set intervals by the national plant protection organization of China, bagging of fruit, safeguarding, labeling, and importation in commercial consignments. Sand pears from areas in China in which Oriental fruit fly is known to exist may be imported into the United States if, in addition to these requirements, the places of production and packinghouses have a monitoring system in place for Oriental fruit fly and the pears are treated with cold treatment. All sand pears from China will also be required to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that all conditions for the importation of the pears have been met and that the consignment of pears has been inspected and found free of quarantine pests. This action will allow for the importation of sand pears from China into the United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Notice of Availability of an Evaluation of the Swine Vesicular Disease Status of Certain Regions in Italy
Document Number: 2012-30257
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2012-12-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that the Italian Regions of Lombardia, Emilio-Romagna, Veneto, and Piemonte and the autonomous provinces of Trento and Bolzano are free of swine vesicular disease. This determination is based on our review of the documentation submitted by the Government of Italy in support of its request and the findings of our own animal health risk evaluation. We are making our determination, as well as the evaluation we have prepared in connection with this action, available for review and comment.
Importation of Live Swine, Swine Semen, Pork, and Pork Products; Estonia, Hungary, Slovakia, and Slovenia
Document Number: 2012-30259
Type: Rule
Date: 2012-12-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
APHIS is amending the regulations governing the importation of certain animal embryos and animal semen by removing one of the conditions for the importation of swine semen from the APHIS-defined European CSF region, a region of Europe that we recognize as a single low-risk region for classical swine fever. We have determined that the 40-day holding period for swine semen and donor boars after the collection of swine semen is unnecessary. We are also announcing the addition of Estonia, Hungary, Slovakia, and Slovenia to the APHIS- defined European CSF region, the addition of Estonia, Slovakia, and Slovenia to the list of regions APHIS considers free of swine vesicular disease (SVD), and the addition of Slovakia and Slovenia to the list of regions APHIS considers free of foot-and-mouth disease (FMD) and rinderpest. These actions will relieve some restrictions on the importation into the United States of certain animals and animal products from those regions, while continuing to protect against the introduction of CSF, SVD, FMD, and rinderpest into the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Submission of Itineraries
Document Number: 2012-30130
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-12-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the submission of itineraries by exhibitors under the Animal Welfare Act regulations.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; APHIS Online Reporting Form
Document Number: 2012-29886
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-12-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection that allows the public to report sightings of plant pests and diseases.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Permanent, Privately Owned Horse Quarantine Facilities
Document Number: 2012-29884
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-12-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for permanent, privately owned horse quarantine facilities.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Introduction of Organisms and Products Altered or Produced Through Genetic Engineering
Document Number: 2012-29882
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-12-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the introduction of organisms and products altered or produced through genetic engineering.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Mangoes From India Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2012-29283
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-12-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of mangoes from India into the continental United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; National Management Information System
Document Number: 2012-29225
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-12-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with cooperative wildlife damage management programs.
Chrysanthemum White Rust Regulatory Status and Restrictions
Document Number: 2012-26730
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2012-10-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our advance notice of proposed rulemaking that solicits public comment on whether and how we should amend our process for responding to domestic chrysanthemum white rust (CWR) outbreaks and the importation of plant material that is a host of CWR. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Products of Poultry and Birds
Document Number: 2012-26729
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-10-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations restricting the importation of products of poultry and birds into the United States in order to prevent the introduction of poultry disease.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Irradiation Phytosanitary Treatment of Imported Fruits and Vegetables
Document Number: 2012-26727
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-10-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the use of irradiation as a phytosanitary treatment of imported fruits and vegetables.
Notice of Revision and Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Live Swine, Pork and Pork Products, and Swine Semen From the European Union
Document Number: 2012-26726
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-10-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to revise and extend an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of live swine, pork and pork products, and swine semen from the European Union.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Unshu Oranges From the Republic of Korea Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2012-26725
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-10-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of Unshu oranges from the Republic of Korea into the continental United States.
Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002; Biennial Review and Republication of the Select Agent and Toxin List; Amendments to the Select Agent and Toxin Regulations
Document Number: 2012-24434
Type: Rule
Date: 2012-10-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002, we are amending and republishing the list of select agents and toxins that have the potential to pose a severe threat to animal or plant health, or to animal or plant products. The Act requires the biennial review and republication of the list of select agents and toxins and the revision of the list as necessary. This action implements the findings of the third biennial review of the list. In addition, we are reorganizing the list of select agents and toxins based on the relative potential of each select agent or toxin to be misused to adversely affect human, plant, or animal health. Such tiering of the list allows for the optimization of security measures for those select agents or toxins that present the greatest risk of deliberate misuse with the most significant potential for mass casualties or devastating effects to the economy, critical infrastructure, or public confidence. We are also making a number of amendments to the regulations, including the addition of definitions and clarification of language concerning security, training, biosafety, biocontainment, and incident response. These changes will increase the usability of the select agent regulations as well as provide for enhanced program oversight.
Citrus Greening and Asian Citrus Psyllid; Quarantine and Interstate Movement Regulations
Document Number: 2012-24112
Type: Rule
Date: 2012-10-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, with several changes, an interim rule that quarantined the States of Florida and Georgia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, two parishes in Louisiana, and two counties in South Carolina due to the presence of citrus greening and quarantined Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Louisiana, Mississippi, Puerto Rico, Texas, the U.S. Virgin Islands, three counties in South Carolina, portions of one county in Arizona, and all of three and portions of an additional three counties in California due to the presence of Asian citrus psyllid (ACP), a vector of the bacterial pathogen that causes citrus greening. The rule also established restrictions on the interstate movement of regulated articles from the quarantined areas. In this final rule, we are making several nonsubstantive editorial amendments to the interim rule to improve its clarity and facilitate regulatory compliance. This final rule also provides notice that we have quarantined American Samoa and the Northern Mariana Islands for ACP, have extended the boundaries of the quarantined area for ACP in California to incorporate all of one and portions of another additional county, and have quarantined portions of one county in Texas and an area comprising portions of two counties in California for citrus greening.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan
Document Number: 2012-24109
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-10-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture intends to renew the charter of the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan (Committee) for a 2year period. The Secretary of Agriculture has determined that the Committee is necessary and in the public interest.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Reporting System
Document Number: 2012-23969
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-09-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the National Animal Health Reporting System.
Plum Pox Compensation
Document Number: 2012-23356
Type: Rule
Date: 2012-09-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the plum pox regulations to provide for the payment of compensation to eligible owners of non-fruit-bearing ornamental tree nurseries and to increase the amount of compensation that may be paid to eligible owners of commercial stone fruit orchards and fruit tree nurseries whose trees are required to be destroyed in order to prevent the spread of plum pox. The interim rule also provided updated instructions for the submission of claims for compensation. These changes were necessary to provide adequate compensation to persons who are economically affected by the plum pox quarantine and the associated State and Federal eradication efforts.
Asian Longhorned Beetle; Quarantined Areas in Massachusetts, Ohio, and New York
Document Number: 2012-23353
Type: Rule
Date: 2012-09-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the Asian longhorned beetle regulations by adding portions of Worcester County, MA, and Clermont County, OH, to the list of quarantined areas and by removing a portion of Suffolk County, NY, from the list of quarantined areas. The interim rule was necessary to prevent the artificial spread of Asian longhorned beetle to noninfested areas of the United States and to relieve restrictions on certain areas that were no longer necessary.
Irradiation Treatment; Location of Facilities in the Southern United States; Technical Amendment
Document Number: 2012-23346
Type: Rule
Date: 2012-09-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule that was published in the Federal Register on July 20, 2012, and effective on August 20, 2012, we amended the phytosanitary treatment regulations to, among other things, allow for irradiation treatment of mangoes from India upon arrival in the mainland United States rather than just at the point of origin. In the final rule, we neglected to amend the inspection requirements to address shipments that are treated upon arrival in the United States and not at the point of origin. This document corrects that error.
