Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service July 2017 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Bayer CropScience LP: Determination of Nonregulated Status of Canola Genetically Engineered for Male Sterility and Glufosinate-Ammonium Resistance
Document Number: 2017-15949
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination to extend the nonregulated status of InVigor[supreg] MS8 canola (hereinafter MS8 canola) to Bayer CropSciences LP's (Bayer) canola event MS11 which has been genetically engineered for male sterility and resistance to the herbicide glufosinate-ammonium using the same mechanism of action as Bayer's MS8 canola. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by Bayer in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of publically available scientific data, and comments received from the public on the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk similarity assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Emergency Epidemiologic Investigations
Document Number: 2017-15575
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval for emergency epidemiologic investigations, an information collection to support the National Animal Health Monitoring System.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing a Vaccine For Use Against Infectious Bursal Disease, Marek's Disease, and Newcastle Disease
Document Number: 2017-14977
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purpose of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Bursal Disease-Marek's Disease-Newcastle Disease Vaccine, Serotype 3, Live Marek's Disease Vector. Based on the environmental assessment, risk analysis, and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the documents available to the public for review and comment.
Oral Rabies Vaccine Trial; Availability of a Supplemental Environmental Assessment
Document Number: 2017-14921
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a supplemental environmental assessment (EA) relative to an oral rabies vaccination field trial in New Hampshire, New York, Ohio, Vermont, and West Virginia. The supplemental EA analyzes expanding the field trial for an experimental oral rabies vaccine for wildlife to additional areas in New York, Ohio, and West Virginia. The proposed field trial is necessary to evaluate whether the wildlife rabies vaccine will produce sufficient levels of population immunity against raccoon rabies. We are making the supplemental EA available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Blood and Tissue Collection and Recordkeeping at Slaughtering, Rendering, and Approved Livestock Marketing Establishments and Facilities
Document Number: 2017-14815
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for blood and tissue collection and recordkeeping at slaughtering, rendering, and approved livestock marketing establishments and facilities to enhance animal disease surveillance.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Changes to the National Poultry Improvement Plan Program Standards
Document Number: 2017-14812
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection associated with changes we are making to the National Poultry Improvement Plan Program Standards pertaining to the compartmentalization of primary poultry breeding establishments and approval of compartment components such as farms, feedmills, hatcheries, and egg depots.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for the Biological Control of Swallow-Worts
Document Number: 2017-14695
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a draft environmental assessment relative to the control of swallow-worts (Vincetoxicum nigrum and Vincetoxicum rossicum). The environmental assessment considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the field release of a leaf-feeding moth, Hypena opulenta, into the continental United States for use as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of swallow-wort infestations. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Release of Three Parasitoids for Biological Control of the Lily Leaf Beetle
Document Number: 2017-14694
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a draft environmental assessment relative to the release of three parasitoids, Diaparsis jucunda, Lemophagus errabundus, and Tetrastichus setifer for the biological control of the lily leaf beetle. The environmental assessment considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the field release of the parasitoids into the contiguous United States for use as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of infestations of lily leaf beetle. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Availability of a Final Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for the Field Release of Genetically Engineered Diamondback Moths
Document Number: 2017-14345
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-07-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has prepared a final environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact and will issue a permit for the field release of diamondback moths that have been genetically engineered for repressible female lethality, also known as female autocide. Based on its finding of no significant impact, APHIS has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.