Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service March 2005 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Importation of Fruits and Vegetables
Document Number: 05-6269
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2005-03-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the fruits and vegetables regulations to list a number of fruits and vegetables from certain parts of the world as eligible, under specified conditions, for importation into the United States. Many of these fruits and vegetables are already eligible for importation under permit, but are not specifically listed in the regulations. All of the fruits and vegetables, as a condition of entry, would be inspected and subject to treatment at the port of first arrival as may be required by an inspector. In addition, some of the fruits and vegetables would be required to be treated or meet other special conditions. We also propose to recognize areas in several countries as free from certain fruit flies; provide for the importation of untreated citrus from Mexico for processing under certain conditions; add, modify, or remove certain definitions; eliminate or modify existing treatment requirements for specified commodities; and make other miscellaneous changes. These actions would improve the transparency of our regulations while continuing to protect against the introduction of quarantine pests through imported fruits and vegetables.
Karnal Bunt; Regulated Areas
Document Number: 05-6029
Type: Rule
Date: 2005-03-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Karnal bunt regulations to make changes to the list of areas or fields regulated because of Karnal bunt, a fungal disease of wheat. We are adding certain areas in La Paz, Maricopa, and Pinal Counties, AZ, and Riverside County, CA, to the list of regulated areas either because they were found during surveys to contain a bunted wheat kernel, or because they are within the 3-mile-wide buffer zone around fields or areas affected with Karnal bunt. We are also removing certain areas or fields in Maricopa and Pinal Counties, AZ, and Imperial County, CA, from the list of regulated areas based on our determination that those fields or areas meet our criteria for release from regulation. These actions are necessary to prevent the spread of Karnal bunt to noninfected areas of the United States and to relieve restrictions on certain areas that are no longer necessary.
Classical Swine Fever Status of Mexican States of Campeche, Quintana Roo, Sonora, and Yucatan
Document Number: 05-6028
Type: Rule
Date: 2005-03-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations by adding the Mexican States of Campeche, Quintana Roo, Sonora, and Yucatan to the lists of regions considered free of classical swine fever (CSF). We have conducted a series of risk evaluations and have determined that these four States have met our requirements for being recognized as free of this disease. This action allows the importation into the United States of pork, pork products, live swine, and swine semen from these regions. In addition, this rule requires live swine, pork, and pork products imported into the United States from the four Mexican States to be certified as having originated in one of those States or in another region recognized by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service as free of CSF and as not having been commingled, prior to export to the United States, with animals and animal products from regions where CSF exists.
Notice of Request for Emergency Approval of an Information Collection
Document Number: C5-5065
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-03-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection
Document Number: E5-1246
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-03-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for pork and poultry products from Mexico transiting the United States.
Notice of Request for Emergency Approval of an Information Collection
Document Number: 05-5065
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-03-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request emergency approval of an information collection in support of a final rule published in today's issue of the Federal Register regarding the possession, use, and transfer of select agents and toxins.
Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002; Possession, Use, and Transfer of Biological Agents and Toxins
Document Number: 05-5063
Type: Rule
Date: 2005-03-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, with changes, an interim rule that established regulations governing the possession, use, and transfer of biological agents and toxins that have been determined to have the potential to pose a severe threat to public health and safety, to animal health, to plant health, or to animal or plant products. This action is necessary to protect animal and plant health, and animal and plant products.
Monsanto Co. and KWS SAAT AG; Determination of Nonregulated Status for Sugar Beet Genetically Engineered for Tolerance to the Herbicide Glyphosate
Document Number: 05-5302
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-03-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that the Monsanto and KWS SAAT AG sugar beet designated as event H7-1, which has been genetically engineered for tolerance to the herbicide glyphosate, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by Monsanto Company and KWS SAAT AG in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of other scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to a previous notice. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and our finding of no significant impact.
Viruses, Serums, Toxins, and Analogous Products; Standard Requirements for Bovine Virus Diarrhea and Bovine Rhinotracheitis Vaccines
Document Number: 05-5156
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2005-03-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are withdrawing a proposed rule to amend the Virus-Serum- Toxin Act regulations concerning Standard Requirements for Bovine Virus Diarrhea Vaccine, Killed Virus, and Bovine Rhinotracheitis Vaccine, Killed Virus. The proposed rule would have required vaccines to elicit specific antibody titer that is at least 80 percent of the geometric mean antibody titer obtained in the vaccinates in the host animal protection study to pass the potency test. We are taking this action after considering the comments we received following the publication of the proposed rule.
