Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 1 - 50 of 2,545
Classify Canada as Level I for Bovine Tuberculosis and Brucellosis
Document Number: 2021-03773
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-02-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to classify Canada as Level I for both bovine tuberculosis and brucellosis. This proposed recognition is based on evaluations we have prepared in connection with this action, which we are making available for review and comment.
Classify the State of Sonora, Mexico, as Level I for Brucellosis
Document Number: 2021-03771
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-02-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to classify the State of Sonora, Mexico as Level 1 for brucellosis. This proposed recognition is based on an evaluation we have prepared in connection with this action, which we are making available for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Gypsy Moth Identification Worksheet and Checklist
Document Number: 2021-02905
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-02-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the gypsy moth program.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; Citrus Canker, Citrus Greening, and Asian Citrus Psyllid; Interstate Movement of Regulated Nursery Stock
Document Number: 2021-02904
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-02-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection associated with the interstate movement of regulated nursery stock from quarantined areas to prevent the spread of citrus canker, citrus greening, and Asian citrus psyllid.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Communicable Diseases in Horses
Document Number: 2021-02903
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-02-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for approving laboratories to test for equine infectious anemia and for the interstate movement of horses that have tested positive for equine infectious anemia.
Environmental Impact Statement for Predator Damage Management in Oregon
Document Number: 2021-01148
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-01-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is preparing an environmental impact statement analyzing alternatives for predator damage management in Oregon. This notice proposes issues and alternatives for consideration in the environmental impact statement and requests public comments to further delineate the scope of the alternatives, the environmental issues, and other issues of public concern to be considered. This notice also serves to inform the public that the U.S. Forest Service and the U.S. Department of the Interior's Bureau of Land Management have joined as cooperating agencies in the environmental impact statement process.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Gypsy Moth Host Materials From Canada
Document Number: 2021-01141
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-01-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations to prevent the introduction of gypsy moth from Canada into noninfested areas of the United States.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Release of Bikasha collaris and Gadirtha fusca for Biological Control of Chinese Tallow
Document Number: 2021-01124
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-01-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to permitting the release of the insects Bikasha collaris and Gadirtha fusca for biological control of Chinese tallow tree (Triadica sebifera) in the contiguous United States. Based on the environmental assessment and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that the release of this control agent will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Monsanto Company; Determination of Nonregulated Status for Insect Resistant Cotton
Document Number: 2021-00956
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-01-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that the cotton event designated as MON 88702, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to certain insects, primarily Lygus spp., is no longer considered regulated under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on evaluation of information Monsanto Company submitted in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analyses, and public comments received in response to previous notices announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and our associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Approval of Laboratories for Conducting Aquatic Animal Tests for Export Health Certificates
Document Number: 2021-00064
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-01-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with its efforts to certify certain laboratories that conduct aquatic animal testing for export activities.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Release of Lilioceris
Document Number: 2021-00063
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-01-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment (EA) relative to permitting the release of an insect, Lilioceris egena, for the biological control of air potato (Dioscorea bulbifera). Based on the environmental assessment and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that the release of this control agent within the continental United States will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the EA available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; SARS-CoV-2 Testing in Animals Reporting Activities
Document Number: 2020-29014
Type: Notice
Date: 2021-01-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection associated with the testing and reporting of SARS-CoV-2 in animals.
Pioneer Hi-Bred International; Determination of Nonregulated Status for Enhanced Grain Yield Potential and Glufosinate-Ammonium Resistant Maize
Document Number: 2020-28060
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-12-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that the corn variety designated as maize event DP202216, which has been genetically engineered for increased yield potential and resistance to the herbicide glufosinate-ammonium, is no longer considered regulated under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on evaluation of information Pioneer submitted in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analyses, and public comments received in response to previous notices announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and our associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Notice of Proposed Revision To Import Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Citrus Fruit From Australia Into the United States
Document Number: 2020-27803
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-12-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis and treatment evaluation document relative to the importation into the United States of citrus fruit from additional areas of production in Australia. Based on the findings of these documents, we are proposing to authorize the importation of citrus fruit from additional areas of production in Australia, and revise the conditions under which citrus fruit from authorized areas of production in Australia may be imported into the United States. We are making the pest risk analysis and treatment evaluation document available to the public for review and comment.
Removal of Emerald Ash Borer Domestic Quarantine Regulations
Document Number: 2020-26734
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-12-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are removing the domestic quarantine regulations for the plant pest emerald ash borer. This action will discontinue the domestic regulatory component of the emerald ash borer program as a means to more effectively direct available resources toward management and containment of the pest. Funding previously allocated to the implementation and enforcement of these domestic quarantine regulations will instead be directed to nonregulatory options to mitigate and control the pest.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Commercial Transportation of Equines for Slaughter
Document Number: 2020-26611
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-12-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the commercial transportation of equines to slaughtering facilities.
