Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 1 - 50 of 2,291
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fruits and Vegetables
Document Number: 2018-15230
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-07-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of fruits and vegetables into the United States.
Lacey Act Implementation Plan: De Minimis Exception
Document Number: 2018-14630
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2018-07-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008 amended the Lacey Act to provide, among other things, that importers submit a declaration at the time of importation for certain plants and plant products. The declaration requirement of the Lacey Act became effective on December 15, 2008, and enforcement of that requirement is being phased in. We are proposing to establish an exception to the declaration requirement for products containing a minimal amount of plant materials. This action would relieve the burden on importers while continuing to ensure that the declaration requirement fulfills the purposes of the Lacey Act. We are also proposing that all Lacey Act declarations be submitted within 3 business days of importation.
Lacey Act Implementation Plan: Composite Plant Materials
Document Number: 2018-14625
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2018-07-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Food, Conservation and Energy Act of 2008 amended the Lacey Act to provide, among other things, that importers submit a declaration at the time of importation for certain plants and plant products. The declaration requirements of the Lacey Act became effective on December 15, 2008, and enforcement of those requirements is being phased in. We are soliciting public comment on regulatory options that could address certain issues that have arisen with the implementation of the declaration requirement for composite plant materials.
Oral Rabies Vaccine Trial; Availability of a Supplemental Environmental Assessment
Document Number: 2018-14307
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-07-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a supplemental environmental assessment (EA) relative to an oral rabies vaccination field trial in New Hampshire, New York, Ohio, Vermont, and West Virginia. The supplemental EA analyzes expanding the field trial for an experimental oral rabies vaccine for wildlife to additional areas in Ohio and West Virginia. The proposed field trial is necessary to evaluate whether the wildlife rabies vaccine will produce sufficient levels of population immunity against raccoon rabies. We are making the supplemental EA available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Intent To Prepare an Environmental Impact Statement; Movement and Outdoor Use of Certain Genetically Engineered Organisms
Document Number: 2018-14019
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-06-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) plans to prepare a programmatic environmental impact statement (EIS) in connection with potential changes to the regulations regarding the importation, interstate movement, and environmental release of certain genetically engineered organisms. This notice identifies potential issues to be evaluated in the EIS and requests public comments to define the scope of the alternatives and environmental impacts and issues for APHIS to consider.
Nuseed Americas Inc.; Availability of a Draft Plant Pest Risk Assessment and Draft Environmental Assessment for Canola Genetically Engineered for Altered Oil Profile
Document Number: 2018-13589
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-06-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available for public comment a draft plant pest risk assessment (PPRA) and draft environmental assessment (EA) for canola designated as event B0050-027, which has been genetically engineered to accumulate the long chain omega-3 fatty acid known as docosahexaenoic acid in seed. We are making the draft PPRA and draft EA available for public review and comment.
Phytophthora ramorum; Regulated Areas, Regulated Establishments, and Testing Protocols
Document Number: 2018-13560
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2018-06-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the Phytophthora ramorum regulations to remove regulated areas for P. ramorum from the regulations, as well as all regulatory requirements specific to such areas. We are proposing to amend the regulations by revising the inspection and sampling requirements for certain nurseries that are in areas quarantined for P. ramorum and that ship regulated nursery stock interstate. We are proposing to change the nature of the inspection and sampling requirements to have them take into consideration additional potential sources of P. ramorum inoculum at the nurseries. Finally, we are proposing to establish conditions under which we would regulate nurseries located outside of the quarantined areas for P. ramorum, if sources of P. ramorum inoculum are detected at those nurseries and the nurseries ship certain articles interstate. These changes would provide regulatory relief to nurseries in areas that are regulated for P. ramorum, while also ensuring that nurseries that may pose a risk of disseminating P. ramorum through the interstate movement of regulated nursery stock are subject to measures that address this risk.
National Poultry Improvement Plan and Auxiliary Provisions
Document Number: 2018-13128
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-06-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) by updating and clarifying several provisions, including those concerning NPIP participation, voting requirements, testing procedures, and standards. The changes in this final rule were voted on and approved by the voting delegates at the Plan's 2016 National Plan Conference.
