Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 2011 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Baby Corn and Baby Carrots From Zambia
Document Number: 2011-33209
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of baby corn and baby carrots from Zambia.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Small Lots of Seed
Document Number: 2011-33208
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of small lots of seed into the United States.
Notice of Decision to Authorize the Importation of Shredded Lettuce From Egypt Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2011-33207
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation into the continental United States of fresh shredded lettuce from Egypt. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh shredded lettuce from Egypt.
Information From Foreign Regions Applying for Recognition of Animal Health Status
Document Number: 2011-33206
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2011-12-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations that govern the importation of animals and animal products by revising the list of factors APHIS considers when evaluating the animal health status of a foreign region. Additionally, we are proposing criteria for considering a region to be historically free of a specific disease. These changes would make clearer the type of information APHIS needs from a requesting region to most expeditiously conduct an evaluation.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing Swine Influenza Vaccine, RNA
Document Number: 2011-33205
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purpose of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Swine Influenza Vaccine, RNA. The environmental assessment, which is based on a risk analysis prepared to assess the risks associated with the field testing of this vaccine, examines the potential effects that field testing this veterinary vaccine could have on the quality of the human environment. Based on the risk analysis, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment, and that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared. We intend to authorize shipment of this vaccine for field testing following the close of the comment period for this notice unless new substantial issues bearing on the effects of this action are brought to our attention. We also intend to issue a U.S. Veterinary Biological Product license for this vaccine, provided the field test data support the conclusions of the environmental assessment and the issuance of a finding of no significant impact and the product meets all other requirements for licensing.
European Larch Canker; Expansion of Regulated Areas
Document Number: 2011-33204
Type: Rule
Date: 2011-12-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the domestic quarantine regulations by expanding the regulated area for European larch canker to include additional areas in Maine and by correcting some misidentifications of previously listed regulated areas. The interim rule was necessary to prevent human- assisted transmission of European larch canker from infested areas to noninfested areas.
Notice of Decision to Authorize Importation of Fresh Litchi From the Republic of South Africa Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2011-33203
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation of fresh litchi from the Republic of South Africa into the continental United States. Based on the findings in a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of litchi from the Republic of South Africa.
Importation of Litchi Fruit From Australia
Document Number: 2011-33201
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2011-12-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to allow, under certain conditions, the importation of commercial shipments of litchi fruit from Australia into the continental United States, except Florida. As a condition of entry, the litchi fruit would have to be grown in production areas that are registered with and monitored by the national plant protection organization of Australia and treated with irradiation at a dose of 400 gray for plant pests of the class Insecta, except pupae and adults of the order Lepidoptera, and subject to inspection. The fruits would also have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that the conditions for importation have been met. Additionally, litchi would not be imported into or distributed to the State of Florida, due to the presence of litchi rust mite in Australia. This action would allow for the importation of litchi fruit from Australia into the continental United States, except Florida, while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Notice of Determination of Pest-Free Areas in Mendoza Province, Argentina
Document Number: 2011-33110
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are recognizing the Southern and Central Oases in the southern half of Mendoza Province in Argentina as pest-free areas for Mediterranean fruit fly and South American fruit fly. Based on our site visit to the area and our review of the documentation submitted by Argentina's national plant protection organization, which we made available to the public for review and comment through previous notices, the Administrator has determined that these areas meet the criteria in our regulations for recognition as pest-free areas for Mediterranean fruit fly and South American fruit fly.
Monsanto Co.; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Corn Genetically Engineered for Drought Tolerance
Document Number: 2011-33011
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a corn line developed by the Monsanto Co., designated as event MON 87460, which has been genetically engineered for drought tolerance, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by the Monsanto Company in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notice announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Dow AgroScience LLC; Availability of Petition, Plant Pest Risk Assessment, and Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Corn Genetically Engineered for Herbicide Tolerance
Document Number: 2011-33009
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition from Dow AgroScience LLC seeking a determination of nonregulated status of corn designated as DAS-40278-9, which has been genetically engineered for increased resistance to broadleaf herbicides in the phenoxy auxin group (such as the herbicide 2,4-D) and resistance to grass herbicides in the aryloxyphenoxypropionate acetyl coenzyme A carboxylase inhibitor group (such as quizalofop herbicides). The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are soliciting comments on whether this genetically engineered corn is likely to pose a plant pest risk. We are making available for public comment the Dow AgroScience LLC petition, our plant pest risk assessment, and our draft environmental assessment for the proposed determination of nonregulated status.