Petition To Manufacture Foot-and-Mouth Disease Vaccine in the United States
Document Number: 2020-26560
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-12-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our notice of receipt of a petition from Zoetis, Inc. requesting approval for the manufacture within the continental United States of a vaccine derived from a leaderless strain of the foot-and-mouth disease (FMD) virus. Although introduction of live FMD virus into the United States is prohibited by law, the petition states that this leaderless strain should not be considered live FMD virus as it is non-infectious, non-transmissible, and incapable of causing FMD. We are taking this action in order to provide commenters with additional scientific information supporting our determination that the leaderless virus strain from which Zoetis, Inc. intends to produce FMD vaccine in the United States poses no risk of causing FMD infection in animals. This action gives interested persons the opportunity to review the additional information and submit comments.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for the Release of Aphalara itadori for the Biological Control of Japanese, Giant, and Bohemian Knotweeds
Document Number: 2020-26290
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-11-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a final environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to the release of Aphalara itadori for the biological control of Japanese, Giant, and Bohemian knotweeds (Fallopia japonica, F. sachalinensis, and F. x bohemica), significant invasive weeds, within the contiguous United States. Based on our finding of no significant impact, we have determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
International Sanitary and Phytosanitary Standard-Setting Activities
Document Number: 2020-26210
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-11-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with legislation implementing the results of the Uruguay Round of negotiations under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, we are informing the public of the international standard- setting activities of the World Organization for Animal Health, the Secretariat of the International Plant Protection Convention, and the North American Plant Protection Organization, and we are soliciting public comment on the standard-setting activities.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Poultry Meat and Other Poultry Products From Sinaloa and Sonora, Mexico; Poultry and Pork Transiting the United States
Document Number: 2020-26208
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-11-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of poultry meat and other poultry products from Sinaloa and Sonora and for pork and poultry products transiting the United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Standardizing Phytosanitary Treatment Regulations: Approval of Cold Treatment and Irradiation Facilities; Cold Treatment Schedules; and Establishment of Fumigation and Cold Treatment Compliance Agreements
Document Number: 2020-25714
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-11-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated the phytosanitary treatment regulations to establish generic criteria that would allow for the approval of new cold treatment facilities in the Southern and Western States of the United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Foot-and-Mouth Disease: Prohibition on Importation of Farm Equipment
Document Number: 2020-25713
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-11-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the importation of used farm equipment into the United States from regions affected with foot-and- mouth disease.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Infectious Salmon Anemia; Payment of Indemnity
Document Number: 2020-25711
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-11-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the payment of indemnity due to infectious salmon anemia.
Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.; Availability of a Request and Plant Pest Risk Similarity Assessment for an Extension of Determination of Nonregulated Status for Maize for Use in the Seed Production Technology for Africa Process
Document Number: 2020-25037
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-11-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a request to extend our determination of nonregulated status of Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.'s (Pioneer's) DP-32138-1 SPT maintainer maize to maize MS44 maintainer line DP56113 for use in the Seed Production Technology for Africa (SPTA) process (hereafter DP56113 SPTA maintainer maize). DP56113 SPTA maintainer maize has been genetically engineered for maintenance and recovery of male-sterile maize breeding lines using the same construct and method of transformation as DP-32138-1 SPT maintainer maize. We are making available for public comment the request and our plant pest risk similarity assessment and preliminary determination of nonregulated status.
Decision To Revise Import Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Citrus From South Africa Into the United States
Document Number: 2020-24402
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-11-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to revise the import requirements for citrus (grapefruit, lemon, mandarin orange, sweet orange, tangelo, and Satsuma mandarin) fruit from South Africa into the United States. Based on the findings of a commodity import evaluation document (CIED), which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we are removing restrictions on the ports of entry into which such citrus may be imported. This action will allow these citrus species to be imported into more ports in the United States without presenting a risk of introduction or dissemination of plant pests or noxious weeds.
Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.: Availability of a Petition for the Determination of Nonregulated Status for Insect Resistant and Herbicide-Tolerant Maize
Document Number: 2020-24267
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-11-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc. seeking a determination of nonregulated status for DP23211 maize (corn). The corn is engineered for insect resistance against corn rootworm and contains the gene that codes for the phosphinothricin acetyltransferase protein responsible for tolerance to glufosinate-ammonium herbicides. DP23211 corn also contains the gene that encodes for the phosphomannose isomerase protein, which is used as a selectable marker. We are making the petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential issues and impacts that APHIS may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Release of Ramularia Crupinae for Biological Control of Common Crupina (Crupina vulgaris) in the Contiguous United States
Document Number: 2020-24125
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-10-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to permitting the release of Ramularia crupinae for the biological control of common crupina (Crupina vulgaris) in the contiguous United States. Based on the environmental assessment and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that the release of this control agent within the contiguous United States will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Self-Certification Medical Statement
Document Number: 2020-23925
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-10-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations permitting applicants to self-certify certain medical statements when applying for positions with the Federal Government.
Notice of Availability of Assessment of the Newcastle Disease Status of the Cantons of Neuchâtel and Ticino of Switzerland
Document Number: 2020-23664
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-10-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our intention to reinstate the animal health status of the Cantons of Neuch[acirc]tel and Ticino in Switzerland as free of Newcastle disease. This recognition is based on an assessment we have prepared in connection with this action, which we are making available for review and comment.
Monsanto Company; Availability of a Draft Plant Pest Risk Assessment and Draft Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Cotton Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2020-22917
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-10-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a draft plant pest risk assessment and draft environmental assessment regarding a request from Monsanto Company seeking a determination of nonregulated status for cotton designated as MON 88702, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to certain insects, primarily Lygus spp. We are making these documents available for public review and comment.
Import Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Blueberries From Chile Into the United States
Document Number: 2020-22337
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-10-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to revise the import requirements for the importation of fresh blueberries from Chile into the United States by removing the methyl bromide fumigation requirement for blueberries from Regions VIII and XVI of Chile. Based on the findings of our commodity import evaluation, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we have determined that the application of the designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests via the importation of blueberries from Chile.
National Poultry Improvement Plan and Auxiliary Provisions
Document Number: 2020-21798
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-10-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP). These amendments establish a U.S. Newcastle Disease Clean program within the NPIP, create an NPIP subpart specific to game birds, revise testing requirements, and clarify existing provisions of the regulations. We are also amending the regulations concerning the payment of indemnity and compensation for low pathogenic avian influenza to reflect current policy and operational practices, and allowing NPIP voting delegates to represent multiple States during the Biennial Conferences. These changes were voted on and approved by the voting delegates at the NPIP's 2018 National Plan Conference.
Deregulation of Pine Shoot Beetle
Document Number: 2020-21800
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-10-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, a proposal to amend our regulations to remove the domestic pine shoot beetle (PSB) quarantine and to eliminate the restrictions that apply to the importation of PSB host material from Canada. We have determined through analysis that the regulatory program is ineffective in slowing the spread of the pest and reducing damage, which has also been found to be minimal. This action will provide flexibility to the States as they manage PSB. It will also allow Federal resources spent on this program to be allocated elsewhere, and it will remove PSB-related interstate movement and importation restrictions on PSB-regulated articles.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Live Swine, Pork and Pork Products, and Swine Semen From the European Union
Document Number: 2020-21746
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-10-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of live swine, pork and pork products, and swine semen from the European Union.
Addition of Papua New Guinea to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2020-21603
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Papua New Guinea to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in Papua New Guinea.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan
Document Number: 2020-21516
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture has renewed the charter of the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan (Committee) for a 2-year period. The Secretary of Agriculture has determined that the Committee is necessary and in the public interest.
Westhoff Vertriebsgesellschaft mbH; Availability of Preliminary Plant Pest Risk Assessment, Draft Environmental Assessment, and Preliminary Finding of No Significant Impact for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Petunias Genetically Engineered for Flower Color
Document Number: 2020-21357
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a preliminary plant pest risk assessment, draft environmental assessment, and preliminary finding of no significant impact regarding a request from Westhoff Vertriebsgesellschaft mbH seeking a determination of nonregulated status of petunias containing the A1 gene from maize (A1-DFR Petunias), which have been genetically engineered to add a new color (orange) and brilliance to the flowers. We are making these documents available for public review and comment.
International Trade Data System: Timeline for Enforcing APHIS Core Message Set Flags in the Automated Commercial Environment
Document Number: 2020-21289
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) is announcing a delay in the full implementation of the APHIS Core Message Set in the Automated Commercial Environment/International Trade Data System (ACE/ITDS) for the electronic submission of data required by APHIS Animal Care, Biotechnology Regulatory Services, Plant Protection and Quarantine, and Veterinary Services. APHIS intended to begin applying Harmonized Tariff Schedule flags, which would alert filers who opted to submit electronically using ACE whether APHIS import data is or may be required, on August 3, 2020. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, APHIS is delaying implementation until January 25, 2021. Full implementation of the message set will bring APHIS into compliance with the mandates of the Security and Accountability For Every Port Act of 2006 and Executive Order 13659. The information collected will enhance APHIS' ability to make data-driven policy decisions, improve risk analysis/assessments, and enhance ability to respond to changing pest/ disease conditions.
