Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service September 2010 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Lacey Act Declaration Requirement; Plants and Plant Products
Document Number: 2010-24351
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-09-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection required by the Lacey Act for the importation of certain plants and plant products.
National Veterinary Accreditation Program; Currently Accredited Veterinarians Performing Accredited Duties and Electing to Participate
Document Number: 2010-24294
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-09-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are announcing to the public that veterinarians who are currently accredited in the National Veterinary Accreditation Program (NVAP) may continue to perform accredited duties and to elect to continue to participate in the NVAP until further notice. The regulations indicate that currently accredited veterinarians must elect to continue their participation in the NVAP in order to maintain their accredited status, after which we will confirm their continued participation and notify them of their first renewal date. Various logistical obstacles have prevented us from processing in a timely manner the elections to participate that we have received. Allowing currently accredited veterinarians to continue to perform accredited duties and to elect to participate will ensure that we obtain an accurate and complete record of accredited veterinarian participation while continuing to allow veterinarians to provide accredited services to the public.
Importation of Wooden Handicrafts from China
Document Number: 2010-23817
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing a change related to our proposed rule published in the Federal Register on April 9, 2009, that would amend the regulations to provide for the importation of wooden handicrafts from China under certain conditions. One of those conditions would have required that, unless the handicrafts are under 6 inches in diameter and treated with methyl bromide, they must be treated with heat treatment or heat treatment with moisture reduction that raises the temperature at the center of the handicraft to at least 71.1 [deg]C and maintains the handicraft at that center temperature for at least 75 minutes. Based on a recently published article, in this supplemental proposed rule we are proposing measures that would modify this requirement to a temperature at the center of at least 60 [deg]C for a duration of at least 60 minutes.
National Veterinary Accreditation Program; Correcting Amendment
Document Number: 2010-23671
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-09-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule that was published in the Federal Register on December 9, 2009 (74 FR 64998-65013, Docket No. APHIS-2006-0093), and effective on February 1, 2010, we amended the National Veterinary Accreditation Program regulations, adding new provisions and reorganizing others. In that final rule, we redesignated the section containing the standards for performing accredited veterinarian duties, but we neglected to update citations of that section elsewhere in 9 CFR chapter I. This document corrects those errors.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Veterinary Services Laboratories; Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy Surveillance Program Documents
Document Number: 2010-23670
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-09-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of an information collection associated with National Veterinary Services Laboratories diagnostic support for the bovine spongiform encephalopathy surveillance program.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Small-Scale Livestock Operations 2011 Study
Document Number: 2010-23668
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-09-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to initiate an information collection to support the National Animal Health Monitoring System Small-Scale Livestock Operations 2011 Study.
National Poultry Improvement Plan and Auxiliary Provisions
Document Number: 2010-23248
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-09-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the National Poultry Improvement Plan (the Plan) and its auxiliary provisions by providing new or modified sampling and testing procedures for Plan participants and participating flocks. The proposed changes were voted on and approved by the voting delegates at the Plan's 2008 National Plan Conference. These changes would keep the provisions of the Plan current with changes in the poultry industry and provide for the use of new sampling and testing procedures.
Removal of the List of Ports of Embarkation and Export Inspection Facilities from the Regulations
Document Number: 2010-23245
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-09-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the live animal export regulations by removing the list of designated ports of embarkation and their associated export inspection facilities. As a result of this rulemaking, those ports and facilities would henceforth be listed on the Internet rather than in the regulations, thus enabling us to amend the list, when necessary, in a timelier manner than we can now and allowing us greater flexibility in regulating animal exports.
Notice of Decision To Issue Permits for the Importation of Sweet Limes From Mexico Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2010-23238
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-09-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin issuing permits for the importation into the continental United States of sweet limes from Mexico. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of sweet limes from Mexico.
Live Goats and Swine for Export; Removal of Certain Testing Requirements
Document Number: 2010-23235
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-09-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the livestock exportation regulations to eliminate the requirement for pre-export tuberculosis and brucellosis testing of goats and breeding swine intended for export to countries that do not require such tests. This action would facilitate the exportation of goats and breeding swine by eliminating the need to conduct pre-export tuberculosis and brucellosis testing when the receiving country does not require such testing.
Viruses, Serums, Toxins, and Analogous Products; Expiration Date Required for Serials and Subserials and Determination of Expiration Date of Product
Document Number: 2010-23186
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2010-09-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the Virus-Serum-Toxin Act regulations concerning expiration dating to clarify that the expiration date of a serial or subserial of a veterinary biologic should be computed from the date of the initiation of the first potency test. We also propose to require the expiration dating period (stability) of a product to be confirmed by conducting a real-time stability study with a stability-indicating assay; require stability monitoring of products after licensing; and specify a single standard for determining the expiration date for veterinary biologics in place of the current standard that specifies different procedures for products contingent upon whether they consist of viable or nonviable organisms. These amendments would update and clarify the regulations concerning expiration dating and establish a single uniform standard for determining the stability of veterinary biological products. This proposed rule replaces a previously published proposed rule, which we are withdrawing as part of this document.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing Foot-and-Mouth Disease Vaccine, Live Adenovirus Vector
Document Number: 2010-22365
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-09-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment (EA) concerning authorization to ship for the purpose of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed foot-and-mouth disease vaccine, live adenovirus vector. The EA, which is based on a risk analysis prepared to assess the risks associated with the field testing of this vaccine, examines the potential effects that field testing this veterinary vaccine could have on the quality of the human environment. Based on the risk analysis, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment, and that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared. We intend to authorize shipment of this vaccine for field testing following the close of the comment period for this notice unless new substantial issues bearing on the effects of this action are brought to our attention. We also intend to issue a U.S. Veterinary Biological Product license for this vaccine, provided the field test data support the conclusions of the EA and the issuance of a finding of no significant impact and the product meets all other requirements for licensing.
Pale Cyst Nematode; Update of Quarantined Areas
Document Number: 2010-22364
Type: Notice
Date: 2010-09-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have made changes to the area in the State of Idaho that is quarantined to prevent the spread of pale cyst nematode. The description of the quarantined area was updated on April 26, 2010. As a result of these changes, 209 acres have been removed from the quarantined area.
Black Stem Rust; Additions of Rust-Resistant Varieties
Document Number: 2010-22363
Type: Rule
Date: 2010-09-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the black stem rust quarantine and regulations by adding four varieties to the list of rust-resistant Berberis species or cultivars in the regulations. This action will allow for the interstate movement of these newly developed varieties without unnecessary restrictions.