Monsanto Co.; Availability of Petition, Plant Pest Risk Assessment, and Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered To Produce Stearidonic Acid
Document Number: 2011-33002
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition from the Monsanto Company seeking a determination of nonregulated status of soybean designated as MON 87769, which has been genetically engineered to produce stearidonic acid, an omega-3 fatty acid not found in conventional soybean. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are soliciting comments on whether this genetically engineered soybean is likely to pose a plant pest risk. We are making available for public comment the Monsanto petition, our plant pest risk assessment, and our draft environmental assessment for the proposed determination of nonregulated status.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Hass Avocados From Peru
Document Number: 2011-32328
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of Hass avocados from Peru.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Citrus Greening and Asian Citrus Psyllid; Quarantine and Interstate Movement Regulations
Document Number: 2011-32327
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations to prevent the spread of citrus greening and its vector, Asian citrus psyllid, to noninfested areas of the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Peppers From Certain Central American Countries
Document Number: 2011-32324
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of peppers from certain Central American countries.
Monsanto Co.; Determination of Nonregulated Status for Soybean Genetically Engineered To Have a Modified Fatty Acid Profile and for Tolerance to the Herbicide Glyphosate
Document Number: 2011-32323
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a soybean line developed by the Monsanto Co., designated as event MON 87705, which has been genetically engineered to have a modified fatty acid profile and for tolerance to the herbicide glyphosate, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by the Monsanto Company in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notice announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Importation of Chinese Sand Pears From China
Document Number: 2011-32320
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2011-12-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of Chinese sand pears (Pyrus pyrifolia) from China into the United States. As a condition of entry, sand pears from areas in China in which the Oriental fruit fly (Bactrocera dorsalis) is not known to exist would have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that would include requirements for registration of places of production and packinghouses, sourcing of pest-free propagative material, inspection for quarantine pests at set intervals by the national plant protection organization of China, bagging of fruit, safeguarding, labeling, and importation in commercial consignments. Sand pears from areas in China in which Oriental fruit fly is known to exist could be imported into the United States if, in addition to these requirements, the places of production and packinghouses have a monitoring system in place for Oriental fruit fly and the pears are treated with cold treatment. All sand pears from China would also be required to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that all conditions for the importation of the pears have been met and that the consignment of pears has been inspected and found free of quarantine pests. This action would allow for the importation of sand pears from China into the United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Notice of Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Cape Gooseberry Fruit With Husks From Chile
Document Number: 2011-32317
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation into the continental United States of fresh Cape gooseberry fruit (Physalis peruviana L.) with husks from Chile. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh Cape gooseberry fruit from Chile.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Emergency Management Response System
Document Number: 2011-32315
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the Emergency Management Response System.
Notice of Revision and Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Health Certificates for the Export of Live Crustaceans, Finfish, Mollusks, and Related Products
Document Number: 2011-32312
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to revise an information collection associated with health certificates for the export of live crustaceans, finfish, mollusks, and related products and to request extension of approval of the information collection.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Citrus From Peru
Document Number: 2011-32310
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of citrus from Peru.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Requirements for Requests to Amend Import Regulations
Document Number: 2011-32247
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-12-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the requirements for requests to amend import regulations for plants, plant parts, and plant products.
Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002; Biennial Review and Republication of the Select Agent and Toxin List; Amendments to the Select Agent and Toxin Regulations
Document Number: 2011-32240
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2011-12-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that would amend and republish the list of select agents and toxins that have the potential to pose a severe threat to animal or plant health, or to animal or plant products, reorganize the list of select agents and toxins based on the relative potential of each select agent or toxin to be misused to adversely affect human, plant, or animal health, and amend the regulations in order to add definitions and clarify language concerning security, training, biosafety, biocontainment, and incident response. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Privacy Act Systems of Records; APHIS Animal Health Surveillance and Monitoring System
Document Number: 2011-30429
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-11-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service proposes to add a system of records to its inventory of records systems subject to the Privacy Act of 1974, as amended. The system of records being proposed is the APHIS Animal Health Surveillance and Monitoring System, USDA- APHIS-15. This notice is necessary to meet the requirements of the Privacy Act to publish in the Federal Register notice of the existence and character of record systems maintained by the agency. Although the Privacy Act requires only that the portion of the system which describes the ``routine uses'' of the system be published for comment, we invite comment on all portions of this notice.
