Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 1 - 50 of 2,453
Notice of Proposed Revision to Import Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Citrus From South Africa Into the United States
Document Number: 2020-06799
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-04-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a commodity import evaluation document (CIED) relative to the importation into the United States of citrus (grapefruit, lemon, mandarin orange, sweet orange, tangelo, and Satsuma mandarin) fruit from South Africa. Based on the findings of the CIED, we are proposing to remove restrictions on the ports of entry into which citrus from South Africa may be imported into the United States. We are making the CIED available to the public for review and comment.
Import Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Blueberries From Chile Into the United States
Document Number: 2020-06696
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-03-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a commodity import evaluation document (CIED) relative to the importation into the United States of blueberries from Chile. Currently, blueberries from Chile imported into the United States from an area in which European grapevine moth is known to exist must be fumigated with methyl bromide. Based on the findings of the CIED, we are proposing to also allow the importation of such blueberries under the provisions of a systems approach. We are making the CIED available to the public for review and comment.
Implementation of Revised Lacey Act Provisions
Document Number: 2020-06695
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-03-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008 amended the Lacey Act to provide, among other things, that importers submit a declaration at the time of importation for certain plants and plant products. Enforcement of the declaration requirement began on April 1, 2009, and products requiring a declaration are being phased-in. The purpose of this notice is to inform the public of another phase of the Federal Government's enforcement schedule.
Import Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Fragrant Pears From China Into the United States
Document Number: 2020-06374
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-03-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to revise the import requirements for the importation of fresh fragrant pears from China into the United States and to authorize importation from an additional area of production. Based on the findings of the pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public to review and comment through a previous notice, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh fragrant pears fruit from this additional production area.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Live Swine, Pork, and Pork Products From Certain Regions
Document Number: 2020-05942
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-03-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of live swine, pork, and pork products from certain regions free of classical swine fever in Brazil, Chile, and Mexico.
Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002; Biennial Review and Republication of the Select Agent and Toxin List
Document Number: 2020-05499
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2020-03-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002, we are soliciting public comment regarding the list of select agents and toxins that have the potential to pose a severe threat to animal or plant health, or to animal or plant products. The Act requires the biennial review and republication of the list of select agents and toxins and the revision of the list as necessary. Accordingly, we are soliciting public comment on the current list of select agents and toxins in our regulations and suggestions regarding any addition or reduction of the animal or plant pathogens currently on the list of select agents.
Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Jujube From China Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2020-05015
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-03-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation of fresh jujube fruit from China into the continental United States. Based on the findings of the pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public to review and comment through a previous notice, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh jujube fruit from China.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Cooperative Agricultural Pest Survey
Document Number: 2020-05014
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-03-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the Cooperative Agricultural Pest Survey.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Swine Health Protection
Document Number: 2020-04283
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-03-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the swine health protection program.
Importation of Phalaenopsis Spp. Orchid Plants for Planting in Approved Growing Media From the Republic of Costa Rica Into the United States
Document Number: 2020-04282
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2020-03-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to authorize the importation of Phalaenopsis spp. orchid plants from the Republic of Costa Rica in approved growing media into the United States, including territories. As a condition of entry, Phalaenopsis spp. orchid plants in approved growing media from the Republic of Costa Rica would have to meet all relevant requirements included in the U.S. Department of Agriculture Plants for Planting Manual and detailed in a bilateral workplan. This proposed action would allow for the importation of Phalaenopsis spp. orchid plants for planting from the Republic of Costa Rica in approved growing media while providing protection against the introduction of plant pests.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment; Cogongrass Control Efforts in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, and South Carolina
Document Number: 2020-04239
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-03-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available a draft programmatic environmental assessment for control of cogongrass, a noxious weed, in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, and South Carolina. The environmental assessment assesses the potential environmental effects of establishing an integrated management strategy to control cogongrass in coordination with the above States. We are making the draft programmatic environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Lacey Act Implementation Plan: De Minimis Exception
Document Number: 2020-04165
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-03-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008 amended the Lacey Act to provide, among other things, that importers submit a declaration at the time of importation for certain plants and plant products. The declaration requirement of the Lacey Act became effective on December 15, 2008, and enforcement of that requirement is being phased in. We are amending the regulations to establish an exception to the declaration requirement for products containing a minimal amount of plant materials. This action would relieve the burden on importers while continuing to ensure that the declaration requirement fulfills the purposes of the Lacey Act.
