Department of Treasury May 3, 2016 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Proposed Establishment of the Appalachian High Country Viticultural Area
Document Number: 2016-10291
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2016-05-03
Agency: Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, Department of Treasury, Department of the Treasury
The Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) proposes to establish the approximately 2,400-square mile ``Appalachian High Country'' viticultural area in all or portions of the following counties: Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Mitchell, and Watauga Counties in North Carolina; Carter and Johnson Counties in Tennessee; and Grayson County in Virginia. The proposed viticultural area does not lie within, nor does it contain, any other established viticultural area. TTB designates viticultural areas to allow vintners to better describe the origin of their wines and to allow consumers to better identify wines they may purchase. TTB invites comments on this proposed addition to its regulations.