Viruses, Serums, Toxins, and Analogous Products; Exemptions From Preparation Pursuant to an Unsuspended and Unrevoked License
Document Number: 2012-23202
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2012-09-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that clarified our interpretation of the veterinary practitioner exemption provided by the Virus-Serum-Toxin Act. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Swine Hides, Bird Trophies, and Deer Hides
Document Number: 2012-20739
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-08-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the importation of swine hides, bird trophies, and deer hides.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Foreign Quarantine Notices
Document Number: 2012-20738
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-08-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations to prevent the introduction or spread of foreign plant pests into or within the United States.
Notice of Request for a Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Tuberculosis
Document Number: 2012-20737
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-08-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the bovine tuberculosis regulations.
Secretary's Advisory Committee on Animal Health; Intent To Renew and Request for Nominations
Document Number: 2012-20517
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-08-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture intends to renew the Secretary's Advisory Committee on Animal Health (Committee). The Secretary has determined that the Committee is necessary and in the public interest. We are also giving notice that the Secretary is soliciting nominations for membership for this Committee.
Oral Rabies Vaccine Trial; Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact
Document Number: 2012-20174
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-08-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to an oral rabies vaccination field trial in New Hampshire, New York, Ohio, Vermont, and West Virginia. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Notice of Request for a Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Qualitative Feedback on Agency Service Delivery
Document Number: 2012-19536
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-08-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and an extension of approval of an information collection associated with qualitative customer and stakeholder feedback on service delivery by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Plant Protection and Quarantine Stakeholder/Customer Satisfaction Survey
Document Number: 2012-19535
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-08-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with a Plant Protection and Quarantine stakeholder/customer satisfaction survey.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Horse Protection Regulations
Document Number: 2012-19501
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-08-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the Horse Protection Program.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for a Biological Control Agent for Hemlock Woolly Adelgid
Document Number: 2012-19029
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-08-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to the release of Symnus coniferarum to control hemlock woolly adelgid. The environmental assessment considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the release of Symnus coniferarum into the eastern United States for use as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of hemlock woolly adelgid infestations. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Field Release of Aphelinus glycinis for the Biological Control of the Soybean Aphid in the Continental United States; Availability of an Environmental Assessment
Document Number: 2012-19026
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-08-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that a draft environmental assessment has been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service relative to the proposed release of Aphelinus glycinis for the biological control of the soybean aphid, Aphis glycines, in the continental United States. We are making this environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
National Poultry Improvement Plan; General Conference Committee Meeting and 41st Biennial Conference
Document Number: 2012-19025
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-08-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice of a meeting of the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) and the NPIP's 41st Biennial Conference.
Chrysanthemum White Rust Regulatory Status and Restrictions
Document Number: 2012-19024
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2012-08-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are soliciting public comment on whether and how we should amend our process for responding to domestic chrysanthemum white rust (CWR) outbreaks and the importation of plant material that is a host of CWR. Domestically, CWR host plants must be surveyed and, if found to be infected with CWR, must undergo quarantine, destruction, treatment, or other sanitation measures called for in our National Management Plan. The importation of CWR host plants for planting from a number of countries and localities is currently prohibited to prevent the introduction of CWR into the United States. In addition, importation of cut flowers of CWR host plants from countries where CWR is known to occur is currently restricted. We are reevaluating our current regulatory strategy in order to improve the effectiveness and economic efficiency of our programs. After evaluating public comment on the issues presented in this document, we will determine whether to propose changes to our existing regulations.
Notice of Determination of the Foot-and-Mouth Disease Status of Japan
Document Number: 2012-18814
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-08-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination regarding the foot-and-mouth disease status of Japan. Based on an evaluation that we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, the Administrator has determined that Japan is free of foot- and-mouth disease. As a result, the importation of whole cuts of boneless beef from Japan may resume. Other ruminant meat and meat byproducts, as well as fresh pork, live ruminants, and live swine, remain prohibited due to Japan's status for bovine spongiform encephalopathy, classical swine fever, and swine vesicular disease.