Viruses, Serums, Toxins, and Analogous Products; Standard Requirement for Escherichia Coli Bacterins
Document Number: 05-5155
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2005-03-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are withdrawing a proposed rule to amend the Virus-Serum- Toxin Act regulations by adding a Standard Requirement for Escherichia coli bacterins. The proposed rule would have provided uniform test methods, procedures, and criteria to be used by manufacturers of E. coli bacterins to ensure that such bacterins were immunogenic and potent. We are withdrawing the proposed rule after considering the comments we received following its publication.
Notice Pursuant to the National Cooperative Research and Production Act of 1993-Network Centric Operations Industry Consortium, Inc.
Document Number: 05-4935
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-03-14
Agency: Antitrust Division, Department of Justice, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, Department of Agriculture
Notice Pursuant to the National Cooperative Research and Production Act of 1993-Water Heater Industry Joint Research and Development Consortium
Document Number: 05-4934
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-03-14
Agency: Antitrust Division, Department of Justice, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, Department of Agriculture
Notice Pursuant to the National Cooperative Research and Production Act of 1993-PXI Systems Alliance, Inc.
Document Number: 05-4933
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-03-14
Agency: Antitrust Division, Department of Justice, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, Department of Agriculture
Notice Pursuant to the National Cooperative Research and Production Act of 1933-Interchangeable Virtual Instruments Foundation, Inc.
Document Number: 05-4932
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-03-14
Agency: Antitrust Division, Department of Justice, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, Department of Agriculture
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection
Document Number: 05-4916
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-03-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations to prohibit the importation of used farm equipment from regions affected with foot-and-mouth disease unless the equipment has been steam-cleaned prior to export to the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection
Document Number: 05-4915
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-03-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the payment of indemnity due to infectious salmon anemia.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection
Document Number: 05-4914
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-03-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to initiate a new information collection activity to support the National Animal Health Monitoring System's national Equine 2005 study.
Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy; Minimal-Risk Regions and Importation of Commodities; Partial Delay of Applicability
Document Number: 05-4917
Type: Rule
Date: 2005-03-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The amendments in this final rule delay until further notice the applicability of certain provisions of the rule entitled ``Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy; Minimal-Risk Regions and Importation of Commodities,'' published in the Federal Register on January 4, 2005, 70 FR 460-553. That rule was scheduled to amend the regulations in 9 CFR parts 93, 94, 95, and 96, effective March 7, 2005, to establish a category of regions that present a minimal risk of introducing bovine spongiform encephalopathy into the United States via live ruminants and ruminant products and byproducts and to add Canada to this category. That rule included conditions for the importation of certain live ruminants and ruminant products from such regions.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection
Document Number: 05-4706
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-03-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of poultry meat and other poultry products from Sinaloa and Sonora, Mexico, into the United States.
Nursery Stock Regulations
Document Number: 05-4705
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2005-03-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our advance notice of proposed rulemaking that solicited public comment on whether and how we should amend the regulations that govern the importation of nursery stock, also known as plants for planting. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Oriental Fruit Fly; Removal of Quarantined Area
Document Number: 05-4350
Type: Rule
Date: 2005-03-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Oriental fruit fly regulations by removing a portion of Orange County, CA, from the list of quarantined areas and by removing restrictions on the interstate movement of regulated articles from that area. This action is necessary to relieve restrictions that are no longer needed to prevent the spread of the Oriental fruit fly into noninfested areas of the United States. We have determined that the Oriental fruit fly has been eradicated from this portion of Orange County, CA, and that the quarantine and restrictions are no longer necessary. This portion of Orange County, CA, was the last remaining area in California quarantined for the Oriental fruit fly. Therefore, as a result of this action, there are no longer any areas in the continental United States quarantined for the Oriental fruit fly.
Oriental Fruit Fly; Removal of Quarantined Area
Document Number: 05-4376
Type: Rule
Date: 2005-03-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Oriental fruit fly regulations by removing a portion of Los Angeles County, CA, from the list of quarantined areas and by removing restrictions on the interstate movement of regulated articles from this area. This action is necessary to relieve restrictions that are no longer needed to prevent the spread of the Oriental fruit fly into noninfested areas of the United States. We have determined that the Oriental fruit fly has been eradicated from this portion of Los Angeles County, CA, and that the quarantine and restrictions are no longer necessary.
Emerald Ash Borer; Quarantined Areas
Document Number: 05-4095
Type: Rule
Date: 2005-03-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the emerald ash borer regulations by adding areas in Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio to the list of areas quarantined because of emerald ash borer. As a result of this action, the interstate movement of regulated articles from those areas is restricted. This action is necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the emerald ash borer from infested areas in the States of Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio into noninfested areas of the United States.