Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 1 - 50 of 2,184
Animal Welfare; Procedures for Applying for Licenses and Renewals
Document Number: 2017-22940
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2017-10-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our advance notice of proposed rulemaking regarding potential revisions to the licensing requirements under our Animal Welfare Act regulations. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Implementation of Revised Lacey Act Provisions
Document Number: 2017-22800
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-10-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008 amended the Lacey Act to provide, among other things, that importers submit a declaration at the time of importation for certain plants and plant products. The declaration requirements of the Lacey Act became effective on December 15, 2008, and enforcement of those requirements is being phased in. In 2009, we initiated a blanket declaration pilot program for participants in U.S. Customs and Border Protection's expedited border release programs. In this notice, we are announcing the end of the blanket declaration pilot program and providing guidance on how participants in the program may continue to file declarations as required by the Lacey Act.
Notice of Determination of the Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza and Newcastle Disease Status of Japan
Document Number: 2017-22382
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-10-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are recognizing Japan as being free of highly pathogenic avian influenza and Newcastle disease. This recognition is based on a risk evaluation we prepared and made available for public review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Gypsy Moth Identification Worksheet and Checklist
Document Number: 2017-22348
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-10-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the gypsy moth program.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Black Stem Rust; Identification Requirements for Addition of Rust-Resistant Varieties
Document Number: 2017-22346
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-10-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the black stem rust quarantine and regulations.
Availability of a Final Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for a Release of Three Parasitoids for Biological Control of the Lily Leaf Beetle
Document Number: 2017-22228
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-10-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact have been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service relative to the release of three parasitoids, Diaparsis jucunda, Lemophagus errabundus, and Tetrastichus setifer, for the biological control of the lily leaf beetle in the contiguous United States. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fresh Blueberry Fruit From Morocco Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2017-22225
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-10-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of fresh blueberry fruit from Morocco into the continental United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Pine Shoot Beetle Host Material From Canada
Document Number: 2017-22224
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-10-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of pine nursery stock and various pine products from Canada to prevent the spread of pine shoot beetle into noninfested areas of the United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Karnal Bunt; Importation of Wheat and Related Articles
Document Number: 2017-22223
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-10-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of wheat and related articles from regions affected with Karnal bunt.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Mangoes From Jamaica Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2017-22222
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-10-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of mangoes from Jamaica into the continental United States.
Importation of Fresh Persimmons From New Zealand Into the United States
Document Number: 2017-21185
Type: Rule
Date: 2017-10-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations concerning the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of fresh persimmons from New Zealand into the United States. As a condition of entry, the persimmons must be produced in accordance with a systems approach that includes requirements for orchard certification, orchard pest control, post-harvest safeguards, fruit culling, traceback, sampling, and treatment with either hot water or modified atmosphere treatment. The persimmons will also have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that they were produced under, and meet all the components of, the systems approach and were inspected and found to be free of quarantine pests in accordance with the requirements. This action allows the importation of fresh persimmons from New Zealand while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for the Biological Control of Yellow Toadflax
Document Number: 2017-21105
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-10-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a draft environmental assessment relative to the control of yellow toadflax (Linaria vulgaris). The environmental assessment considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the field release of a stem gall weevil, Rhinusa pilosa, into the continental United States for use as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of yellow toadflax infestations. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for a Biological Control Agent for Swallow-Worts
Document Number: 2017-20122
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-09-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact have been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service relative to the release of a leaf- feeding moth, Hypena opulenta, for the biological control of swallow- worts (Vincetoxicum nigrum and Vincetoxicum rossicum). Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Addition of Uganda to the List of Regions Affected by Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza
Document Number: 2017-20121
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-09-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are adding Uganda to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected by highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). This action follows our imposition of HPAI-related restrictions on avian commodities originating from or transiting Uganda as a result of the confirmation of HPAI in Uganda.
Addition of Zimbabwe to the List of Regions Affected by Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza
Document Number: 2017-20120
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-09-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are adding Zimbabwe to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected by highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). This action follows our imposition of HPAI-related restrictions on avian commodities originating from or transiting Zimbabwe as a result of the confirmation of HPAI in Zimbabwe.
International Sanitary and Phytosanitary Standard-Setting Activities
Document Number: 2017-20119
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-09-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with legislation implementing the results of the Uruguay Round of negotiations under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, we are informing the public of the international standard-setting activities of the World Organization for Animal Health, the Secretariat of the International Plant Protection Convention, and the North American Plant Protection Organization, and we are soliciting public comment on the standards to be considered.
