Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 1 - 50 of 2,518
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Self-Certification Medical Statement
Document Number: 2020-23925
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-10-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations permitting applicants to self-certify certain medical statements when applying for positions with the Federal Government.
Notice of Availability of Assessment of the Newcastle Disease Status of the Cantons of Neuchâtel and Ticino of Switzerland
Document Number: 2020-23664
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-10-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our intention to reinstate the animal health status of the Cantons of Neuch[acirc]tel and Ticino in Switzerland as free of Newcastle disease. This recognition is based on an assessment we have prepared in connection with this action, which we are making available for review and comment.
Monsanto Company; Availability of a Draft Plant Pest Risk Assessment and Draft Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Cotton Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2020-22917
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-10-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a draft plant pest risk assessment and draft environmental assessment regarding a request from Monsanto Company seeking a determination of nonregulated status for cotton designated as MON 88702, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to certain insects, primarily Lygus spp. We are making these documents available for public review and comment.
Import Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Blueberries From Chile Into the United States
Document Number: 2020-22337
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-10-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to revise the import requirements for the importation of fresh blueberries from Chile into the United States by removing the methyl bromide fumigation requirement for blueberries from Regions VIII and XVI of Chile. Based on the findings of our commodity import evaluation, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we have determined that the application of the designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests via the importation of blueberries from Chile.
National Poultry Improvement Plan and Auxiliary Provisions
Document Number: 2020-21798
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-10-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP). These amendments establish a U.S. Newcastle Disease Clean program within the NPIP, create an NPIP subpart specific to game birds, revise testing requirements, and clarify existing provisions of the regulations. We are also amending the regulations concerning the payment of indemnity and compensation for low pathogenic avian influenza to reflect current policy and operational practices, and allowing NPIP voting delegates to represent multiple States during the Biennial Conferences. These changes were voted on and approved by the voting delegates at the NPIP's 2018 National Plan Conference.
Deregulation of Pine Shoot Beetle
Document Number: 2020-21800
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-10-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, a proposal to amend our regulations to remove the domestic pine shoot beetle (PSB) quarantine and to eliminate the restrictions that apply to the importation of PSB host material from Canada. We have determined through analysis that the regulatory program is ineffective in slowing the spread of the pest and reducing damage, which has also been found to be minimal. This action will provide flexibility to the States as they manage PSB. It will also allow Federal resources spent on this program to be allocated elsewhere, and it will remove PSB-related interstate movement and importation restrictions on PSB-regulated articles.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Live Swine, Pork and Pork Products, and Swine Semen From the European Union
Document Number: 2020-21746
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-10-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of live swine, pork and pork products, and swine semen from the European Union.
Addition of Papua New Guinea to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2020-21603
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Papua New Guinea to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in Papua New Guinea.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan
Document Number: 2020-21516
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture has renewed the charter of the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan (Committee) for a 2-year period. The Secretary of Agriculture has determined that the Committee is necessary and in the public interest.
Westhoff Vertriebsgesellschaft mbH; Availability of Preliminary Plant Pest Risk Assessment, Draft Environmental Assessment, and Preliminary Finding of No Significant Impact for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Petunias Genetically Engineered for Flower Color
Document Number: 2020-21357
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a preliminary plant pest risk assessment, draft environmental assessment, and preliminary finding of no significant impact regarding a request from Westhoff Vertriebsgesellschaft mbH seeking a determination of nonregulated status of petunias containing the A1 gene from maize (A1-DFR Petunias), which have been genetically engineered to add a new color (orange) and brilliance to the flowers. We are making these documents available for public review and comment.
International Trade Data System: Timeline for Enforcing APHIS Core Message Set Flags in the Automated Commercial Environment
Document Number: 2020-21289
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) is announcing a delay in the full implementation of the APHIS Core Message Set in the Automated Commercial Environment/International Trade Data System (ACE/ITDS) for the electronic submission of data required by APHIS Animal Care, Biotechnology Regulatory Services, Plant Protection and Quarantine, and Veterinary Services. APHIS intended to begin applying Harmonized Tariff Schedule flags, which would alert filers who opted to submit electronically using ACE whether APHIS import data is or may be required, on August 3, 2020. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, APHIS is delaying implementation until January 25, 2021. Full implementation of the message set will bring APHIS into compliance with the mandates of the Security and Accountability For Every Port Act of 2006 and Executive Order 13659. The information collected will enhance APHIS' ability to make data-driven policy decisions, improve risk analysis/assessments, and enhance ability to respond to changing pest/ disease conditions.
