Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service August 2017 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Plants for Planting Regulations
Document Number: 2017-18279
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the plants for planting regulations.
Animal Welfare; Procedures for Applying for Licenses and Renewals
Document Number: 2017-17967
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2017-08-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are soliciting public comment on potential revisions to the licensing requirements under our Animal Welfare Act regulations to promote compliance with the Act, reduce licensing fees, and strengthen existing safeguards that prevent any individual whose license has been suspended or revoked, or who has a history of noncompliance, from obtaining a license or working with regulated animals. We are soliciting public comment on these topics to help us consider ways to reduce regulatory burden and more efficiently ensure the sustained compliance of licensees with the Act.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Citrus Black Spot
Document Number: 2017-17877
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of an information collection associated with the requirements for the interstate movement of regulated articles to prevent the spread of citrus black spot.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Systems Approach for the Interstate Movement of Fresh, Mature Kaffir Lime, Curry, and Bael Leaves for Consumption From Areas Quarantined for Citrus Greening and Asian Citrus Psyllid
Document Number: 2017-17876
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of an information collection associated with the requirements for the interstate movement of fresh, mature Kaffir lime, curry, and bael leaves for consumption from areas quarantined for citrus greening and Asian citrus psyllid.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fruits and Vegetables
Document Number: 2017-17875
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of certain fruits and vegetables into the United States.
Importation of Hass Avocados From Colombia
Document Number: 2017-17211
Type: Rule
Date: 2017-08-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations to allow the importation of fresh Hass avocado fruit from Colombia into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, fresh Hass avocado fruit from Colombia will have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that includes orchard and packinghouse requirements and port of entry inspection. The fruit will also be required to be imported in commercial consignments and accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the national plant protection organization of Colombia with an additional declaration stating that the fruit has been produced in accordance with the requirements. This action will allow for the importation of fresh Hass avocado fruit from Colombia while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of plant pests into the continental United States.
Restrictions on the Importation of Fresh Pork and Pork Products From a Region in Mexico
Document Number: 2017-16980
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2017-08-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are withdrawing a proposed rule that would have defined a low-risk classical swine fever region in Mexico from which we would have allowed the importation of fresh pork and pork products into the United States under certain conditions. We are taking this action after reopening our risk evaluation of the classical swine fever status of Mexico using updated information.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing of a Vaccine for Use Against Canine Lymphoma
Document Number: 2017-16977
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purposes of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Canine Lymphoma Vaccine, Live Listeria Vector. Based on the environmental assessment, risk analysis, and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the documents available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Determination of the Classical Swine Fever, Swine Vesicular Disease, African Swine Fever, Foot-and-Mouth Disease, and Rinderpest Status of Malta
Document Number: 2017-16832
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adding the Republic of Malta to the lists of regions considered to be free of swine vesicular disease (SVD), African swine fever (ASF), foot-and-mouth disease (FMD), and rinderpest, and to the list of regions considered free or low risk for classical swine fever (CSF), subject to conditions in the regulations governing the importation of certain animals and animal products into the United States. Based on our evaluation of the animal health status of Malta, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, the Administrator has determined that Malta is free of SVD, ASF, FMD, and rinderpest, and is low risk for CSF. This action establishes the disease status of Malta with regard to SVD, ASF, FMD, rinderpest, and CSF while continuing to protect the United States from introduction of those diseases.
Notice of Availability of Treatment Evaluation Document for Aircraft Treatments for Certain Hitchhiking Pests
Document Number: 2017-16676
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that it is necessary to immediately add to the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual two new chemical treatments for targeting regulated pests in the cargo holds of aircraft. We have prepared a treatment evaluation document that describes the new treatment schedules and explains why we have determined that they are effective at neutralizing certain target pests. We are making the treatment evaluation document available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of an Evaluation of the Classical Swine Fever Status of Mexico
Document Number: 2017-16675
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to recognize Mexico as free of classical swine fever, subject to conditions in the regulations governing the importation of live swine, pork, and pork products from certain regions into the United States. We are proposing this action based on a risk evaluation that we have prepared in connection with this action and that we are making available to the public for review and comment.
Concurrence With OIE Risk Designations for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
Document Number: 2017-16674
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to concur with the World Organization for Animal Health's (OIE) bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk designations for seven regions. The OIE recognizes these regions as being of negligible risk for BSE. We are taking this action based on our review of information supporting the OIE's risk designations for these regions.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing of a Bursal Disease-Marek's Disease Vaccine, Serotype 3, Live Marek's Disease Vector
Document Number: 2017-16673
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-08-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purposes of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Bursal Disease-Marek's Disease Vaccine, Serotype 3, Live Marek's Disease Vector. Based on the environmental assessment, risk analysis, and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the documents available to the public for review and comment.