Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service November 2017 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Importation of Fresh Mango Fruit From Vietnam Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2017-25764
Type: Rule
Date: 2017-11-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations to allow the importation of fresh mango fruit from Vietnam into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, fresh mango fruit from Vietnam will be subject to a systems approach that includes orchard or packinghouse requirements, irradiation treatment, and port of entry inspection. The fruit will also be required to be imported in commercial consignments and accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the national plant protection organization of Vietnam with an additional declaration stating that the consignment was inspected and found free of Macrophoma mangiferae and Xanthomonas campestris pv. mangiferaeindicae. This action will allow for the importation of fresh mango fruit from Vietnam while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of plant pests into the continental United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Self-Certification Medical Statement
Document Number: 2017-25205
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-11-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations permitting applicants to self-certify certain medical statements when applying for positions with the Federal Government.
Verdeca LLC; Availability of a Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Increased Yield
Document Number: 2017-24634
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-11-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from Verdeca LLC seeking a determination of nonregulated status for the new plant variety HB4 soybean designated as IND-00410-5, which has been genetically engineered for increased yield. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the Verdeca LLC petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that APHIS may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Importation, Interstate Movement, and Environmental Release of Certain Genetically Engineered Organisms
Document Number: 2017-24202
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2017-11-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are withdrawing a proposed rule that would have revised our regulations regarding the importation, interstate movement, and environmental release of certain genetically engineered organisms. We are taking this action after considering the comments we received following the publication of the proposed rule.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Litchi and Longan Fruit From Vietnam Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2017-23997
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-11-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of fresh litchi and longan fruit from Vietnam into the continental United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fresh Bananas From the Philippines Into Hawaii and U.S. Territories
Document Number: 2017-23995
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-11-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of fresh bananas from the Philippines into Hawaii and U.S. Territories.
Black Stem Rust; Additions of Rust-Resistant Species and Varieties
Document Number: 2017-23897
Type: Rule
Date: 2017-11-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
On September 5, 2017, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service published a direct final rule. The direct final rule notified the public of our intention to amend the black stem rust quarantine and regulations by adding 15 varieties to the list of rust-resistant Berberis species and varieties and 2 varieties to the list of rust- resistant Mahonia species and varieties. We received two comments, which are addressed in this document.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for the Biological Control of Yellow Toadflax
Document Number: 2017-23895
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-11-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our draft environmental assessment relative to the control of yellow toadflax (Linaria vulgaris), which considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the field release of a stem gall weevil, Rhinusa pilosa, into the continental United States for use as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of yellow toadflax infestations. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.