Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 1 - 50 of 2,319
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fresh Peppers From Ecuador Into the United States
Document Number: 2018-26638
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-12-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of fresh peppers from Ecuador into the continental United States.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of Approval of an Information Collection; National Management Information System
Document Number: 2018-26434
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-12-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a reinstatement of approval of an information collection associated with the national management information system for cooperative wildlife damage management programs.
Environmental Impact Statement; Cattle Fever Tick Control Barrier in South Texas: Record of Decision
Document Number: 2018-26068
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-11-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This notice advises the public of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's record of decision for the final environmental impact statement titled ``Cattle Fever Tick Eradication ProgramTick Control Barrier: Maverick, Starr, Webb, and Zapata Counties, Texas.''
Notice of Request for an Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Nomination Request Form; Animal Disease Training
Document Number: 2018-25462
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-11-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with training related to animal diseases.
Secretary's Advisory Committee on Animal Health; Intent To Reestablish
Document Number: 2018-23836
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-11-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture intends to reestablish the Secretary's Advisory Committee on Animal Health for a 2-year period. The Secretary has determined that the Committee is necessary and in the public interest.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection: Importation of Citrus From Peru; Expansion of Citrus-Growing Area
Document Number: 2018-23540
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-10-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of citrus from Peru into the continental United States.
Environmental Assessment; Southwestern Willow Flycatcher Conservation Program
Document Number: 2018-23384
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-10-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and its sub-agency, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS), are considering developing a conservation program pursuant to the Endangered Species Act for the southwestern willow flycatcher, a small, neotropical migrant bird found in Arizona, California, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, and Utah. We are also planning to prepare an environmental assessment to analyze the effects of the proposed conservation program. This notice identifies potential issues, alternatives, and conservation measures that USDA and APHIS propose to review, and requests public comments to determine the relevant scope of issues and range of alternatives to be addressed in the environmental process from individuals, organizations, Tribes, and government agencies on this topic.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Citrus Greening and Asian Citrus Psyllid; Quarantine and Interstate Movement Regulations
Document Number: 2018-23281
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations to prevent the spread of citrus greening and its vector, Asian citrus psyllid, to noninfested areas of the United States.
Texas A&M AgriLife Research; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Cotton Genetically Engineered for Ultra-low Gossypol Levels in the Cottonseed
Document Number: 2018-22545
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-10-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that cotton designated as event TAM66274, which has been genetically engineered for ultra-low gossypol levels in the cottonseed, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by Texas A&M AgriLife Research in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notices announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing of a Swine Influenza Vaccine, DNA
Document Number: 2018-21926
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-10-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purpose of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Swine Influenza Vaccine, DNA. Based on the environmental assessment, risk analysis, and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the documents available to the public for review and comment.
Oral Rabies Vaccine Trial; Availability of a Supplement to an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact
Document Number: 2018-21924
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-10-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a supplement to an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to an oral rabies vaccination field trial in New Hampshire, New York, Ohio, Vermont, and West Virginia. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Establishing a Performance Standard for Authorizing the Importation and Interstate Movement of Fruits and Vegetables
Document Number: 2018-21627
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-10-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are correcting a portion of the summary of the economic analysis presented in the SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION portion of our September 14, 2018, final rule amending our regulations governing the importation and interstate movement of fruits and vegetables. The summary reported an incorrect cost savings figure in its discussion of Executive Order 13771. This document corrects that error.
International Sanitary and Phytosanitary Standard-Setting Activities
Document Number: 2018-21577
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-10-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with legislation implementing the results of the Uruguay Round of negotiations under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, we are informing the public of the international standard- setting activities of the World Organization for Animal Health, the Secretariat of the International Plant Protection Convention, and the North American Plant Protection Organization, and we are soliciting public comment on the standards to be considered.
Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002; Biennial Review and Republication of the Select Agent and Toxin List; Amendments to the Select Agent and Toxin Regulations; Technical Amendment
Document Number: 2018-20694
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-09-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
As part of a final rule published in the Federal Register on October 5, 2012, we amended and republished the list of select agents and toxins that have the potential to pose a severe threat to animal or plant health, or to animal or plant products. In that final rule we removed bovine spongiform encephalopathy agent from the list of select agents or toxins, but we neglected to remove it from the list of those select agents or toxins whose seizure must be reported within 24 hours by telephone, facsimile, or email. We are remedying that oversight in this document. We are also updating the name of another select agent to reflect its most current scientific classification, correcting a typographical error, and updating the name of a guidance document referenced in the regulations.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fresh Peppers From Peru Into the Continental United States and the Territories
Document Number: 2018-20449
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-09-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of fresh peppers from Peru into the continental United States and the Territories.
