Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 1 - 50 of 2,790
Notice of Availability of Final Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for Release of Psyllaephagus euphyllurae for Biological Control of Olive Psyllid in the Contiguous United States
Document Number: 2024-03378
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-02-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a final environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to permitting the release of the insect Psyllaephagus euphyllurae for biological control of olive psyllid (Euphyllura olivina) in the contiguous United States. Based on our finding of no significant impact, we have determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002; Biennial Review and Republication of the Select Agent and Toxin List
Document Number: 2024-01501
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2024-01-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002, we are proposing to amend and republish the list of select agents and toxins that have the potential to pose a severe threat to animal or plant health, or to animal or plant products. This Act requires the biennial review and republication of the list of select agents and toxins and the revision of the list as necessary. This action would implement findings from the biennial review for the list. The biennial review was initiated within 2 years of the completion of the previous biennial review. In addition, we are proposing to add definitions for several terms; codify policies regarding the role of responsible officials and alternate responsible officials, conclusion of patient care, and annual internal inspections; and revise or clarify provisions related to validated inactivation procedures and viable select agent removal methods, recordkeeping, non-possession of select agents and toxins, electronic Federal Select Agent Programs, registration, Tier 1 enhancements, and exclusion of naturally infected animals. We are also proposing to add requirements for reporting discoveries of select agents and toxins, provisions regarding effluent decontamination system, biosafety provisions for facility verification requirements for registered biosafety level 3 and animal biosafety level 3 laboratories, a new requirement related to restricted experiments, and to correct editorial errors. These proposed changes would economically benefit producers, research and reference laboratories, and State and Federal oversight agencies, while also maintaining adequate program oversight of select agents and toxins.
Notice of Availability of Pest Risk Analyses for the Importation of Fresh Thyme, Marjoram, and Oregano From Kenya Into the United States
Document Number: 2024-00744
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-01-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared pest risk analyses that evaluate the risks associated with the importation of fresh thyme, marjoram, and oregano from Kenya into the United States. Based on the analyses, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh thyme, marjoram, and oregano from Kenya into the United States. We are making the pest risk analyses available to the public for review and comment.
Importation of Fresh Rhizomes of Turmeric (Curcuma longa L.) for Consumption From Mexico Into the United States
Document Number: 2024-00267
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-01-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh rhizomes of turmeric (Curcuma longa L.) for consumption from Mexico into the United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh rhizomes of turmeric from Mexico. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Reclassification of Nuevo León, Mexico to Level V for Bovine Tuberculosis
Document Number: 2024-00265
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-01-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have reclassified the region of Nuevo Le[oacute]n, Mexico as Level V for bovine tuberculosis. Previously, the Nuevo Le[oacute]n region was classified as Level IV for bovine tuberculosis. We took this action based on an onsite review of the bovine tuberculosis control and eradication program in Nuevo Le[oacute]n.
Movement of Organisms Modified or Produced Through Genetic Engineering; Notice of Proposed Exemptions; Reopening of Comment Period
Document Number: 2023-28545
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-12-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our notice that proposes to add five new types of genetic modifications a plant can contain and be exempt from the regulations for the movement of organisms modified or produced through genetic engineering because such modifications could otherwise be achieved through conventional breeding methods. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Citrus Canker; Designating Alabama a Commercial Citrus-Producing Area
Document Number: 2023-27034
Type: Rule
Date: 2023-12-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are revising the regulations to designate the State of Alabama as a commercial citrus-producing area in the current citrus canker regulations, and to update the scientific name for citrus canker used in the regulations. The State of Alabama has stated that it has commercial citrus production in the State, and the scientific name used in the regulations for citrus canker is obsolete and no longer used. These actions will update the regulations in order to provide Alabama protections that are afforded under the regulations to commercial citrus-producing States and be current as to the scientific name for citrus canker.
Addition of Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo to the List of Regions Affected by African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2023-26865
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-12-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) list maintained on the APHIS website of regions considered to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of the confirmation of ASF in those countries.
Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.; Determination of Nonregulated Status for Insect Resistant and Herbicide-Tolerant Maize
Document Number: 2023-26458
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-12-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that DP23211 maize (corn), which has been developed using genetic engineering for insect resistance to western corn rootworm and contains the gene that codes for the phosphinothricin acetyltransferase protein responsible for tolerance to glufosinate-ammonium herbicides, and also the gene that encodes for the phosphomannose isomerase protein as a selectable marker, is no longer considered regulated. Our determination is based on our evaluation of information Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc. submitted in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analyses, and public comments received in response to previous notices announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and our associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Addition of Bolivia to the List of Regions Affected With Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza
Document Number: 2023-26228
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-11-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we added Bolivia to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). This action follows our imposition of HPAI-related restrictions on the importation of avian commodities originating from or transiting Bolivia as a result of the confirmation of HPAI in that country.
Addition of Singapore to the List of Regions Affected by African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2023-26234
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-11-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Singapore to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) list maintained on the APHIS website of regions considered to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of the confirmation of ASF in Singapore.
Movement of Organisms Modified or Produced Through Genetic Engineering; Notice of Proposed Exemptions
Document Number: 2023-25122
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-11-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to add five new types of genetic modifications a plant can contain and be exempt from the regulations for the movement of organisms modified or produced through genetic engineering because such modifications could otherwise be achieved through conventional breeding methods. First, we propose any diploid or autopolyploid plant with any combination of loss of function modifications (i.e., a modification that eliminates a gene's function) in one to all alleles of a single genetic locus, or any allopolyploid plant with any combination of loss of function modifications in one or both alleles of a single genetic locus on up to four pairs of homoeologous chromosomes, without the insertion of exogenous DNA, would qualify for exemption. Second, we propose that any diploid or autopolyploid plant in which the genetic modification is a single contiguous deletion of any size, resulting from cellular repair of one or two targeted DNA breaks on a single chromosome or at the same location(s) on two or more homologous chromosomes, without insertion of DNA, or with insertion of DNA in the absence of a repair template, would qualify for exemption. Third, we propose to extend the modifications described in certain existing exemptions in the regulations to all alleles of a genetic locus on the homologous chromosomes of an autopolyploid plant. Fourth, we propose that plants with up to four modifications that individually qualify for exemption and are made simultaneously or sequentially would be exempt from regulation, provided that each modification is at a different genetic locus. Fifth, we propose that plants that have previously completed a voluntary review confirming exempt status and that have subsequently been produced, grown, and observed consistent with conventional breeding methods appropriate for the plant species, could be successively modified in accordance with the exemptions. This action would reduce the regulatory burden for developers of certain plants modified using genetic engineering that are not expected to pose plant pest risks greater than the plant pest risks posed by plants modified by conventional breeding methods.
Importation of Fresh Beef From Paraguay
Document Number: 2023-24782
Type: Rule
Date: 2023-11-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of certain animals, meat, and other animal products by allowing, under certain conditions, the importation of fresh (chilled or frozen) beef from Paraguay. Based on the evidence from a risk analysis, we have determined that fresh beef can safely be imported from Paraguay, provided certain conditions are met. This final rule will provide for the importation of fresh beef from Paraguay into the United States, while continuing to protect the United States against the introduction of foot-and-mouth disease.
Spotted Lanternfly Cooperative Control Program; Availability of a Programmatic Environmental Assessment
Document Number: 2023-24752
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-11-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a programmatic environmental assessment relative to the Spotted Lanternfly Cooperative Control Program in the conterminous United States. The environmental assessment documents our review and analysis of environmental impacts associated with the Spotted Lanternfly Cooperative Control Program. We are making the programmatic environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Addition of Belarus to the List of Regions Affected With Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza
Document Number: 2023-24347
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-11-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we added Belarus to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected by highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). This action follows our imposition of HPAI-related restrictions on avian commodities originating from or transiting Belarus, as a result of reports of HPAI in that country.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Live Swine, Pork and Pork Products, and Swine Semen From the European Union; Correction
Document Number: 2023-24064
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-11-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) is correcting a notice that was published in the Federal Register on June 29, 2023. The notice announced APHIS' intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the importation of live swine, pork and pork products, and swine semen into the United States from the European Union and requested comments pursuant to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995. This document corrects the estimates provided for the associated activities and reopens the comment period.
