Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service September 2019 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Monsanto Company; Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Cotton Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2019-20961
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from Monsanto Company seeking a determination of nonregulated status for cotton designated as MON 88702, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to certain insects, primarily Lygus spp. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the Monsanto petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that APHIS may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for the Release of Cheilosia urbana for Biological Control of Invasive Hawkweeds
Document Number: 2019-20583
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to the release of the hoverfly Cheilosia urbana for the biological control of hawkweeds (Pilosella species), a significant invasive weed, within the contiguous United States. Based on our finding of no significant impact, we have determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Pork-Filled Pasta Products
Document Number: 2019-20578
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of pork- filled pasta products into the United States.
Notice of Request for an Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Interstate Movement of Certain Land Tortoises
Document Number: 2019-20576
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the interstate movement of certain land tortoises.
Import Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Sand Pears From Japan Into the United States
Document Number: 2019-20532
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis relative to the importation into the United States of sand pears (Pyrus pyrifolia) fruit from Japan. Currently, sand pears may only be imported from certain authorized production areas within Japan. Based on the findings of the analysis, we are proposing to authorize the importation of sand pears from all of Japan, rather than specific areas of production, and to revise the conditions under which sand pears from Japan may be imported into the United States. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Import Requirements for the Importation of Fresh Unshu Oranges From Japan Into the United States
Document Number: 2019-20531
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared commodity import evaluation documents (CIEDs) relative to the importation into the United States of Unshu oranges from Japan. Currently, Unshu oranges imported into the United States from the islands of Shikoku or Honshu must be fumigated with methyl bromide as a mitigation for mites and mealybugs if the oranges are destined to a port of entry in Arizona, California, Florida, Hawaii, Louisiana, or Texas. Additionally, Unshu oranges from the island of Kyushu are prohibited entry into Arizona, California, Florida, Hawaii, or Texas. Based on the findings of the CIEDs, we are proposing to remove the fumigation requirement for Unshu oranges from the islands of Honshu and Shikoku and to allow Unshu oranges from the island of Kyushu to be imported into any port of entry in the United States (excluding territories). We are making the CIEDs available to the public for review and comment.
Addition of Hong Kong to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2019-20522
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Hong Kong to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Services considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in Hong Kong.
Addition of Laos to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2019-20521
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Laos to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of confirmation of ASF in Laos.
Addition of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea to the List of Regions Affected With African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2019-20520
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK) to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We have taken this action because of the confirmation of ASF in the DPRK.
Deregulation of Pine Shoot Beetle
Document Number: 2019-20381
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend our regulations to remove the domestic pine shoot beetle (PSB) quarantine and to eliminate the restrictions that apply to the importation of PSB host material from Canada. We have prepared an analysis of regulatory options, which we are making available for public review and comment, that evaluates the effectiveness of the regulatory program in slowing the spread of the pest and reducing damages. This action would provide flexibility to the States as they manage PSB, would allow Federal resources spent on this program to be allocated elsewhere, and would remove PSB-related interstate movement and importation restrictions on PSB regulated articles.
Notification of Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Cape Gooseberry Fruit From Ecuador to the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-20096
Type: Rule
Date: 2019-09-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation into the continental United States of fresh cape gooseberry fruit from Ecuador. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh cape gooseberry fruit from Ecuador.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for the Biological Control of Yellow Starthistle
Document Number: 2019-20097
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a final environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to the release of Ceratapion basicorne for the biological control of yellow starthistle, Centaurea solstitialis (Asteraceae), in the continental United States. Based on our finding of no significant impact, we have determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Notice of Availability of an Evaluation of the Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza and Newcastle Disease Status of Romania
Document Number: 2019-19893
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to recognize Romania as being free of highly pathogenic avian influenza and Newcastle disease. This proposed recognition is based on a risk evaluation we have prepared in connection with this action, which we are making available for review and comment.
National Wildlife Services Advisory Committee; Meeting; Correction
Document Number: 2019-19892
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are correcting an error in a notice published in the Federal Register on August 6, 2019, which announced a forthcoming National Wildlife Services Committee meeting. We provided an incorrect arrival time for attendees. This document corrects that error. The meeting will still begin at 8 a.m. and end at 5 p.m. on September 18 and 19, 2019.
Environmental Impact Statement; Regulation of the Importation, Interstate Movement, and Intrastate Movement of Plant Pests: Record of Decision
Document Number: 2019-19856
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
This notice advises the public of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's record of decision for the final environmental impact statement titled ``Regulation of the Importation, Interstate Movement, and Intrastate Movement of Plant Pests.''
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Table Eggs From Regions Where Newcastle Disease Exists and Exportation of Poultry and Hatching Eggs
Document Number: 2019-19753
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-09-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of table eggs from regions where Newcastle disease exists and exportation of poultry and hatching eggs from the United States.