Fish and Wildlife Service February 28, 2008 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Receipt of Applications for Endangered Species Permits
Document Number: E8-3768
Type: Notice
Date: 2008-02-28
Agency: Fish and Wildlife Service, Department of the Interior
The public is invited to comment on the following applications to conduct certain activities with threatened and endangered species.
Endangered and Threatened Wildlife and Plants; Revised Critical Habitat for the Contiguous United States Distinct Population Segment of the Canada Lynx (Lynx canadensis)
Document Number: 08-779
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2008-02-28
Agency: Fish and Wildlife Service, Department of the Interior
We, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (Service), propose to revise designated critical habitat for the contiguous United States distinct population segment of the Canada lynx (Lynx canadensis) (lynx) under the Endangered Species Act of 1973, as amended (Act). In the contiguous United States, the lynx generally inhabits cold, moist boreal forests. Approximately 42,753 square miles (mi\2\) (110,727 square kilometers (km\2\)) fall within the boundaries of the proposed revised critical habitat designation. The proposed revised designation would add an additional 40,913 mi\2\ (105,959 km\2\) to the existing critical habitat designation of 1,841 mi\2\ (4,768 km\2\). The proposed revised critical habitat is located in Boundary County, Idaho; Aroostook, Franklin, Penobscot, Piscataquis, and Somerset Counties in Maine; Cook, Koochiching, Lake, and St. Louis Counties in Minnesota; Flathead, Glacier, Granite, Lake, Lewis and Clark, Lincoln, Missoula, Pondera, Powell, Teton, Gallatin, Park, Sweetgrass, Stillwater, and Carbon Counties in Montana; Chelan and Okanogan Counties in Washington; and Park, Teton, Fremont, Sublette, and Lincoln Counties in Wyoming.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.