Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 2021 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Environmental Impact Statement; Movement of Certain Genetically Engineered Organisms: Record of Decision
Document Number: 2021-06978
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-04-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This notice advises the public of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's record of decision for the final environmental impact statement titled ``Revisions to USDA-APHIS 7 CFR part 340 Regulations Governing the Importation, Interstate Movement, and Environmental Release of Certain Genetically Engineered Organisms.''
Importation of Dianthus spp. From Kenya
Document Number: 2021-06947
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-04-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public that we are updating the U.S. Department of Agriculture Plants for Planting Manual to allow the importation of Dianthus spp. cuttings from Kenya without postentry quarantine, subject to certain conditions. We are taking this action in response to a request from this country and after determining that the cuttings can be imported, under certain conditions, without resulting in the introduction into, or the dissemination within, the United States of a plant pest.
Addition of India to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2021-06172
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-03-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added India to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in India.
Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Pepper Fruit From Colombia Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2021-06169
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-03-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation of fresh pepper fruit from Colombia into the continental United States. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh pepper fruit from Colombia.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; On-Farm Monitoring of Antimicrobial Use and Resistance in U.S. Broiler Production Study
Document Number: 2021-05360
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-03-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection associated with the National Animal Health Monitoring System's On-Farm Monitoring of Antimicrobial Use and Resistance in U.S. Broiler Production Study.
Addition of the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2021-05275
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-03-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste.
Notice of Proposed Revision To Import Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Sand Pears From the Republic of Korea Into the United States
Document Number: 2021-05273
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-03-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis relative to the importation into the United States of sand pear (Pyrus pyrifolia var. culta) fruit from the Republic of Korea. Currently, sand pear fruit may be imported into the United States from the Republic of Korea under an Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service preclearance program or as non-precleared fruit into the port of Honolulu, HI. Based on the findings of our analysis, we are proposing to authorize imports of non-precleared sand pear fruit from the Republic of Korea into all U.S. ports as an alternative to the preclearance program. All sand pear fruit intended for importation into the United States from the Republic of Korea would be subject to a systems approach currently required for precleared fruit. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Regulation of the Movement of Animals Modified or Developed by Genetic Engineering
Document Number: 2021-04716
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2021-03-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, Food Safety and Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our advance notice of proposed rulemaking on establishing regulations for the movement of certain animals modified or developed by genetic engineering. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Control of Chronic Wasting Disease
Document Number: 2021-04511
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-03-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the control of chronic wasting disease in farmed and captive cervid herds.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; APHIS Student Outreach Program
Document Number: 2021-04510
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-03-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection associated with the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's Student Outreach Program.
Elimination of the Voluntary Trichinae Certification Program
Document Number: 2021-03772
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2021-03-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to eliminate the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) Voluntary Trichinae Certification Program and remove the regulations associated with the program. This action would also notify the public that APHIS will no longer maintain any activity associated with the program, such as training for qualified accredited veterinarians, on-farm audits, or any other administrative process associated with program maintenance and support. We are proposing to eliminate the program because it generates little producer participation. This action would allow APHIS to direct APHIS resources to areas of greater need.
Classify Canada as Level I for Bovine Tuberculosis and Brucellosis
Document Number: 2021-03773
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-02-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to classify Canada as Level I for both bovine tuberculosis and brucellosis. This proposed recognition is based on evaluations we have prepared in connection with this action, which we are making available for review and comment.
Classify the State of Sonora, Mexico, as Level I for Brucellosis
Document Number: 2021-03771
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-02-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to classify the State of Sonora, Mexico as Level 1 for brucellosis. This proposed recognition is based on an evaluation we have prepared in connection with this action, which we are making available for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Gypsy Moth Identification Worksheet and Checklist
Document Number: 2021-02905
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-02-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the gypsy moth program.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; Citrus Canker, Citrus Greening, and Asian Citrus Psyllid; Interstate Movement of Regulated Nursery Stock
Document Number: 2021-02904
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-02-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection associated with the interstate movement of regulated nursery stock from quarantined areas to prevent the spread of citrus canker, citrus greening, and Asian citrus psyllid.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Communicable Diseases in Horses
Document Number: 2021-02903
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-02-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for approving laboratories to test for equine infectious anemia and for the interstate movement of horses that have tested positive for equine infectious anemia.
Environmental Impact Statement for Predator Damage Management in Oregon
Document Number: 2021-01148
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-01-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is preparing an environmental impact statement analyzing alternatives for predator damage management in Oregon. This notice proposes issues and alternatives for consideration in the environmental impact statement and requests public comments to further delineate the scope of the alternatives, the environmental issues, and other issues of public concern to be considered. This notice also serves to inform the public that the U.S. Forest Service and the U.S. Department of the Interior's Bureau of Land Management have joined as cooperating agencies in the environmental impact statement process.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Gypsy Moth Host Materials From Canada
Document Number: 2021-01141
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-01-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations to prevent the introduction of gypsy moth from Canada into noninfested areas of the United States.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Release of Bikasha collaris and Gadirtha fusca for Biological Control of Chinese Tallow
Document Number: 2021-01124
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-01-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to permitting the release of the insects Bikasha collaris and Gadirtha fusca for biological control of Chinese tallow tree (Triadica sebifera) in the contiguous United States. Based on the environmental assessment and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that the release of this control agent will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Monsanto Company; Determination of Nonregulated Status for Insect Resistant Cotton
Document Number: 2021-00956
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-01-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that the cotton event designated as MON 88702, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to certain insects, primarily Lygus spp., is no longer considered regulated under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on evaluation of information Monsanto Company submitted in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analyses, and public comments received in response to previous notices announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and our associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Approval of Laboratories for Conducting Aquatic Animal Tests for Export Health Certificates
Document Number: 2021-00064
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-01-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with its efforts to certify certain laboratories that conduct aquatic animal testing for export activities.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Release of Lilioceris
Document Number: 2021-00063
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-01-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment (EA) relative to permitting the release of an insect, Lilioceris egena, for the biological control of air potato (Dioscorea bulbifera). Based on the environmental assessment and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that the release of this control agent within the continental United States will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the EA available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; SARS-CoV-2 Testing in Animals Reporting Activities
Document Number: 2020-29014
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-01-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection associated with the testing and reporting of SARS-CoV-2 in animals.