Importation of Orchids in Growing Media From the Republic of Korea Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2017-19519
Type: Rule
Date: 2017-09-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of plants for planting to add orchid plants of the genera Phalaenopsis and Cymbidium from the Republic of Korea to the list of plants that may be imported into the continental United States in an approved growing medium, subject to specified growing, inspection, and certification requirements. We are taking this action in response to a request from the Republic of Korea and after determining that the plants could be imported under certain conditions without resulting in the introduction into, or the dissemination within, the United States of a plant pest or noxious weed.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Bees and Related Articles
Document Number: 2017-19280
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-09-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of bees and related articles into the United States.
Oral Rabies Vaccine Trial; Availability of a Supplement to an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact
Document Number: 2017-19227
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-09-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a supplement to an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to an oral rabies vaccination field trial in New Hampshire, New York, Ohio, Vermont, and West Virginia. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Importation of Fresh Persimmon With Calyxes From Japan Into the United States
Document Number: 2017-19226
Type: Rule
Date: 2017-09-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations concerning the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of fresh persimmon with calyxes from Japan into the United States. As a condition of entry, the persimmon must be produced in accordance with a systems approach that includes requirements for orchard certification, orchard pest control, post-harvest safeguards, fruit culling, traceback, and sampling. The persimmons will also have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that they were produced under, and meet all the components of, the agreed upon systems approach and were inspected and found to be free of quarantine pests. This action will allow the importation of fresh persimmons with calyxes from Japan while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Importation of Bone-In Ovine Meat From Uruguay
Document Number: 2017-19225
Type: Rule
Date: 2017-09-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of certain animals, meat, and other animal products by allowing, under certain conditions, the importation of bone-in ovine meat from Uruguay. Based on the evidence in a risk assessment that we prepared, we believe that bone-in ovine meat can safely be imported from Uruguay provided certain conditions are met. This final rule will provide for the importation of bone-in ovine meat from Uruguay into the United States, while continuing to protect the United States against the introduction of foot-and-mouth disease.
Black Stem Rust; Additions of Rust-Resistant Species and Varieties
Document Number: 2017-18712
Type: Rule
Date: 2017-09-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the black stem rust quarantine and regulations by adding 15 varieties to the list of rust-resistant Berberis species and varieties and 2 varieties to the list of rust-resistant Mahonia species and varieties. This action will allow for the interstate movement of these newly developed varieties without unnecessary restrictions.
Notice of Decision; Cold Treatment of Grapefruit From Australia
Document Number: 2017-18703
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-09-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to amend cold treatment schedule T107-d-3 in the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual to include grapefruit from Australia. In a previous notice, we made available to the public for review and comment a treatment evaluation document that described the treatment schedule and explained why we have determined that it is effective at neutralizing certain target pests on grapefruit from Australia.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Plants for Planting Regulations
Document Number: 2017-18279
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the plants for planting regulations.
Animal Welfare; Procedures for Applying for Licenses and Renewals
Document Number: 2017-17967
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2017-08-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are soliciting public comment on potential revisions to the licensing requirements under our Animal Welfare Act regulations to promote compliance with the Act, reduce licensing fees, and strengthen existing safeguards that prevent any individual whose license has been suspended or revoked, or who has a history of noncompliance, from obtaining a license or working with regulated animals. We are soliciting public comment on these topics to help us consider ways to reduce regulatory burden and more efficiently ensure the sustained compliance of licensees with the Act.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Citrus Black Spot
Document Number: 2017-17877
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of an information collection associated with the requirements for the interstate movement of regulated articles to prevent the spread of citrus black spot.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Systems Approach for the Interstate Movement of Fresh, Mature Kaffir Lime, Curry, and Bael Leaves for Consumption From Areas Quarantined for Citrus Greening and Asian Citrus Psyllid
Document Number: 2017-17876
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of an information collection associated with the requirements for the interstate movement of fresh, mature Kaffir lime, curry, and bael leaves for consumption from areas quarantined for citrus greening and Asian citrus psyllid.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fruits and Vegetables
Document Number: 2017-17875
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of certain fruits and vegetables into the United States.