Karnal Bunt; Regulated Areas in California
Document Number: 2011-30100
Type: Rule
Date: 2011-11-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Karnal bunt regulations to make changes to the list of areas or fields regulated because of Karnal bunt, a fungal disease of wheat. Specifically, we are removing areas and fields in Riverside County, CA, from the list of regulated areas based on our determination that those fields or areas meet our criteria for release from regulation. This action is necessary to relieve restrictions on certain areas that are no longer necessary.
Importation of Live Swine, Swine Semen, Pork, and Pork Products From Liechtenstein and Switzerland
Document Number: 2011-29133
Type: Rule
Date: 2011-11-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of animals and animal products to add Liechtenstein and Switzerland to the region of Europe that we recognize as low risk for classical swine fever (CSF). We are also adding Liechtenstein to the list of regions we consider free from swine vesicular disease (SVD) and to the list of regions considered free from foot-and-mouth disease (FMD) and rinderpest. These actions will relieve some restrictions on the importation into the United States of certain animals and animal products from those regions, while continuing to protect against the introduction of CSF, SVD, FMD, and rinderpest into the United States.
Importation of French Beans and Runner Beans From the Republic of Kenya Into the United States
Document Number: 2011-28509
Type: Rule
Date: 2011-11-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of French beans and runner beans from the Republic of Kenya into the United States. As a condition of entry, both commodities will have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that would include requirements for packing, washing, and processing. Both commodities will also be required to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate attesting that all phytosanitary requirements have been met and that the consignment was inspected and found free of quarantine pests. This action will allow for the importation of French beans and runner beans from the Republic of Kenya into the United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of plant pests.
Importation of Bromeliad Plants in Growing Media From Belgium, Denmark, and the Netherlands
Document Number: 2011-28404
Type: Rule
Date: 2011-11-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of plants and plant products to add Bromeliad plants of the genera Aechmea, Cryptanthus, Guzmania, Hohenbergia, Neoregelia, Tillandsia, and Vriesea from Belgium, Denmark, and the Netherlands to the list of plants that may be imported into the United States in an approved growing medium, subject to specified growing, inspection, and certification requirements. We are taking this action in response to requests from those three countries and after determining that the plants can be imported, under certain conditions, without resulting in the introduction into, or the dissemination within, the United States of a plant pest or noxious weed.
Importation of Dracaena Plants From Costa Rica
Document Number: 2011-28253
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2011-11-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the plants for planting regulations to provide conditions for the importation into the continental United States of Dracaena spp. plants from Costa Rica. These conditions would apply to plants less than 460 mm in length, which are currently allowed to be imported, and would also allow for the importation of plants over 460 mm and up to 1,371.6 mm in length, which are currently prohibited. As a condition of entry, Dracaena spp. plants from Costa Rica would have to be produced in accordance with integrated pest risk management measures that would include requirements for registration of places of production and packinghouses, a pest management plan, inspection for quarantine pests, sanitation, and traceability from place of production through the packing and export facility and to the port of entry into the United States. All Dracaena spp. plants from Costa Rica would also be required to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that all conditions for the importation of the plants have been met and that the consignment of plants has been inspected and found free of quarantine pests. This action would allow for the importation of oversized Dracaena spp. plants from Costa Rica into the United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Controlled Import Permits
Document Number: 2011-27580
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2011-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations concerning the importation of plants and plant products by establishing the controlled import permit as a single type of authorization for the importation into the United States of otherwise prohibited or restricted plant material for experimental, therapeutic, or developmental purposes. Currently, some sections of the regulations provide for those articles to be imported under a departmental permit, while other sections provide for their importation under administrative instructions or conditions specified by the Administrator or Deputy Administrator. This action would consolidate and harmonize the conditions for obtaining authorization for the importation of otherwise prohibited or restricted plant material for scientific or certain other purposes.
