Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 2014 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 101 - 149 of 149
User Fees for Agricultural Quarantine and Inspection Services
Document Number: 2014-09466
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-04-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the user fee regulations by adding new fee categories and adjusting current fees charged for certain agricultural quarantine and inspection services that are provided in connection with certain commercial vessels, commercial trucks, commercial railroad cars, commercial aircraft, and international passengers arriving at ports in the customs territory of the United States. We are also proposing to adjust or remove the fee caps associated with commercial trucks, commercial vessels, and commercial railcars. We have determined that revised user fee categories and revised user fees are necessary to recover the costs of the current level of activity, to account for actual and projected increases in the cost of doing business, and to more accurately align fees with the costs associated with each fee service.
Fee Increases for Overtime Services
Document Number: 2014-09463
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-04-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to change the hourly rates charged for Sundays, holidays, or other overtime work performed by employees of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) for any person, firm, or corporation having ownership, custody, or control of regulated commodities or articles subject to inspection, laboratory testing, certification, or quarantine under the regulations. We are proposing to increase these overtime rates for each of the fiscal years 2014 through 2018 to reflect the anticipated costs associated with providing these services during each year. Establishing the overtime rate changes in advance would allow users of APHIS' services to incorporate the rates into their budget planning. We are also proposing to clarify the regulations to indicate that agricultural inspections performed by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) may be billed in accordance with DHS overtime regulations for services performed outside of regular business hours, as DHS rates may differ from those charged by APHIS.
Viruses, Serums, Toxins, and Analogous Products; Single Label Claim for Veterinary Biological Products
Document Number: 2014-08995
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-04-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the Virus-Serum-Toxin Act regulations to provide for the use of a simpler labeling format that would better communicate product performance to the user. We intend to replace the current label format, which reflects any of four different levels of effectiveness, with a single, uniform label format. We are also proposing to require biologics licensees to provide a standardized summary, with confidential business information removed, of the efficacy and safety data submitted to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service in support of the issuance of a full product license or conditional license. A simpler label format along with publicly available safety and efficacy data will help biologics producers to more clearly communicate product performance to their customers.
Pine Shoot Beetle; Addition of Quarantined Areas and Regulated Articles
Document Number: 2014-08722
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-04-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the pine shoot beetle regulations by adding areas in the States of Illinois, Maryland, Missouri, New York, and Virginia and the States of Indiana and New Jersey in their entirety to the list of quarantined areas. We are taking this action following the detection of pine shoot beetle in those areas. In addition, we are updating the list of regulated articles. These actions are necessary to prevent the spread of pine shoot beetle, a pest of pine trees, into noninfested areas of the United States.
Asian Longhorned Beetle; Quarantined Areas in Ohio
Document Number: 2014-08720
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-04-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the Asian longhorned beetle regulations by adding a portion of Clermont County, OH, to the list of quarantined areas and restricting the interstate movement of regulated articles from that area. The interim rule was necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the Asian longhorned beetle to noninfested areas of the United States.
Importation of Mangoes From Jamaica Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2014-08480
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-04-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations concerning the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of fresh mangoes from Jamaica into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, the mangoes would have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach employing a combination of mitigation measures for certain fruit flies, soft scale insects, and diseases and would have to be inspected prior to exportation from Jamaica and found free of these pests and diseases. The mangoes would have to be imported in commercial consignments only and would have to be treated to mitigate the risk of fruit flies. The mangoes would also have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate. This action would allow the importation of mangoes from Jamaica while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Consolidation of Permit Procedures; Denial and Revocation of Permits
Document Number: 2014-08095
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-04-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are consolidating the regulations concerning the issuance of permits for the importation and interstate movement of a wide variety of regulated plants, plant products, and other articles. We are also making corresponding changes to the regulations concerning permits for the importation and interstate movement of noxious weeds and the importation of honeybees and other beekeeping articles. The regulations will also include new provisions for the denial of a permit and the revocation of a permit once issued. These changes will make our permit procedures more transparent and easier to use, allow us to evaluate a permit application more quickly and thoroughly, and help us hold permittees accountable for complying with permit conditions.
