Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service November 2013 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Notice of Determination; New and Revised Treatments for the Imported Fire Ant Program
Document Number: 2013-28322
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are adding or revising certain treatment schedules for the Imported Fire Ant Program in the Plant Protection and Quarantine (PPQ) Treatment Manual. In a previous notice, we made available to the public for review and comment a treatment evaluation document that discussed the existing treatment schedules, described the new treatment schedules, and explained why these changes are necessary. We also made available an environmental assessment that explained pesticide use in the new and revised treatments in the imported fire ant program. Based on the treatment evaluation document, the environmental assessment, and the comments we received, we are announcing our determination to add those new and revised treatments to the PPQ Treatment Manual.
Petition To Promulgate Standards for Bears Under the Animal Welfare Act Regulations
Document Number: 2013-28312
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-11-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition requesting that we amend the Animal Welfare Act regulations to add specific standards for the humane handling, care, treatment, and transportation of all species of bears held in captivity except polar bears, for which there are already standards. We are making this petition available to the public and soliciting comments regarding the petition and any issues raised by the petition that we should take into account as we consider this petition.
Notice of Decision To Authorize the Importation of Swiss Chard From Colombia Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-27703
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation into the continental United States of Swiss chard from Colombia. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of Swiss chard from Colombia.
Importation of Fresh Beans, Shelled or in Pods, From Jordan Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-27689
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-11-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of commercial shipments of fresh beans, shelled or in pods (French, green, snap, and string), from Jordan into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, the beans must be produced in accordance with a systems approach that includes requirements for packing, washing, and processing. The beans must also be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate attesting that all phytosanitary requirements have been met and that the consignment was inspected and found free of quarantine pests. This action allows for the importation of fresh beans, shelled or in pods, from Jordan into the continental United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of plant pests.
Importation of Ovine Meat From Uruguay
Document Number: 2013-27285
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-11-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of certain animals, meat, and other animal products to allow, under certain conditions, the importation of fresh (chilled or frozen) ovine meat from Uruguay. A risk assessment that we have prepared indicates that fresh (chilled or frozen) ovine meat can safely be imported from Uruguay under these conditions. This action will allow the importation of fresh ovine meat from Uruguay into the United States while continuing to protect the United States against the introduction of foot-and-mouth disease.
Notice of Affirmation of Addition of a Treatment Schedule for Methyl Bromide Fumigation of Blueberries
Document Number: 2013-27134
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are affirming our earlier determination that it was necessary to immediately add to the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual a treatment schedule for methyl bromide fumigation of blueberries for Mediterranean fruit fly and South American fruit fly. In a previous notice, we made available to the public for review and comment a treatment evaluation document that described the new treatment schedule and explained why we have determined that it is effective at neutralizing these fruit flies.
Evaluation of Established Plant Pests for Action at Ports of Entry
Document Number: 2013-27132
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have been and are assessing certain plant pests that are present in the United States to determine whether we should take action to mitigate the risk posed by those pests when they are found in consignments of imported goods at ports of entry into the United States. We have determined that it is no longer appropriate or necessary to take such action on some plant pests on which we had been taking action at ports of entry because we are not taking any regulatory action on those same pests when we find them in interstate movement, due to our scientific determination that we do not need to mitigate their pest risk. This process relieves restrictions that are no longer needed and ensures that actions taken on plant pests found in imported goods are consistent with the actions we take on those same pests when they appear in interstate commerce.
Okanagan Specialty Fruits, Inc.; Availability of Plant Pest Risk Assessment and Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Apples Genetically Engineered to Resist Browning
Document Number: 2013-26792
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available for public comment our plant pest risk assessment and our draft environmental assessment regarding a request from Okanagan Specialty Fruits, Inc., seeking a determination of nonregulated status of apple events designated as events GD743 and GS784, which have been genetically engineered to resist browning. We are soliciting comments on whether these genetically engineered apples are likely to pose a plant pest risk.
Monsanto Co.; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Increased Yield
Document Number: 2013-26703
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a soybean event developed by the Monsanto Company, designated as MON 87712, which has been genetically engineered for increased yield, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by the Monsanto Company in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notices announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
BASF Plant Science LP; Availability of Plant Pest Risk Assessment and Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Herbicide Resistance
Document Number: 2013-26701
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available for public comment our plant pest risk assessment and our draft environmental assessment regarding a request from BASF Plant Science LP seeking a determination of nonregulated status of soybean designated as event BPS-CV127-9, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to herbicides in the imidazolinone family. We are soliciting comments on whether this genetically engineered soybean is likely to pose a plant pest risk.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Clementines, Mandarins, and Tangerines From Chile
Document Number: 2013-26700
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of clementines, mandarins, and tangerines from Chile into the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of French Beans and Runner Beans From Kenya Into the United States
Document Number: 2013-26448
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of French beans and runner beans from Kenya into the United States.