Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 1 - 50 of 2,789
Swine Vesicular Disease Status of the Regions of Tuscany and Umbria, Italy
Document Number: 2024-12829
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-06-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are recognizing the regions of Tuscany and Umbria, Italy as being free of swine vesicular disease. This recognition is based on a risk evaluation we prepared in connection with this action and made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice. As a result of this action, live swine, pork, and pork products may safely be imported into the United States from the regions of Tuscany and Umbria, Italy subject to conditions in the regulations. This notice also announces the availability of our final environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact.
Decision To Recognize Freedom From Citrus Longhorned Beetle and Asian Longhorned Beetle in Certain Countries
Document Number: 2024-12830
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-06-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public that we are updating the U.S. Department of Agriculture Plants for Planting Manual by recognizing the United Kingdom and 21 European Union Member States as being free from citrus longhorned beetle (CLB) and Asian longhorned beetle (ALB) and removing them from the list of countries where CLB and ALB are present. We are also changing the entry conditions in the manual for imports of certain host plant taxa of CLB and ALB from Belgium, Denmark, the Netherlands, and the United Kingdom because they have previously approved genera exempted from the category of plants Not Authorized Pending Pest Risk Analysis. These changes will relieve certain restrictions on imports of host plants of CLB and ALB into the United States from Belgium, Denmark, the Netherlands, and the United Kingdom while continuing to mitigate the risk of introducing quarantine pests into the United States.
National Poultry Improvement Plan and Auxiliary Provisions
Document Number: 2024-12659
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2024-06-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations governing the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP). These amendments would, among other things, condition indemnity for low pathogenicity avian influenza on adherence to biosecurity plans, clarify existing provisions of the regulations, fix editorial errors, and align the regulations more closely with current producer practices. These proposed changes were voted on and approved by the voting delegates at the NPIP's 2022 National Plan Conference.
Horse Protection Amendments; Correction
Document Number: 2024-12315
Type: Rule
Date: 2024-06-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This document corrects errors in amendatory instructions in the final rule entitled "Horse Protection Amendments," which was published in the Federal Register on May 8, 2024.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Control and Eradication of African Swine Fever; Conditions for Payment of Indemnity Claims
Document Number: 2024-12139
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the payment of indemnity claims related to African swine fever.
Implementation of Revised Lacey Act Provisions
Document Number: 2024-11901
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-05-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Food, Conservation, and Energy Act of 2008 amended the Lacey Act to provide, in part, that importers submit a declaration at the time of importation for certain plants and plant products. Enforcement of the declaration requirement began on April 1, 2009, and products requiring a declaration are being phased-in. The purpose of this notice is to inform the public of another phase of the Federal Government's enforcement schedule.
Addition of Aruba, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Hong Kong, Iran, Timor-Leste, and Yemen to the List of Regions Affected by Screwworm
Document Number: 2024-11318
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-05-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Aruba, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Hong Kong, Iran, Timor-Leste, and Yemen to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) list maintained on the APHIS website of regions considered affected with screwworm. We took this action because of the confirmation of screwworm in these regions.
Spotted Lanternfly Cooperative Control Program; Programmatic Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact
Document Number: 2024-10648
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-05-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a programmatic environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to the Spotted Lanternfly Cooperative Control Program in the conterminous United States. The environmental assessment documents our review and analysis of environmental impacts associated with the Spotted Lanternfly Cooperative Control Program. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Notice of Withdrawal of Select Agent Regulatory Exclusion for African Swine Fever Virus-G-ΔI177L
Document Number: 2024-10770
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-05-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has withdrawn the select agent regulatory exclusion for African swine fever virus (ASFV) strain, ASFV-G- [Delta]I177L. Possession, use, and transfer of this strain must now comply with the select agent and toxin regulations. APHIS withdrew the select agent regulatory exclusion for this strain because it has evaluated new information and determined that this strain, when adapted to cell lines other than that used for virus development, has the potential to pose a severe threat to animal health or animal products.
