Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 2014 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 51 - 100 of 149
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Introduction of Organisms and Products Altered or Produced Through Genetic Engineering
Document Number: 2014-18922
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-08-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the introduction of organisms and products altered or produced through genetic engineering.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Virus-Serum-Toxin Act and Regulations
Document Number: 2014-18530
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-08-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the Virus-Serum-Toxin Act and regulations.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Eggplant from Israel
Document Number: 2014-18529
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-08-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of eggplant from Israel into the continental United States.
National Poultry Improvement Plan and Auxiliary Provisions
Document Number: C1-2014-16037
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-07-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Importation of Fresh Blueberries From Morocco Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2014-17843
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-07-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations concerning the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of fresh blueberries from Morocco into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, the blueberries must be produced under a systems approach employing a combination of mitigation measures for two quarantine pests, Ceratitis capitata and Monilinia fructigena, and must be inspected prior to exportation from Morocco and found free of these pests. The blueberries may be imported in commercial consignments only and must be treated with one of two approved postharvest treatments to mitigate C. capitata. The blueberries will have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that the conditions for importation have been met. This action will allow the importation of blueberries from Morocco while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Restrictions on the Importation of Fresh Pork and Pork Products From a Region in Mexico
Document Number: 2014-17886
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-07-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations governing the importation of animals and animal products to define a low-risk classical swine fever region in Mexico from which we would allow the importation of fresh pork and pork products under certain conditions. Under this proposed rule, such pork and pork products would have to be derived from swine raised on farms meeting stringent sanitary and biosecurity requirements. We would also provide safeguards against commingling of the swine and the pork and pork products with animals and products that do not meet our proposed requirements. Establishments that slaughter the swine from which the pork or pork products are derived would have to allow periodic inspection and evaluation of their facilities, records, and operations by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. This proposed rule would relieve some restrictions on the importation of pork and pork products from Mexico while continuing to protect against the introduction of classical swine fever into the United States.
Importation of Two Hybrids of Unshu Orange From the Republic of Korea Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2014-17885
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-07-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations concerning the importation of citrus fruit to allow the importation of commercial consignments of two Unshu orange hybrids from the Republic of Korea into the continental United States. These hybrids would be eligible for importation into the continental United States subject to the existing conditions for the importation of Unshu oranges from the Republic of Korea. We would also make one minor change to the existing regulations by adding an explicit statement that only commercial consignments of Unshu oranges would be eligible for importation into the continental United States. The proposed changes would remove the prohibition on the importation of Unshu orange hybrids that can safely enter the United States, provided that certain conditions are met, and would codify an existing requirement.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Commercial Transportation of Equines for Slaughter
Document Number: 2014-17884
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-07-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the commercial transportation of equines to slaughtering facilities.
Approved Tests for Bovine Tuberculosis in Cervids
Document Number: 2014-17877
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-07-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations regarding official tuberculosis tests for captive cervids to remove the CervidTB Stat- Pak[supreg] as an official bovine tuberculosis test for the following species of captive cervids: Elk, red deer, white-tailed deer, fallow deer, and reindeer. We are also amending the regulations to specify that the Dual Path Platform (DPP)[supreg] test, which was previously a supplemental test to be used in conjunction with the CervidTB Stat- Pak[supreg], is now considered a primary test, as well. We are taking this action because the CervidTB Stat-Pak[supreg] is no longer being produced, and because we have determined that the DPP[supreg] test can reliably be used as a primary test for bovine tuberculosis in certain species of captive cervids. This action is necessary on an immediate basis so that the regulations do not continue to authorize usage of a discontinued test, yet still provide regulated entities with options in order to meet the testing requirements for captive cervids within the regulations.
Sharing Certain Business Information Regarding the Introduction of Genetically Engineered Organisms With State and Tribal Government Agencies
Document Number: 2014-16927
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-07-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are withdrawing a proposed rule that would have amended the regulations regarding genetically engineered organisms regulated by the United States Department of Agriculture by adding provisions for sharing certain business information with State and Tribal government agencies. We have decided to withdraw the proposed rule to ensure that our ability to protect confidential business information from disclosure is maintained.