Expansion of Areas in the Philippines Considered Free of Mango Seed Weevil and Mango Pulp Weevil and Establishment of a Lower Irradiation Dose as a Treatment for Mango Pulp Weevil
Document Number: 2014-08020
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-04-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the list of designated pest-free areas for mango seed weevil and mango pulp weevil within the Philippines. We are also advising the public that we have determined that it is necessary to amend the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual to establish a specific approved dose of irradiation as an authorized treatment for mango pulp weevil. These actions are necessary because surveys have determined that additional areas within the Philippines are free of mango seed weevil and mango pulp weevil. Additionally, we have determined that the mango pulp weevil can be neutralized with a lower dose of irradiation than the current generic dose for most plant pests of the class Insecta.
Importation of Fresh Unshu Oranges From Japan Into the United States
Document Number: 2014-08019
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-04-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations concerning the importation of citrus fruit to remove certain restrictions on the importation of Unshu oranges from Japan that are no longer necessary. Specifically, we propose to remove requirements for the fruit to be grown in specified canker-free export areas with buffer zones and for joint inspection in the groves and packinghouses by the Government of the Republic of Japan and the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. We would also clarify that surface sterilization of the fruit must be conducted in accordance with our regulations. Finally, we would require that each shipment be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate containing an additional declaration stating that the fruit was given the required surface sterilization. These proposed changes would make the regulations concerning the importation of Unshu oranges from Japan consistent with our domestic regulations concerning the interstate movement of citrus fruit from areas quarantined because of citrus canker.
National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee; Reestablishment
Document Number: 2014-07849
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-04-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture will reestablish the National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee for a 2- year period. The Secretary has determined that the Committee is necessary and in the public interest.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan and 42nd Biennial Conference
Document Number: 2014-07847
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-04-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice of a meeting of the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP) and the NPIP's 42nd Biennial Conference.
Notice of Availability of Treatment Evaluation Documents for Various Plant Commodities
Document Number: 2014-06948
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-03-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that it is necessary to immediately add to the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual treatment schedules for various plant commodities. We have prepared four treatment evaluation documents that describe the new treatment schedules and explain why we have determined that they are effective at neutralizing certain target pests. We are making these treatment evaluation documents available to the public for review and comment.
Asian Longhorned Beetle; Quarantined Areas in New Jersey
Document Number: 2014-06947
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-03-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Asian longhorned beetle regulations by removing portions of Middlesex and Union Counties, NJ, from the list of quarantined areas based on our determination that those areas meet our criteria for removal. This action is necessary to relieve restrictions that are no longer necessary. With this change, there are no longer any areas in New Jersey that are quarantined because of Asian longhorned beetle.
Importation of Potatoes From Mexico
Document Number: 2014-06619
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-03-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations concerning the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of fresh potatoes (Solanum tuberosum L.) from Mexico into the United States. As a condition of entry, the potatoes must be produced in accordance with a systems approach employing a combination of mitigation measures to prevent the introduction and dissemination of plant pests into the United States. The potatoes must be imported in commercial consignments, must be produced by a grower who is registered in a certification program, must be packed in registered packinghouses, must be washed, cleaned, and treated with a sprout inhibitor, and must be inspected after packing for quarantine pests. The potatoes must also be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate that declares that the conditions for importation have been met. Finally, the national plant protection organization (NPPO) of Mexico must provide a bilateral workplan to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) that details the activities that the NPPO of Mexico will carry out to meet these requirements, subject to APHIS' approval. This action allows the importation of potatoes from Mexico while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Notice of Availability of Evaluations of the Foot-and-Mouth Disease and Rinderpest Status of a Region of Patagonia, Argentina
Document Number: 2014-06358
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-03-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our notice that announced our determination that a region of Argentina, consisting of the areas of Patagonia South and Patagonia North B, is free of foot- and-mouth disease. In that notice we also announced the availability of an evaluation assessing the rinderpest status of South America, which includes Argentina, and our determination, based on our evaluation, that rinderpest is not present in the entirety of Argentina. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Importation of Jackfruit, Pineapple, and Starfruit From Malaysia Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2014-06017
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-03-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of fresh jackfruit, pineapple, and starfruit from Malaysia into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, all three commodities must be irradiated for insect pests, inspected, and imported in commercial consignments. There will also be additional, commodity-specific requirements for other pests associated with jackfruit, pineapple, and starfruit from Malaysia. This action provides for the importation of jackfruit, pineapple, and starfruit from Malaysia while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
BASF Plant Sciences, LP; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Resistance to the Herbicide Imidazolinone
Document Number: 2014-06016
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-03-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a soybean event developed by BASF Plant Sciences, LP designated as BPS-CV127-9, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to treatment with imidazolinone herbicides, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by BASF Plant Sciences, LP in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notices announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Dow AgroSciences LLC; Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Cotton Genetically Engineered for Resistance to 2,4-D and Glufosinate
Document Number: 2014-06013
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-03-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition from Dow AgroSciences LLC (DAS) seeking a determination of nonregulated status of cotton designated as DAS-8191[Oslash]-7, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to the herbicides 2,4-D and glufosinate. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the DAS petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; South American Cactus Moth; Quarantine and Regulations
Document Number: 2014-05349
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-03-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the interstate movement of regulated articles to prevent the spread of South American cactus moth.