Use of Electronic Identification Eartags as Official Identification in Cattle and Bison
Document Number: 2024-09717
Type: Rule
Date: 2024-05-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the animal disease traceability regulations to require that eartags applied on or after a date 180 days after publication in the Federal Register of this final rule be both visually and electronically readable in order to be recognized for use as official eartags for interstate movement of cattle and bison covered under the regulations. We are also clarifying certain record retention and record access requirements and revising some requirements pertaining to slaughter cattle. These changes will enhance the ability of Tribal, State and Federal officials, private veterinarians, and livestock producers to quickly respond to high-impact diseases currently existing in the United States, as well as foreign animal diseases that threaten the viability of the U.S. cattle and bison industries.
Horse Protection Amendments
Document Number: 2024-09469
Type: Rule
Date: 2024-05-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the horse protection regulations to provide that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service will screen, train, and authorize qualified persons for appointment by the management of any horse show, horse exhibition, or horse sale or auction to detect and diagnose soring at such events for the purposes of enforcing the Horse Protection Act. These and other regulatory amendments will strengthen the Agency's efforts to protect horses from the cruel and inhumane practice of soring as the Act requires and by so doing eliminate unfair competition.
User Fees for Agricultural Quarantine and Inspection Services
Document Number: 2024-09348
Type: Rule
Date: 2024-05-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the user fee regulations associated with the agricultural quarantine and inspection (AQI) program. Specifically, we are adjusting the fees for certain AQI services that are provided in connection with certain commercial vessels, commercial trucks, commercial railroad cars, commercial aircraft, and international passengers arriving at ports in the customs territory of the United States or precleared or preinspected at a site outside the customs territory of the United States; adjusting the caps on prepaid fees associated with commercial trucks and commercial railroad cars; and removing certain fee exemptions that are no longer justifiable based upon pathway analyses of risk. We are also revising requirements pertaining to remittances and statements. Specifically, we will require monthly rather than quarterly remittances for the commercial aircraft fee, international air passenger fee, and international cruise passenger fee, clarify our requirements, and provide for electronic payments and statements. We are also including in the regulations information on agents responsible for ensuring compliance with paying the user fees and the requirement for entities to notify the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service in the event they have a change in personnel responsible for fee payments. These changes are necessary to recover the costs of the current level of AQI activity, to account for actual and projected increases in the cost of doing business, to increase fee payer accountability, and to more accurately align fees with the costs associated with each fee service.
National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee: Intent To Reestablish
Document Number: 2024-08919
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-04-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Pursuant to the Federal Advisory Committee Act, as amended (5 U.S.C. 10) notice is hereby given that the Secretary of Agriculture (Secretary) intends to reestablish the National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee (the "Committee") for a 2-year period. The Secretary has determined that the Committee is necessary and in the public interest.
Import Regulations for Horses; Technical Amendments
Document Number: 2024-07370
Type: Rule
Date: 2024-04-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule published in the Federal Register on September 14, 2023, and effective on October 16, 2023, we amended the regulations governing the importation of equines to better align our regulations with international standards, as well as to clarify existing policy or intent, and correct inconsistencies or outdated information. However, in amending the regulations for horses that are refused entry, we neglected to account for rare and specific situations in which an imported horse's death during travel can be determined to be unrelated to foreign animal disease risk. Additionally, in aiming to improve the readability of the regulations governing equines imported from Canada, we inadvertently changed the regulations to incorrectly read that certificates for horses from Canada must be issued and endorsed, rather than issued or endorsed, by a salaried veterinarian of the Canadian Government. This document corrects those errors.
Domestic Quarantine: Quarantined Areas and Regulated Articles; Technical Amendment
Document Number: 2024-07038
Type: Rule
Date: 2024-04-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule published in the Federal Register on December 29, 2022, and effective on January 30, 2023, we amended the regulations governing domestic quarantines for various plant pests by removing lists of quarantined areas and regulated articles from the regulations in order to maintain these lists on web pages maintained by the Agency. However, in the regulations governing black stem rust, we incorrectly stated that the web page listing articles determined to be rust- resistant only listed species and varieties of the genus Berberis, rather than species and varieties of the genera Berberis, Mahoberberis, and Mahonia. Therefore, we are amending the paragraph to correct the omission.