Asian Longhorned Beetle; Quarantined Areas in New Jersey
Document Number: 2014-16924
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-07-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the Asian longhorned beetle regulations by removing portions of Middlesex and Union Counties, NJ, from the list of quarantined areas based on our determination that those areas meet our criteria for removal. The interim rule was necessary to relieve restrictions that are no longer necessary because there are no longer any areas in New Jersey that are quarantined because of Asian longhorned beetle.
Importation of Apples From China
Document Number: 2014-16923
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-07-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of fresh apples (Malus pumila) from China into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, apples from areas in China in which the Oriental fruit fly (Bactrocera dorsalis) is not known to exist would have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that would include requirements for registration of places of production and packinghouses, inspection for quarantine pests at set intervals by the national plant protection organization of China, bagging of fruit, safeguarding, labeling, and importation in commercial consignments. Apples from areas in China in which Oriental fruit fly is known to exist could be imported into the continental United States if, in addition to these requirements, the apples are treated with fumigation plus refrigeration. All apples from China would also be required to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that all conditions for the importation of the apples have been met and that the consignment of apples has been inspected and found free of quarantine pests. This action would allow for the importation of apples from China into the continental United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Cattle Fever Tick; Importation Requirements for Ruminants From Mexico
Document Number: 2014-16783
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-07-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to recognize the State of Sonora as a region in Mexico that is free of fever ticks. We would also establish an exemption from acaricide dipping treatment requirements, and the documentation requirements associated with such dipping, that are currently applicable to cattle and other ruminants originating from Sonora as a condition of eligibility for entry to the United States, provided that certain conditions are met. This proposed action would remove restrictions on the importation of cattle and other ruminants from Sonora that we believe are no longer necessary and reduce the costs associated with tick dipping for exporters and importers of ruminants.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Tomatoes From Spain, Chile, France, Morocco, and Western Sahara
Document Number: 2014-16531
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-07-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of tomatoes from Spain, Chile, France, Morocco, and Western Sahara.
National Poultry Improvement Plan and Auxiliary Provisions
Document Number: 2014-16037
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-07-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP, the Plan) and its auxiliary provisions by removing the descriptions of specific tests and sanitation procedures from the regulations. Instead, we will require tests to be performed and sanitation to be maintained in a manner approved by the Administrator. Approved procedures will be listed in an NPIP Program Standards document, which we are making available on the NPIP Web site. In addition, we are establishing new compartment classifications for defined subpopulations of primary breeding turkeys, primary egg-type chickens, and primary meat-type chickens. We are also providing new or modified sampling and testing procedures for Plan participants and participating flocks. The changes in this final rule were voted on and approved by the voting delegates at the Plan's 2010 and 2012 National Plan Conferences. These changes will streamline the provisions of the Plan, keep those provisions current with changes in the poultry industry, and provide for the use of new sampling and testing procedures.
Notice of Availability of Pest Risk Analyses for the Importation of Chipilin Leaves and Edible Flowers of Chufle, Izote, and Pacaya From Guatemala Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2014-15866
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-07-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared pest risk analyses that evaluate the risks associated with importation of chipilin leaves and edible flowers of chufle, izote, and pacaya from Guatemala into the continental United States. Based on these analyses, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the movement of chipilin leaves and edible flowers of chufle, izote, and pacaya from Guatemala. We are making these documents available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Pork and Poultry Products From Mexico Transiting the United States
Document Number: 2014-15863
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-07-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for pork and poultry products from Mexico transiting the United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; National Poultry Improvement Plan
Document Number: 2014-15751
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-07-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the National Poultry Improvement Plan.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Equine 2015 Study
Document Number: 2014-15749
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-07-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a reinstatement of an information collection to support the National Animal Health Monitoring System's Equine 2015 Study to support the equine industry in the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Used Farm Equipment From Regions Affected With Foot-and-Mouth Disease
Document Number: 2014-15494
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-07-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the importation of used farm equipment into the United States from regions affected with foot-and-mouth disease.