Importation of Fresh Avocado Fruit From Continental Ecuador Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2018-12827
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2018-06-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation into the continental United States of fresh avocado fruit from continental Ecuador. As a condition of entry, fresh avocado fruit from continental Ecuador would have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that would include production site registration, field sanitation, packinghouse procedures designed to exclude the quarantine pests, and procedures for packing, storing, and shipping the avocado fruit. The fruit would also have to be imported in commercial consignments, with each consignment identified throughout its movement from place of production to port of entry in the continental United States. The systems approach for all fresh avocado fruit from continental Ecuador, except Hass avocados, would also have to include production site pest control measures. Consignments would have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the national plant protection organization of Ecuador certifying that the fruit was produced in accordance with the systems approach. This proposed rule would allow for the importation of fresh avocados from continental Ecuador into the continental United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Goat 2019 Study
Document Number: 2018-12589
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-06-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection to conduct the National Animal Health Monitoring System's Goat 2019 Study.
Bayer CropScience LP; Availability of a Preliminary Plant Pest Risk Assessment, Draft Environmental Assessment, Preliminary Finding of No Significant Impact, and Preliminary Determination of Nonregulated Status for Cotton Genetically Engineered For Resistance to HPPD-Inhibitor Herbicides (e.g., Isoxaflutole) and Glyphosate
Document Number: 2018-12187
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-06-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a preliminary determination regarding a request from Bayer CropScience LP seeking a determination of nonregulated status for cotton designated as event GHB811, which has been genetically engineered for dual resistance to HPPD-inhibitor herbicides (e.g., isoxaflutole) and the herbicide glyphosate. We are also making available for public review and comment our preliminary plant pest risk assessment, draft environmental assessment, and preliminary finding of no significant impact for the preliminary determination of nonregulated status.
Notice of a Determination Regarding the Classical Swine Fever and Swine Vesicular Disease Status of Japan
Document Number: 2018-12186
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-06-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that Japan is free of classical swine fever (CSF) and swine vesicular disease (SVD). Based on an evaluation of the CSF and SVD status of Japan, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, the Administrator has determined that CSF and SVD are not present in Japan and that live swine, pork, and pork products may safely be imported into the United States from Japan subject to conditions in the regulations.
Thresholds for De Minimis Activity and Exemptions From Licensing Under the Animal Welfare Act
Document Number: 2018-11892
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) regulations to implement amendments to the Act that broadened the scope of the exemptions from the licensing requirements for dealers and exhibitors. Specifically, we are broadening the licensing exemption for any person who maintains four or fewer breeding female dogs, cats, and/or small exotic or wild mammals and only sells the offspring of these animals for pets or exhibition to include additional types of pet animals and domesticated farm-type animals. In addition, we are adding a new licensing exemption for any person who maintains eight or fewer pet animals, small exotic or wild animals, and/or domesticated farm-type animals for exhibition. These actions will allow the Agency to focus its limited resources on situations that pose a higher risk to animal welfare and public safety. Finally, we are making conforming changes to the definitions of dealer and exhibitor to reflect the amendments to the Act and making several miscellaneous changes to the regulations for consistency and to remove redundant and obsolete requirements.
Importation of Tree Tomatoes From Ecuador Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2018-11890
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruit and vegetable regulations to allow the importation of tree tomatoes from Ecuador into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, the tree tomatoes must be produced in accordance with a systems approach that includes requirements for importation in commercial consignments, registration and monitoring of places of production, field monitoring and pest control practices, trapping, and inspection for quarantine pests by the national plant protection organization of Ecuador. This action will allow the importation of tree tomatoes from Ecuador while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Pale Cyst Nematode
Document Number: 2018-11532
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-05-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the interstate movement of regulated articles to prevent the spread of the pale cyst nematode to noninfested areas of the United States.
National Environmental Policy Act Implementing Procedures
Document Number: 2018-11083
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-05-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations that set out our National Environmental Policy Act implementing procedures. The amendments include clarifying the categories of actions for which we would normally complete an environmental impact statement or an environmental assessment for an action, as well as updating examples of categorically excluded actions and setting out an environmental documentation process that could be used in emergencies. The changes will serve to update the regulations and improve their clarity and effectiveness.
VSTA Records and Reports Specific to International Standards for Pharmacovigilance
Document Number: 2018-10540
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-05-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Virus-Serum-Toxin Act regulations concerning records and reports. This change requires veterinary biologics licensees and permittees to record and submit reports concerning adverse events associated with the use of biological products they produce or distribute. The information that must be included in the adverse event reports submitted to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) will be provided in separate guidance documents. These records and reports will help ensure that APHIS can provide complete and accurate information to consumers regarding adverse reactions or other problems associated with the use of licensed biological products.
