Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 1 - 50 of 2,364
Plant Pest Regulations
Document Number: 2019-13246
Type: Rule
Date: 2019-06-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are revising our regulations regarding the movement of plant pests. We are also adding criteria to the regulations for the importation, interstate movement, and release of biological control organisms. This final rule also establishes regulations to allow the interstate movement of certain plant pests and biological control organisms without restriction by granting exceptions from permit requirements for those pests and organisms. Finally, we are revising our regulations regarding the importation and interstate movement of soil. This rule clarifies the points that we will consider when assessing the risks associated with the movement and release of certain organisms and facilitates the movement of regulated organisms and articles in a manner that protects U.S. agriculture.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Horse Protection Regulations
Document Number: 2019-13149
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-06-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the Horse Protection Program and enforcement of the Horse Protection Act.
Swine Health Protection Act; Amendments to Garbage Feeding Regulations
Document Number: 2019-13154
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-06-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the Swine Health Protection Act regulations by removing the State status lists from the regulations in order to maintain these lists on the Agency's website. These changes would allow us to use a notice-based, streamlined approach to update the lists while continuing to protect swine health in the United States.
Scrapie in Sheep and Goats; Correction
Document Number: 2019-12820
Type: Rule
Date: 2019-06-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule that was published in the Federal Register on March 25, 2019, and effective on April 24, 2019, we amended the regulations by changing the requirements for records needed to trace animals and by adding provisions to link official individual animal identification applied by persons other than the flock owner to the flock of origin in the National Scrapie Database rather than just the person who applied the official identification. This document corrects an error in that final rule.
Concurrence With OIE Risk Designation for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
Document Number: 2019-12654
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our preliminary concurrence with the World Organization for Animal Health's (OIE) bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk designation for Nicaragua. The OIE recognizes this region as being of negligible risk for BSE. We are taking this action based on our review of information supporting the OIE's risk designation for this region.
Addition of Mongolia to the List of Regions Affected by African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2019-12067
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-06-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Mongolia to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We are taking this action because of the confirmation of ASF in Mongolia.
Environmental Impact Statement for Predator Damage Management in Idaho
Document Number: 2019-12066
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-06-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service plans to prepare an environmental impact statement (EIS) analyzing alternatives for predator damage management in Idaho. This notice proposes issues and alternatives for consideration in the EIS and requests public comments to further delineate the scope of the alternatives, the environmental issues, and other issues of public concern to be considered.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment; Importation of Plants in Approved Growing Media Into the United States
Document Number: 2019-12020
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-06-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our draft programmatic environmental assessment for the importation of plants in approved growing media, which considers the potential environmental effects of a standardized set of pest risk mitigations for routine market requests to import plants in approved growing media. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Movement of Certain Genetically Engineered Organisms
Document Number: 2019-11704
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-06-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to revise our regulations regarding the movement (importation, interstate movement, and environmental release) of certain genetically engineered organisms in response to advances in genetic engineering and our understanding of the plant pest risk posed by them, thereby reducing regulatory burden for developers of organisms that are unlikely to pose plant pest risks. This proposed rule, which would mark the first comprehensive revision of the regulations since they were established in 1987, would provide a clear, predictable, and efficient regulatory pathway for innovators, facilitating the development of new and novel genetically engineered organisms that are unlikely to pose plant pest risks.
Approval of Laboratories To Conduct Official Testing; Consolidation of Regulations
Document Number: 2019-11278
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-05-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to consolidate the regulations governing diagnostic laboratory approval authorities for select animal diseases into a single regulation and establish a set of standard procedures which we may use to conduct future diagnostic laboratory approvals. The consolidated regulations would provide consistent inspection protocols, proficiency testing methods, quality system guidelines, and definitions. This would also facilitate the approval of additional laboratories in emergency situations. The consolidated regulations would serve to simplify regulatory oversight and compliance.
