Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 2006 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Interstate Movement of Garbage from Hawaii; Availability of a Pest Risk Assessment and an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact
Document Number: E6-22267
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-12-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that a pest risk assessment and an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact have been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service relative to a request to allow the interstate movement of garbage from Hawaii to a landfill in the State of Washington. The pest risk assessment evaluates the risks associated with the interstate movement of garbage from Hawaii to Washington. The environmental assessment examines the potential environmental effects associated with moving garbage interstate from Hawaii to Washington, subject to certain pest risk mitigation measures and documents our review and analysis of the environmental impacts associated with, and alternatives to, the action. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Control of Viral Hemorrhagic Septicemia; Public Meetings
Document Number: E6-21966
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-12-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's Veterinary Services program will host four public meetings to present current information about the outbreaks of viral hemorrhagic septicemia (VHS) and actions taken to prevent the spread of this fish disease, and to discuss issues concerning possible regulation of VHS by the Agency.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan; Meeting
Document Number: E6-21841
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-12-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice of a meeting of the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan.
Boll Weevil; Quarantine and Regulations
Document Number: E6-21676
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2006-12-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our proposed rule that would establish domestic boll weevil regulations that would restrict the interstate movement of regulated articles within regulated areas and from regulated areas into or through nonregulated areas in commercial cotton-producing States. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Environmental Impact Statement; Genetically Engineered Fruit Fly and Pink Bollworm
Document Number: E6-21612
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-12-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service intends to prepare an environmental impact statement relative to the proposed use of genetically engineered fruit flies and pink bollworm in certain plant pest control programs. This notice identifies potential issues and alternatives that will be studied in the environmental impact statement, requests public comment to further delineate the scope of the issues and alternatives, and provides notice of public meetings.
Importation of Fruits and Vegetables
Document Number: E6-21496
Type: Rule
Date: 2006-12-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations to list a number of fruits and vegetables from certain parts of the world as eligible, under specified conditions, for importation into the United States. Some of the fruits and vegetables are already eligible for importation under permit, but are not specifically listed in the regulations. All of the fruits and vegetables, as a condition of entry, will be inspected and subject to treatment at the port of first arrival as may be required by an inspector. In addition, some of the fruits and vegetables will be required to meet other special conditions. In one case, we are adding a systems approach that will provide an alternative to methyl bromide fumigation. These actions will provide the United States with additional types and sources of fruits and vegetables while continuing to protect against the introduction of quarantine pests through imported fruits and vegetables.
Brucellosis in Cattle; Research Facilities
Document Number: E6-21172
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2006-12-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the brucellosis regulations in order to facilitate research to be conducted on brucellosis-exposed or infected animals. Under the current regulations, such research could adversely affect a State's brucellosis classification. For example, the criteria for achieving and maintaining Class Free status provide that all cattle herds in the State or area must be released from quarantine and remain free of brucellosis for 12 consecutive months. Because the current definition of herd includes animals held in a research facility, a State could lose its Class Free status by allowing such research. By providing an exception for brucellosis-exposed or infected animals held within federally approved research facilities, this proposed rule would enable the initiation of necessary brucellosis research in Class Free States.
Standards for Permanent, Privately Owned Horse Quarantine Facilities
Document Number: E6-21032
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2006-12-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations pertaining to the importation of horses to establish standards for the approval of permanent, privately owned quarantine facilities for horses. We are taking this action because demand for quarantine services for horses exceeds the space available at existing facilities. This proposed rule replaces a previously published proposed rule, which we are withdrawing as part of this document, that contained substantially different restrictions on ownership and substantially different requirements for the physical plant, operating procedures, and compliance date. We believe that allowing imported horses to be quarantined in permanent, privately owned quarantine facilities that meet these newly proposed criteria would facilitate the importation of horses while continuing to protect against the introduction of communicable diseases of horses.
Bayer CropScience; Extension of Determination of Nonregulated Status to Rice Genetically Engineered for Glufosinate Herbicide Tolerance
Document Number: E6-20516
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-12-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to extend a determination of nonregulated status to a rice line developed by Bayer CropScience, which has been genetically engineered to be tolerant to the herbicide glufosinate. Therefore, APHIS no longer considers the rice line to be a regulated article under Agency regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our decision is based on our evaluation of data submitted by Bayer CropScience in its request for an extension of a determination of nonregulated status, an analysis of other scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to a previous notice and preliminary determination. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination, final environmental assessment, and our finding of no significant impact.