National Poultry Improvement Plan and Auxiliary Provisions; Correction
Document Number: 2011-27579
Type: Rule
Date: 2011-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule that was published in the Federal Register on March 22, 2011, and effective on April 21, 2011, we amended the regulations for the control of H5/H7 low pathogenic avian influenza to simplify the list of types of poultry eligible for 100 percent indemnity, among other changes. This document corrects an error in our amendatory instructions accomplishing that change.
Importation of Fresh Baby Kiwi From Chile Under a Systems Approach
Document Number: 2011-27577
Type: Rule
Date: 2011-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation into the continental United States of baby kiwi fruit from Chile, subject to a systems approach. Under this systems approach, the fruit must be grown in a place of production that is registered with the Government of Chile and certified as having a low prevalence of Brevipalpus chilensis. The fruit must undergo pre-harvest sampling at the registered production site. Following post-harvest processing, the fruit must be inspected in Chile at an approved inspection site. Each consignment of fruit must be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that the fruit had been found free of Brevipalpus chilensis based on field and packinghouse inspections. This final rule allows for the safe importation of fresh baby kiwi from Chile using mitigation measures other than fumigation with methyl bromide.
Importation of Litchi and Longan Fruit From Vietnam Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2011-27574
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2011-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of litchi and longan fruit from Vietnam into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, litchi and longan fruit from Vietnam would be subject to a systems approach that would include requirements for treatment and inspection and restrictions on the distribution of the fruit. This action would allow for the importation of litchi and longan fruit from Vietnam into the United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Brucellosis in Swine; Add Texas to List of Validated Brucellosis-Free States
Document Number: 2011-27572
Type: Rule
Date: 2011-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the brucellosis regulations concerning the interstate movement of swine by adding Texas to the list of validated brucellosis- free States. The interim rule was necessary to relieve certain restrictions on interstate movement of breeding swine from Texas.
Importation of Mangoes From Australia
Document Number: 2011-27564
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2011-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations concerning the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of fresh mangoes from Australia into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, the mangoes would have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach employing a combination of mitigation measures for the fungus Cytosphaera mangiferae and would have to be inspected prior to exportation from Australia and found free of this disease. The mangoes would have to be imported in commercial consignments only and would have to be treated by irradiation to mitigate the risk of insect pests. The mangoes would also have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration that the conditions for importation have been met. This action would allow the importation of mangoes from Australia while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Plants for Planting Whose Importation Is Not Authorized Pending Pest Risk Analysis; Notice of Availability of Data Sheets for Taxa of Plants for Planting That Are Quarantine Pests or Hosts of Quarantine Pests
Document Number: 2011-27559
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for a notice that advised the public that we have determined that 41 taxa of plants for planting are quarantine pests and 107 taxa of plants for planting are hosts of 13 quarantine pests and therefore should be added to our lists of taxa of plants for planting whose importation is not authorized pending pest risk analysis. The notice also made available to the public for review and comment data sheets that detail the scientific evidence we evaluated in making the determination that the taxa are quarantine pests or hosts of quarantine pests. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing Avian Influenza-Marek's Disease Vaccine, H5 Subtype, Serotype 3, Live Marek's Disease Vector
Document Number: 2011-27555
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purpose of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Avian Influenza-Marek's Disease Vaccine, H5 Subtype, Serotype 3, Live Marek's Disease Vector. The environmental assessment, which is based on a risk analysis prepared to assess the risks associated with the field testing of this vaccine, examines the potential effects that field testing this veterinary vaccine could have on the quality of the human environment. Based on the risk analysis, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment, and that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared. We intend to authorize shipment of this vaccine for field testing following the close of the comment period for this notice unless new substantial issues bearing on the effects of this action are brought to our attention. We also intend to issue a U.S. Veterinary Biological Product license for this vaccine, provided the field test data support the conclusions of the environmental assessment and the issuance of a finding of no significant impact and the product meets all other requirements for licensing.
International Sanitary and Phytosanitary Standard-Setting Activities
Document Number: 2011-27174
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-10-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with legislation implementing the results of the Uruguay Round of negotiations under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, we are informing the public of the international standard- setting activities of the World Organization for Animal Health, the Secretariat of the International Plant Protection Convention, and the North American Plant Protection Organization, and we are soliciting public comment on the standards to be considered.