Availability of a Final Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for Cogongrass Control Efforts in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, and South Carolina
Document Number: 2020-20946
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a final environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to establishing an integrated management strategy to control cogongrass, a noxious weed, in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, and South Carolina. Based on our finding of no significant impact, we have determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; National Veterinary Services Laboratories Request Forms
Document Number: 2020-20741
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with its efforts to safeguard the health of the U.S. livestock and poultry populations by the use of National Veterinary Services Laboratories request forms.
Brucellosis and Bovine Tuberculosis: Importation of Cattle and Bison
Document Number: 2020-20552
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-09-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of cattle and bison with respect to bovine tuberculosis and brucellosis to establish a system to classify foreign regions as a particular status level for bovine tuberculosis and a particular status level for brucellosis. We are also establishing provisions for modifying the bovine tuberculosis or brucellosis classification of a foreign region. Finally, we are establishing conditions for the importation of cattle and bison from regions with the various classifications. The changes will make the requirements clearer and assure that they more effectively mitigate the risk of introduction of these diseases into the United States.
AWA Research Facility Registration Updates, Reviews, and Reports
Document Number: 2020-20512
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2020-09-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) regulations governing research facilities by removing duplicative and unnecessary information requirements. We would remove the requirement that registered research facilities update their registration information every 3 years. We also propose to remove the requirement for continual, but not less than annual, review of research animal use activities and replace it with a requirement for a complete review at least every 3 years, and to no longer require that research facilities request an inactive status if they no longer use, handle, or transport AWA covered animals. In addition, we propose to clarify the duration of a registration and conditions for its cancellation, and to no longer require that the Institutional Official or Chief Executive Officer sign the annual report. We would also make miscellaneous changes to improve readability. The changes we propose would reduce duplicative requirements and administrative burden on research facilities, maintain research integrity and oversight, and ensure that research animals continue to receive humane care.
Joint Environmental Impact Report and Environmental Impact Statement for Wildlife Damage Management in California
Document Number: 2020-19090
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, working in coordination with the California Department of Food and Agriculture, intends to prepare a joint environmental impact report (EIR) and environmental impact statement (EIS) analyzing alternatives for wildlife damage management in California in accordance with the California Environmental Quality Act and the National Environmental Policy Act. This notice proposes issues and alternatives for consideration in the joint EIR/EIS and requests public comments to further delineate the scope of the alternatives, environmental issues, and other issues of public concern to be considered in the EIR/EIS.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Animals and Poultry, Animal and Poultry Products, Certain Animal Embryos, Semen, and Zoological Animals
Document Number: 2020-19733
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the importation of animals and poultry, animal and poultry products, certain animal embryos, semen, and zoological animals.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; Export Health Certificate for Animal Products
Document Number: 2020-19483
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection associated with the export of animal products from the United States.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Volunteer Service Agreements and Volunteer Service Time and Attendance Record
Document Number: 2020-18528
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-08-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection associated with volunteer service agreements and volunteer service time and attendance record.
Establishing AWA Standards for Birds; Virtual Public Meetings
Document Number: 2020-18134
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2020-08-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service will hold virtual listening sessions to receive public input on topics related to the development of regulations regarding the welfare of birds not bred for use in research.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Black Stem Rust; Identification Requirements for Addition of Rust-Resistant Varieties
Document Number: 2020-18136
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-08-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the black stem rust quarantine and regulations.
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry; Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status for Blight-Resistant Darling 58 American Chestnut
Document Number: 2020-18135
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-08-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from the State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry (ESF) seeking a determination of nonregulated status for blight- resistant Darling 58 American chestnut (Castanea dentata). The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. We are making available for public comment the ESF petition and requesting public input regarding potential issues and impacts that APHIS should be considering in our evaluation of the petition.
