Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 2007 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Viruses, Serums, Toxins, and Analogous Products; Standard Requirements for Live Vaccines
Document Number: E7-24649
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-12-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Virus-Serum-Toxin Act regulations for certain live bacterial and viral vaccines by removing the requirement to retest the Master Seeds for immunogenicity 3 years after the initial qualifying immunogenicity test. In addition, we are amending the requirement concerning mouse safety tests prescribed for a biological product recommended for animals other than poultry. These changes update the standard requirements by eliminating unnecessary testing of Master Seed bacteria and viruses and other forms of bulk or completed biological product.
Black Stem Rust; Addition of Rust-Resistant Varieties; Correction
Document Number: E7-24678
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-12-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are correcting an error in the amendatory instructions in our direct final rule that added four varieties to the list of rust- resistant Berberis species or cultivars in the black stem rust quarantine and regulations. The direct final rule was published in the Federal Register on June 12, 2007 (72 FR 32165-32167, Docket No. APHIS- 2007-0072) and became effective on August 13, 2007.
A Business Plan To Advance Animal Disease Traceability
Document Number: E7-24656
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-12-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are making available for review and comment a Business Plan to Advance Animal Disease Traceability. The Business Plan details recommended strategies and actions to enable existing State and Federal regulated and voluntary animal health programs, industry-administered management and marketing programs, and various animal identification methods to work in harmony with the National Animal Identification System.
National Animal Identification System; User Guide and Additional Information Resources
Document Number: E7-24653
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-12-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are have prepared a revised version of the National Animal Identification System (NAIS) User Guide that was originally released in draft form in November 2006. The revised User Guide contains the most current information on how the system works and how producers may participate in the NAIS. We are making the revised User Guide available for review and comment.
Veterinary Diagnostic Services User Fees
Document Number: E7-24602
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-12-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations to increase the user fees for the veterinary diagnostic services to reflect changes in our operating costs and expenses. We are also setting rates for multiple fiscal years. These actions are necessary to ensure that we recover the actual costs of providing these services. We are also providing for a reasonable balance, or reserve, in the veterinary diagnostics user fee account. The Food, Agriculture, and Conservation Act of 1990, as amended, authorizes us to set and collect these user fees.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Agriculture Smuggling Tips and Referrals
Document Number: E7-24459
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-12-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of an information collection activity that will assist the Agency in preventing the unlawful entry and distribution of agricultural products that may harbor harmful animal or plant pests or diseases or noxious weeds.
User Fees; Updates and Clarifications
Document Number: E7-24177
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-12-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending our Agricultural Quarantine and Inspection Services user fee regulations to update an address that appears in several places. We are also making several nonsubstantive changes to the Veterinary Services user fee regulations to correct errors and to clarify the services covered by certain existing user fees. These changes, which do not affect any existing fees, are necessary to ensure that the user fee regulations are up to date and to ensure their clarity.
Gypsy Moth Regulations; Updates and Clarifications
Document Number: E7-24176
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-12-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the gypsy moth regulations by making editorial and nonsubstantive changes to several terms and providing necessary updates throughout the regulations. These actions will improve the clarity and consistency of the regulations while continuing to provide protection against the artificial spread of gypsy moth into noninfested areas of the United States.
Monsanto Company; Availability of Petition and Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status for Corn Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance
Document Number: E7-24174
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-12-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition from the Monsanto Company seeking a determination of nonregulated status for insect-resistant corn derived from a transformation event designated as MON 89034. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. In accordance with those regulations, we are soliciting comments on whether this genetically engineered corn is or could be a plant pest. We are also making available for public comment a draft environmental assessment for the proposed determination of nonregulated status.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Customer/Stakeholder Satisfaction Surveys
Document Number: E7-24171
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-12-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to initiate new information collection activities, to conduct surveys of customer/stakeholder satisfaction for both the National Animal Health Monitoring System and the National Veterinary Services Laboratories.