Importation of Hass Avocados From Colombia
Document Number: 2017-17211
Type: Rule
Date: 2017-08-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations to allow the importation of fresh Hass avocado fruit from Colombia into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, fresh Hass avocado fruit from Colombia will have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that includes orchard and packinghouse requirements and port of entry inspection. The fruit will also be required to be imported in commercial consignments and accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the national plant protection organization of Colombia with an additional declaration stating that the fruit has been produced in accordance with the requirements. This action will allow for the importation of fresh Hass avocado fruit from Colombia while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of plant pests into the continental United States.
Restrictions on the Importation of Fresh Pork and Pork Products From a Region in Mexico
Document Number: 2017-16980
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2017-08-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are withdrawing a proposed rule that would have defined a low-risk classical swine fever region in Mexico from which we would have allowed the importation of fresh pork and pork products into the United States under certain conditions. We are taking this action after reopening our risk evaluation of the classical swine fever status of Mexico using updated information.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing of a Vaccine for Use Against Canine Lymphoma
Document Number: 2017-16977
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purposes of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Canine Lymphoma Vaccine, Live Listeria Vector. Based on the environmental assessment, risk analysis, and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the documents available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Determination of the Classical Swine Fever, Swine Vesicular Disease, African Swine Fever, Foot-and-Mouth Disease, and Rinderpest Status of Malta
Document Number: 2017-16832
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adding the Republic of Malta to the lists of regions considered to be free of swine vesicular disease (SVD), African swine fever (ASF), foot-and-mouth disease (FMD), and rinderpest, and to the list of regions considered free or low risk for classical swine fever (CSF), subject to conditions in the regulations governing the importation of certain animals and animal products into the United States. Based on our evaluation of the animal health status of Malta, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, the Administrator has determined that Malta is free of SVD, ASF, FMD, and rinderpest, and is low risk for CSF. This action establishes the disease status of Malta with regard to SVD, ASF, FMD, rinderpest, and CSF while continuing to protect the United States from introduction of those diseases.
Notice of Availability of Treatment Evaluation Document for Aircraft Treatments for Certain Hitchhiking Pests
Document Number: 2017-16676
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that it is necessary to immediately add to the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual two new chemical treatments for targeting regulated pests in the cargo holds of aircraft. We have prepared a treatment evaluation document that describes the new treatment schedules and explains why we have determined that they are effective at neutralizing certain target pests. We are making the treatment evaluation document available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of an Evaluation of the Classical Swine Fever Status of Mexico
Document Number: 2017-16675
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to recognize Mexico as free of classical swine fever, subject to conditions in the regulations governing the importation of live swine, pork, and pork products from certain regions into the United States. We are proposing this action based on a risk evaluation that we have prepared in connection with this action and that we are making available to the public for review and comment.
Concurrence With OIE Risk Designations for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
Document Number: 2017-16674
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to concur with the World Organization for Animal Health's (OIE) bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk designations for seven regions. The OIE recognizes these regions as being of negligible risk for BSE. We are taking this action based on our review of information supporting the OIE's risk designations for these regions.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing of a Bursal Disease-Marek's Disease Vaccine, Serotype 3, Live Marek's Disease Vector
Document Number: 2017-16673
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purposes of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Bursal Disease-Marek's Disease Vaccine, Serotype 3, Live Marek's Disease Vector. Based on the environmental assessment, risk analysis, and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the documents available to the public for review and comment.
Bayer CropScience LP: Determination of Nonregulated Status of Canola Genetically Engineered for Male Sterility and Glufosinate-Ammonium Resistance
Document Number: 2017-15949
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination to extend the nonregulated status of InVigor[supreg] MS8 canola (hereinafter MS8 canola) to Bayer CropSciences LP's (Bayer) canola event MS11 which has been genetically engineered for male sterility and resistance to the herbicide glufosinate-ammonium using the same mechanism of action as Bayer's MS8 canola. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by Bayer in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of publically available scientific data, and comments received from the public on the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk similarity assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Emergency Epidemiologic Investigations
Document Number: 2017-15575
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval for emergency epidemiologic investigations, an information collection to support the National Animal Health Monitoring System.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing a Vaccine For Use Against Infectious Bursal Disease, Marek's Disease, and Newcastle Disease
Document Number: 2017-14977
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purpose of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Bursal Disease-Marek's Disease-Newcastle Disease Vaccine, Serotype 3, Live Marek's Disease Vector. Based on the environmental assessment, risk analysis, and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the documents available to the public for review and comment.