Monsanto Co.; Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Maize Genetically Engineered For Protection Against Corn Rootworm and Resistance to Glyphosate
Document Number: 2014-04968
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-03-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition from the Monsanto Company seeking a determination of nonregulated status of maize designated as event MON 87411, which has been genetically engineered for protection against corn rootworm and resistance to the herbicide glyphosate. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the Monsanto Company petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Dow AgroSciences LLC; Availability of Plant Pest Risk Assessment, Environmental Assessment, Preliminary Finding of No Significant Impact, and Preliminary Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2014-04756
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-03-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a preliminary determination regarding a request from Dow AgroSciences LLC seeking a determination of nonregulated status of soybean designated as event DAS-81419-2, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to certain lepidopteran pests. We are also making available for public review our plant pest risk assessment, environmental assessment, and preliminary finding of no significant impact for the preliminary determination of nonregulated status.
Importation of Beef From a Region in Brazil
Document Number: 2014-04308
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that would allow, under certain conditions, the importation of fresh (chilled or frozen) beef from a region in Brazil (the States of Bahia, Distrito Federal, Espirito Santo, Goias, Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul, Minas Gerais, Parana, Rio Grande do Sul, Rio de Janeiro, Rondonia, Sao Paulo, Sergipe, and Tocantins). This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Notice of Request for Revision To and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Animal Disease Traceability
Document Number: 2014-04191
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the animal disease traceability framework.
Dow AgroSciences LLC; Draft Environmental Impact Statement for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Herbicide Resistant Corn and Soybeans; Comment Period
Document Number: 2014-04188
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The comment period for a draft environmental impact statement (EIS) on environmental impacts that may result from the potential approval of petitions seeking a determination of nonregulated status of three cultivars of herbicide resistant corn and soybeans produced by Dow AgroSciences LLC will remain open until March 11, 2014. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan; Solicitation for Membership
Document Number: 2014-03843
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture is soliciting nominations for the election of regional membership, a member-at-large, and alternates to the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Hass Avocados From Michoacan, Mexico
Document Number: 2014-03691
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of Hass avocados from Michoacan, Mexico.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Plants for Planting Regulations
Document Number: 2014-03690
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the plants for planting regulations.
Importation of Live Birds and Poultry, Poultry Meat, and Poultry Products From a Region in the European Union; Technical Amendment
Document Number: 2014-02768
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule published in the Federal Register on March 29, 2013, and effective on April 15, 2013, we amended the regulations governing the importation of animals and animal products by recognizing 25 Member States of the European Union (EU) as the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS)-defined EU Poultry Trade Region. In that rule, we established requirements for the importation of live birds and poultry, and poultry meat and products, from the APHIS- defined EU Poultry Trade Region. In the final rule, it was not our intent to prohibit the importation of birds, poultry, and poultry meat and products from Member States of the APHIS-defined EU Poultry Trade Region that conduct trade in poultry and poultry products with other regions that APHIS recognizes as being free of Newcastle disease and highly pathogenic avian influenza. It was also not our intent that the import requirements for cooked poultry meat and products from the APHIS- defined EU Poultry Trade Region not be equivalent with the requirements we apply to other regions whenever an outbreak of Newcastle disease or highly pathogenic avian influenza occurs in those regions. This document amends the regulations to reflect our original intentions.