User Fees for Agricultural Quarantine and Inspection Services
Document Number: 2014-15480
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-07-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule to amend the user fee regulations by adding new fee categories and adjusting current fees charged for certain agricultural quarantine and inspection services that are provided in connection with certain commercial vessels, commercial trucks, commercial railroad cars, commercial aircraft, and international passengers arriving at ports in the customs territory of the United States. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Self-Certification Medical Statement
Document Number: 2014-15018
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-06-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request extension of approval of an information collection for self-certification medical statements.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; U.S. Origin Health Certificate Template
Document Number: 2014-14117
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection for a U.S. origin health certificate template.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Poultry Meat and Other Poultry Products From Sinaloa and Sonora, Mexico
Document Number: 2014-14098
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of poultry meat and other poultry products from Sinaloa and Sonora, Mexico.
Notice of Availability of an Evaluation of the African Horse Sickness Status of Saudi Arabia
Document Number: 2014-13786
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-06-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that Saudi Arabia is free of African horse sickness (AHS). After reviewing the documentation submitted by Saudi Arabia in support of its request and considering other factors, the Administrator of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that AHS is not present in Saudi Arabia. We are making that determination, as well as an evaluation we have prepared in connection with this action, available for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Figs From Mexico Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2014-13784
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-06-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest list and risk management document regarding the risks associated with the importation into the continental United States of fresh figs from Mexico. Based on these documents, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh figs from Mexico. We are making the documents available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for Interstate Movement of Fresh Achachairú Fruit From Puerto Rico
Document Number: 2014-13781
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-06-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis (PRA) that evaluates the risks associated with the interstate movement into the continental United States of fresh achachair[uacute] fruit from Puerto Rico. Based on that analysis, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the interstate movement of achachair[uacute] from Puerto Rico. We are making the PRA available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Black Stem Rust; Identification Requirements for Addition of Rust-Resistant Varieties
Document Number: 2014-13738
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-06-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the black stem rust quarantine and regulations.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Category of Plants for Planting Not Authorized for Importation Pending Pest Risk Analysis
Document Number: 2014-13009
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-06-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the category of plants for planting that are not authorized for importation pending pest risk analysis.
Importation of Female Squash Flowers From Israel Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2014-13007
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-06-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of female squash flowers from Israel into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, female squash flowers from Israel will be subject to a systems approach that includes requirements for pest exclusion at the production site and fruit fly trapping and monitoring. The female squash flowers must also be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the national plant protection organization of Israel with an additional declaration that the female squash flowers have been inspected and found free of quarantine pests. This action will allow for the importation of female squash flowers from Israel into the continental United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Notice of Affirmation of Addition of a Treatment Schedule for Methyl Bromide Fumigation of Kumquat
Document Number: 2014-13008
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-06-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are affirming our earlier determination that it was necessary to immediately add to the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual a treatment schedule for methyl bromide fumigation of kumquats to control certain fruit flies. In a previous notice, we made available to the public for review and comment a treatment evaluation document that described the new treatment schedule and explained why we have determined that it is effective at neutralizing fruit flies.
J.R. Simplot Co.; Availability of Plant Pest Risk Assessment and Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Potato Genetically Engineered for Low Acrylamide Potential and Reduced Black Spot Bruise
Document Number: 2014-12555
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-05-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available for public comment our plant pest risk assessment and our draft environmental assessment regarding a request from the J.R. Simplot Company seeking a determination of nonregulated status of potatoes designated as InnateTM potatoes (events E12, E24, F10, F37, J3, J55, J78, G11, H37, and H50), which have been genetically engineered for low acrylamide potential (acrylamide is a human neurotoxicant and potential carcinogen that may form in potatoes and other starchy foods under certain cooking conditions) and reduced black spot bruise. We are soliciting comments on whether this genetically engineered potato is likely to pose a plant pest risk.