Importation of Unshu Oranges From the Republic of Korea Into Alaska
Document Number: E6-20422
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2006-12-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations governing the importation of citrus fruit to allow fresh Unshu oranges from the Republic of Korea to be imported into the State of Alaska under certain conditions. As a condition of entry, the oranges would have to be prepared for shipping using packinghouse procedures that include culling of damaged or diseased fruit and washing in a water bath. In addition, the oranges would have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that the oranges were inspected and found free from Xanthomonas axonopodis pv. citri and Unaspis yanonensis. The individual cartons or boxes in which the Unshu oranges are shipped would also have to be stamped or printed with a statement restricting their importation and distribution to the State of Alaska. This action would allow for the importation of Unshu oranges from the Republic of Korea into Alaska while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Request for Information; Potential Sites for a Sterile Fruit Fly Production Facility or Potential Alternate Sources of Sterile Fruit Flies
Document Number: E6-20392
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-12-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) is exploring options for the construction of a multispecies exotic fruit fly facility and/or the privatization of sterile fly production to provide backup capacity for our sterile fruit fly programs and emergency needs. APHIS recognizes the need to maintain a backup for sterile fruit fly production to respond to emergency outbreaks when they occur, and to ensure current preventive release programs in California, Florida, and Texas remain effective. In this notice, we are soliciting the submission of information from interested persons regarding potential sites for the production of sterile fruit flies or alternate sources of those flies.
Public Meeting; Veterinary Biologics
Document Number: E6-20391
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-12-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are issuing this notice to inform producers and users of veterinary biological products, and other interested individuals, that we will be holding our 14th public meeting to discuss regulatory and policy issues related to the manufacture, distribution, and use of veterinary biological products. We are planning the meeting agenda and are requesting suggestions for topics of general interest to producers and other interested individuals.
Importation of Swine and Swine Products from the European Union; Correction
Document Number: Z6-8465
Type: Rule
Date: 2006-11-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Agricultural Inspection and AQI User Fees Along the U.S./Canada Border; Delay of Effective Date
Document Number: E6-19787
Type: Rule
Date: 2006-11-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We recently published an interim rule amending the foreign quarantine and user fee regulations by removing the exemptions from inspection for imported fruits and vegetables grown in Canada and the exemptions from user fees for commercial vessels, commercial trucks, commercial railroad cars, commercial aircraft, and international air passengers entering the United States from Canada. That interim rule had an effective date of November 24, 2006. We are delaying the effective date of the removal of the user fee exemption for international air passengers until January 1, 2007, and the effective date for the remaining provisions of the rule, including the removal of the exemption from user fees for commercial vessels, commercial trucks, commercial railroad cars, and commercial aircraft entering the United States from Canada, until March 1, 2007. We are making these changes to allow additional time for affected entities to make necessary preparations to comply with the inspection and collection procedures that we will be instituting as a result of the interim rule.
Karnal Bunt; Regulated Areas
Document Number: E6-19769
Type: Rule
Date: 2006-11-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Karnal bunt regulations to remove certain areas or fields in Maricopa and Pinal Counties, AZ, and Archer, Baylor, Knox, McCulloch, San Saba, Throckmorton, and Young Counties, TX, from the list of regulated areas based on our determination that those fields or areas meet our criteria for release from regulation. This action is necessary to relieve restrictions that are no longer necessary.
Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Certification Program and Interstate Movement of Farmed or Captive Deer, Elk, and Moose; Petitions and Request for Comments
Document Number: E6-19662
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2006-11-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our notice that announced the receipt of three petitions requesting that we delay implementation of, and reconsider provisions in, a recent final rule establishing a herd certification program and interstate movement restrictions for cervids to control the spread of chronic wasting disease. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Importation of Mangoes From India
Document Number: E6-19452
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2006-11-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation into the continental United States of mangoes from India under certain conditions. As a condition of entry, the mangoes would have to undergo irradiation treatment and be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with additional declarations providing specific information regarding the treatment and inspection of the mangoes and the orchards in which they were grown. In addition, the mangoes would be subject to inspection at the port of first arrival. This action would allow for the importation of mangoes from India into the continental United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Oriental Fruit Fly; Add a Portion of San Bernardino County, CA, to the List of Quarantined Areas
Document Number: E6-19451
Type: Rule
Date: 2006-11-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Oriental fruit fly regulations by adding a portion of San Bernardino County, CA, to the list of quarantined areas and restricting the interstate movement of regulated articles from that area. We are also amending the definitions of the terms core area and day degrees and adding jujube (Ziziphus spp.) to the list of articles regulated for Oriental fruit fly. These actions are necessary to prevent the artificial spread of Oriental fruit fly to noninfested areas of the United States and to update the regulations to reflect current science and practices.