Notice of Availability of Pest Risk Analyses for the Importation of Rosemary and Tarragon From Ethiopia Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2024-07104
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-04-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared pest risk analyses that evaluate the risks associated with the importation of leaves and stems of rosemary and leaves and stems of tarragon from Ethiopia into the continental United States. Based on the analyses, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of rosemary and tarragon from Ethiopia. We are making the pest risk analyses available to the public for review and comment.
Privacy Act of 1974; System of Records
Document Number: 2024-06941
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-04-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 and Office of Management and Budget Circular No. A-108, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) gives notice that an agency component, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS), proposes to modify an existing system of records notice titled, APHIS Animal Health Surveillance and Monitoring System, USDA/APHIS-15. Among other changes, the system will be renamed Animal Health, Disease, and Pest Surveillance and Management System, USDA/APHIS-15. This system is used by APHIS to collect, manage, and evaluate animal health data for disease and pest control and surveillance programs.
Addition of Kosovo and Mozambique to the List of Regions Affected With Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza
Document Number: 2024-06942
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-04-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Kosovo and Mozambique to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected by highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). These actions follow our imposition of HPAI-related restrictions on avian commodities originating from or transiting Kosovo or Mozambique, as a result of the confirmation of HPAI in these countries.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Hass Avocado From Guatemala Into the United States
Document Number: 2024-06601
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-03-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation of fresh Hass avocado (Persea americana var. Hass) fruit from Guatemala into the United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh Hass avocado fruit from Guatemala into the United States. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Bayer; Availability of a Draft Environmental Impact Statement and a Draft Plant Risk Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status for Maize Developed Using Genetic Engineering for Dicamba, Glufosinate, Quizalofop, and 2,4-Dichlorophenoxyacetic Acid Resistance, With Tissue-Specific Glyphosate Resistance Facilitating the Production of Hybrid Maize Seed
Document Number: 2024-06050
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-03-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has prepared a draft environmental impact statement (EIS) and draft plant pest risk assessment (PPRA) evaluating the potential environmental impacts and plant pest risk that may result from the approval of a petition for nonregulated status for maize developed using genetic engineering for dicamba, glufosinate, quizalofop, and 2,4-dichlorophenoxyacetic resistance with tissue- specific glyphosate resistance facilitating the production of hybrid maize seed. We are making the draft EIS and draft PPRA available for public review and comment.
Addition of Black Stem Rust-Resistant Barberry Plant Varieties to Regulated Articles List
Document Number: 2024-05807
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-03-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to add 32 varieties to the list of black stem rust-resistant barberry species and varieties. This change would allow for the interstate movement of these newly developed varieties without unnecessary restrictions.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan; Solicitation for Membership
Document Number: 2024-04519
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-03-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture is soliciting nominations for the election of a member at-large and regional members and their alternates for the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan and 46th Biennial Conference
Document Number: 2024-04515
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-03-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice of a meeting of the General Conference Committee (GCC or the Committee) of the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) and the NPIP's 46th Biennial Conference.
Bayer U.S.-Crop Science: Availability of a Petition for a Determination of Nonregulated Status for Lepidopteran-Protected Maize
Document Number: 2024-04395
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-03-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition from Bayer U.S.-Crop Science seeking a determination of nonregulated status for maize (corn) event MON 95379 that has been developed using genetic engineering to produce two insecticidal proteins to protect against feeding damage caused by target lepidopteran pests. We are making the petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential issues and impacts that we may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Study To Understand Knowledge and Beliefs About Translocation of Wild Pigs
Document Number: 2024-03790
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-02-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection associated with a study to understand knowledge and beliefs about translocation and release of wild pigs.
