Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 1 - 50 of 2,514
Use of Radio Frequency Identification Tags as Official Identification in Cattle and Bison
Document Number: 2020-14463
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-07-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with Executive Order 13892, Promoting the Rule of Law Through Transparency and Fairness in Civil Administrative Enforcement and Adjudication, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) is soliciting public comments on a proposal wherein APHIS would only approve radio frequency identification tags as official eartags for use in interstate movement of cattle and bison that are covered under certain regulations.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; National Veterinary Services Laboratories; Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy Surveillance Program
Document Number: 2020-13944
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with National Veterinary Services Laboratories diagnostic support for the bovine spongiform encephalopathy surveillance program.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Blood and Tissue Collection and Recordkeeping at Slaughtering, Rendering, and Approved Livestock Marketing Establishments and Facilities
Document Number: 2020-13735
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations governing approval and maintenance of livestock marketing establishments and facilities, listing blood and tissue collection and recordkeeping, and withdrawal or denial of livestock marketing facilities and slaughtering and rendering facilities.
J.R. Simplot Company; Availability of a Request and Plant Pest Risk Similarity Assessment for an Extension of a Determination of Nonregulated Status for Z6 Potatoes With Late Blight Protection, Low Acrylamide Potential, Lowered Reducing Sugars, and Reduced Black Spot
Document Number: 2020-13711
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a request to extend our determination of nonregulated status of J.R. Simplot Company's (Simplot's) W8 potato to event Z6 (hereafter Z6 potato). Z6 potato has been genetically engineered for late blight protection, low acrylamide potential, lowered reducing sugars, and reduced black spot using the same construct and method of transformation as W8 potato. We are making available for public comment the request and our plant pest risk similarity assessment and preliminary determination of nonregulated status.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Bees and Related Articles
Document Number: 2020-13686
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of bees and related articles into the United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy; Importation of Animals and Animal Products
Document Number: 2020-13533
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with activities to prevent the introduction of bovine spongiform encephalopathy into the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza, All Subtypes, and Newcastle Disease; Additional Restrictions
Document Number: 2020-12737
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations to prevent the introduction of highly pathogenic avian influenza, all subtypes, and Newcastle disease into the United States through the importation of birds, poultry, and unprocessed bird and poultry products.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; U.S. Origin Health Certificate
Document Number: 2020-12736
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the export of animals and animal products from the United States.
Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Carrots From the Republic of Korea Into the United States
Document Number: 2020-12202
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation of fresh carrots from the Republic of Korea into the United States. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public to review and comment through a previous notice, we have concluded that the application of one or more phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh carrots from the Republic of Korea into the United States.
Amendments to the Pale Cyst Nematode Regulations
Document Number: 2020-11792
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2020-06-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that would amend the domestic quarantine regulations for pale cyst nematode by adding procedures to allow persons to review and comment on the protocols for regulating and deregulating infested and associated areas. We are taking this action to allow persons to comment on the science on which we have established our infested and associated field protocols and on the sources we have used to develop the protocol principles and methods currently used. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; APHIS Credit and User Fee Accounts
Document Number: 2020-11738
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's (APHIS') intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with establishing credit accounts and the collection of user fees for certain reimbursable APHIS services.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; APHIS Pest Reporting and Asian Longhorn Beetle Program
Document Number: 2020-11737
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's (APHIS') intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection that allows the public to report sightings of plant pests and diseases and APHIS to conduct Asian Longhorn Beetle Program activities.
BASF Corporation; Petition for a Determination of Nonregulated Status for Plant-Parasitic Nematode-Protected and Herbicide Resistant Soybean
Document Number: 2020-11492
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-05-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from BASF Corporation seeking a determination of nonregulated status of soybean event GMB151 genetically engineered for resistance to the plant- parasitic nematode, soybean cyst nematode (Heterodera glycines), and for resistance to 4-hydroxyphenylpyruvate dioxygenase (HPPD-4) inhibitor herbicides. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that APHIS may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Oral Rabies Vaccine Program; Notice of Availability of Decision and Finding of No Significant Impact for the Environmental Assessment
Document Number: 2020-11108
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-05-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a Decision and Finding of No Significant Impact for the final environmental assessment, relative to an oral rabies vaccination program in Maine, New Hampshire, New York, Ohio, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia. Based on our decision and finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Environmental Monitoring
Document Number: 2020-11076
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-05-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with environmental monitoring.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; Conditions for Payment of Avian Influenza Indemnity Claims
Document Number: 2020-11075
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-05-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection associated with the regulations for payment of avian influenza indemnity claims.