Public Meeting; Veterinary Biologics
Document Number: E7-24170
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-12-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are issuing this notice to inform producers and users of veterinary biological products, and other interested individuals, that we will be holding our 14th public meeting to discuss regulatory and policy issues related to the manufacture, distribution, and use of veterinary biological products. We are planning the meeting agenda and are requesting suggestions for topics of general interest to producers and other interested individuals.
Importation of Fruits and Vegetables
Document Number: E7-23957
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2007-12-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations pertaining to the importation of fruits and vegetables to eliminate a treatment requirement for Ya pears imported from Shandong Province, China; to clarify the conditions that apply to the importation of sand pears from the Republic of Korea and Japan; and to clarify the distinction between plant parts that would be considered to be plant litter or debris and those that would not. These proposed changes would eliminate a treatment requirement that no longer appears to be necessary and would clarify some existing provisions in order to make the regulations easier to understand and implement.
Cold Treatment Regulations; Correction
Document Number: E7-23944
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-12-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are correcting an error in the cold treatment regulations that resulted from the publication of an interim rule on July 2, 2007, that was effective on August 31, 2007, and the publication of a separate final rule on July 18, 2007, that was effective on August 17, 2007. Because the July 18 final rule reorganized the cold treatment regulations, changes we made in the July 2 interim rule inadvertently removed provisions relating to places for cold treatment and ports of entry from the regulations when the interim rule became effective on August 31, 2007. This correction amends the regulations by reinstating those provisions.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Phytophthora Ramorum Surveys and Data Collection Form
Document Number: E7-23881
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-12-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of new information collection activities associated with a program to prevent the spread of Phytophthora ramorum to noninfested areas of the United States.
Mediterranean Fruit Fly; Add Portions of Santa Clara and Solano Counties, CA, to the List of Quarantined Areas
Document Number: E7-23770
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-12-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Mediterranean fruit fly regulations by adding portions of Santa Clara and Solano Counties, CA, to the list of quarantined areas and restricting the interstate movement of regulated articles from those areas. We are also amending the definitions of the terms core area and day degrees and adding blueberries (Vaccinium spp.) to the list of articles regulated for Mediterranean fruit fly. These actions are necessary to prevent the artificial spread of Mediterranean fruit fly to noninfested areas of the United States and to update the regulations to reflect current science and practices.
National Animal Identification System; Updated Program Standards
Document Number: E7-23524
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-12-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are making available for review and comment a revised version of the National Animal Identification System (NAIS) Program Standards and Technical Reference document. A previous Program Standards document was originally made available in May 2005. The revised Program Standards and Technical Reference document reflects the continuing evolution of the NAIS, particularly with regard to identification devices available for official use within the system, and provides further guidance to NAIS participants and other interested stakeholders.
Citrus Greening and Asian Citrus Psyllid; Availability of a Finding of No Significant Impact
Document Number: E7-23369
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-12-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a finding of no significant impact relative to a new Federal order that restricts the interstate movement of regulated articles from areas quarantined for citrus greening disease and the Asian citrus psyllid. The finding of no significant impact is based on an environmental assessment that we prepared to document our review and analysis of the potential environmental impacts associated with the implementation of the new Federal order. In a notice published in the Federal Register on November 2, 2007, we made the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment, but noted that we may have to begin an expanded citrus greening regulatory program in Florida immediately and issue a finding of no significant impact for the environmental assessment before the comment period on the environmental assessment concludes.
Importation of Nursery Stock; Technical Amendment
Document Number: E7-23282
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-11-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule that was published in the Federal Register on August 6, 2007, and effective on September 5, 2007, we amended the regulations governing the importation of nursery stock by making several changes, including allowing the importation of restricted articles in tissue culture medium that is not transparent or translucent. It was our intent that the amended regulations only allow the use of agar or agar-like tissue culture medium. In this amendment, we are amending the regulation to clarify that intent.
Brucellosis in Cattle; State and Area Classifications; Idaho
Document Number: E7-23254
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-11-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the brucellosis regulations concerning the interstate movement of cattle by changing the classification of Idaho from Class A to Class Free. We determined that Idaho met the standards for Class Free status. The interim rule relieved certain restrictions on the interstate movement of cattle from Idaho.
