Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service September 2017 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for a Biological Control Agent for Swallow-Worts
Document Number: 2017-20122
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-09-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact have been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service relative to the release of a leaf- feeding moth, Hypena opulenta, for the biological control of swallow- worts (Vincetoxicum nigrum and Vincetoxicum rossicum). Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Addition of Uganda to the List of Regions Affected by Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza
Document Number: 2017-20121
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-09-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are adding Uganda to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected by highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). This action follows our imposition of HPAI-related restrictions on avian commodities originating from or transiting Uganda as a result of the confirmation of HPAI in Uganda.
Addition of Zimbabwe to the List of Regions Affected by Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza
Document Number: 2017-20120
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-09-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are adding Zimbabwe to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected by highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). This action follows our imposition of HPAI-related restrictions on avian commodities originating from or transiting Zimbabwe as a result of the confirmation of HPAI in Zimbabwe.
International Sanitary and Phytosanitary Standard-Setting Activities
Document Number: 2017-20119
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-09-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with legislation implementing the results of the Uruguay Round of negotiations under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, we are informing the public of the international standard-setting activities of the World Organization for Animal Health, the Secretariat of the International Plant Protection Convention, and the North American Plant Protection Organization, and we are soliciting public comment on the standards to be considered.
Importation of Orchids in Growing Media From the Republic of Korea Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2017-19519
Type: Rule
Date: 2017-09-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of plants for planting to add orchid plants of the genera Phalaenopsis and Cymbidium from the Republic of Korea to the list of plants that may be imported into the continental United States in an approved growing medium, subject to specified growing, inspection, and certification requirements. We are taking this action in response to a request from the Republic of Korea and after determining that the plants could be imported under certain conditions without resulting in the introduction into, or the dissemination within, the United States of a plant pest or noxious weed.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Bees and Related Articles
Document Number: 2017-19280
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-09-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of bees and related articles into the United States.
Oral Rabies Vaccine Trial; Availability of a Supplement to an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact
Document Number: 2017-19227
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-09-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a supplement to an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to an oral rabies vaccination field trial in New Hampshire, New York, Ohio, Vermont, and West Virginia. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Importation of Fresh Persimmon With Calyxes From Japan Into the United States
Document Number: 2017-19226
Type: Rule
Date: 2017-09-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations concerning the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of fresh persimmon with calyxes from Japan into the United States. As a condition of entry, the persimmon must be produced in accordance with a systems approach that includes requirements for orchard certification, orchard pest control, post-harvest safeguards, fruit culling, traceback, and sampling. The persimmons will also have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that they were produced under, and meet all the components of, the agreed upon systems approach and were inspected and found to be free of quarantine pests. This action will allow the importation of fresh persimmons with calyxes from Japan while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Importation of Bone-In Ovine Meat From Uruguay
Document Number: 2017-19225
Type: Rule
Date: 2017-09-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of certain animals, meat, and other animal products by allowing, under certain conditions, the importation of bone-in ovine meat from Uruguay. Based on the evidence in a risk assessment that we prepared, we believe that bone-in ovine meat can safely be imported from Uruguay provided certain conditions are met. This final rule will provide for the importation of bone-in ovine meat from Uruguay into the United States, while continuing to protect the United States against the introduction of foot-and-mouth disease.
Black Stem Rust; Additions of Rust-Resistant Species and Varieties
Document Number: 2017-18712
Type: Rule
Date: 2017-09-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the black stem rust quarantine and regulations by adding 15 varieties to the list of rust-resistant Berberis species and varieties and 2 varieties to the list of rust-resistant Mahonia species and varieties. This action will allow for the interstate movement of these newly developed varieties without unnecessary restrictions.
Notice of Decision; Cold Treatment of Grapefruit From Australia
Document Number: 2017-18703
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-09-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to amend cold treatment schedule T107-d-3 in the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual to include grapefruit from Australia. In a previous notice, we made available to the public for review and comment a treatment evaluation document that described the treatment schedule and explained why we have determined that it is effective at neutralizing certain target pests on grapefruit from Australia.