Movement of Certain Genetically Engineered Organisms
Document Number: 2020-10638
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-05-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations regarding the movement (importation, interstate movement, and environmental release) of certain genetically engineered organisms in response to advances in genetic engineering and our understanding of the plant pest risk posed by genetically engineered organisms, thereby reducing the regulatory burden for developers of organisms that are unlikely to pose plant pest risks. This final rule, which marks the first comprehensive revision of the regulations since they were established in 1987, provides a clear, predictable, and efficient regulatory pathway for innovators, facilitating the development of genetically engineered organisms that are unlikely to pose plant pest risks.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; Imported Seeds and Screenings
Document Number: 2020-10403
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-05-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of seeds and screenings from Canada into the United States.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan; Solicitation for Membership; Correction
Document Number: 2020-10402
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-05-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are correcting an error in a notice published in the Federal Register on April 27, 2020, which announced a forthcoming General Conference Committee membership solicitation. We provided an incorrect statement regarding nominations. This document corrects that error.
Animal Welfare; Amendments to Licensing Provisions and to Requirements for Dogs
Document Number: 2020-07837
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-05-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the licensing requirements in the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) regulations to promote compliance, reduce licensing fees, and strengthen safeguards that prevent individuals and businesses with a history of noncompliance from obtaining a license or working with regulated animals. This action will reduce regulatory burden with respect to licensing and help ensure licensees' sustained compliance with the AWA, thus promoting animal welfare. We have also revised the veterinary care and watering standards for regulated dogs to better align the regulations with the humane care and treatment standards set by the Animal Welfare Act.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Phytophthora Ramorum; Quarantine and Regulations
Document Number: 2020-10030
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-05-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the interstate movement of regulated articles to prevent the spread of Phytophthora ramorum.
Bayer/Monsanto; Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Maize Genetically Engineered for Dicamba, Glufosinate, Quizalofop, and 2,4-Dichlorophenoxyacetic Acid Tolerance With Tissue-Specific Glyphosate Tolerance Facilitating the Production of Hybrid Maize Seed
Document Number: 2020-09834
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-05-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from Bayer/Monsanto seeking a determination of nonregulated status of maize genetically engineered for dicamba, glufosinate, quizalofop, and 2,4- dichlorophenoxyacetic acid tolerance with tissue-specific glyphosate tolerance facilitating the production of hybrid maize seed. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that APHIS may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Release of Aphelinus hordei for Biological Control of Russian Wheat Aphid
Document Number: 2020-09539
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-05-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to permitting the release of Aphelinus hordei for the biological control of Russian wheat aphids, a pest of cereal crops, in the Western United States. Based on the environmental assessment and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that the release of this control agent will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Final Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for the Release of Sericothrips staphylinus for Biological Control of Gorse
Document Number: 2020-09102
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-04-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to permitting the release of Sericothrips staphylinus for the biological control of gorse, a spiny shrub, within the contiguous United States. Based on our finding of no significant impact, we have determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan; Solicitation for Membership
Document Number: 2020-08882
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-04-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture is soliciting nominations for the election of a member at-large and regional members and their alternates for the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan and 45th Biennial Conference
Document Number: 2020-08881
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-04-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice of a meeting of the General Conference Committee (GCC or the Committee) of the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) and the NPIP's 45th Biennial Conference.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Live Fish, Fertilized Eggs, and Gametes From Tilapia Lake Virus-Susceptible Species
Document Number: 2020-08422
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-04-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the importation of live fish, fertilized eggs, and gametes from tilapia lake virus-susceptible species into the United States.
Addition of Indonesia to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2020-08081
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-04-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Indonesia to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in Indonesia.
Agrivida, Inc.; Availability of a Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status for Maize Genetically Engineered for the Production of Phytase Enzyme
Document Number: 2020-08065
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-04-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from Agrivida, Inc. (Agrivida) seeking a determination of nonregulated status for maize designated as Maize Event PY203, which has been genetically engineered for the production of phytase enzyme. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the Agrivida petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential issues and impacts that APHIS should be considering in our evaluation of the petition.
Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Sand Pears From Japan Into the United States
Document Number: 2020-08030
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-04-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize importation of sand pears from all production areas of Japan into the United States and to revise the conditions under which they may be imported. Based on the findings of a commodity import evaluation document, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh sand pears from all production areas of Japan.
Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Citrus From China Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2020-08059
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-04-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation of five species of commercially produced fresh citrus fruit (pummelo, Nanfeng honey mandarin, ponkan, sweet orange, and Satsuma mandarin) from China into the continental United States. Based on the findings of the pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public to review and comment through a previous notice, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of these five species of citrus fruit from China.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing of a Clostridium Perfringens Type A Vaccine, Live Salmonella Vector
Document Number: 2020-07914
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-04-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purpose of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Clostridium Perfringens Type A Vaccine, Live Salmonella Vector. The environmental assessment, which is based on a risk analysis prepared to assess the risks associated with the field testing of this vaccine, examines the potential effects that field testing this veterinary vaccine could have on the quality of the human environment. Based on the risk analysis, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment, and that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared. We intend to authorize shipment of this vaccine for field testing following the close of the comment period for this notice unless new substantial issues bearing on the effects of this action are brought to our attention. We also intend to issue a U.S. Veterinary Biological Product license for this vaccine, provided the field test data support the conclusions of the environmental assessment and the issuance of a finding of no significant impact and the product meets all other requirements for licensing.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Beef and Ovine Meat From Uruguay and Beef From Argentina and Brazil
Document Number: 2020-07146
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-04-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of beef and ovine meat from Uruguay and beef from Argentina and Brazil.
National List of Reportable Animal Diseases
Document Number: 2020-06697
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2020-04-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the animal disease regulations to provide for a National List of Reportable Animal Diseases, along with reporting responsibilities for animal health professionals that encounter or suspect cases of communicable animal diseases and disease agents. These proposed changes are necessary to streamline State and Federal cooperative animal disease detection, response, and control efforts. This action would consolidate and enhance current disease reporting mechanisms, and would complement and supplement existing animal disease tracking and reporting at the State level.
Notice of Proposed Revision to Import Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Citrus From South Africa Into the United States
Document Number: 2020-06799
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-04-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a commodity import evaluation document (CIED) relative to the importation into the United States of citrus (grapefruit, lemon, mandarin orange, sweet orange, tangelo, and Satsuma mandarin) fruit from South Africa. Based on the findings of the CIED, we are proposing to remove restrictions on the ports of entry into which citrus from South Africa may be imported into the United States. We are making the CIED available to the public for review and comment.
Import Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Blueberries From Chile Into the United States
Document Number: 2020-06696
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-03-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a commodity import evaluation document (CIED) relative to the importation into the United States of blueberries from Chile. Currently, blueberries from Chile imported into the United States from an area in which European grapevine moth is known to exist must be fumigated with methyl bromide. Based on the findings of the CIED, we are proposing to also allow the importation of such blueberries under the provisions of a systems approach. We are making the CIED available to the public for review and comment.
Implementation of Revised Lacey Act Provisions
Document Number: 2020-06695
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-03-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008 amended the Lacey Act to provide, among other things, that importers submit a declaration at the time of importation for certain plants and plant products. Enforcement of the declaration requirement began on April 1, 2009, and products requiring a declaration are being phased-in. The purpose of this notice is to inform the public of another phase of the Federal Government's enforcement schedule.
Import Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Fragrant Pears From China Into the United States
Document Number: 2020-06374
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-03-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to revise the import requirements for the importation of fresh fragrant pears from China into the United States and to authorize importation from an additional area of production. Based on the findings of the pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public to review and comment through a previous notice, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh fragrant pears fruit from this additional production area.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Live Swine, Pork, and Pork Products From Certain Regions
Document Number: 2020-05942
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-03-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of live swine, pork, and pork products from certain regions free of classical swine fever in Brazil, Chile, and Mexico.
Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002; Biennial Review and Republication of the Select Agent and Toxin List
Document Number: 2020-05499
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2020-03-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002, we are soliciting public comment regarding the list of select agents and toxins that have the potential to pose a severe threat to animal or plant health, or to animal or plant products. The Act requires the biennial review and republication of the list of select agents and toxins and the revision of the list as necessary. Accordingly, we are soliciting public comment on the current list of select agents and toxins in our regulations and suggestions regarding any addition or reduction of the animal or plant pathogens currently on the list of select agents.
Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Jujube From China Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2020-05015
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-03-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation of fresh jujube fruit from China into the continental United States. Based on the findings of the pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public to review and comment through a previous notice, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh jujube fruit from China.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Cooperative Agricultural Pest Survey
Document Number: 2020-05014
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-03-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the Cooperative Agricultural Pest Survey.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Swine Health Protection
Document Number: 2020-04283
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-03-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the swine health protection program.
Importation of Phalaenopsis Spp. Orchid Plants for Planting in Approved Growing Media From the Republic of Costa Rica Into the United States
Document Number: 2020-04282
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2020-03-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to authorize the importation of Phalaenopsis spp. orchid plants from the Republic of Costa Rica in approved growing media into the United States, including territories. As a condition of entry, Phalaenopsis spp. orchid plants in approved growing media from the Republic of Costa Rica would have to meet all relevant requirements included in the U.S. Department of Agriculture Plants for Planting Manual and detailed in a bilateral workplan. This proposed action would allow for the importation of Phalaenopsis spp. orchid plants for planting from the Republic of Costa Rica in approved growing media while providing protection against the introduction of plant pests.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment; Cogongrass Control Efforts in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, and South Carolina
Document Number: 2020-04239
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-03-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available a draft programmatic environmental assessment for control of cogongrass, a noxious weed, in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, and South Carolina. The environmental assessment assesses the potential environmental effects of establishing an integrated management strategy to control cogongrass in coordination with the above States. We are making the draft programmatic environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Lacey Act Implementation Plan: De Minimis Exception
Document Number: 2020-04165
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-03-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008 amended the Lacey Act to provide, among other things, that importers submit a declaration at the time of importation for certain plants and plant products. The declaration requirement of the Lacey Act became effective on December 15, 2008, and enforcement of that requirement is being phased in. We are amending the regulations to establish an exception to the declaration requirement for products containing a minimal amount of plant materials. This action would relieve the burden on importers while continuing to ensure that the declaration requirement fulfills the purposes of the Lacey Act.
Establishment of Regulations for the Evaluation and Recognition of the Animal Health Status of Compartments
Document Number: 2020-03719
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-02-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are establishing standards to allow us to recognize compartments for animal disease status, consistent with World Organization for Animal Health international standards. Under this action, when a foreign government submits a request for recognition of a compartment, we will conduct a compartmentalization evaluation based on a list of factors that parallel those we use when conducting regionalization evaluations, and will provide for public notice of and comment on the risk assessment. We are also adding provisions for imposing import restrictions or prohibitions when a compartment we have recognized as disease-free experiences an outbreak, and for lifting those sanctions once the outbreak has been controlled. These standards for compartmentalization will provide a means for preserving international trade when regionalization is not feasible.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing of a Vaccine for Use Against Bursal Disease and Marek's Disease
Document Number: 2020-03830
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-02-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purpose of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Bursal Disease-Marek's Disease Vaccine, Serotype 3, Live Marek's Disease Vector. Based on the environmental assessment, risk analysis, and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making these documents available to the public for review and comment.
National Veterinary Accreditation Program
Document Number: 2020-03718
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-02-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the National Veterinary Accreditation Program by clarifying the veterinary programs for which accredited veterinarians are authorized to perform duties under the Animal Health Protection Act. We are also adding and revising certain definitions and terms used in the regulations. These changes will update the program regulations.
Privacy Act of 1974; System of Records
Document Number: 2020-03007
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-02-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 and Office of Management and Budget Circular No. A-108, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) gives notice that a component agency, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) proposes to add a new system of records to its inventory of records. The system of records being proposed is the APHIS Plant Protection and Quarantine's Lacey Act Declaration Information Systems (LADIS), USDA/APHIS-24. The purpose of this system is enable businesses to file Lacey Act declarations. LADIS collects these records as part of an effort to combat illegal timber imports and to protect global natural resources. Under the Lacey Act, it is unlawful to import certain plants and plant products without an import declaration. The records in LADIS contain information regarding imported shipments, description of shipments, and the name and address of the importer and consignee.