Horse Protection; Licensing of Designated Qualified Persons and Other Amendments; Withdrawal
Document Number: 2023-23938
Type: Rule
Date: 2023-10-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) is withdrawing a final rule that was filed for public inspection by the Office of the Federal Register on January 19, 2017, in advance of publication, amending the Agency's Horse Protection Act regulations (the 2017 HPA final rule). On January 23, 2017, APHIS withdrew the 2017 HPA final rule from publication without undertaking notice and comment procedures, in accordance with a memorandum that was issued by the Executive Office of the President on January 20, 2017. However, following a lawsuit, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit found this withdrawal to be deficient. The District Court subsequently ordered that USDA could remedy this deficiency by undertaking notice and comment procedures on the proposed withdrawal. APHIS therefore issued a notice of proposed rulemaking to withdraw the 2017 HPA final rule, and we are finalizing that withdrawal based on the comments received.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Comprehensive Aquaculture Health Program; Use of MI-CO Application
Document Number: 2023-23484
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection associated with the use of a mobile application to collect certain information needed to manage a comprehensive aquaculture health program.
Addition of the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal to the List of Regions Affected by African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2023-23483
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) list maintained on the APHIS website of regions considered to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of the confirmation of ASF in the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Animals and Poultry, Animal and Poultry Products, Certain Animal Embryos, Semen, and Zoological Animals
Document Number: 2023-23450
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the importation of animals and poultry, animal and poultry products, certain animal embryos, semen, and zoological animals.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Commercial Transportation of Equines to Slaughter
Document Number: 2023-21303
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-09-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the commercial transportation of equines to slaughtering facilities.
Importation of Live Dogs for Resale From Regions Where African Swine Fever Exists or Is Reasonably Believed to Exist
Document Number: 2023-20952
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2023-09-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations to establish requirements regarding the importation of live dogs for resale, whether through retail or wholesale channels or fee-based adoption, from regions where African swine fever (ASF) exists or is reasonably believed to exist. These regulations are necessary because dogs imported from ASF-affected countries for resale purposes, along with bedding, represent a potential risk for the introduction of ASF into the United States. This action would address that risk.
Notice of Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Baby Kiwi Fruit From France Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2023-20873
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-09-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation of fresh baby kiwi fruit from France into the continental United States. Based on findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh baby kiwi fruit from France.
Import Regulations for Horses
Document Number: 2023-19864
Type: Rule
Date: 2023-09-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations for the importation of equines. These changes include increasing the number of days horses exported from regions free from contagious equine metritis (CEM) are allowed to spend in a CEM-affected region and enter the United States without testing from 60 days to 90 days; requiring an import permit for horses transiting through CEM-affected regions; adding requirements for health certifications to ensure health certifications properly attest to the health of the imported horse; requiring that horses transiting Central America or the West Indies comply with the same regulations that apply to horses directly imported from these regions; and adding requirements for shipping containers used in transporting horses. We are also adding a number of miscellaneous changes to the regulations such as clarifications of existing policy or intent, and corrections of inconsistencies or outdated information. Many of these changes will better align our regulations with international standards and allow us and the equine industry more flexibility. The changes will also add further safeguards that protect against introducing or disseminating pests or diseases of livestock into the United States.
National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee; Meeting
Document Number: 2023-19370
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-09-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee will be holding a public meeting.
Notice of Availability of Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Ugu Leaves (Telfairia occidentalis Hook.f.) From Nigeria Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2023-18521
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-08-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh Ugu leaves (Telfairia occidentalis Hook.f) from Nigeria into the continental United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh Ugu leaves from Nigeria. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
National List of Reportable Animal Diseases; Revising Proposed Rule, and Reopening of Comment Period
Document Number: 2023-18379
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2023-08-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that would amend disease regulations to provide a National List of Reportable Animal Diseases (NLRAD). Our proposed rule would have required animal health professionals suspecting or diagnosing incidences of animal diseases or disease agents classified as ``notifiable'' in the NLRAD to immediately report to both State and Federal officials. During the comment period for the proposed rule, however, several commenters raised concerns regarding the confidentiality of information reported under NLRAD, and that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service does not have the ability to provide Federal assurances of such confidentiality for information reported to States. In light of the validity of this concern, we are proposing a possible modification to our proposed rule to no longer require reporting to State officials; other existing Federal, State, and local disease reporting requirements would be unaffected, however. We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule to provide interested persons with an opportunity to prepare and submit comments regarding this possible modification to the proposed rule.