Gypsy Moth Generally Infested Areas; Addition of Areas in Virginia
Document Number: E6-19450
Type: Rule
Date: 2006-11-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the gypsy moth regulations by adding the Cities of Roanoke and Salem and the Counties of Craig, Giles, and Roanoke in Virginia to the list of generally infested areas based on the detection of infestations of gypsy moth in those areas. As a result of this action, the interstate movement of regulated articles from those areas will be restricted. This action is necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the gypsy moth to noninfested areas of the United States.
Evaluating the Invasive Potential of Imported Plants; Electronic Public Discussion
Document Number: E6-18768
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-11-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) is hosting an electronic public discussion on methods that can be used to evaluate the potential of imported plants to become invasive species if they are introduced into the United States. Any interested person can register for the electronic discussion, which will allow participants to upload files and interact with other participants and with APHIS staff.
Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy; Minimal-Risk Regions, Identification of Ruminants and Processing and Importation of Commodities
Document Number: E6-19042
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2006-11-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that would remove several restrictions regarding the identification of animals and the processing of ruminant materials from BSE minimal-risk regions, as well as BSE-based restrictions on gelatin derived from bovine hides. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Animal Care; Educational and Outreach Efforts
Document Number: E6-19017
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-11-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to initiate a new information collection activity associated with the Agency's Animal Care program. The activity involves surveying customers to determine the effectiveness of Animal Care's educational and outreach efforts.
Interstate Movement of Garbage From Hawaii; Availability of an Environmental Assessment and a Pest Risk Assessment
Document Number: E6-19027
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-11-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a site-specific environmental assessment and a pest risk assessment relative to a request to allow the interstate movement of garbage from Hawaii to a landfill in the State of Washington. The environmental assessment contains a general assessment of the potential environmental effects associated with moving garbage interstate from Hawaii to Washington, subject to certain pest risk mitigation measures and documents our review and analysis of the environmental impacts associated with, and alternatives to, the proposed action. The pest risk assessment evaluates the risks associated with the interstate movement of garbage from Hawaii to Washington. We are making these assessments available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; Dairy 2007 Study
Document Number: E6-18859
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-11-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a reinstatement of an information collection to support the National Animal Health Monitoring System's national Dairy 2007 Study.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Clementines, Mandarins, and Tangerines From Chile
Document Number: E6-18857
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-11-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of clementines, marndarins, and tangerines from Chile.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Live Swine, Pork, and Pork Products From Chile
Document Number: E6-18855
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-11-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of live swine, pork, and pork products from Chile into the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Untreated Oranges, Tangerines, and Grapefruit From Mexico Transiting the United States to Foreign Countries
Document Number: E6-18737
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-11-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for untreated oranges, tangerines, and grapefruit from Mexico transiting the United States to foreign countries.
Boll Weevil; Quarantine and Regulations
Document Number: Z6-18150
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2006-11-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, Department of Defense, Department of the Army, Department of the Army, Corps of Engineers
Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Certification Program and Interstate Movement of Farmed or Captive Deer, Elk, and Moose; Petitions and Request for Comments
Document Number: E6-18564
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2006-11-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received three petitions requesting that we delay implementation of, and reconsider provisions in, a recent final rule establishing a herd certification program and interstate movement restrictions for cervids to control the spread of chronic wasting disease. We are soliciting public comments on the petitions and the potential impacts of the actions they recommend.
Boll Weevil; Quarantine and Regulations
Document Number: E6-18150
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2006-10-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to establish domestic boll weevil regulations that would restrict the interstate movement of regulated articles within regulated areas and from regulated areas into or through nonregulated areas in commercial cotton-producing States. The proposed regulations would help prevent the artificial spread of boll weevil into noninfested areas of the United States and the reinfestation of areas from which the boll weevil has been eradicated.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Plum Pox Compensation
Document Number: E6-18042
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-10-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations that provide for the payment of compensation to owners of commercial stone fruit orchards and fruit tree nurseries whose trees or nursery stock were destroyed to eradicate plum pox.