Draft Environmental Impact Statement and Preliminary Pest Risk Assessment for Permit for Release of Genetically Engineered Citrus tristeza virus
Document Number: 2018-10490
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-05-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a draft environmental impact statement (EIS) and preliminary pest risk assessment (PRA) that evaluate the potential environmental impacts and plant pest risk associated with the proposed environmental release of genetically engineered Citrus tristeza virus. We are making the draft EIS and preliminary PRA available for public review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Mangoes from Australia
Document Number: 2018-10098
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-05-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of mangoes from Australia.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Endangered Species Regulations and Forfeiture Procedures
Document Number: 2018-10097
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-05-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the protection of endangered species of terrestrial plants and for procedures related to the forfeiture of plants or other property.
Notice of Availability of Proposed Changes to the Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Certification Program Standards
Document Number: 2018-08787
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-04-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our notice of availability of a revised version of the Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Certification Program Standards. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Concurrence With OIE Risk Designations for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
Document Number: 2018-08430
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-04-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our preliminary concurrence with the World Organization for Animal Health's (OIE) bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk designations for four regions. The OIE recognizes these regions as being of negligible risk for BSE. We are taking this action based on our review of information supporting the OIE's risk designations for these regions.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Longan From Taiwan
Document Number: 2018-08304
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-04-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of longan from Taiwan.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Clementines from Spain
Document Number: 2018-08303
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-04-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of clementines from Spain.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fresh Pitaya Fruit From Central America into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2018-08301
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-04-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of fresh pitaya fruit from Central America into the continental United States.
Importation of Fresh Cape Gooseberry Fruit From Ecuador to the Continental United States
Document Number: 2018-08251
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2018-04-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of fresh cape gooseberry fruit from Ecuador into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, fresh cape gooseberry fruit from Ecuador would be subject to a systems approach that would include requirements for establishment of pest-free places of production and the labeling of boxes prior to shipping. Fresh cape gooseberry fruit from non pest-free places of production would have to undergo approved cold treatment or irradiation. The fresh cape gooseberry fruit would also have to be imported in commercial consignments and accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the national plant protection organization of Ecuador certifying that the fruit has been produced in accordance with the systems approach. Fresh cape gooseberry fruit that does not meet the conditions of the systems approach would be allowed to be imported into the continental United States subject to treatment. This action would allow for the importation of fresh cape gooseberry fruit from Ecuador into the continental United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of plant pests.
Importation of Peppers From the Republic of Korea; Mesh Screening Size
Document Number: 2018-08250
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2018-04-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations that allow the importation of peppers from the Republic of Korea to increase the mesh size of the screening over vent openings from 0.6 mm to 1.6 mm, and to require the use of colored sticky traps as an additional measure for pest monitoring. We have determined that, when used alongside other mitigations in the regulations, there is no additional pest risk related to the change in mesh size. This action would modify the conditions under which peppers from the Republic of Korea may be imported into the continental United States while continuing to protect against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Branding Requirements for Bovines Imported Into the United States From Mexico
Document Number: 2018-07585
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2018-04-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations regarding the branding of bovines imported into the United States from Mexico. We are taking this action at the request of the Government of Mexico to address issues that have arisen with the branding requirement for these bovines. The changes we are proposing would help prevent inconsistencies in branding that can result in bovines being rejected for import into the United States.
Rinderpest; Update of Communicable Animal Disease Provisions
Document Number: 2018-07232
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-04-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations concerning communicable diseases of livestock and poultry, interstate transportation and importation of animals (including poultry) and animal products, and permits for biological products to remove references to the animal disease rinderpest. This action reflects recognition by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service that rinderpest has been eradicated worldwide, and removes restrictions that are no longer necessary due to eradication of the disease. This action better aligns our regulations with World Organization for Animal Health guidelines for international trade as they pertain to rinderpest.
National Poultry Improvement Plan and Auxiliary Provisions
Document Number: 2018-07076
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2018-04-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations governing the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) by updating and clarifying several provisions, including those concerning NPIP participation, voting requirements, testing procedures, and standards. These proposed changes were voted on and approved by the voting delegates at the NPIP's 2016 National Plan Conference.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan and 44th Biennial Conference
Document Number: 2018-07075
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-04-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice of a meeting of the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) and the NPIP's 44th Biennial Conference.