Establishment of Regulations for the Evaluation and Recognition of the Animal Health Status of Compartments
Document Number: 2020-03719
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-02-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are establishing standards to allow us to recognize compartments for animal disease status, consistent with World Organization for Animal Health international standards. Under this action, when a foreign government submits a request for recognition of a compartment, we will conduct a compartmentalization evaluation based on a list of factors that parallel those we use when conducting regionalization evaluations, and will provide for public notice of and comment on the risk assessment. We are also adding provisions for imposing import restrictions or prohibitions when a compartment we have recognized as disease-free experiences an outbreak, and for lifting those sanctions once the outbreak has been controlled. These standards for compartmentalization will provide a means for preserving international trade when regionalization is not feasible.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing of a Vaccine for Use Against Bursal Disease and Marek's Disease
Document Number: 2020-03830
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-02-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purpose of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Bursal Disease-Marek's Disease Vaccine, Serotype 3, Live Marek's Disease Vector. Based on the environmental assessment, risk analysis, and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making these documents available to the public for review and comment.
National Veterinary Accreditation Program
Document Number: 2020-03718
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-02-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the National Veterinary Accreditation Program by clarifying the veterinary programs for which accredited veterinarians are authorized to perform duties under the Animal Health Protection Act. We are also adding and revising certain definitions and terms used in the regulations. These changes will update the program regulations.
Privacy Act of 1974; System of Records
Document Number: 2020-03007
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-02-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 and Office of Management and Budget Circular No. A-108, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) gives notice that a component agency, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) proposes to add a new system of records to its inventory of records. The system of records being proposed is the APHIS Plant Protection and Quarantine's Lacey Act Declaration Information Systems (LADIS), USDA/APHIS-24. The purpose of this system is enable businesses to file Lacey Act declarations. LADIS collects these records as part of an effort to combat illegal timber imports and to protect global natural resources. Under the Lacey Act, it is unlawful to import certain plants and plant products without an import declaration. The records in LADIS contain information regarding imported shipments, description of shipments, and the name and address of the importer and consignee.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Plum Pox Compensation
Document Number: 2020-03004
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-02-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations that provide for the payment of compensation to owners of commercial stone fruit orchards and fruit tree nurseries whose trees or nursery stock were destroyed to eradicate plum pox virus.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Federally Recognized State Managed Phytosanitary Program
Document Number: 2020-02453
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-02-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with Federal recognition of a State's plant pest containment, eradication, or exclusion program as a Federally Recognized State Managed Phytosanitary Program.
International Trade Data System: Timeline for Enforcing APHIS Core Message Set Flags in the Automated Commercial Environment
Document Number: 2020-01984
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-02-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) is announcing full implementation of the APHIS Core Message Set in the Automated Commercial Environment/International Trade Data System (ACE/ ITDS) for the electronic submission of data required by APHIS Animal Care, Biotechnology Regulatory Services, Plant Protection and Quarantine, and Veterinary Services. APHIS intends to begin applying Harmonized Tariff Schedule flags, which will alert filers who opted to submit electronically using ACE. Full implementation of the message set will bring APHIS into compliance with the mandates of the Security and Accountability For Every Port Act of 2006 and Executive Order 13659. The information collected will enhance APHIS' ability to make data-driven policy decisions, improve risk analysis/assessments, and enhance ability to respond to changing pest/ disease conditions.
Import Requirements for the Importation of Unshu Oranges From Japan Into the United States
Document Number: 2020-01981
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-01-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to revise the import requirements for the importation of fresh Unshu oranges from Japan into the United States and to allow Unshu oranges from the island of Kyushu to be imported into any port of entry in the United States, excluding territories. We are also removing the fumigation requirement for Unshu oranges from the islands of Honshu and Shikoku. Based on the findings of our commodity import evaluations, which we made available to the public to review and comment through a previous notice, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh Unshu oranges into the United States from Japan, including the island of Kyushu.
Addition of the Philippines to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2020-01836
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-01-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added the Philippines to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in the Philippines.
Environmental Impact Statement; Rangeland Grasshopper and Mormon Cricket Suppression Program: Record of Decision
Document Number: 2020-01835
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-01-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This notice advises the public of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's record of decision for the final environmental impact statement titled Record of Decision for the Programmatic Environmental Impact Statement for the Rangeland Grasshopper and Mormon Cricket Suppression Program.
Approval of Laboratories To Conduct Official Testing; Consolidation of Regulations
Document Number: 2020-01114
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-01-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are consolidating the regulations governing diagnostic laboratory approval authorities for select animal diseases into a single regulation and establishing a set of standard procedures that we will use to conduct future diagnostic laboratory approvals. These consolidated regulations will provide for consistent inspection protocols, proficiency testing methods, quality system guidelines, and definitions and will facilitate the approval of additional laboratories in emergency situations. The consolidated regulations will serve to simplify regulatory oversight and compliance.