Syngenta Seeds, Inc., and Bayer CropScience AG; Availability of Plant Pest Risk Assessment, Environmental Assessment, Preliminary Finding of No Significant Impact, and Preliminary Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Herbicide Resistance
Document Number: 2014-12554
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-05-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a preliminary determination regarding a request from Syngenta Seeds, Inc., and Bayer CropScience AG seeking a determination of nonregulated status of soybean designated as SYHTOH2, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to the herbicide glufosinate and p-hydroxyphenylpyruvate dioxygenase inhibiting herbicides such as isoxaflutole and mesotrione. We are also making available for public review our plant pest risk assessment, environmental assessment, and preliminary finding of no significant impact for the preliminary determination of nonregulated status.
Monsanto Company and Forage Genetics International; Availability of a Plant Pest Risk Assessment and Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Genetically Engineered Alfalfa
Document Number: 2014-12553
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-05-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available for public comment our plant pest risk assessment and our draft environmental assessment regarding a request from the Monsanto Company and Forage Genetics International seeking a determination of nonregulated status of alfalfa designated as event KK179, which has been genetically engineered to express reduced levels of guaiacyl lignin. We are soliciting comments on whether this genetically engineered alfalfa is likely to pose a plant pest risk.
Viruses, Serums, Toxins, and Analogous Products; Standard Requirements; Addition of Terminology To Define Veterinary Biologics Test Results
Document Number: 2014-12551
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-05-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the veterinary biological product regulations by defining the terms used for reporting the results of tests performed on veterinary biological products. Licensees and permittees of veterinary biological products must conduct these tests and report the results to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service so that the Agency can determine if the products are eligible for release. Defining these terms would clarify the circumstances under which the results of a prescribed test can be reported as satisfactory, unsatisfactory, inconclusive, or a No Test. We are also proposing to remove several obsolete testing standard requirements from part 113. These changes would update our regulations and improve communication between regulators and product licensees and permittees with respect to reporting test results.
In Vitro Tests for Serial Release
Document Number: 2014-12550
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-05-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the ``In vitro tests for serial release'' regulations by removing a footnote that refers to one method to calculate the relative antigen content of inactivated veterinary biological products and relative potency calculation software available from Veterinary Services' Center for Veterinary Biologics (CVB). CVB will no longer provide or update the software and the written method for using the software will no longer be used. This action will update the regulations.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Karnal Bunt; Importation of Wheat and Related Articles
Document Number: 2014-12549
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-05-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of wheat and related articles from regions affected with Karnal bunt.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Pine Shoot Beetle Host Material From Canada
Document Number: 2014-11277
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-05-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of pine nursery stock and various pine products from Canada to prevent the spread of pine shoot beetle into noninfested areas of the United States.
Secretary's Advisory Committee on Animal Health; Meeting
Document Number: 2014-11275
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-05-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This is a notice to inform the public of an upcoming meeting of the Secretary's Advisory Committee on Animal Health. The meeting is being organized by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service to discuss matters of animal health.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Gypsy Moth Identification Worksheet and Checklist
Document Number: 2014-11273
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-05-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the gypsy moth program.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; Information Technology Account Management
Document Number: 2014-11272
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-05-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's (APHIS') intention to request approval of a new information collection for information technology account management to ensure the security of APHIS systems from unauthorized access.
Secretary's Advisory Committee on Animal Health; Intent To Renew
Document Number: 2014-11271
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-05-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture intends to renew the charter for the Secretary's Advisory Committee on Animal Health for a 2-year period. The Secretary has determined that the Committee is necessary and in the public interest.