Removal of Emerald Ash Borer Domestic Quarantine Regulations
Document Number: 2018-20296
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2018-09-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to remove the domestic quarantine regulations for the plant pest emerald ash borer. This action would discontinue the domestic regulatory component of the emerald ash borer program as a means to more effectively direct available resources toward management and containment of the pest. Funding previously allocated to the implementation and enforcement of these domestic quarantine regulations would instead be directed to a nonregulatory option of research into, and deployment of, biological control agents for emerald ash borer, which would serve as the primary tool to mitigate and control the pest.
Establishing a Performance Standard for Authorizing the Importation and Interstate Movement of Fruits and Vegetables
Document Number: 2018-19984
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-09-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending our regulations governing the importation of fruits and vegetables by broadening our existing performance standard to provide for approval of all new fruits and vegetables for importation into the United States using a notice-based process. We are also removing the region- or commodity-specific phytosanitary requirements currently found in these regulations. Likewise, we are making an equivalent revision of the performance standard in our regulations governing the interstate movement of fruits and vegetables from Hawaii and the U.S. territories (Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands) and removing the commodity- specific phytosanitary requirements from those regulations. This action will allow for the approval of requests to authorize the importation or interstate movement of new fruits and vegetables in a manner that enables a more flexible and responsive regulatory approach to evolving pest situations in both the United States and exporting countries. It will not, however, alter the science-based process in which the risk associated with importation or interstate movement of a given fruit or vegetable is evaluated or the manner in which risks associated with the importation or interstate movement of a fruit or vegetable are mitigated.
Concurrence With OIE Risk Designations for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
Document Number: 2018-18962
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-08-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to concur with the World Organization for Animal Health's (OIE) bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk designations for four regions. The OIE recognizes these regions as being of negligible risk for BSE. We are taking this action based on our review of information supporting the OIE's risk designations for these regions.
Nuseed Americas Inc.; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Canola Genetically Engineered for Altered Oil Profile
Document Number: 2018-18565
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-08-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that canola designated as event B0050-027, which has been genetically engineered to accumulate the long chain omega-3 fatty acid known as docosahexaenoic acid in seed, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by Nuseed Americas Inc. in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notices announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Contract Pilot and Aircraft Acceptance
Document Number: 2018-18417
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-08-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the use of contract pilots and aircraft in Plant Protection and Quarantine domestic, emergency, and biological control programs.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; National Poultry Improvement Plan
Document Number: 2018-18416
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-08-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the National Poultry Improvement Plan.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Small Lots of Seeds Without Phytosanitary Certificates
Document Number: 2018-18414
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-08-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of small lots of seeds into the United States without phytosanitary certificates.
Notice of Request for an Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Qualitative Feedback on Agency Service Delivery
Document Number: 2018-18137
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-08-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with qualitative customer and stakeholder feedback on service delivery by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service.
Conditions for Payment of Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza Indemnity Claims
Document Number: 2018-17554
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-08-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, with changes, an interim rule that amended the regulations pertaining to certain diseases of livestock and poultry to specify conditions for payment of indemnity claims for highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). The interim rule provided a formula allowing us to split such payments between poultry and egg owners and parties with which the owners enter into contracts to raise or care for the eggs or poultry based on the proportion of the production cycle completed. That action was necessary to ensure that all contractors are compensated appropriately. The interim rule also clarified an existing policy regarding the payment of indemnity for eggs destroyed due to HPAI and required a statement from owners and contractors, unless specifically exempted, indicating that at the time of detection of HPAI in their facilities, they had in place and were following a biosecurity plan aimed at keeping HPAI from spreading to commercial premises.
Texas A&M AgriLife Research; Availability of a Draft Plant Pest Risk Assessment and Draft Environmental Assessment for Cotton Genetically Engineered for Ultra-low Gossypol Levels in the Cottonseed
Document Number: 2018-16389
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-08-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available for public comment a draft plant pest risk assessment (PPRA) and draft environmental assessment (EA) for cotton designated as event TAM66274, which has been genetically engineered for ultra-low gossypol levels in the cottonseed. We are making the draft PPRA and draft EA available for public review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Emergency Management Response System
Document Number: 2018-16213
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-07-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the Emergency Management Response System.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Papayas From Peru
Document Number: 2018-16210
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-07-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of papayas from Peru into the continental United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Apples From China
Document Number: 2018-16098
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-07-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of apples from China.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fruits and Vegetables
Document Number: 2018-15230
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-07-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of fruits and vegetables into the United States.
Lacey Act Implementation Plan: De Minimis Exception
Document Number: 2018-14630
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2018-07-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008 amended the Lacey Act to provide, among other things, that importers submit a declaration at the time of importation for certain plants and plant products. The declaration requirement of the Lacey Act became effective on December 15, 2008, and enforcement of that requirement is being phased in. We are proposing to establish an exception to the declaration requirement for products containing a minimal amount of plant materials. This action would relieve the burden on importers while continuing to ensure that the declaration requirement fulfills the purposes of the Lacey Act. We are also proposing that all Lacey Act declarations be submitted within 3 business days of importation.