Importation of Lemons From Chile Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2018-07073
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-04-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to list lemon (Citrus limon (L.) Burm. f.) from Chile as eligible for importation into the continental United States subject to a systems approach. Under this systems approach, the fruit will have to be grown in a place of production that is registered with the Government of Chile and certified as having a low prevalence of Brevipalpus chilensis. The fruit will have to undergo pre-harvest sampling at the registered production site under the direction of Chile's national plant protection organization. Following post-harvest processing, the fruit will have to be inspected in Chile at an APHIS-approved inspection site. Each consignment of fruit will have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that the fruit had been found free of B. chilensis based on field and packinghouse inspections. This final rule will allow for the safe importation of lemons from Chile using mitigation measures other than fumigation with methyl bromide.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Infectious Salmon Anemia; Payment of Indemnity
Document Number: 2018-06514
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-03-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the payment of indemnity due to infectious salmon anemia.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Gypsy Moth Host Materials From Canada
Document Number: 2018-06511
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-03-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations to prevent the introduction of gypsy moth from Canada into noninfested areas of the United States.
BASF Plant Science, LP; Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Canola Genetically Engineered for Altered Oil Profile and Resistance to an Imidazolinone Herbicide
Document Number: 2018-06399
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-03-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition from BASF Plant Science, LP, seeking a determination of nonregulated status of canola designated as event LBFLFK, which has been genetically engineered (GE) to allow for the synthesis of long chain omega-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids, including eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), from oleic acid in canola seed. The GE canola has also been genetically engineered for resistance to an imidazolinone herbicide. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. We are making the BASF Plant Science, LP petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Notice of Availability of Proposed Changes to the Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Certification Program Standards
Document Number: 2018-06341
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-03-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are making available for review and comment a revised version of the Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) Herd Certification Program Standards. The CWD Program Standards provide guidance on how to meet CWD Herd Certification Program and interstate movement requirements. We are taking this action to address concerns of State and industry participants about the existing standards.
Importation of Fresh Cherimoya Fruit From Chile Into the United States
Document Number: 2018-06289
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-03-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations to allow the importation of fresh cherimoya fruit from Chile into the continental United States in accordance with a systems approach as an alternative to the current required treatment. Commercial consignments of fresh cherimoya fruit are currently authorized entry into all ports of the United States from Chile subject to a mandatory soapy water and wax treatment. The systems approach includes requirements for production site registration, low pest prevalence area certification, post-harvest processing, and inspection at the packinghouse. The fruit will also be required to be imported in commercial consignments and accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that the consignment was produced in accordance with the regulations. Fresh cherimoya fruit that does not meet the conditions of the systems approach or is imported into locations outside the continental United States will continue to be allowed to be imported into the United States subject to the current soapy water and wax treatment. This will allow for the importation of fresh cherimoya fruit from Chile while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of plant pests into the continental United States.
Importation of Pummelo From Thailand Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2018-06288
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2018-03-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations to allow the importation of fresh pummelo fruit from Thailand into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, fresh pummelo fruit from Thailand would be subject to a systems approach that would include irradiation treatment, packinghouse processing requirements, and port of entry inspection. The fruit would also be required to be imported in commercial consignments and be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the national plant protection organization of Thailand. This action would allow for the importation of fresh pummelo fruit from Thailand while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of plant pests into the continental United States.
Notice of a Determination Regarding the Fever Tick Status of the State of Chihuahua, Excluding the Municipalities of Guadalupe y Calvo and Morelos
Document Number: 2018-06131
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-03-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that the State of Chihuahua, excluding the municipalities of Guadalupe y Calvo and Morelos, is free from fever ticks. Based on an evaluation of the fever tick status of this region, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, the Administrator has determined that this region is free from fever ticks and that ruminants imported from the region present a low risk of exposing ruminants in the United States to fever ticks.
Restructuring of Regulations on the Importation of Plants for Planting
Document Number: 2018-05424
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-03-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are restructuring the regulations governing the importation of plants for planting. In the new structure, restrictions on the importation of specific types of plants for planting will no longer be found in the regulations, but instead will be found in the Plants for Planting Manual. We will make changes to the restrictions in the manual after taking public comment through notices published in the Federal Register. As part of this restructuring, we are grouping together restrictions in the plants for planting regulations that apply to the importation of most or all plants for planting, and we are adding general requirements for the development of integrated pest risk management measures that we may use to mitigate the risk associated with the importation of a specific type of plants for planting. We are also amending our foreign quarantine regulations to remove various provisions regarding the importation of specific types of plants for planting that are not currently subject to the general plants for planting regulations; these provisions will also be found in the Plants for Planting Manual. This action does not make any major changes to the restrictions that currently apply to the importation of plants for planting. These changes will make restrictions on the importation of specific types of plants for planting easier for readers to find and less cumbersome for us to change.