Notice of Availability of a Draft Framework for Implementing the United States-Canada Foreign Animal Disease Zoning Arrangement
Document Number: 2014-10998
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-05-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available for public comment a draft framework for implementing and maintaining a foreign animal disease zoning arrangement between the United States and Canada. The draft framework provides an operational plan for the two countries to recognize each other's decisions to control a highly contagious foreign animal disease outbreak through zoning. The draft framework also establishes a structure for maintaining the arrangement over time and strategies for engaging governmental and non-governmental stakeholders in any actions taken under the arrangement, including planning and preparedness. This zoning arrangement will facilitate continued trade between disease-free areas of the United States and Canada while safeguarding animal health in both countries.
Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002; Biennial Review and Republication of the Select Agent and Toxin List; Amendments to the Select Agent and Toxin Regulations; Technical Amendment
Document Number: 2014-10741
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-05-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule that was published in the Federal Register on October 5, 2012, we amended and republished the list of select agents and toxins that have the potential to pose a severe threat to animal or plant health, or to animal or plant products; reorganized the list of select agents and toxins based on the relative potential of each select agent or toxin to be misused to adversely affect human, plant, or animal health; and amended the regulations in order to add definitions and clarify language concerning security, training, biosafety, biocontainment, and incident response. In that final rule we neglected to precisely align all of our regulatory language with that used by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) in their regulations and, in some cases, did not align our language in the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) regulations concerning plant health and plant products with that concerning animal health and animal products. As APHIS co-administers the select agent regulations with CDC, this document corrects inconsistencies in language between APHIS and CDC regulations. We are also correcting an improper term used in those sections of the regulations associated with identification of a viral strain or subspecies that is excluded from the requirements of the regulations, modifying the terms used when a select toxin is excluded from the regulations, clarifying those parts of the regulations that deal with temporary exemptions granted during periods of agricultural or public health emergencies, and adding language to specify that individuals not approved for access to registered space for activities not related to select agents or toxins (e.g., routine cleaning, maintenance, and repairs) would not have to be continuously escorted by an approved individual so long as those non-approved persons would not be able to gain access to select agents or toxins.
Importation of Cape Gooseberry From Colombia Into the United States
Document Number: 2014-10039
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-05-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of cape gooseberry from Colombia into the United States. As a condition of entry, cape gooseberry from Colombia must be subject to a systems approach that includes requirements for establishment of pest-free places of production and the labeling of boxes prior to shipping. The cape gooseberry also must be imported in commercial consignments and accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the national plant protection organization of Colombia certifying that the fruit has been produced in accordance with the systems approach. This action allows for the importation of cape gooseberry from Colombia into the United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of plant pests.
Field Release of Aphelinus rhamni
Document Number: 2014-10038
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-05-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that a draft environmental assessment has been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service relative to the proposed release of Aphelinus rhamni for the biological control of the soybean aphid, Aphis glycines, in the continental United States. We are making this environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Interstate Movement of Allium
Document Number: 2014-10034
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-05-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk assessment and risk management document regarding the risks associated with the interstate movement of Allium spp. leaves from Hawaii into the continental United States. Based on these documents, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the movement of Allium spp. leaves from Hawaii. We are making these documents available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Emergency Epidemiologic Investigations
Document Number: 2014-10028
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-05-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval for Emergency Epidemiologic Investigations, an information collection to support the National Animal Health Monitoring System.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fruits and Vegetables
Document Number: 2014-10026
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-05-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of certain fruits and vegetables into the United States.
Chronic Wasting Disease Herd Certification Program and Interstate Movement of Farmed or Captive Deer, Elk, and Moose
Document Number: 2014-09714
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-04-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, with two miscellaneous changes, an interim final rule that established a herd certification program to control chronic wasting disease (CWD) in farmed or captive cervids in the United States. The interim final rule specifically requested comment on our policy that our CWD regulations set minimum requirements for the interstate movement of farmed or captive deer, elk, and moose but will not preempt State or local laws or regulations that are more restrictive than our regulations. This document responds to comments we received on that policy. The interim final rule was necessary to help to control the incidence of CWD in farmed or captive cervid herds and prevent its spread.