Lacey Act Implementation Plan: Composite Plant Materials
Document Number: 2018-14625
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2018-07-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Food, Conservation and Energy Act of 2008 amended the Lacey Act to provide, among other things, that importers submit a declaration at the time of importation for certain plants and plant products. The declaration requirements of the Lacey Act became effective on December 15, 2008, and enforcement of those requirements is being phased in. We are soliciting public comment on regulatory options that could address certain issues that have arisen with the implementation of the declaration requirement for composite plant materials.
Oral Rabies Vaccine Trial; Availability of a Supplemental Environmental Assessment
Document Number: 2018-14307
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-07-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a supplemental environmental assessment (EA) relative to an oral rabies vaccination field trial in New Hampshire, New York, Ohio, Vermont, and West Virginia. The supplemental EA analyzes expanding the field trial for an experimental oral rabies vaccine for wildlife to additional areas in Ohio and West Virginia. The proposed field trial is necessary to evaluate whether the wildlife rabies vaccine will produce sufficient levels of population immunity against raccoon rabies. We are making the supplemental EA available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Intent To Prepare an Environmental Impact Statement; Movement and Outdoor Use of Certain Genetically Engineered Organisms
Document Number: 2018-14019
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-06-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) plans to prepare a programmatic environmental impact statement (EIS) in connection with potential changes to the regulations regarding the importation, interstate movement, and environmental release of certain genetically engineered organisms. This notice identifies potential issues to be evaluated in the EIS and requests public comments to define the scope of the alternatives and environmental impacts and issues for APHIS to consider.
Nuseed Americas Inc.; Availability of a Draft Plant Pest Risk Assessment and Draft Environmental Assessment for Canola Genetically Engineered for Altered Oil Profile
Document Number: 2018-13589
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-06-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available for public comment a draft plant pest risk assessment (PPRA) and draft environmental assessment (EA) for canola designated as event B0050-027, which has been genetically engineered to accumulate the long chain omega-3 fatty acid known as docosahexaenoic acid in seed. We are making the draft PPRA and draft EA available for public review and comment.
Phytophthora ramorum; Regulated Areas, Regulated Establishments, and Testing Protocols
Document Number: 2018-13560
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2018-06-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the Phytophthora ramorum regulations to remove regulated areas for P. ramorum from the regulations, as well as all regulatory requirements specific to such areas. We are proposing to amend the regulations by revising the inspection and sampling requirements for certain nurseries that are in areas quarantined for P. ramorum and that ship regulated nursery stock interstate. We are proposing to change the nature of the inspection and sampling requirements to have them take into consideration additional potential sources of P. ramorum inoculum at the nurseries. Finally, we are proposing to establish conditions under which we would regulate nurseries located outside of the quarantined areas for P. ramorum, if sources of P. ramorum inoculum are detected at those nurseries and the nurseries ship certain articles interstate. These changes would provide regulatory relief to nurseries in areas that are regulated for P. ramorum, while also ensuring that nurseries that may pose a risk of disseminating P. ramorum through the interstate movement of regulated nursery stock are subject to measures that address this risk.
National Poultry Improvement Plan and Auxiliary Provisions
Document Number: 2018-13128
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-06-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) by updating and clarifying several provisions, including those concerning NPIP participation, voting requirements, testing procedures, and standards. The changes in this final rule were voted on and approved by the voting delegates at the Plan's 2016 National Plan Conference.
Importation of Fresh Avocado Fruit From Continental Ecuador Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2018-12827
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2018-06-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation into the continental United States of fresh avocado fruit from continental Ecuador. As a condition of entry, fresh avocado fruit from continental Ecuador would have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that would include production site registration, field sanitation, packinghouse procedures designed to exclude the quarantine pests, and procedures for packing, storing, and shipping the avocado fruit. The fruit would also have to be imported in commercial consignments, with each consignment identified throughout its movement from place of production to port of entry in the continental United States. The systems approach for all fresh avocado fruit from continental Ecuador, except Hass avocados, would also have to include production site pest control measures. Consignments would have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the national plant protection organization of Ecuador certifying that the fruit was produced in accordance with the systems approach. This proposed rule would allow for the importation of fresh avocados from continental Ecuador into the continental United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Goat 2019 Study
Document Number: 2018-12589
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-06-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection to conduct the National Animal Health Monitoring System's Goat 2019 Study.