Low Pathogenicity Avian Influenza Program; Public Meeting
Document Number: 2018-05270
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-03-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying stakeholders and interested persons that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is hosting a public meeting to provide information on the Agency's current thinking regarding low pathogenicity avian influenza (LPAI) indemnity, compensation, and controlled marketing. The meeting will include an overview of the concepts we are developing with respect to LPAI indemnity, compensation, and controlled marketing and provide an opportunity for attendees to discuss issues of interest.
Importation of Campanula spp. Plants for Planting in Approved Growing Media From Denmark Into the United States
Document Number: 2018-05267
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-03-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of plants for planting by authorizing the importation of Campanula spp. plants for planting from Denmark in approved growing media into the United States, subject to a systems approach. The systems approach will include measures that are currently specified in the regulations as generally applicable to all plants for planting authorized importation into the United States in approved growing media. This action will allow for the importation of Campanula spp. plants for planting from Denmark in approved growing media, while providing protection against the introduction of plant pests.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Control of Chronic Wasting Disease
Document Number: 2018-05263
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-03-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the control of chronic wasting disease in farmed or captive cervid herds.
Viruses, Serums, Toxins, and Analogous Products; Expiration Date Required for Serial and Subserials and Determination of Expiration Date of Product
Document Number: 2018-05143
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-03-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations to clarify that the expiration date of a serial or subserial of a veterinary biologic should be computed from the date of the initiation of the first potency test. We are also requiring the expiration dating period (stability) of a product to be confirmed by conducting a real-time stability study with a stability-indicating assay, stability monitoring of products after licensing, and specifying a single standard for determining the expiration date for veterinary biologics
Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for the Biological Control of Yellow Toadflax
Document Number: 2018-04576
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-03-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact have been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service relative to the release of a stem gall weevil, Rhinusa pilosa, for the biological control of yellow toadflax (Linaria vulgaris). Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Availability of a Final Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for Release of Aceria drabae for Biological Control of Hoary Cress
Document Number: 2018-03552
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-02-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact have been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service relative to the release of the gall mite, Aceria drabae, for classical biological control of hoary cress in the contiguous United States. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Notice of Availability of an Evaluation of the Classical Swine Fever and Swine Vesicular Disease Status of Japan
Document Number: 2018-03369
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-02-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to recognize Japan as being free of classical swine fever and swine vesicular disease. This proposed recognition is based on a risk evaluation we have prepared in connection with this action, which we are making available for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of an Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Eggplant From Israel
Document Number: 2018-03084
Type: Notice
Date: 2018-02-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of eggplant from Israel into the continental United States.
Standardizing Phytosanitary Treatment Regulations: Approval of Cold Treatment and Irradiation Facilities; Cold Treatment Schedules; Establishment of Fumigation and Cold Treatment Compliance Agreements
Document Number: 2018-02694
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-02-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the phytosanitary treatment regulations to establish generic criteria that would allow for the approval of new cold treatment facilities in the Southern and Western States of the United States. These criteria, if met, will allow us to approve new cold treatment facilities without rulemaking and facilitate the importation of fruit requiring cold treatment while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of pests of concern into the United States. We are also amending the fruit cutting and inspection requirements in the cold treatment regulations in order to expand cutting and inspection to commodities that have been treated for a wider variety of pests of concern. This action will provide for a greater degree of phytosanitary protection. We are also adding requirements concerning the establishment of compliance agreements for U.S. entities that operate fumigation facilities. Finally, we are harmonizing language concerning State compliance with facility establishment and parameters for the movement of consignments from the port of entry or points of origin in the United States to the treatment facility in the irradiation treatment regulations with language in the cold treatment regulations. These actions will serve to codify and make enforceable existing procedures concerning compliance agreements for these facilities.
Supplemental Requirements for Importation of Fresh Citrus From Colombia Into the United States
Document Number: 2018-02382
Type: Rule
Date: 2018-02-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public of our decision to supplement our requirements governing the importation of fresh sweet orange, grapefruit, mandarin, clementine, and tangerine fruit from Colombia into the United States and are requesting public comment on these changes. We have determined that, in order to mitigate the current pest risks posed by the importation of these commodities from Colombia into the United States, it is necessary to supplement the phytosanitary requirements now in place with additional requirements. This action will help to protect the United States against plant pests while allowing the resumption of imports of fresh sweet orange, grapefruit, mandarin, clementine, and tangerine fruit from Colombia, which were suspended in 2016 due to the discovery of new plant pests in South America.