Response to Petitions for the Reclassification of Light Brown Apple Moth as a Non-Quarantine Pest
Document Number: 2014-02764
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public of our decision to maintain our classification of the light brown apple moth (LBAM, Epiphyas postvittana [Walker]) as a quarantine pest. In making this decision, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) evaluated the possibility of and impact from reclassifying LBAM from an actionable, quarantine-significant pest to a non-actionable, non-quarantine pest. By maintaining a regulatory program for LBAM, APHIS is seeking to minimize the further spread of the moth in the United States and maintain foreign trade markets for our producers. This decision is based on our evaluation of data submitted by the two petitioners seeking the reclassification of LBAM, our analysis of other scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notice announcing the availability of our revised draft response to those petitions.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Laboratory Network Laboratories Annual Inventory Verification for USDA-Owned Equipment
Document Number: 2014-02762
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection associated with the National Animal Health Laboratory Network laboratories annual inventory verification for U.S. Department of Agriculture-owned equipment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Johne's Disease
Document Number: 2014-02761
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the interstate movement of animals affected with Johne's disease.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Veterinary Services Laboratories Request Forms
Document Number: 2014-02760
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection concerning the National Veterinary Services Laboratories request forms.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Laboratory Network Qualification Checklist for Membership
Document Number: 2014-02759
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection associated with the National Animal Health Laboratory Network qualification checklist for membership.
Notice of Availability of a Treatment Evaluation Document for Heat Treatment for Asian Longhorned Beetle
Document Number: 2014-02758
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that it is necessary to add a treatment schedule for Asian longhorned beetle in the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual. Thus, we have prepared a treatment evaluation document that discusses the existing treatment schedule and explains why this change is necessary. We are making this treatment evaluation document available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Blood and Tissue Collection at Slaughtering and Rendering Establishments
Document Number: 2014-02757
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for blood and tissue collection at slaughtering and rendering establishments to enhance animal disease surveillance.
Petition To Promulgate Standards for Bears Under the Animal Welfare Act Regulations
Document Number: 2014-02756
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for a petition requesting that we amend the Animal Welfare Act regulations to add specific standards for the humane handling, care, treatment, and transportation of all species of bears held in captivity except polar bears, for which there are already standards. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Quarantine Services and Facilities; Public Meeting
Document Number: 2014-02452
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service will host a series of public meetings to provide a forum for discussion on the current and future capacity for live animal import quarantines.
International Sanitary and Phytosanitary Standard-Setting Activities
Document Number: 2014-02274
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with legislation implementing the results of the Uruguay Round of negotiations under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, we are informing the public of the international standard- setting activities of the World Organization for Animal Health, the Secretariat of the International Plant Protection Convention, and the North American Plant Protection Organization, and we are soliciting public comment on the standards to be considered.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing a Porcine Reproductive and Respiratory Syndrome Vaccine, Respiratory Form, Modified Live Virus
Document Number: 2014-02273
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-02-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purpose of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Porcine Reproductive and Respiratory Syndrome Vaccine, Respiratory Form, Modified Live Virus. The environmental assessment, which is based on a risk analysis prepared to assess the risks associated with the field testing of this vaccine, examines the potential effects that field testing this veterinary vaccine could have on the quality of the human environment. Based on the risk analysis and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment, and that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared. We intend to authorize shipment of this vaccine for field testing following the close of the comment period for this notice unless new substantial issues bearing on the effects of this action are brought to our attention. We also intend to issue a U.S. Veterinary Biological Product license for this vaccine, provided the field test data support the conclusions of the environmental assessment and the issuance of a finding of no significant impact and the product meets all other requirements for licensing.