Notice of Decision To Authorize the Importation of Ugu Leaves (Telfairia occidentalis Hook.f.) From Nigeria Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2024-03789
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-02-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation of fresh Ugu leaves (Telfairia occidentalis Hook.f.) from Nigeria into the continental United States. Based on findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh Ugu leaves from Nigeria.
Notice of Availability of Final Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for Release of Psyllaephagus euphyllurae for Biological Control of Olive Psyllid in the Contiguous United States
Document Number: 2024-03378
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-02-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a final environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to permitting the release of the insect Psyllaephagus euphyllurae for biological control of olive psyllid (Euphyllura olivina) in the contiguous United States. Based on our finding of no significant impact, we have determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002; Biennial Review and Republication of the Select Agent and Toxin List
Document Number: 2024-01501
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2024-01-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002, we are proposing to amend and republish the list of select agents and toxins that have the potential to pose a severe threat to animal or plant health, or to animal or plant products. This Act requires the biennial review and republication of the list of select agents and toxins and the revision of the list as necessary. This action would implement findings from the biennial review for the list. The biennial review was initiated within 2 years of the completion of the previous biennial review. In addition, we are proposing to add definitions for several terms; codify policies regarding the role of responsible officials and alternate responsible officials, conclusion of patient care, and annual internal inspections; and revise or clarify provisions related to validated inactivation procedures and viable select agent removal methods, recordkeeping, non-possession of select agents and toxins, electronic Federal Select Agent Programs, registration, Tier 1 enhancements, and exclusion of naturally infected animals. We are also proposing to add requirements for reporting discoveries of select agents and toxins, provisions regarding effluent decontamination system, biosafety provisions for facility verification requirements for registered biosafety level 3 and animal biosafety level 3 laboratories, a new requirement related to restricted experiments, and to correct editorial errors. These proposed changes would economically benefit producers, research and reference laboratories, and State and Federal oversight agencies, while also maintaining adequate program oversight of select agents and toxins.
Notice of Availability of Pest Risk Analyses for the Importation of Fresh Thyme, Marjoram, and Oregano From Kenya Into the United States
Document Number: 2024-00744
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-01-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared pest risk analyses that evaluate the risks associated with the importation of fresh thyme, marjoram, and oregano from Kenya into the United States. Based on the analyses, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh thyme, marjoram, and oregano from Kenya into the United States. We are making the pest risk analyses available to the public for review and comment.
Importation of Fresh Rhizomes of Turmeric (Curcuma longa L.) for Consumption From Mexico Into the United States
Document Number: 2024-00267
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-01-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh rhizomes of turmeric (Curcuma longa L.) for consumption from Mexico into the United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh rhizomes of turmeric from Mexico. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Reclassification of Nuevo León, Mexico to Level V for Bovine Tuberculosis
Document Number: 2024-00265
Type: Notice
Date: 2024-01-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have reclassified the region of Nuevo Le[oacute]n, Mexico as Level V for bovine tuberculosis. Previously, the Nuevo Le[oacute]n region was classified as Level IV for bovine tuberculosis. We took this action based on an onsite review of the bovine tuberculosis control and eradication program in Nuevo Le[oacute]n.
Movement of Organisms Modified or Produced Through Genetic Engineering; Notice of Proposed Exemptions; Reopening of Comment Period
Document Number: 2023-28545
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-12-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our notice that proposes to add five new types of genetic modifications a plant can contain and be exempt from the regulations for the movement of organisms modified or produced through genetic engineering because such modifications could otherwise be achieved through conventional breeding methods. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Citrus Canker; Designating Alabama a Commercial Citrus-Producing Area
Document Number: 2023-27034
Type: Rule
Date: 2023-12-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are revising the regulations to designate the State of Alabama as a commercial citrus-producing area in the current citrus canker regulations, and to update the scientific name for citrus canker used in the regulations. The State of Alabama has stated that it has commercial citrus production in the State, and the scientific name used in the regulations for citrus canker is obsolete and no longer used. These actions will update the regulations in order to provide Alabama protections that are afforded under the regulations to commercial citrus-producing States and be current as to the scientific name for citrus canker.