Notice of Availability of a Draft Supplemental Environmental Assessment and Draft Finding of No Significant Impact for Emergency Response for Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza Outbreaks in the United States Migratory Bird Flyways
Document Number: 2023-18185
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-08-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that a draft supplemental environmental assessment (EA) and draft finding of no significant impact (FONSI) have been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service relative to our emergency response activities to highly pathogenic avian influenza outbreaks in commercial and backyard poultry operations located in the four migratory bird flyways in the United States. This draft EA supplements the initial EA and FONSI we published in September 2022, which evaluated the environmental impacts associated with the first seven States where highly pathogenic avian influenza outbreaks occurred. We are making this draft supplemental EA and draft FONSI simultaneously available to the public for review and comment.
Addition of the Republic of Ecuador and the Republic of Peru to the List of Regions Affected With Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza
Document Number: 2023-18073
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-08-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we added the Republic of Ecuador and the Republic of Peru to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected by highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). These actions follow our imposition of HPAI-related restrictions on avian commodities originating from or transiting the Republic of Ecuador and the Republic of Peru, as a result of the confirmation of HPAI in these countries.
Swine Vesicular Disease Status of the Regions of Tuscany and Umbria, Italy
Document Number: 2023-18112
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-08-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to recognize the regions of Tuscany and Umbria, Italy as being free of swine vesicular disease. This proposed recognition is based on a risk evaluation we have prepared in connection with this action, which we are making available for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Table Beet Root (Beta vulgaris L.) for Consumption From the United Kingdom Into the Continental United States, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands
Document Number: 2023-18111
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-08-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh table beet root (Beta vulgaris L.) for consumption from the United Kingdom into the continental United States, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh table beet root from the United Kingdom. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Horse Protection
Document Number: 2023-17814
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2023-08-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We propose to amend the horse protection regulations to provide that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) will screen, train, and authorize qualified persons to conduct inspections at horse shows, horse exhibitions, horse sales, and horse auctions to ensure compliance with the Horse Protection Act (the Act). The proposed actions are intended to strengthen regulatory requirements to protect horses from the practice of soring and eliminate unfair competition as the Act requires.
User Fees for Agricultural Quarantine and Inspection Services
Document Number: 2023-17045
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2023-08-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to update and amend the user fee regulations associated with the agricultural quarantine and inspection (AQI) program. Specifically, we propose to adjust the fees for certain AQI services that are provided in connection with certain commercial vessels, commercial trucks, commercial railroad cars, commercial aircraft, and international passengers arriving at ports in the customs territory of the United States; adjust the caps on prepaid fees associated with commercial trucks and commercial railroad cars; remove certain fee exemptions that are no longer justifiable based upon pathway analyses of risk; and restructure the treatment monitoring fee. We would also revise requirements pertaining to remittances and statements. Specifically, we would require monthly rather than quarterly remittances for the commercial aircraft fee, international air passenger fee, and international cruise passenger fee to make our revenue stream more stable, clarify our requirements, and provide for electronic payments and statements. We would also include in the regulations information on agents responsible for ensuring compliance with paying the user fees and the requirement for entities to notify APHIS in the event they have a change in personnel responsible for fee payments. These proposed changes are necessary to recover the costs of the current level of AQI activity, to account for actual and projected increases in the cost of doing business, to increase fee payer accountability, and to more accurately align fees with the costs associated with each fee service.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy; Importation of Animals and Animal Products
Document Number: 2023-17199
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-08-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with activities to prevent the introduction of bovine spongiform encephalopathy into the United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; U.S. Origin Health Certificate
Document Number: 2023-16619
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-08-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the export of animals and animal products from the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Bees and Related Articles
Document Number: 2023-16618
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-08-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of bees and related articles into the United States.
Process for Establishing Rates for Veterinary Services User Fees
Document Number: 2023-16278
Type: Rule
Date: 2023-08-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are revising the regulations concerning user fees that we charge for veterinary diagnostic services and for certain import- related and export-related services for live animals, animal products and byproducts, birds, germplasm, organisms, and vectors. We are removing the tables providing the individual fees from the regulations and posting them on an Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service website. The regulations instead specify the methodology (formula) used to calculate the fees (including imputed costs), and the fees will be updated using a notice-based process. Replacing the current user fee listings with a standardized methodology will increase transparency in the process of setting fee rates, align the regulations with other Agency practices, and allow us to streamline processes and reduce the number of rules needed and thus the time necessary in order to update the fees.