Exotic Fruit Fly Strategic Plan, Fiscal Years 2006-2010
Document Number: E6-17777
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a final Exotic Fruit Fly Strategic Plan for fiscal years 2006 through 2010 and is making it available for review. The final strategic plan has been updated in response to the comments we received on the draft strategic plan.
Change in Disease Status of Namibia With Regard to Foot-and-Mouth Disease and Rinderpest
Document Number: E6-17776
Type: Rule
Date: 2006-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations to add Namibia, except the portion of the country north of the Veterinary Cordon Fence (VCF), to the list of regions that are considered free of foot-and-mouth disease (FMD), and to add the entire country to the list of regions that are considered free of rinderpest. We are taking this action because we have determined that the region in Namibia south of the VCF is now free of FMD and the entire country is free of rinderpest. We are also adding Namibia, except the region north of the VCF, to the list of FMD- and rinderpest-free regions that are subject to certain import restrictions on meat and other animal products because of their proximity to or trading relationships with rinderpest- or FMD-affected regions. This action relieves certain restrictions due to FMD and rinderpest on the importation into the United States of certain live animals and animal products from all regions of Namibia except the region north of the VCF. However, because we consider Namibia to be affected with African swine fever, classical swine fever, and swine vesicular disease, the importation of live swine and pork and pork products will continue to be restricted. In addition, because we consider Namibia to be affected with other animal diseases that are exotic to the United States, the importation of live ruminants and germplasm will also continue to be restricted. These actions will update the disease status of Namibia with regard to FMD and rinderpest while continuing to protect the United States from an introduction of those diseases by providing additional requirements for any meat and meat products imported into the United States from Namibia.
Animal Welfare; Elephants
Document Number: E6-17775
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2006-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our notice of petition and request for comments concerning the handling, care, treatment, and transport of elephants covered by the Animal Welfare Act. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Importation of Shelled Garden Peas From Kenya
Document Number: E6-17774
Type: Rule
Date: 2006-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of shelled garden peas from Kenya into the continental United States. In order to be eligible for importation, the peas will have to be shelled, washed, and inspected and accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the Kenya Plant Health Inspectorate Service. This action will allow for the importation of shelled peas from Kenya into the continental United States while continuing to protect against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Supplemental Environmental Impact Statement for Importation of Solid Wood Packing Material
Document Number: E6-17773
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that a supplemental environmental impact statement will be prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service to analyze methyl bromide usage associated with regulatory requirements for importing solid wood packing material into the United States. That document will serve as a supplement to the Importation of Solid Wood Packing Material Final Environmental Impact Statement, August 2003.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fruits and Vegetables
Document Number: E6-17772
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of fruits and vegetables.
Imported Fire Ant; Addition of Counties in Arkansas and Tennessee to the List of Quarantined Areas
Document Number: E6-17336
Type: Rule
Date: 2006-10-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the imported fire ant regulations by designating as quarantined areas all of 2 counties in Arkansas and all or portions of 21 counties in Tennessee. As a result of that action, the interstate movement of regulated articles from those areas is restricted. The interim rule was necessary to prevent the artificial spread of imported fire ant to noninfested areas of the United States.
Mexican Hass Avocado Import Program; Technical Amendment
Document Number: E6-17335
Type: Rule
Date: 2006-10-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule published in the Federal Register on November 30, 2004, we amended the fruits and vegetables regulations to expand the number of States in which fresh Hass avocado fruit grown in approved orchards in approved municipalities in Michoacan, Mexico, may be distributed and to allow the distribution of the avocados during all months of the year. The final rule contained an error in the rule portion. This document corrects that error.
International Sanitary and Phytosanitary Standard-Setting Activities
Document Number: E6-17025
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-10-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with legislation implementing the results of the Uruguay Round of negotiations under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, we are informing the public of international standard- setting activities of the World Organization for Animal Health, the Secretariat of the International Plant Protection Convention, and the North American Plant Protection Organization, and we are soliciting public comment on the standards to be considered.
