Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service May 2010 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Environmental Impact Statement; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Sugar Beet Genetically Engineered for Tolerance to the Herbicide Glyphosate
Document Number: 2010-12997
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service plans to prepare an environmental impact statement in connection with a court-mandated evaluation of the potential impacts on the human environment associated with the Agency's determination of nonregulated status for a Monsanto/KWS SAAT AG sugar beet line, designated as event H7-1. This notice identifies the environmental and interrelated economic issues raised by the Court and other potential issues that we may include in the environmental impact statement and requests public comment to further delineate the scope of the issues and reasonable alternatives.
Interstate Movement of Garbage from Hawaii; Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact
Document Number: 2010-12828
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact have been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service relative to a request to allow the interstate movement of garbage from Hawaii to a landfill in the State of Washington. The environmental assessment documents our review and analysis of the environmental impacts associated with, and alternatives to, the movement of palletized or containerized baled municipal solid waste to three existing ports on the Columbia River via barge and the transfer and transportation of the waste via truck or rail to the landfill. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Importation of Mexican Hass Avocados; Additional Shipping Options
Document Number: 2010-12823
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-05-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend our regulations for the importation of Hass avocados originating in Michoacan, Mexico, into the United States by adding the option to ship avocados to the United States in bulk shipping bins when safeguarding is maintained from the packinghouse to the port of first arrival in the United States and by making it clear that the avocados may be shipped by land, sea, or air. We are also proposing to allow avocados from multiple packinghouses that participate in the avocado export program to be combined into one consignment. We are proposing these actions in response to requests from the Government of Mexico and inquiries from a U.S. maritime port. These actions will allow additional options for shipping Hass avocados from Mexico to the United States and allow Mexican exporters to ship full container or truck loads from multiple packinghouses while continuing to provide an appropriate level of protection against the introduction of plant pests.
Emerald Ash Borer; Addition of Quarantined Areas in Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, and Wisconsin
Document Number: 2010-12533
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-05-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the emerald ash borer regulations by adding portions of Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Pennsylvania, Wisconsin, and the entire State of West Virginia to the list of quarantined areas. This action will restrict the interstate movement of regulated articles from areas in the States of Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, New York, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. This interim rule is necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the emerald ash borer to noninfested areas of the United States.
Notice of Decision to Issue Permits for the Importation of Fresh Male Summer Squash Flowers From Israel Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-12532
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin issuing permits for the importation into the continental United States of fresh male summer squash flowers from Israel. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh male summer squash flowers from Israel.
Black Stem Rust; Additions of Rust-Resistant Varieties
Document Number: 2010-12529
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-05-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the black stem rust quarantine and regulations by adding 21 varieties to the list of rust-resistant Berberis species or cultivars and 2 varieties to the list of rust-resistant Mahonia species or cultivars in the regulations. This action will allow for the interstate movement of these newly developed varieties without unnecessary restrictions.
Importation of Tomatoes From Souss-Massa-Draa, Morocco; Technical Amendment
Document Number: 2010-12027
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-05-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule published in the Federal Register on November 2, 2009, and effective on December 2, 2009, we amended the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of commercial consignments of tomatoes from the Souss-Massa-Draa region of Morocco into the United States. However, we incorrectly referred to the national plant protection organization of Morocco as the Moroccan Ministry of Agriculture's Division of Plant Protection, Inspection, and Enforcement when it was recently changed to the National Office of Food Safety. The National Office of Food Safety is also responsible for export certification inspection and issuance of phytosanitary certificates rather than the Moroccan Ministry of Agriculture, Fresh Product Export. In order to prevent confusion, we are replacing all references to the Moroccan Ministry of Agriculture's Division of Plant Protection, Inspection, and Enforcement and the Moroccan Ministry of Agriculture, Fresh Product Export with the phrase ``national plant protection organization of Morocco.''