Bayer CropScience LP; Availability of a Preliminary Plant Pest Risk Assessment, Draft Environmental Assessment, Preliminary Finding of No Significant Impact, and Preliminary Determination of Nonregulated Status for Cotton Genetically Engineered For Resistance to HPPD-Inhibitor Herbicides (e.g., Isoxaflutole) and Glyphosate
Document Number: 2018-12187
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-06-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a preliminary determination regarding a request from Bayer CropScience LP seeking a determination of nonregulated status for cotton designated as event GHB811, which has been genetically engineered for dual resistance to HPPD-inhibitor herbicides (e.g., isoxaflutole) and the herbicide glyphosate. We are also making available for public review and comment our preliminary plant pest risk assessment, draft environmental assessment, and preliminary finding of no significant impact for the preliminary determination of nonregulated status.
Notice of a Determination Regarding the Classical Swine Fever and Swine Vesicular Disease Status of Japan
Document Number: 2018-12186
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-06-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that Japan is free of classical swine fever (CSF) and swine vesicular disease (SVD). Based on an evaluation of the CSF and SVD status of Japan, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, the Administrator has determined that CSF and SVD are not present in Japan and that live swine, pork, and pork products may safely be imported into the United States from Japan subject to conditions in the regulations.
Thresholds for De Minimis Activity and Exemptions From Licensing Under the Animal Welfare Act
Document Number: 2018-11892
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) regulations to implement amendments to the Act that broadened the scope of the exemptions from the licensing requirements for dealers and exhibitors. Specifically, we are broadening the licensing exemption for any person who maintains four or fewer breeding female dogs, cats, and/or small exotic or wild mammals and only sells the offspring of these animals for pets or exhibition to include additional types of pet animals and domesticated farm-type animals. In addition, we are adding a new licensing exemption for any person who maintains eight or fewer pet animals, small exotic or wild animals, and/or domesticated farm-type animals for exhibition. These actions will allow the Agency to focus its limited resources on situations that pose a higher risk to animal welfare and public safety. Finally, we are making conforming changes to the definitions of dealer and exhibitor to reflect the amendments to the Act and making several miscellaneous changes to the regulations for consistency and to remove redundant and obsolete requirements.
Importation of Tree Tomatoes From Ecuador Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2018-11890
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruit and vegetable regulations to allow the importation of tree tomatoes from Ecuador into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, the tree tomatoes must be produced in accordance with a systems approach that includes requirements for importation in commercial consignments, registration and monitoring of places of production, field monitoring and pest control practices, trapping, and inspection for quarantine pests by the national plant protection organization of Ecuador. This action will allow the importation of tree tomatoes from Ecuador while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Pale Cyst Nematode
Document Number: 2018-11532
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-05-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the interstate movement of regulated articles to prevent the spread of the pale cyst nematode to noninfested areas of the United States.
National Environmental Policy Act Implementing Procedures
Document Number: 2018-11083
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-05-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations that set out our National Environmental Policy Act implementing procedures. The amendments include clarifying the categories of actions for which we would normally complete an environmental impact statement or an environmental assessment for an action, as well as updating examples of categorically excluded actions and setting out an environmental documentation process that could be used in emergencies. The changes will serve to update the regulations and improve their clarity and effectiveness.
VSTA Records and Reports Specific to International Standards for Pharmacovigilance
Document Number: 2018-10540
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-05-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Virus-Serum-Toxin Act regulations concerning records and reports. This change requires veterinary biologics licensees and permittees to record and submit reports concerning adverse events associated with the use of biological products they produce or distribute. The information that must be included in the adverse event reports submitted to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) will be provided in separate guidance documents. These records and reports will help ensure that APHIS can provide complete and accurate information to consumers regarding adverse reactions or other problems associated with the use of licensed biological products.
Draft Environmental Impact Statement and Preliminary Pest Risk Assessment for Permit for Release of Genetically Engineered Citrus tristeza virus
Document Number: 2018-10490
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-05-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a draft environmental impact statement (EIS) and preliminary pest risk assessment (PRA) that evaluate the potential environmental impacts and plant pest risk associated with the proposed environmental release of genetically engineered Citrus tristeza virus. We are making the draft EIS and preliminary PRA available for public review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Mangoes from Australia
Document Number: 2018-10098
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-05-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of mangoes from Australia.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Endangered Species Regulations and Forfeiture Procedures
Document Number: 2018-10097
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-05-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the protection of endangered species of terrestrial plants and for procedures related to the forfeiture of plants or other property.
Notice of Availability of Proposed Changes to the Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Certification Program Standards
Document Number: 2018-08787
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-04-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our notice of availability of a revised version of the Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Certification Program Standards. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Concurrence With OIE Risk Designations for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
Document Number: 2018-08430
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-04-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our preliminary concurrence with the World Organization for Animal Health's (OIE) bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk designations for four regions. The OIE recognizes these regions as being of negligible risk for BSE. We are taking this action based on our review of information supporting the OIE's risk designations for these regions.