Addition of Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo to the List of Regions Affected by African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2023-26865
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-12-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Bosnia and Herzegovina and Kosovo to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) list maintained on the APHIS website of regions considered to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of the confirmation of ASF in those countries.
Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.; Determination of Nonregulated Status for Insect Resistant and Herbicide-Tolerant Maize
Document Number: 2023-26458
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-12-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that DP23211 maize (corn), which has been developed using genetic engineering for insect resistance to western corn rootworm and contains the gene that codes for the phosphinothricin acetyltransferase protein responsible for tolerance to glufosinate-ammonium herbicides, and also the gene that encodes for the phosphomannose isomerase protein as a selectable marker, is no longer considered regulated. Our determination is based on our evaluation of information Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc. submitted in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analyses, and public comments received in response to previous notices announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and our associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Addition of Bolivia to the List of Regions Affected With Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza
Document Number: 2023-26228
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-11-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we added Bolivia to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). This action follows our imposition of HPAI-related restrictions on the importation of avian commodities originating from or transiting Bolivia as a result of the confirmation of HPAI in that country.
Addition of Singapore to the List of Regions Affected by African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2023-26234
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-11-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Singapore to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) list maintained on the APHIS website of regions considered to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of the confirmation of ASF in Singapore.
Movement of Organisms Modified or Produced Through Genetic Engineering; Notice of Proposed Exemptions
Document Number: 2023-25122
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-11-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to add five new types of genetic modifications a plant can contain and be exempt from the regulations for the movement of organisms modified or produced through genetic engineering because such modifications could otherwise be achieved through conventional breeding methods. First, we propose any diploid or autopolyploid plant with any combination of loss of function modifications (i.e., a modification that eliminates a gene's function) in one to all alleles of a single genetic locus, or any allopolyploid plant with any combination of loss of function modifications in one or both alleles of a single genetic locus on up to four pairs of homoeologous chromosomes, without the insertion of exogenous DNA, would qualify for exemption. Second, we propose that any diploid or autopolyploid plant in which the genetic modification is a single contiguous deletion of any size, resulting from cellular repair of one or two targeted DNA breaks on a single chromosome or at the same location(s) on two or more homologous chromosomes, without insertion of DNA, or with insertion of DNA in the absence of a repair template, would qualify for exemption. Third, we propose to extend the modifications described in certain existing exemptions in the regulations to all alleles of a genetic locus on the homologous chromosomes of an autopolyploid plant. Fourth, we propose that plants with up to four modifications that individually qualify for exemption and are made simultaneously or sequentially would be exempt from regulation, provided that each modification is at a different genetic locus. Fifth, we propose that plants that have previously completed a voluntary review confirming exempt status and that have subsequently been produced, grown, and observed consistent with conventional breeding methods appropriate for the plant species, could be successively modified in accordance with the exemptions. This action would reduce the regulatory burden for developers of certain plants modified using genetic engineering that are not expected to pose plant pest risks greater than the plant pest risks posed by plants modified by conventional breeding methods.
Importation of Fresh Beef From Paraguay
Document Number: 2023-24782
Type: Rule
Date: 2023-11-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of certain animals, meat, and other animal products by allowing, under certain conditions, the importation of fresh (chilled or frozen) beef from Paraguay. Based on the evidence from a risk analysis, we have determined that fresh beef can safely be imported from Paraguay, provided certain conditions are met. This final rule will provide for the importation of fresh beef from Paraguay into the United States, while continuing to protect the United States against the introduction of foot-and-mouth disease.