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for a Biological Control Agent for Asian Citrus Psyllid
Document Number: 2010-12026
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to the control of Asian citrus psyllid (Diaphorina citri Kuwayama). The environmental assessment considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the release of an insect, Tamarixia radiata, into the continental United States for use as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of Asian citrus psyllid infestations. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for a Biological Control Agent for Hemlock Woolly Adelgid
Document Number: 2010-12024
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to the control of hemlock woolly adelgid (Adelges tsugae). The environmental assessment considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the release of an insect, Laricobius osakensis, into the continental United States for use as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of hemlock woolly adelgid infestations. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Hass Avocados from Mexico; Importation into the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and Other Changes
Document Number: 2010-11598
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-05-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend our fruits and vegetables regulations to provide for the importation of Hass avocados from Mexico into Puerto Rico under the same systems approach currently required for the importation of Hass avocados into all States of the United States from Michoac[aacute]n, Mexico. The systems approach requirements include trapping, orchard certification, limited production area, trace back labeling, pre-harvest orchard surveys for all pests, orchard sanitation, post-harvest safeguards, fruit cutting and inspection at the packinghouse, port-of-arrival inspection, and clearance activities. This action would allow for the importation of Hass avocados from Michoac[aacute]n, Mexico, into Puerto Rico while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests. In addition, we are proposing to amend the regulations to provide for the Mexican national plant protection organization to use an approved designee to inspect avocados for export and to suspend importation of avocados into the United States from Michoac[aacute]n, Mexico, only from specific orchards or packinghouses when quarantine pests are detected, rather than suspending imports from the entire municipality where the affected orchards or packinghouses are located. These changes would provide additional flexibility in operating the export program while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Notice of Decision to Issue Permits for the Importation of Fresh Pomegranates and Baby Kiwi from Chile into the United States
Document Number: 2010-11438
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin issuing permits for the importation into the continental United States of fresh pomegranates and fresh baby kiwi from Chile. Based on the findings of pest risk analyses, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh pomegranates and fresh baby kiwi from Chile.
ArborGen, LLC; Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for a Controlled Release of Genetically Engineered Eucalyptus Hybrids
Document Number: 2010-11437
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment for proposed controlled field releases of a genetically engineered clone of a Eucalyptus hybrid. The purpose of this release is to continue research on the efficacy of genetic constructs intended to confer cold tolerance, alter lignin biosynthesis and alter fertility. After assessing the application, reviewing pertinent scientific information, and considering comments provided by the public, APHIS has concluded that these field releases are unlikely to pose a plant pest risk, nor are they likely to have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared for this field release.
Animal Traceability; Public Meetings
Document Number: 2010-10561
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This is a notice to inform the public of three upcoming meetings in Kansas City, MO, Riverdale, MD, and Denver, CO, to provide an opportunity for stakeholders to offer their input on the new framework being developed for animal disease traceability. Additional meetings are currently being planned and will be announced in a future notice. The meetings are being organized by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service.
Noxious Weeds; Old World Climbing Fern and Maidenhair Creeper
Document Number: 2010-10282
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-05-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the noxious weed regulations by adding Old World climbing fern (Lygodium microphyllum (Cavanilles) R. Brown) and maidenhair creeper (Lygodium flexuosum (Linnaeus) Swartz) to the list of terrestrial noxious weeds. This action is necessary to prevent the artificial spread of these noxious weeds within and into the United States.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for a Biological Control Agent for Water Hyacinth
Document Number: 2010-10280
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact have been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service relative to the release of an insect, Megamelus scutellaris, into the continental United States for use as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of water hyacinth infestations. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Notice of Revision and Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Cooperative Agricultural Pest Survey
Document Number: 2010-10279
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to revise an information collection associated with the Cooperative Agricultural Pest Survey and to request extension of approval of the information collection.
National Poultry Improvement Plan; General Conference Committee Meeting and 40th Biennial Conference
Document Number: 2010-10278
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice of a meeting of the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) and the NPIP's 40th Biennial Conference.
Multi-Agency Informational Meeting Concerning Compliance With the Federal Select Agent Program; Public Meeting
Document Number: 2010-10277
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-05-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This is to notify all interested parties, including individuals and entities possessing, using, or transferring biological agents and toxins listed in 7 CFR 331.3, 9 CFR 121.3 and 121.4, or 42 CFR 73.3 and 73.4, that a meeting will be held to provide regulatory guidance related to the Federal Select Agent Program established under the Public Health Security and Bioterrorism Preparedness and Response Act of 2002. The meeting is being organized by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, the Department of Health and Human Services' Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the Department of Justice's Federal Bureau of Investigation. Issues to be discussed include entity registration, security risk assessments, biosafety requirements, and security measures.