Importation of Plants for Planting; Risk-Based Sampling and Inspection Approach and Propagative Monitoring and Release Program
Document Number: 2011-27173
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-10-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to implement a risk-based sampling approach for the inspection of imported plants for planting. In our previous approach, we inspected 2 percent of consignments of imported plants for planting regardless of previous evidence of the risk posed by the plants for planting. The risk-based sampling and inspection approach will allow us to target high-risk plants for planting for more extensive inspection to help ensure that plants for planting infested with quarantine pests do not enter the United States, while providing a speedier inspection process for lower- risk plants for planting. In addition, for taxa of plants for planting that pose an extremely low risk, we are establishing a Propagative Monitoring and Release Program under which consignments of those taxa will be periodically monitored but not every consignment will be inspected.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Hawaiian and Territorial Quarantine Notices
Document Number: 2011-27172
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-10-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations to prevent the interstate spread of plant pests from the State of Hawaii and U.S. territories.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Christmas Cactus and Easter Cactus in Growing Media From the Netherlands and Denmark
Document Number: 2011-27170
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-10-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of Christmas cactus and Easter cactus in growing media from the Netherlands and Denmark.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Peppers From the Republic of Korea
Document Number: 2011-27168
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-10-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of peppers from the Republic of Korea.
Secretary's Advisory Committee on Animal Health; Meeting
Document Number: 2011-26354
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2011-10-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This is a notice to inform the public of an upcoming meeting of the Secretary's Advisory Committee on Animal Health. The meeting is organized by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service to discuss matters of animal health.
Monsanto Co.; Determination of Nonregulated Status for Soybean Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2011-26351
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-10-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a soybean line developed by the Monsanto Co., designated as event MON 87701, which has been genetically engineered for insect resistance, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by the Monsanto Company in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notice announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Bayer CropScience LP; Determination of Nonregulated Status for Cotton Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance and Herbicide Tolerance
Document Number: 2011-26349
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-10-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a genetically engineered cotton developed by Bayer CropScience LP, designated as TwinLinkTM cotton (events T304-40 and GHB119), which has been genetically engineered to be tolerant to the herbicide glufosinate and resistant to several lepidopteran pests, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by Bayer CropScience LP in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notice announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Importation of Tomatoes With Stems From the Republic of Korea Into the United States
Document Number: 2011-26345
Type: Rule
Date: 2011-10-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow, under certain conditions, the importation into the United States of commercial consignments of tomatoes with stems from the Republic of Korea. The conditions for the importation of tomatoes with stems from the Republic of Korea will include requirements for pest exclusion at the production site, fruit fly trapping inside and outside the production site, and pest-excluding packinghouse procedures. The tomatoes will also be required to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the national plant protection organization of the Republic of Korea with an additional declaration confirming that the tomatoes have been produced in accordance with the requirements. This action will allow for the importation of tomatoes with stems from the Republic of Korea while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of injurious plant pests into the United States.
Multi-Agency Informational Meeting Concerning Compliance With the Federal Select Agent Program; Public Meeting
Document Number: 2011-26071
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2011-10-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This is to notify all interested parties, including individuals and entities possessing, using, or transferring federally listed biological agents and toxins, that a meeting will be held to provide specific regulatory guidance related to the Federal Select Agent Program established under the Public Health Security and Bioterrorism Preparedness and Response Act of 2002. The meeting is being organized by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, the Department of Health and Human Services' Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the Department of Justice's Federal Bureau of Investigation, Criminal Justice Information Services. Issues to be discussed include personnel reliability programs, pre-employment background screenings, occupational health programs, and BSL4 surety programs.
Traceability for Livestock Moving Interstate
Document Number: 2011-26056
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2011-10-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our proposed rule that would establish minimum national official identification and documentation requirements for the traceability of livestock moving interstate. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Notice of Decision To Allow Interstate Movement of Rambutan From Puerto Rico into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2011-26050
Type: Notice
Date: 2011-10-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin allowing the interstate movement into the continental United States of fresh rambutan fruit from Puerto Rico. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the interstate movement of rambutan from Puerto Rico.