User Fees for Agricultural Quarantine and Inspection Services
Document Number: 2020-00659
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-01-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
On May 13, 2016, the Air Transport Association of America, Inc., and the International Air Transport Association filed suit against the United States Department of Agriculture, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS), the Department of Homeland Security, Customs and Border Protection Agency (CBP), the Secretary of Agriculture, the Administrator of APHIS, the Commissioner of CBP, and the Secretary of Homeland Security, claiming APHIS' 2015 final rule setting fee structures for its Agricultural Quarantine and Inspection (AQI) program (Docket No. APHIS-2013-0021, effective December 28, 2015) (2015 Final Rule) violated the Food, Agriculture, Conservation and Trade Act of 1990 (FACT Act) and the Administrative Procedure Act (APA). In its March 28, 2018, Order, the U.S. District Court for the District of Columbia affirmed APHIS' cost methodology and the sufficiency of its data. Air Transport Ass'n of Am., Inc. v. U.S. Dep't of Agric., 303 F. Supp. 3d 28 (D.D.C. 2018). However, the Court held that in the rulemaking for the 2015 Final Rule, the ground upon which APHIS relied to justify setting fees at a level that enabled APHIS to maintain a reasonable balance in the AQI user fee account was an expired provision in the FACT Act. The Court remanded to APHIS the reserve portion of the 2015 Final Rule updating user fees for the AQI program. Accordingly, on April 26, 2019, APHIS published in the Federal Register a interpretative rule and request for comments, titled ``User Fees for Agricultural Quarantine and Inspection Services'' (Docket No. APHIS-2013-0021) (the Interpretive Rule). The Interpretive Rule clarified the agency's statutory authority to collect a reserve fund in support of AQI inspection activities, including by citing unexpired provisions of the FACT Act as the basis for collecting and maintaining a reserve. The Interpretive Rule requested public comment related to the legal authority for the reserve component of the AQI User Fee Program. This document responds to comments received on the Interpretive Rule and finalizes that rule.
Addition of Burma (Myanmar) to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2019-27910
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-12-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Burma (Myanmar) to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in Burma (Myanmar).
Addition of Serbia to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2019-27908
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-12-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Serbia to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in Serbia.
Privacy Act of 1974; System of Records
Document Number: 2019-27800
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-12-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposal to modify a system of records titled the Animal Welfare Act and Horse Protection Act, USDA/APHIS-8. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
National Poultry Improvement Plan and Auxiliary Provisions
Document Number: 2019-23973
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-12-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations governing the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP). These amendments would establish a U.S. Newcastle Disease Clean program within the NPIP, create an NPIP subpart specific to game birds, revise testing requirements, and clarify existing provisions of the regulations. We are also proposing to amend the regulations concerning the payment of indemnity and compensation for low pathogenic avian influenza to reflect current policy and operational practices, and to allow NPIP voting delegates to represent multiple States during the Biennial Conferences. These proposed changes were voted on and approved by the voting delegates at the NPIP's 2018 National Plan Conference.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Scrapie in Sheep and Goats; Interstate Movement Restrictions and Indemnity Program
Document Number: 2019-26115
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-12-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the current regulations for the interstate movement of sheep and goats and an indemnity program to control the spread of scrapie. This notice is separate from any new rulemaking.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Phytosanitary Export Certification
Document Number: 2019-26111
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-12-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the issuance of phytosanitary certificates for plants or plant products being exported to foreign countries.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact; Southwestern Willow Flycatcher Conservation Program
Document Number: 2019-26110
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-12-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the United States Department of Agriculture and its sub-agency, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, have prepared an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact for a conservation program pursuant to the Endangered Species Act to benefit the southwestern willow flycatcher, a small, neotropical migrant bird found in Arizona, California, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, and Utah. Based on our finding of no significant impact, we have determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
International Sanitary and Phytosanitary Standard-Setting Activities
Document Number: 2019-25443
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with legislation implementing the results of the Uruguay Round of negotiations under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, we are informing the public of the international standard- setting activities of the World Organization for Animal Health, the Secretariat of the International Plant Protection Convention, and the North American Plant Protection Organization, and we are soliciting public comment on the standard-setting activities.
Plants for Planting Whose Importation Is Not Authorized Pending Pest Risk Analysis; Notice of Availability of Data Sheets for Taxa of Plants for Planting That are Quarantine Pests or Hosts of Quarantine Pests
Document Number: 2019-25439
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that 26 taxa of plants for planting are quarantine pests, and that all Myrtaceae taxa (when destined to Hawaii), all subfamily Bambusoideae taxa, and 43 other taxa of plants for planting are hosts of 18 quarantine pests, and therefore should be added to our lists of taxa of plants for planting whose importation is not authorized pending pest risk analysis. We have prepared data sheets that detail the scientific evidence we evaluated in making the determination that the taxa are quarantine pests or hosts of quarantine pests. We are making these data sheets available to the public for review and comment.