National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee; Notice of Solicitation for Membership
Document Number: E7-23195
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-11-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that we have reestablished the Secretary's National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee for a 2-year period. The Secretary is soliciting nominations for membership on this Committee.
National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee; Notice of Intent To Reestablish
Document Number: E7-23198
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-11-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture intends to reestablish the National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee for a 2-year period. The Secretary has determined that the Committee is necessary and in the public interest.
Importation of Live Swine, Swine Semen, Pork, and Pork Products From the Czech Republic, Latvia, Lithuania, and Poland
Document Number: E7-23126
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-11-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of animals and animal products to add the Czech Republic, Latvia, Lithuania, and Poland to the region of the European Union that we recognize as low risk for classical swine fever (CSF). We are also adding the Czech Republic, Latvia, Lithuania, and Poland to the list of regions we consider free from swine vesicular disease (SVD) and adding Latvia and Lithuania to the list of regions considered free from foot- and-mouth disease (FMD) and rinderpest. These actions will relieve some restrictions on the importation into the United States of certain animals and animal products from those regions, while continuing to protect against the introduction of CSF, SVD, and FMD, and rinderpest into the United States.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Dropwort Leaves With Stems From South Korea Into the Continental United States
Document Number: E7-22760
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-11-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation of dropwort leaves with stems from South Korea into the continental United States. Based on that analysis, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of dropwort leaves with stems from South Korea. We are making the pest risk analysis available for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Scrapie in Sheep and Goats; Interstate Movement Restrictions and Indemnity Program
Document Number: E7-22742
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-11-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision and extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the interstate movement of sheep and goats and an indemnity program to help prevent the spread of scrapie.
Secretary's Advisory Committee on Foreign Animal and Poultry Diseases; Notice of Solicitation for Membership
Document Number: E7-22739
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-11-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary has reestablished the Advisory Committee on Foreign Animal and Poultry Diseases for a 2-year period. The Secretary is soliciting nominations for membership for this committee.
Citrus Canker; Movement of Fruit From Quarantined Areas
Document Number: E7-22549
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-11-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the citrus canker regulations to modify the conditions under which fruit may be moved interstate from a quarantined area. We are eliminating the requirement that the groves in which the fruit is produced be inspected and found free of citrus canker, and instead are requiring that every lot of fruit produced in the quarantined area be inspected by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service at a packinghouse operating under a compliance agreement and found to be free of visible symptoms of citrus canker. We are retaining the requirement that the fruit be treated with a surface disinfectant and the prohibition on the movement of fruit from a quarantined area into commercial citrus-producing States. These changes will relieve some restrictions on the interstate movement of fresh citrus fruit from Florida while maintaining conditions that will help prevent the artificial spread of citrus canker.
Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002; Biennial Review and Republication of the Select Agent and Toxin List
Document Number: E7-22431
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2007-11-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that would amend and republish the list of select agents and toxins that have the potential to pose a severe threat to animal or plant health, or to animal or plant products. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Importation of Sheep and Goat Semen
Document Number: E7-22279
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-11-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations regarding the importation of animal germplasm by removing specific restrictions on sheep semen from regions where scrapie exists and requiring the inclusion of additional information on the international health certificate accompanying sheep and goat semen. Experience and research have convinced us that sheep and goat semen pose a minimal risk of transmitting scrapie. This action will relieve restrictions on imported sheep semen while continuing to provide safeguards against the introduction and dissemination of scrapie.
Interstate Movement of Fruit From Hawaii
Document Number: E7-22278
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2007-11-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the Hawaiian fruits and vegetables regulations to allow mangosteen, dragon fruit, melon, pods of cowpea and its relatives, breadfruit, jackfruit, and fresh moringa pods to be moved interstate from Hawaii under certain conditions. This action would allow the movement of these tropical fruits from Hawaii to the continental United States while continuing to provide protection against the spread of plant pests from Hawaii to the continental United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Hass Avocados From Michoacan, Mexico
Document Number: E7-22094
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-11-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of Hass avocados from Michoacan, Mexico.