Information From Foreign Regions Applying for Recognition of Animal Health Status
Document Number: 2012-18324
Type: Rule
Date: 2012-07-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations that govern the importation of animals and animal products by consolidating the list of factors APHIS considers when evaluating the animal health status of a foreign region and by setting out new factors APHIS will consider when evaluating a region as historically free of a specific disease. These changes will make clearer the types of information APHIS needs from a requesting region in order to conduct an evaluation.
Gull Hazard Reduction Program at John F. Kennedy International Airport; Record of Decision
Document Number: 2012-18223
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-07-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our record of decision for the final supplemental environmental impact statement for the Gull Hazard Reduction Program at John F. Kennedy International Airport.
Monsanto Company and KWS SAAT AG; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Sugar Beet Genetically Engineered for Tolerance to the Herbicide Glyphosate
Document Number: 2012-17819
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-07-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that sugar beet genetically engineered for tolerance to the herbicide glyphosate, designated as H7-1, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by the Monsanto Company and KWS SAAT AG in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of publically available scientific data, and comments received from the public on the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental impact statement and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and record of decision.
Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Certification Program and Interstate Movement of Farmed or Captive Deer, Elk, and Moose
Document Number: 2012-17726
Type: Rule
Date: 2012-07-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our interim final rule that will establish a herd certification program to control chronic wasting disease (CWD) in farmed or captive cervids in the United States. The interim final rule requested comment on our decision that our regulations will set minimum requirements for the interstate movement of farmed or captive cervids but not preempt State or local laws or regulations that are more restrictive than our regulations, except any such laws or regulations that prohibit or further restrict the transit through a State of deer, elk, and moose that are otherwise eligible for interstate movement. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments on our preemption policy with respect to CWD. This document also indicates that we will consider comments on issues other than our preemption policy for future rulemaking.
Irradiation Treatment; Location of Facilities in the Southern United States
Document Number: 2012-17725
Type: Rule
Date: 2012-07-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the phytosanitary treatment regulations to provide generic criteria for new irradiation treatment facilities in the Southern States of the United States. This action will allow irradiation facilities to be located anywhere in these States, subject to approval, rather than only in the currently approved locations. We are also amending the regulations to allow for the irradiation treatment of certain imported fruit from India and Thailand upon arrival in the United States. This action will facilitate the importation of fruit requiring irradiation treatment while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of pests of concern into the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Brucellosis Program
Document Number: 2012-17544
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-07-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the Cooperative State-Federal Brucellosis Eradication Program.
Notice of Request for a Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Specimen Collection
Document Number: 2012-17541
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-07-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and an extension of approval of an information collection associated with livestock disease surveillance programs.
Notice of Request for Approval of a New Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Layers 2013 Study
Document Number: 2012-17535
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-07-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to initiate the Layers 2013 Study, an information collection to support the U.S. poultry industry.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan; Solicitation for Membership
Document Number: 2012-17534
Type: Notice
Date: 2012-07-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture is soliciting nominations for the election of regional membership for the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan.
Viruses, Serums, Toxins, and Analogous Products; Exemptions From Preparation Pursuant to an Unsuspended and Unrevoked License
Document Number: 2012-17533
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2012-07-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the Virus-Serum-Toxin Act regulations to require that veterinary biologics prepared under the veterinary practitioner exemption must be prepared at the same facility the veterinarian utilizes in conducting the day-to-day activities associated with his or her practice. This exemption applies to veterinary biologics prepared by a veterinary practitioner solely for administration to animals in the course of a State-licensed professional practice of veterinary medicine under a veterinarian- client-patient relationship. This proposed amendment is necessary to ensure that veterinary biologics are not prepared in unlicensed establishments in violation of the Virus-Serum-Toxin Act. The effect of the proposed amendment would be to clarify the regulations regarding the preparation of product by a veterinary practitioner under a veterinarian-client-patient relationship.
Animal Welfare; Retail Pet Stores and Licensing Exemptions
Document Number: 2012-17283
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2012-07-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our proposed rule that would revise the definition of retail pet store and related regulations to bring more pet animals sold at retail under the protection of the Animal Welfare Act (AWA). We are also announcing the availability of a revised factsheet regarding our proposal. These actions will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.