Animal Welfare; Amendments to Licensing Provisions and to Requirements for Dogs
Document Number: 2019-11031
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-05-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that would amend the licensing requirements under the Animal Welfare Act regulations to promote compliance, reduce licensing fees, and strengthen existing safeguards that prevent individuals and businesses who have a history of noncompliance from obtaining a license or working with regulated animals. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment for the Release of Cheilosia urbana
Document Number: 2019-11027
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to permitting the release of the hoverfly Cheilosia urbana for the biological control of invasive hawkweeds (Pilosella species) within the contiguous United States. Based on the environmental assessment and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that the release of these control agents will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment for the Release of Aphalara Itadori for the Biological Control of Japanese, Giant, and Bohemian Knotweeds
Document Number: 2019-11026
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to permitting the release of Aphalara itadori for the biological control of Japanese, Giant, and Bohemian knotweeds (Fallopia japonica, F. sachalinensis, and F. x bohemica), significant invasive weeds, within the contiguous United States. Based on the environmental assessment and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that the release of this biological control organism will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Decision To Revise Conditions Governing the Importation of Fresh Peppers From the Republic of Korea Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-09514
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to revise the conditions regarding the importation into the continental United States of peppers from the Republic of Korea. We have decided that the mesh size of screenings over vent openings can be increased from 0.6 mm to 1.6 mm, provided that sticky traps are used as an additional measure for pest monitoring. This action modifies the conditions under which peppers from the Republic of Korea may be imported into the continental United States while continuing to protect against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Pepper Fruit From Colombia Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-09512
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh pepper fruit from Colombia into the continental United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh pepper fruit from Colombia. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Importation of Dianthus spp. From Kenya
Document Number: 2019-09511
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public that we propose to make changes to the import requirements in the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Plants for Planting Manual for imports of Dianthus spp. (carnation) cuttings from Kenya. Currently, Dianthus spp. cuttings from Kenya require mandatory postentry quarantine within the United States. We are proposing to allow Dianthus spp. cuttings from Kenya to be imported into the United States without postentry quarantine, subject to certain conditions. These changes to the USDA Plants for Planting Manual would relieve restrictions on Dianthus spp. cuttings from Kenya while continuing to address the possible introduction of quarantine pests through the importation of such cuttings. We are making these changes available to the public for review and comment.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan; Meeting
Document Number: 2019-09015
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice of a meeting of the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Mamey Sapote Fruit From Mexico Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-08970
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh mamey sapote fruit from Mexico into the continental United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh mamey sapote fruit from Mexico. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Mombin Fruit From Mexico Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-08969
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh mombin fruit from Mexico into the continental United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh mombin fruit from Mexico. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Soursop Fruit From Mexico Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-08966
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh soursop fruit from Mexico into the continental United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh soursop fruit from Mexico. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Sapodilla Fruit From Mexico Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-08965
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh sapodilla fruit from Mexico into the continental United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh sapodilla fruit from Mexico. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Citrus From China Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-08767
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation of fresh citrus fruit (pomelo, Nanfeng honey mandarin, ponkan, sweet orange, and Satsuma mandarin) from China into the continental United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh citrus fruit from China. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
User Fees for Agricultural Quarantine and Inspection Services
Document Number: 2019-08394
Type: Rule
Date: 2019-04-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
On May 13, 2016, the Air Transport Association of America filed suit against the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS), claiming APHIS' 2015 final rule setting fee structures for its Agricultural Quarantine Inspection (AQI) program (Docket No. APHIS- 2013-0021, effective December 28, 2015) violated the Administrative Procedure Act. In its March 28, 2018 Order, the U.S District Court for the District of Columbia rejected challenges based on the calculations and methods for setting the fees and APHIS' adoption of the final rule. However, the Court also held that APHIS improperly relied on an expired provision in the relevant statute to justify its ability to levy a fee to support a reserve account. In so doing, the Court did ``not evaluate or rule on the agency's current argument that it has authority to fund a reserve'' pursuant to other statutory authority. In this clarification to the final rule, APHIS clarifies that, while we accept the court's holding that congressional authority under one specific provision of the statute to maintain a reasonable balance in the reserve account expired in 2002, this expiration does not abrogate our authority to collect for a reserve, as that authorization is written into other provisions of the statute. This interpretation is consistent with APHIS' long-standing precedent as set forth in prior rulemakings. The agency is only seeking comments related to the legal authority for the reserve component of AQI User Fee Program and is not reexamining any other aspect of the program at this time, including the AQI User Fee calculation.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Swine 2020 Study
Document Number: 2019-08351
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-04-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection to conduct the National Animal Health Monitoring System's Swine 2020 Study.
Phytophthora ramorum; Regulated Areas, Regulated Establishments, and Testing Protocols
Document Number: 2019-07798
Type: Rule
Date: 2019-04-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Phytophthora ramorum regulations to remove regulated areas for P. ramorum from the regulations, as well as all regulatory requirements specific to such areas. We are revising the inspection and sampling requirements for certain nurseries that are in areas quarantined for P. ramorum and that ship regulated nursery stock interstate to have them take into consideration additional potential sources of P. ramorum inoculum at the nurseries. Finally, we are establishing conditions under which we would regulate nurseries located outside of the quarantined areas for P. ramorum, if sources of P. ramorum inoculum are detected at those nurseries and the nurseries ship certain articles interstate. These changes will provide regulatory relief to nurseries in areas that are regulated for P. ramorum, while also ensuring that nurseries that may pose a risk of disseminating P. ramorum through the interstate movement of regulated nursery stock are subject to measures that address this risk.