Imported Fire Ant; Availability of an Environmental Assessment
Document Number: E7-22092
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-11-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that a draft environmental assessment has been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service relative to the proposed release into areas quarantined for imported fire ant of five additional species of phorid flies for use as biological control agents. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Foot-and-Mouth Disease Status of Uruguay
Document Number: E7-22091
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-11-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, with one change, our July 2001 interim rule that amended the regulations governing the importation of certain animals, meat, and other animal products by removing Uruguay from the list of areas considered free of rinderpest and foot-and-mouth disease. The interim rule also removed Uruguay from the list of regions declared free of those diseases, but that are subject to certain restrictions because of their proximity to or trading relations with regions affected with rinderpest or foot-and- mouth disease. The interim rule was necessary because the existence of foot-and-mouth disease had been confirmed in 18 Departments in Uruguay. Because there have been no occurrences of rinderpest in Uruguay, this final rule adds Uruguay to the list of regions considered free of that disease.
Commercial Transportation of Equines to Slaughter
Document Number: E7-21896
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2007-11-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations regarding the commercial transportation of equines to slaughter to add a definition of equine for slaughter and make other changes that will extend the protections afforded by the regulations to equines bound for slaughter but delivered first to an assembly point, feedlot, or stockyard. This action would further ensure the humane treatment of such equines by helping to ensure that the unique and special needs of equines in commercial transportation to slaughter are met.
Asian Longhorned Beetle; Additions to Quarantined Areas
Document Number: E7-21684
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-11-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the Asian longhorned beetle regulations by expanding the boundaries of the quarantined areas in New Jersey and restricting the interstate movement of regulated articles from those areas. The interim rule was necessary to prevent the spread of the Asian longhorned beetle to noninfested areas of the United States.
Citrus Greening and Asian Citrus Psyllid; Availability of an Environmental Assessment
Document Number: E7-21679
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-11-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that an environmental assessment has been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service relative to a new Federal order that restricts the interstate movement of regulated articles from areas quarantined for citrus greening disease and the Asian citrus psyllid. The environmental assessment documents our review and analysis of the potential environmental impacts associated with the implementation of the new Federal order. We are making this environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Export Certification for Wood Packaging Material
Document Number: E7-21316
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-10-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the export certification regulations to clarify that an International Standards for Phytosanitary Measures No. 15 (ISPM 15) quality/treatment mark is an industry-issued certificate and thus may be issued only when the organization applying the mark has entered into an agreement with the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. The interim rule also removed all references to a certificate of heat treatment from the regulations because such certificates have been replaced by the ISPM 15 quality/treatment mark. The interim rule was necessary to ensure the appropriate issuance of the ISPM 15 quality/ treatment mark.
Importation of Nursery Stock; Postentry Quarantine Requirements for Potential Hosts of Chrysanthemum White Rust and Definition of From
Document Number: E7-21136
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2007-10-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that would amend the regulations on importing nursery stock by providing a new option for the postentry quarantine growing period for articles of Chrysanthemum spp., Leucanthemella serotina, and Nipponanthemum nipponicum and amending the definition of from. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Oriental Fruit Fly; Addition and Removal of Quarantined Areas in California
Document Number: E7-21119
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-10-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the Oriental fruit fly regulations by removing the Santa Ana area of Orange County, CA, from the list of quarantined areas and removing restrictions on the interstate movement of regulated articles from that area. That action was necessary to remove restrictions that were no longer necessary to prevent the spread of the Oriental fruit fly into noninfested areas of the United States. The Santa Ana area of Orange County, CA, was the last remaining area in California quarantined for Oriental fruit fly. Therefore, as a result of that action, there are no longer any areas in the continental United States quarantined for the Oriental fruit fly.