Swine Health Protection Act; Amendments to Garbage Feeding Regulations
Document Number: 2019-25367
Type: Rule
Date: 2019-11-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Swine Health Protection Act regulations by removing the State status lists from the regulations in order to maintain these lists on the Agency's website. These changes will allow us to use a notice-based, streamlined approach to update the lists while continuing to protect swine health in the United States.
Environmental Impact Statement for Predator Damage Management in Oregon
Document Number: 2019-24720
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service plans to prepare an environmental impact statement analyzing alternatives for predator damage management in Oregon.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Carrots From the Republic of Korea Into the United States
Document Number: 2019-24535
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh carrots from the Republic of Korea into the United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh carrots from the Republic of Korea. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Concurrence With OIE Risk Designations for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
Document Number: 2019-24455
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to concur with the World Organization for Animal Health's (OIE) bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk designations for Nicaragua. The OIE recognizes this region as being of negligible risk for BSE. We are taking this action based on our review of information supporting the OIE's risk designations for this region.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Domestic Quarantine Regulations
Document Number: 2019-23905
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the domestic quarantine regulations for preventing the spread of plant pests and diseases within the United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Veterinary Services Field Operations Export Services Customer Service Survey Project
Document Number: 2019-23904
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection to evaluate service delivery by the Veterinary Services Field Operations Export Service Centers to the public.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Introduction of Organisms and Products Altered or Produced Through Genetic Engineering
Document Number: 2019-23344
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the introduction of organisms and products altered or produced through genetic engineering.
Concurrence With OIE Risk Designations for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
Document Number: 2019-23343
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our preliminary concurrence with the World Organization for Animal Health's (OIE) bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk designations for Ecuador and Serbia. The OIE recognizes Ecuador as being of controlled risk for BSE and Serbia as being of negligible risk for BSE. We are taking this action based on our review of information supporting the OIE's risk designations for these regions.
Privacy Act of 1974; System of Records
Document Number: 2019-23210
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 and Office of Management and Budget Circular No. A-108, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) gives notice that a component agency, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS), proposes to modify an existing system of records notice titled Veterinary ServicesAnimal Welfare, USDA/APHIS-8. Among other changes, the system will be renamed Animal Welfare Act and Horse Protection Act, USDA/APHIS-8.
Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Guava From Taiwan Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-22648
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation of fresh guava fruit from Taiwan into the continental United States. Based on the findings of the pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public to review and comment through a previous notice, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh guava fruit from Taiwan.
Notice of Determination of the Foot-and-Mouth Disease Status of Singapore
Document Number: 2019-22646
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination to recognize Singapore as being free of foot-and-mouth disease (FMD). Based on our evaluation of the FMD status of Singapore, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, the Administrator has determined that Singapore is free of FMD.
Notice of a Determination Regarding the Fever Tick Status of the State of Baja California, Mexico
Document Number: 2019-22645
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that the State of Baja California, Mexico is free from Rhipicephalus (formerly Boophilus) spp. ticks, known as fever ticks. The evaluation determined that this region is free from fever ticks and that ruminants imported from the area pose a low risk of exposing ruminants within the United States.
Notice of Determination; Changes to the Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Certification Program Standards
Document Number: 2019-22453
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are updating the Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) Herd Certification Program Standards. In a previous notice, we made available to the public for review and comment proposed changes to the CWD Program Standards to provide guidance on how to meet CWD Herd Certification Program and interstate movement requirements.
Changes to the National Poultry Improvement Plan Program Standards
Document Number: 2019-22299
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are updating the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) Program Standards. In a previous notice, we made available to the public for review and comment proposed changes to the NPIP Program Standards. These changes will be added to the NPIP Program Standards.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Health Management on U.S. Feedlots 2020 Study
Document Number: 2019-21924
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection to conduct the National Animal Health Monitoring System Health Management on U.S. Feedlots 2020 Study.
Determination of Regulatory Review Period for Purposes of Patent Extension; Porcine Circovirus Vaccine, Type 1-Type 2 Chimera, Killed Virus, Mycoplasma Hyopneumoniae Bacterin
Document Number: 2019-21677
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-10-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined the regulatory review period for Porcine Circovirus Vaccine, Type 1-Type 2 Chimera, Killed Virus, Mycoplasma Hyopneumoniae Bacterin and is publishing this notice of that determination as required by law. We have made this determination in response to the submission of an application to the Commissioner for Patents, Department of Commerce, for the extension of a patent that claims that veterinary biologic.
Monsanto Company; Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Cotton Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2019-20961
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from Monsanto Company seeking a determination of nonregulated status for cotton designated as MON 88702, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to certain insects, primarily Lygus spp. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the Monsanto petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that APHIS may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.