National List of Reportable Animal Diseases
Document Number: 2020-17339
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2020-08-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that would amend the animal disease regulations to provide for a National List of Reportable Animal Diseases, along with reporting responsibilities for animal health professionals that encounter or suspect cases of communicable diseases and disease agents. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Citrus Canker; Interstate Movement of Regulated Nursery Stock and Fruit From Quarantined Areas
Document Number: 2020-16026
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-07-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the interstate movement of regulated nursery stock and fruit from quarantined areas to prevent the spread of citrus canker.
Pioneer Hi-Bred International; Availability of a Preliminary Pest Risk Assessment and Draft Environmental Assessment
Document Number: 2020-15631
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-07-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a preliminary plant pest risk assessment and draft environmental assessment regarding a request from Pioneer Hi-Bred International seeking a determination of nonregulated status for corn designated DP202216 Maize, which has been genetically engineered for enhanced grain yield potential and Glufosinate-ammonium herbicide resistance. We are making these documents available for public review and comment.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; South American Cactus Moth; Quarantine and Regulations
Document Number: 2020-15600
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-07-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the interstate movement of regulated articles to prevent the spread of South American cactus moth.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Export Certification: Accreditation of Nongovernment Facilities
Document Number: 2020-15597
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-07-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with accrediting nongovernment facilities to perform services related to the export of plants or plant products.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Johne's Disease in Domestic Animals
Document Number: 2020-15249
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-07-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with its efforts to control Johne's disease in the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; National Veterinary Accreditation Program
Document Number: 2020-15103
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-07-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the National Veterinary Accreditation Program application form.
Petition To Manufacture Foot-and-Mouth Disease Vaccine in the United States
Document Number: 2020-15031
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-07-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition from Zoetis, Inc. to approve the manufacture within the continental United States of a vaccine derived from a leaderless strain of the foot-and-mouth disease (FMD) virus. While introduction of live FMD virus into the United States is prohibited by law, the petition states that this attenuated strain of the virus is incapable of causing FMD symptoms or infection in animals. We are soliciting comments from the public regarding the petition and requesting information that will aid us in determining how best to respond to the petition.
National Veterinary Accreditation Program; Correction
Document Number: 2020-13920
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-07-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule that was published in the Federal Register on February 25, 2020, and effective on March 26, 2020, we amended the regulations governing the National Veterinary Accreditation Program by, among other things, replacing all instances of the term ``Veterinarian- in-Charge'' with the term ``Veterinary Official.'' However, we inadvertently left two instances of the term ``Veterinarian-in-Charge'' in the regulations. This document corrects that oversight in the final rule.
Use of Radio Frequency Identification Tags as Official Identification in Cattle and Bison
Document Number: 2020-14463
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-07-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with Executive Order 13892, Promoting the Rule of Law Through Transparency and Fairness in Civil Administrative Enforcement and Adjudication, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) is soliciting public comments on a proposal wherein APHIS would only approve radio frequency identification tags as official eartags for use in interstate movement of cattle and bison that are covered under certain regulations.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; National Veterinary Services Laboratories; Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy Surveillance Program
Document Number: 2020-13944
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with National Veterinary Services Laboratories diagnostic support for the bovine spongiform encephalopathy surveillance program.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Blood and Tissue Collection and Recordkeeping at Slaughtering, Rendering, and Approved Livestock Marketing Establishments and Facilities
Document Number: 2020-13735
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations governing approval and maintenance of livestock marketing establishments and facilities, listing blood and tissue collection and recordkeeping, and withdrawal or denial of livestock marketing facilities and slaughtering and rendering facilities.
