Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service November 2019 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

International Sanitary and Phytosanitary Standard-Setting Activities
Document Number: 2019-25443
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with legislation implementing the results of the Uruguay Round of negotiations under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, we are informing the public of the international standard- setting activities of the World Organization for Animal Health, the Secretariat of the International Plant Protection Convention, and the North American Plant Protection Organization, and we are soliciting public comment on the standard-setting activities.
Plants for Planting Whose Importation Is Not Authorized Pending Pest Risk Analysis; Notice of Availability of Data Sheets for Taxa of Plants for Planting That are Quarantine Pests or Hosts of Quarantine Pests
Document Number: 2019-25439
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that 26 taxa of plants for planting are quarantine pests, and that all Myrtaceae taxa (when destined to Hawaii), all subfamily Bambusoideae taxa, and 43 other taxa of plants for planting are hosts of 18 quarantine pests, and therefore should be added to our lists of taxa of plants for planting whose importation is not authorized pending pest risk analysis. We have prepared data sheets that detail the scientific evidence we evaluated in making the determination that the taxa are quarantine pests or hosts of quarantine pests. We are making these data sheets available to the public for review and comment.
Swine Health Protection Act; Amendments to Garbage Feeding Regulations
Document Number: 2019-25367
Type: Rule
Date: 2019-11-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Swine Health Protection Act regulations by removing the State status lists from the regulations in order to maintain these lists on the Agency's website. These changes will allow us to use a notice-based, streamlined approach to update the lists while continuing to protect swine health in the United States.
Environmental Impact Statement for Predator Damage Management in Oregon
Document Number: 2019-24720
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service plans to prepare an environmental impact statement analyzing alternatives for predator damage management in Oregon.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Carrots From the Republic of Korea Into the United States
Document Number: 2019-24535
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh carrots from the Republic of Korea into the United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh carrots from the Republic of Korea. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Concurrence With OIE Risk Designations for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
Document Number: 2019-24455
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to concur with the World Organization for Animal Health's (OIE) bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk designations for Nicaragua. The OIE recognizes this region as being of negligible risk for BSE. We are taking this action based on our review of information supporting the OIE's risk designations for this region.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Domestic Quarantine Regulations
Document Number: 2019-23905
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the domestic quarantine regulations for preventing the spread of plant pests and diseases within the United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Veterinary Services Field Operations Export Services Customer Service Survey Project
Document Number: 2019-23904
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-11-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection to evaluate service delivery by the Veterinary Services Field Operations Export Service Centers to the public.