Asian Longhorned Beetle; Additions to Quarantined Areas
Document Number: E6-16755
Type: Rule
Date: 2006-10-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Asian longhorned beetle regulations by expanding the boundaries of the quarantined areas in New Jersey and restricting the interstate movement of regulated articles from these areas. This action is necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the Asian longhorned beetle to noninfested areas of the United States.
Interstate Movement of Fruits and Vegetables From Hawaii
Document Number: E6-16754
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2006-10-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to remove vapor heat treatment as an approved treatment for bell pepper, eggplant, Italian squash, and tomato moved interstate from Hawaii. This action is necessary because these four commodities can serve as hosts for the solanum fruit fly, which has been detected in Hawaii. Vapor heat treatment is not an approved treatment for that pest. We are also proposing to provide for the use of irradiation as an approved treatment for all Capsicum spp. (peppers) and Curcurbita spp. (squash) moved interstate from Hawaii. This action would relieve unnecessary restrictions on the interstate movement of peppers and squash and allow a greater variety of Capsicum spp. and Curcurbita spp. to be moved interstate from Hawaii.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan; Reestablishment
Document Number: E6-16463
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-10-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture has reestablished the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan (Committee) for a 2-year period. The Secretary of Agriculture has determined that the Committee is necessary and in the public interest.
Noxious Weeds; South African Ragwort and Madagascar Ragwort
Document Number: E6-16462
Type: Rule
Date: 2006-10-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the noxious weed and imported seed regulations by adding South African ragwort (Senecio inaequidens DC.) and Madagascar ragwort (Senecio madagascariensis Poir.) to the list of terrestrial noxious weeds and to the list of seeds with no tolerances applicable to their introduction. That action was necessary to prevent the artificial spread of these noxious weeds into the United States.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan; Solicitation for Membership
Document Number: E6-16458
Type: Notice
Date: 2006-10-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture is soliciting nominations for the election of regional membership and a member-at-large for the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan.
Tuberculosis in Cattle and Bison; State and Zone Designations; Texas
Document Number: E6-16299
Type: Rule
Date: 2006-10-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the bovine tuberculosis regulations regarding State and zone classifications by raising the designation of Texas from modified accredited advanced to accredited-free. We have determined that Texas meets the criteria for designation as an accredited-free State.
Pine Shoot Beetle; Additions to Quarantined Areas
Document Number: E6-16278
Type: Rule
Date: 2006-10-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the pine shoot beetle regulations by adding counties in Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, New Jersey, New York, and Ohio to the list of quarantined areas. In addition, we are designating the States of Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, and Pennsylvania, in their entirety, as quarantined areas based on their decision not to enforce intrastrate movement restrictions. Finally, we are adding the States of Connecticut and Rhode Island, in their entirety, to the list of quarantined areas based on projections of the natural spread of pine shoot beetle that make it reasonable to believe that the pest is present in those States. This action is necessary to prevent the spread of pine shoot beetle, a pest of pine trees, into noninfested areas of the United States.
Emerald Ash Borer; Quarantined Areas; Michigan
Document Number: 06-8424
Type: Rule
Date: 2006-10-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the emerald ash borer regulations by adding areas in Michigan to the list of areas quarantined because of emerald ash borer. As a result of this action, the interstate movement of regulated articles from those areas is restricted. This action is necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the emerald ash borer from infested areas in the State of Michigan into noninfested areas of the United States.
Pine Shoot Beetle Host Material From Canada
Document Number: E6-16079
Type: Rule
Date: 2006-09-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, with one change, an interim rule that amended the regulations by restricting the importation of pine shoot beetle host material into the United States from Canada. Under the regulations established by the interim rule, as amended by this document, pine nursery stock, as well as pine products that consist of pine bark or have pine bark attached, must meet certain requirements relating to documentation, treatment, handling, and utilization as a condition of importation into the United States from Canada. The interim rule was necessary to help prevent the introduction and spread of pine shoot beetle, a pest of pine trees, into noninfested areas of the United States.
Japanese Beetle; Addition of Iowa to the List of Quarantined States
Document Number: E6-15899
Type: Rule
Date: 2006-09-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the Japanese beetle quarantine and regulations by adding the State of Iowa to the list of quarantined States. That action was necessary to prevent the artificial spread of Japanese beetle into noninfested areas of the United States.