Notice of Proposed Revision To Import Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Fragrant Pears From China Into the United States
Document Number: 2019-07665
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-04-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis relative to the importation into the United States of fragrant pears from an additional area of production in China. Based on the findings of the analysis, we are proposing to authorize the importation of fragrant pears from this additional area of production in China and revise the conditions under which fragrant pears from authorized areas of production in China may be imported into the United States. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Draft Environmental Impact Statement and Preliminary Pest Risk Assessment for Permit for Release of Genetically Engineered Citrus Tristeza Virus
Document Number: 2019-07439
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-04-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our notice that made available a draft environmental impact statement (EIS) and preliminary pest risk assessment (PRA) regarding the potential environmental impacts and plant pest risk associated with the proposed environmental release of genetically engineered Citrus tristeza virus. We have updated the EIS and PRA in light of recently published scientific research regarding the vectoring of Citrus tristeza virus, and are making the updated EIS and PRA available for public review and comment. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments on these revised documents.
Notice of Availability of Proposed Changes to the National Poultry Improvement Plan Program Standards
Document Number: 2019-07214
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-04-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that proposed changes to the National Poultry Improvement Plan Program Standards are available for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment; Importation of Plants in Approved Growing Media Into the United States
Document Number: 2019-07071
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-04-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available a draft programmatic environmental assessment for the importation of plants in approved growing media. The programmatic environmental assessment considers the potential environmental effects of a standardized set of pest risk mitigations for routine market requests to import plants in approved growing media. The programmatic environmental assessment would eliminate the need to prepare a unique environmental assessment for each routine market request, thereby making the process for approving imports of plants in approved growing media simpler and more efficient. We are making the programmatic environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
BASF Plant Science, LP; Availability of a Draft Plant Pest Risk Assessment and Draft Environmental Assessment for Canola Genetically Engineered for Altered Oil Profile and Resistance to an Imidazolinone Herbicide
Document Number: 2019-06630
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-04-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available for public comment a draft plant pest risk assessment (PPRA) and draft environmental assessment (EA) for canola designated as event LBFLFK, which has been genetically engineered (GE) to allow for the synthesis of long chain omega-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids, including eicosapentaenoic acid and docosahexaenoic acid, from oleic acid in canola seed. The GE canola has also been genetically engineered for resistance to an imidazolinone herbicide. We are making the draft PPRA and draft EA available for public review and comment.
Evaluation and Recognition of the Animal Health Status of Compartments
Document Number: 2019-06473
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-04-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to establish standards to allow us to recognize compartments for animal disease status, consistent with World Organization for Animal Health international standards. Under this proposed rule, when a foreign government submits a request for recognition of a compartment, we would conduct a disease risk assessment based on a list of eight factors that closely parallel those we use when conducting regionalization evaluations, and we would provide for public notice of and comment on the risk assessment. We would also add provisions for imposing import restrictions and/or prohibitions when a compartment we have recognized as disease-free experiences an outbreak and for lifting those sanctions once the outbreak has been controlled. These proposed standards would provide a tool that may be used to preserve international trade when regionalization is not feasible.
Brucellosis and Bovine Tuberculosis; Update of General Provisions
Document Number: 2019-05851
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-03-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are announcing a partial withdrawal of a proposed rule published in the Federal Register on December 16, 2015, that, if finalized, would have consolidated the regulations governing bovine tuberculosis and those governing brucellosis. Specifically, we are withdrawing those portions of the proposed rule that would have affected the provisions governing our domestic brucellosis and tuberculosis programs. We are taking this action after considering the comments we received following the publication of the proposed rule.
Addition of China to the List of Regions Affected by African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2019-05680
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-03-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added China to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We are taking this action because of the confirmation of ASF in China.
Supplemental Requirements for Importation of Fresh Citrus From Colombia Into the United States
Document Number: 2019-05679
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-03-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are affirming the supplemental requirements we added for the importation of fresh sweet orange, grapefruit, mandarin, clementine, and tangerine fruit from Colombia into the United States. In a previous notice, we made available to the public for review and comment supplemental requirements for mitigating pest risks posed by the importation of those commodities from Colombia into the United States. We also made available a pest risk assessment and commodity import evaluation document. After reviewing the comments we received on those documents, we are affirming the supplemental requirements we added to the Fruits and Vegetables Import Requirements database.