Oral Rabies Vaccine Trial; Availability of a Supplemental Environmental Assessment
Document Number: 2017-14921
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a supplemental environmental assessment (EA) relative to an oral rabies vaccination field trial in New Hampshire, New York, Ohio, Vermont, and West Virginia. The supplemental EA analyzes expanding the field trial for an experimental oral rabies vaccine for wildlife to additional areas in New York, Ohio, and West Virginia. The proposed field trial is necessary to evaluate whether the wildlife rabies vaccine will produce sufficient levels of population immunity against raccoon rabies. We are making the supplemental EA available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Blood and Tissue Collection and Recordkeeping at Slaughtering, Rendering, and Approved Livestock Marketing Establishments and Facilities
Document Number: 2017-14815
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for blood and tissue collection and recordkeeping at slaughtering, rendering, and approved livestock marketing establishments and facilities to enhance animal disease surveillance.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Changes to the National Poultry Improvement Plan Program Standards
Document Number: 2017-14812
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection associated with changes we are making to the National Poultry Improvement Plan Program Standards pertaining to the compartmentalization of primary poultry breeding establishments and approval of compartment components such as farms, feedmills, hatcheries, and egg depots.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for the Biological Control of Swallow-Worts
Document Number: 2017-14695
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a draft environmental assessment relative to the control of swallow-worts (Vincetoxicum nigrum and Vincetoxicum rossicum). The environmental assessment considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the field release of a leaf-feeding moth, Hypena opulenta, into the continental United States for use as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of swallow-wort infestations. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Release of Three Parasitoids for Biological Control of the Lily Leaf Beetle
Document Number: 2017-14694
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a draft environmental assessment relative to the release of three parasitoids, Diaparsis jucunda, Lemophagus errabundus, and Tetrastichus setifer for the biological control of the lily leaf beetle. The environmental assessment considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the field release of the parasitoids into the contiguous United States for use as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of infestations of lily leaf beetle. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Availability of a Final Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for the Field Release of Genetically Engineered Diamondback Moths
Document Number: 2017-14345
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has prepared a final environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact and will issue a permit for the field release of diamondback moths that have been genetically engineered for repressible female lethality, also known as female autocide. Based on its finding of no significant impact, APHIS has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Notice of Availability of an Evaluation of the Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza and Newcastle Disease Status of Japan
Document Number: 2017-13783
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-06-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to recognize Japan as being free of highly pathogenic avian influenza and Newcastle disease. This proposed recognition is based on a risk evaluation we have prepared in connection with this action, which we are making available for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Animals and Poultry, Animal and Poultry Products, Certain Animal Embryos, Semen, and Zoological Animals
Document Number: 2017-13782
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-06-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the importation of animals and poultry, animal and poultry products, certain animal embryos, semen, and zoological animals.
Importation of Tree Tomatoes From Ecuador Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2017-12944
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2017-06-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the fruit and vegetable regulations to allow the importation of tree tomatoes from Ecuador into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, the tree tomatoes would have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that would include requirements for importation in commercial consignments, registration and monitoring of places of production, field monitoring and pest-control practices, trapping, and inspection for quarantine pests by the national plant protection organization of Ecuador. This action would allow the importation of tree tomatoes from Ecuador while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Importation of Fresh Pomegranate Fruit From Turkey Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2017-12943
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2017-06-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of commercial consignments into the continental United States of fresh pomegranate fruit from Turkey. As a condition of entry, fresh pomegranate fruit from Turkey would have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that would include grove registration, sanitation, and pest control measures; packinghouse registration and procedures designed to exclude quarantine pests; cold treatment; and procedures for packing, storing, and shipping the pomegranate fruit. In addition, consignments would have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the national plant protection organization of Turkey. This proposed rule would allow for the importation of fresh pomegranates from Turkey into the continental United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of plant pests.
Importation of Fresh Pitahaya Fruit From Ecuador Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2017-12802
Type: Rule
Date: 2017-06-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of fresh pitahaya fruit into the continental United States from Ecuador. As a condition of entry, the fruit will have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that includes requirements for fruit fly trapping, pre-harvest inspections, approved production sites, and packinghouse procedures designed to exclude quarantine pests. The fruit will also be required to be imported in commercial consignments and accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the national plant protection organization of Ecuador stating that the consignment was produced and prepared for export in accordance with the requirements of the systems approach. This action will allow for the importation of fresh pitahaya fruit from Ecuador while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.