Importation of Unshu Oranges From the Republic of Korea Into Alaska
Document Number: E7-21007
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of citrus fruit to allow fresh Unshu oranges from the Republic of Korea to be imported into the State of Alaska under certain conditions. As a condition of entry, the oranges will have to be prepared for shipping using packinghouse procedures that include culling of damaged or diseased fruit and cleaning with high-pressure air or water in combination with brushing. In addition, the oranges will have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that the oranges were inspected and found free from Xanthomonas axonopodis pv. citri and Unaspis yanonensis. The individual cartons or boxes in which the Unshu oranges are shipped will also have to be marked with a statement restricting their importation and distribution to the State of Alaska. This action will allow for the importation of Unshu oranges from the Republic of Korea into Alaska while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Imported Fire Ant; Additions to the List of Quarantined Areas
Document Number: E7-21003
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the imported fire ant regulations by designating as quarantined areas all or portions of 2 counties in Arkansas, 3 in North Carolina, and 3 in Tennessee, by expanding the quarantined area in 1 county in Arkansas and 15 in Tennessee, and by designating the entire State of South Carolina as a quarantined area. As a result of this action, the interstate movement of regulated articles from those areas will be restricted. This action is necessary to prevent the artificial spread of imported fire ant to noninfested areas of the United States.
Notice of Decision To Issue Permits for the Importation of Peeled Baby Carrots From Kenya Into the Continental United States
Document Number: E7-20678
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-10-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin issuing permits for the importation into the continental United States of peeled baby carrots from Kenya. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of peeled baby carrots from Kenya.
Notice of Decision To Issue Permits for the Importation of Husked, Silk-Free Baby Corn From Kenya Into the Continental United States
Document Number: E7-20677
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-10-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin issuing permits for the importation into the continental United States of husked, silk-free baby corn from Kenya. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of husked, silk-free baby corn from Kenya.
Notice of Decision To Issue Permits for the Importation of Ribes Species Fruits From South Africa Into the Continental United States
Document Number: E7-20675
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-10-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin issuing permits for the importation into the continental United States of Ribes species fruits (i.e., currants and gooseberries) from South Africa. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of Ribes species fruits from South Africa.
Notice of Decision To Issue Permits for the Importation of Eggplant and Okra From Ghana Into All Areas of the United States and the Importation of Peppers From Ghana Into the Continental United States
Document Number: E7-20674
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-10-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin issuing permits for the importation of eggplant and okra from Ghana into all areas of the United States and the importation of peppers from Ghana into the continental United States. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of eggplant, okra, and peppers from Ghana.
Fiscal Year 2008 Agricultural Quarantine and Inspection User Fees
Document Number: E7-20224
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-10-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This notice pertains to user fees charged for agricultural quarantine and inspection services provided in connection with certain commercial vessels, commercial trucks, commercial railroad cars, commercial aircraft, and international airline passengers arriving at ports in the customs territory of the United States. The purpose of this notice is to remind the public of the user fees for fiscal year 2008 (October 1, 2007, through September 30, 2008).
Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy; Minimal-Risk Regions; Importation of Live Bovines and Products Derived from Bovines
Document Number: C7-4595
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-10-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, Internal Revenue Service, Department of Treasury, Department of the Treasury
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Sweet Cherries From Australia Into the Continental United States and Hawaii
Document Number: E7-20166
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-10-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation into the continental United States and Hawaii of sweet cherries from Australia. Based on that analysis, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of sweet cherries from Australia. We are making the pest risk analysis, as well as an environmental assessment we have prepared in connection with this action, available for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Swine Health Protection
Document Number: E7-20046
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-10-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the swine health protection program.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Chronic Wasting Disease in Cervids; Payment of Indemnity
Document Number: E7-19883
Type: Notice
Date: 2007-10-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the payment of indemnity for the voluntary depopulation of captive cervid herds known to be affected with chronic wasting disease.
Emerald Ash Borer; Quarantined Areas; Maryland
Document Number: E7-19839
Type: Rule
Date: 2007-10-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the emerald ash borer regulations by adding Prince George's County, MD, to the list of areas quarantined because of emerald ash borer. The interim rule was necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the emerald ash borer from Prince George's County, MD, into noninfested areas of the United States. As a result of the interim rule, the interstate movement of regulated articles from that county is restricted.