Spotted Lanternfly Cooperative Control Program; Availability of a Programmatic Environmental Assessment
Document Number: 2023-24752
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-11-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a programmatic environmental assessment relative to the Spotted Lanternfly Cooperative Control Program in the conterminous United States. The environmental assessment documents our review and analysis of environmental impacts associated with the Spotted Lanternfly Cooperative Control Program. We are making the programmatic environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Addition of Belarus to the List of Regions Affected With Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza
Document Number: 2023-24347
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-11-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we added Belarus to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected by highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). This action follows our imposition of HPAI-related restrictions on avian commodities originating from or transiting Belarus, as a result of reports of HPAI in that country.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Live Swine, Pork and Pork Products, and Swine Semen From the European Union; Correction
Document Number: 2023-24064
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-11-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) is correcting a notice that was published in the Federal Register on June 29, 2023. The notice announced APHIS' intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the importation of live swine, pork and pork products, and swine semen into the United States from the European Union and requested comments pursuant to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995. This document corrects the estimates provided for the associated activities and reopens the comment period.
Horse Protection; Licensing of Designated Qualified Persons and Other Amendments; Withdrawal
Document Number: 2023-23938
Type: Rule
Date: 2023-10-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) is withdrawing a final rule that was filed for public inspection by the Office of the Federal Register on January 19, 2017, in advance of publication, amending the Agency's Horse Protection Act regulations (the 2017 HPA final rule). On January 23, 2017, APHIS withdrew the 2017 HPA final rule from publication without undertaking notice and comment procedures, in accordance with a memorandum that was issued by the Executive Office of the President on January 20, 2017. However, following a lawsuit, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit found this withdrawal to be deficient. The District Court subsequently ordered that USDA could remedy this deficiency by undertaking notice and comment procedures on the proposed withdrawal. APHIS therefore issued a notice of proposed rulemaking to withdraw the 2017 HPA final rule, and we are finalizing that withdrawal based on the comments received.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Comprehensive Aquaculture Health Program; Use of MI-CO Application
Document Number: 2023-23484
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection associated with the use of a mobile application to collect certain information needed to manage a comprehensive aquaculture health program.
Addition of the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal to the List of Regions Affected by African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2023-23483
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) list maintained on the APHIS website of regions considered to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of the confirmation of ASF in the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Animals and Poultry, Animal and Poultry Products, Certain Animal Embryos, Semen, and Zoological Animals
Document Number: 2023-23450
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the importation of animals and poultry, animal and poultry products, certain animal embryos, semen, and zoological animals.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Commercial Transportation of Equines to Slaughter
Document Number: 2023-21303
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-09-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the commercial transportation of equines to slaughtering facilities.
Importation of Live Dogs for Resale From Regions Where African Swine Fever Exists or Is Reasonably Believed to Exist
Document Number: 2023-20952
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2023-09-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations to establish requirements regarding the importation of live dogs for resale, whether through retail or wholesale channels or fee-based adoption, from regions where African swine fever (ASF) exists or is reasonably believed to exist. These regulations are necessary because dogs imported from ASF-affected countries for resale purposes, along with bedding, represent a potential risk for the introduction of ASF into the United States. This action would address that risk.
Notice of Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Baby Kiwi Fruit From France Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2023-20873
Type: Notice
Date: 2023-09-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation of fresh baby kiwi fruit from France into the continental United States. Based on findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh baby kiwi fruit from France.
Import Regulations for Horses
Document Number: 2023-19864
Type: Rule
Date: 2023-09-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations for the importation of equines. These changes include increasing the number of days horses exported from regions free from contagious equine metritis (CEM) are allowed to spend in a CEM-affected region and enter the United States without testing from 60 days to 90 days; requiring an import permit for horses transiting through CEM-affected regions; adding requirements for health certifications to ensure health certifications properly attest to the health of the imported horse; requiring that horses transiting Central America or the West Indies comply with the same regulations that apply to horses directly imported from these regions; and adding requirements for shipping containers used in transporting horses. We are also adding a number of miscellaneous changes to the regulations such as clarifications of existing policy or intent, and corrections of inconsistencies or outdated information. Many of these changes will better align our regulations with international standards and allow us and the equine industry more flexibility. The changes will also add further safeguards that protect against introducing or disseminating pests or diseases of livestock into the United States.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.