Importation of Fresh Jujube Fruit From China Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-05566
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-03-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation of fresh jujube fruit from China into the continental United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh jujube fruit from China. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Scrapie in Sheep and Goats
Document Number: 2019-05430
Type: Rule
Date: 2019-03-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the scrapie regulations by changing the risk groups and categories established for individual animals and for flocks, increasing the use of genetic testing as a means of assigning risk levels to animals, reducing movement restrictions for animals found to be genetically less susceptible or resistant to scrapie, and simplifying, reducing, or removing certain recordkeeping requirements. We are also providing designated scrapie epidemiologists with more alternatives and flexibility when testing animals in order to determine flock designations under the regulations. We are changing the definition of high-risk animal, which will change the types of animals eligible for indemnity, and to pay higher indemnity for certain pregnant ewes and does and early maturing ewes and does. The changes will also make the identification and recordkeeping requirements for goat owners consistent with those for sheep owners. These changes affect sheep and goat producers, persons who handle sheep and goats in interstate commerce, and State governments.
Animal Welfare; Amendments to Licensing Provisions and to Requirements for Dogs
Document Number: 2019-05422
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-03-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the licensing requirements under the Animal Welfare Act regulations to promote compliance, reduce licensing fees, and strengthen existing safeguards that prevent individuals and businesses who have a history of noncompliance from obtaining a license or working with regulated animals. This action will reduce regulatory burden with respect to licensing and will more efficiently ensure licensees' sustained compliance with the Act. We are further proposing to strengthen the veterinary care and watering standards for regulated dogs to better align the regulations with the humane care and treatment standards set by the Animal Welfare Act. Additionally, we are proposing to make several miscellaneous changes for clarity and to correct typographical errors.
Notice of Availability of an Evaluation of the Foot-and-Mouth Disease Status of Singapore
Document Number: 2019-05073
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-03-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to recognize Singapore as being free of foot-and-mouth disease. This proposed recognition is based on an evaluation we have prepared in connection with this action, which we are making available for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of an Evaluation of the Fever Tick Status of the State of Baja California, Mexico
Document Number: 2019-05072
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-03-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public that we have prepared an evaluation of the State of Baja California, Mexico for fever ticks. The evaluation concludes that this region is free from fever ticks, and that ruminants imported from the area pose a low risk of exposing ruminants within the United States to fever ticks. We are making the evaluation available for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Sand Pears From China
Document Number: 2019-04858
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-03-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of sand pears from China into the United States.
Verdeca LLC; Availability of a Draft Plant Pest Risk Assessment and a Draft Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Yield Increase and Resistance to Glufosinate
Document Number: 2019-04537
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-03-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available for public comment a draft plant pest risk assessment (PPRA) and a draft environmental assessment (EA) for the new plant variety HB4 soybean designated as event IND-00410-5, which has been genetically engineered for increased yield and resistance to the herbicide glufosinate. We are making the draft PPRA and draft EA available for public review and comment.
Administrative Changes to the Regulations Governing the National Veterinary Accreditation Program
Document Number: 2019-04166
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-03-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations governing the National Veterinary Accreditation Program by clarifying the veterinary programs for which accredited veterinarians are authorized to perform duties under the Animal Health Protection Act. We are also proposing to add or revise certain definitions and terms used in the regulations. The changes we propose would update the program regulations.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fresh Andean Blackberry and Raspberry Fruit From Ecuador Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-03859
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-03-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the importation of fresh Andean blackberry and raspberry fruit from Ecuador into the continental United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Wooden Handicrafts From China
Document Number: 2019-03858
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-03-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of wooden handicrafts from China.
Environmental Impact Statement for Predator Damage Management in Idaho
Document Number: 2019-03834
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-03-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service plans to prepare an environmental impact statement analyzing alternatives for predator damage management in Idaho.
Amendments to the Pale Cyst Nematode Regulations
Document Number: 2019-03673
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-03-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the domestic quarantine regulations for pale cyst nematode by adding procedures that would allow persons to review and comment on the protocols for regulating and deregulating quarantine and associated areas. As part of this proposal, we are making the protocols publicly available. We are proposing these actions in response to a court order requiring the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service to facilitate public input into the development of protocols for deregulating fields for pale cyst nematode. The changes we propose would make the protocols more accessible and give persons the opportunity to comment on their development.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment for the Release of Biological Control of Brazilian Peppertree
Document Number: 2019-03322
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to permitting the release of Calophya latiforceps and Pseudophilothrips ichini for the biological control of Brazilian peppertree, a significant invasive weed, within the contiguous United States. Based on the environmental assessment and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that the release of these control agents will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for an Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Citrus From Peru
Document Number: 2019-02858
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-02-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with importation of citrus from Peru.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; Agriculture Select Agent Services; Import and Transport Permits for Non-Select Materials
Document Number: 2019-02857
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-02-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a reinstatement of an information collection associated with the regulations for import and transport permits.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; Importation of Swine Hides, Bird Trophies, and Deer Hides
Document Number: 2019-02856
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-02-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of swine hides, bird trophies, and deer hides.