J.R. Simplot Company; Availability of a Request and Plant Pest Risk Similarity Assessment for an Extension of a Determination of Nonregulated Status for Z6 Potatoes With Late Blight Protection, Low Acrylamide Potential, Lowered Reducing Sugars, and Reduced Black Spot
Document Number: 2020-13711
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a request to extend our determination of nonregulated status of J.R. Simplot Company's (Simplot's) W8 potato to event Z6 (hereafter Z6 potato). Z6 potato has been genetically engineered for late blight protection, low acrylamide potential, lowered reducing sugars, and reduced black spot using the same construct and method of transformation as W8 potato. We are making available for public comment the request and our plant pest risk similarity assessment and preliminary determination of nonregulated status.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Bees and Related Articles
Document Number: 2020-13686
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of bees and related articles into the United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy; Importation of Animals and Animal Products
Document Number: 2020-13533
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with activities to prevent the introduction of bovine spongiform encephalopathy into the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza, All Subtypes, and Newcastle Disease; Additional Restrictions
Document Number: 2020-12737
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations to prevent the introduction of highly pathogenic avian influenza, all subtypes, and Newcastle disease into the United States through the importation of birds, poultry, and unprocessed bird and poultry products.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; U.S. Origin Health Certificate
Document Number: 2020-12736
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the export of animals and animal products from the United States.
Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Carrots From the Republic of Korea Into the United States
Document Number: 2020-12202
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation of fresh carrots from the Republic of Korea into the United States. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public to review and comment through a previous notice, we have concluded that the application of one or more phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh carrots from the Republic of Korea into the United States.
Amendments to the Pale Cyst Nematode Regulations
Document Number: 2020-11792
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2020-06-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that would amend the domestic quarantine regulations for pale cyst nematode by adding procedures to allow persons to review and comment on the protocols for regulating and deregulating infested and associated areas. We are taking this action to allow persons to comment on the science on which we have established our infested and associated field protocols and on the sources we have used to develop the protocol principles and methods currently used. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; APHIS Credit and User Fee Accounts
Document Number: 2020-11738
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's (APHIS') intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with establishing credit accounts and the collection of user fees for certain reimbursable APHIS services.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; APHIS Pest Reporting and Asian Longhorn Beetle Program
Document Number: 2020-11737
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-06-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's (APHIS') intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection that allows the public to report sightings of plant pests and diseases and APHIS to conduct Asian Longhorn Beetle Program activities.
BASF Corporation; Petition for a Determination of Nonregulated Status for Plant-Parasitic Nematode-Protected and Herbicide Resistant Soybean
Document Number: 2020-11492
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-05-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from BASF Corporation seeking a determination of nonregulated status of soybean event GMB151 genetically engineered for resistance to the plant- parasitic nematode, soybean cyst nematode (Heterodera glycines), and for resistance to 4-hydroxyphenylpyruvate dioxygenase (HPPD-4) inhibitor herbicides. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that APHIS may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Oral Rabies Vaccine Program; Notice of Availability of Decision and Finding of No Significant Impact for the Environmental Assessment
Document Number: 2020-11108
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-05-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a Decision and Finding of No Significant Impact for the final environmental assessment, relative to an oral rabies vaccination program in Maine, New Hampshire, New York, Ohio, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, Virginia, and West Virginia. Based on our decision and finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Environmental Monitoring
Document Number: 2020-11076
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-05-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with environmental monitoring.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; Conditions for Payment of Avian Influenza Indemnity Claims
Document Number: 2020-11075
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-05-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection associated with the regulations for payment of avian influenza indemnity claims.
Movement of Certain Genetically Engineered Organisms
Document Number: 2020-10638
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-05-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations regarding the movement (importation, interstate movement, and environmental release) of certain genetically engineered organisms in response to advances in genetic engineering and our understanding of the plant pest risk posed by genetically engineered organisms, thereby reducing the regulatory burden for developers of organisms that are unlikely to pose plant pest risks. This final rule, which marks the first comprehensive revision of the regulations since they were established in 1987, provides a clear, predictable, and efficient regulatory pathway for innovators, facilitating the development of genetically engineered organisms that are unlikely to pose plant pest risks.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; Imported Seeds and Screenings
Document Number: 2020-10403
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-05-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of seeds and screenings from Canada into the United States.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan; Solicitation for Membership; Correction
Document Number: 2020-10402
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-05-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are correcting an error in a notice published in the Federal Register on April 27, 2020, which announced a forthcoming General Conference Committee membership solicitation. We provided an incorrect statement regarding nominations. This document corrects that error.