Availability of a Final Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for Cogongrass Control Efforts in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, and South Carolina
Document Number: 2020-20946
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a final environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to establishing an integrated management strategy to control cogongrass, a noxious weed, in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, and South Carolina. Based on our finding of no significant impact, we have determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; National Veterinary Services Laboratories Request Forms
Document Number: 2020-20741
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with its efforts to safeguard the health of the U.S. livestock and poultry populations by the use of National Veterinary Services Laboratories request forms.
Brucellosis and Bovine Tuberculosis: Importation of Cattle and Bison
Document Number: 2020-20552
Type: Rule
Date: 2020-09-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of cattle and bison with respect to bovine tuberculosis and brucellosis to establish a system to classify foreign regions as a particular status level for bovine tuberculosis and a particular status level for brucellosis. We are also establishing provisions for modifying the bovine tuberculosis or brucellosis classification of a foreign region. Finally, we are establishing conditions for the importation of cattle and bison from regions with the various classifications. The changes will make the requirements clearer and assure that they more effectively mitigate the risk of introduction of these diseases into the United States.
AWA Research Facility Registration Updates, Reviews, and Reports
Document Number: 2020-20512
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2020-09-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) regulations governing research facilities by removing duplicative and unnecessary information requirements. We would remove the requirement that registered research facilities update their registration information every 3 years. We also propose to remove the requirement for continual, but not less than annual, review of research animal use activities and replace it with a requirement for a complete review at least every 3 years, and to no longer require that research facilities request an inactive status if they no longer use, handle, or transport AWA covered animals. In addition, we propose to clarify the duration of a registration and conditions for its cancellation, and to no longer require that the Institutional Official or Chief Executive Officer sign the annual report. We would also make miscellaneous changes to improve readability. The changes we propose would reduce duplicative requirements and administrative burden on research facilities, maintain research integrity and oversight, and ensure that research animals continue to receive humane care.
Joint Environmental Impact Report and Environmental Impact Statement for Wildlife Damage Management in California
Document Number: 2020-19090
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, working in coordination with the California Department of Food and Agriculture, intends to prepare a joint environmental impact report (EIR) and environmental impact statement (EIS) analyzing alternatives for wildlife damage management in California in accordance with the California Environmental Quality Act and the National Environmental Policy Act. This notice proposes issues and alternatives for consideration in the joint EIR/EIS and requests public comments to further delineate the scope of the alternatives, environmental issues, and other issues of public concern to be considered in the EIR/EIS.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Animals and Poultry, Animal and Poultry Products, Certain Animal Embryos, Semen, and Zoological Animals
Document Number: 2020-19733
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the importation of animals and poultry, animal and poultry products, certain animal embryos, semen, and zoological animals.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; Export Health Certificate for Animal Products
Document Number: 2020-19483
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-09-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection associated with the export of animal products from the United States.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Volunteer Service Agreements and Volunteer Service Time and Attendance Record
Document Number: 2020-18528
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-08-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection associated with volunteer service agreements and volunteer service time and attendance record.
Establishing AWA Standards for Birds; Virtual Public Meetings
Document Number: 2020-18134
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2020-08-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service will hold virtual listening sessions to receive public input on topics related to the development of regulations regarding the welfare of birds not bred for use in research.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Black Stem Rust; Identification Requirements for Addition of Rust-Resistant Varieties
Document Number: 2020-18136
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-08-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the black stem rust quarantine and regulations.
State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry; Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status for Blight-Resistant Darling 58 American Chestnut
Document Number: 2020-18135
Type: Notice
Date: 2020-08-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from the State University of New York College of Environmental Science and Forestry (ESF) seeking a determination of nonregulated status for blight- resistant Darling 58 American chestnut (Castanea dentata). The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. We are making available for public comment the ESF petition and requesting public input regarding potential issues and impacts that APHIS should be considering in our evaluation of the petition.
National List of Reportable Animal Diseases
Document Number: 2020-17339
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2020-08-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that would amend the animal disease regulations to provide for a National List of Reportable Animal Diseases, along with reporting responsibilities for animal health professionals that encounter or suspect cases of communicable diseases and disease agents. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.