Horse Protection; Licensing of Designated Qualified Persons and Other Amendments
Document Number: 2023-15462
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2023-07-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) of the United States Department of Agriculture is proposing to withdraw a final rule that was filed for public inspection by the Office of the Federal Register on January 19, 2017, in advance of publication, and that amends the Agency's Horse Protection Act regulations (the 2017 HPA final rule). On January 23, 2017, APHIS withdrew the 2017 HPA final rule from publication without undertaking notice and comment procedures, in accordance with a memorandum that was issued by the Executive Office of the President on January 20, 2017. However, following a lawsuit, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit found this withdrawal to be deficient. The District Court has indicated that one way to remedy this deficiency is to undertake notice and comment procedures on the proposed withdrawal. APHIS is therefore proposing to withdraw the 2017 HPA final rule, and take public comment on this matter.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; APHIS Pest Reporting and Asian Longhorn Beetle Program
Document Number: 2023-15399
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-07-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's (APHIS') intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the reporting of plant pests and diseases, and APHIS conducting Asian Longhorn Beetle Program activities.
Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Certification Program Standards; Virtual Public Meetings
Document Number: 2023-14689
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-07-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service will hold five virtual listening sessions to receive public input on topics related to updates and improvements to the Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Certification Program Standards.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Black Stem Rust; Identification Requirements for Addition of Rust-Resistant Varieties
Document Number: 2023-14374
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-07-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the black stem rust quarantine and regulations.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Live Swine, Pork and Pork Products, and Swine Semen From the European Union
Document Number: 2023-13803
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-06-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the importation of live animals, animal germplasm, and animal products into the United States from the European Union.
Notice of Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Leaves and Stems of Garland Chrysanthemum From Mexico Into the Continental United States, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands
Document Number: 2023-13674
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-06-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation into the continental United States, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands of fresh leaves and stems of Garland Chrysanthemum (Glebionis coronarium) from Mexico. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh leaves and stems of Garland Chrysanthemum from Mexico.
Concurrence With World Organization for Animal Health's Risk Designation for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy for France
Document Number: 2023-12839
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-06-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our preliminary concurrence with the World Organization for Animal Health's (WOAH) bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk designation for France. The WOAH recognizes France as being of negligible risk for BSE. We are taking this action based on our review of information supporting the WOAH's risk designation for France.
Notice of Decision To Authorize the Importation of Phalaenopsis spp. Orchid Plants for Planting in Approved Growing Media From the Republic of Costa Rica Into the United States
Document Number: 2023-12295
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-06-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation into the United States, including territories, of Phalaenopsis spp. orchid plants for planting in approved growing media from the Republic of Costa Rica. As a condition of entry, Phalaenopsis spp. orchid plants in approved growing media from the Republic of Costa Rica will have to meet all relevant requirements included in the U.S. Department of Agriculture Plants for Planting Manual and detailed in a bilateral workplan. This action will allow for the importation of Phalaenopsis spp. orchid plants for planting from the Republic of Costa Rica in approved growing media while providing protection against the introduction of plant pests.
Addition of Gabon, Guinea, and Moldova to the List of Regions Affected With Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza
Document Number: 2023-11575
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-06-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we added Gabon, Guinea, and Moldova to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). These actions follow our imposition of HPAI- related restrictions on the importation of avian commodities originating from or transiting Gabon, Guinea, and Moldova as a result of the confirmation of HPAI in Gabon and Guinea, and reports of HPAI from the veterinary authorities of Moldova in the country.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Beef and Ovine Meat From Uruguay and Beef From Argentina and Brazil
Document Number: 2023-11711
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-06-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of beef and ovine meat from Uruguay and beef from Argentina and Brazil.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan
Document Number: 2023-11419
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-05-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan will be holding a public meeting.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Scrapie in Sheep and Goats; Interstate Movement Restrictions and Indemnity Program
Document Number: 2023-11063
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-05-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the interstate movement of sheep and goats and an indemnity program for controlling the spread of scrapie.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Volunteer Service Agreements and Volunteer Service Time and Attendance Record
Document Number: 2023-10486
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-05-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with volunteer service agreements and volunteer service time and attendance record.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.