Notice of Availability of a Treatment Evaluation Document for Methyl Bromide Treatment for Kumquat
Document Number: 2014-01761
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-01-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that it is necessary to immediately add to the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual a treatment schedule for methyl bromide fumigation of kumquats to control certain fruit flies. We have prepared a treatment evaluation document that describes the new treatment schedule and explains why we have determined that it is effective at neutralizing fruit flies. We are making this treatment evaluation document available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Animals and Poultry, Animal and Poultry Products, Certain Animal Embryos, Semen, and Zoological Animals
Document Number: 2014-01758
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-01-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the importation of animals and poultry, animal and poultry products, certain animal embryos, semen, and zoological animals.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Environmental Monitoring
Document Number: 2014-01754
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-01-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with environmental monitoring.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Accreditation of Nongovernment Facilities
Document Number: 2014-01751
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-01-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with accrediting nongovernment facilities to perform services related to the export of plants or plant products.
Importation of Fresh Bananas From the Philippines Into Hawaii and U.S. Territories
Document Number: 2014-01581
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-01-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations concerning the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of fresh bananas from the Philippines into Guam, Hawaii, and the Northern Mariana Islands. As a condition of entry, the bananas would have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that would include requirements for importation of commercial consignments, monitoring of fruit flies to establish low-prevalence places of production, harvesting only of hard green bananas, and inspection for quarantine pests by the national plant protection organization of the Philippines. The bananas would also have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration stating that they were grown, packed, inspected, and found to be free of quarantine pests in accordance with the proposed requirements. This action would allow the importation of bananas from the Philippines while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into Guam, Hawaii, and the Northern Mariana Islands.
National Poultry Improvement Plan and Auxiliary Provisions
Document Number: 2014-01036
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-01-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP, the Plan) and its auxiliary provisions by removing the descriptions of specific tests and sanitation procedures from the regulations. Instead, we would require tests to be performed and sanitation to be maintained in a manner approved by the Administrator. Approved procedures would be listed in an NPIP Program Standards document, which we would make available on the NPIP Web site. In addition, we are proposing to establish new compartment classifications for defined subpopulations of primary breeding turkeys, primary egg- type chickens, and primary meat-type chickens. We would also provide new or modified sampling and testing procedures for Plan participants and participating flocks. The proposed changes were voted on and approved by the voting delegates at the Plan's 2010 and 2012 National Plan Conferences. These changes would streamline the provisions of the Plan, keep those provisions current with changes in the poultry industry, and provide for the use of new sampling and testing procedures.
Change in Disease Status of the Patagonia South Region of Argentina With Regard to Rinderpest and Foot-and-Mouth Disease
Document Number: 2014-01231
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2014-01-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are withdrawing a proposed rule that would have added that portion of the Patagonia region of Argentina located south of latitude 42[deg] south (Patagonia South) to the list of regions considered free of rinderpest and foot-and-mouth disease (FMD). The proposed rule would also have added that region to the list of regions that are subject to certain import restrictions on meat and meat products because of their proximity to or trading relationships with rinderpest- or FMD-affected regions. We are taking this action because we have prepared an updated risk analysis relative to Argentina that is being made available in accordance with a newer process for recognizing the animal health status of regions.
Notice of Availability of Evaluations of the Foot-and-Mouth Disease and Rinderpest Status of a Region of Patagonia, Argentina
Document Number: 2014-01229
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-01-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that a region of Argentina, consisting of the areas of Patagonia South and Patagonia North B, is free of foot-and-mouth disease. We are making that determination, as well as an evaluation we have prepared in connection with this action, available for review and comment. In addition, we have prepared an evaluation assessing the rinderpest status of South America, which includes Argentina, and have determined, based on our evaluation, that rinderpest is not present in the entirety of Argentina. We are also making that determination, as well as our evaluation, available for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; U.S. Origin Health Certificate
Document Number: 2014-00881
Type: Notice
Date: 2014-01-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the export of animals and animal products from the United States.
Horse Protection Act; Requiring Horse Industry Organizations To Assess and Enforce Minimum Penalties for Violations; Correction
Document Number: 2014-00880
Type: Rule
Date: 2014-01-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule that was published in the Federal Register on June 7, 2012, and effective on July 9, 2012, we amended the horse protection regulations to require horse industry organizations or associations that license Designated Qualified Persons to assess and enforce minimum penalties for violations of the Horse Protection Act. One of the minimum penalties was for violations related to shoeing the horse, but we neglected to include a citation to one of the shoeing violations for which the penalty should be assessed. This document corrects that error.