Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service July 2013 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Handling of Animals; Contingency Plans; Stay of Regulations
Document Number: 2013-18524
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-07-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
On December 31, 2012, we published a final rule establishing regulations under which research facilities and dealers, exhibitors, intermediate handlers, and carriers must meet certain requirements for contingency planning and training of personnel. In this document, we are issuing a stay of those regulations in order that we may undertake a review of their requirements.
GENECTIVE SA; Availability of Plant Pest Risk Assessment, Environmental Assessment, Preliminary Finding of No Significant Impact, and Preliminary Determination of Nonregulated Status of Maize Genetically Engineered for Herbicide Resistance
Document Number: 2013-17937
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-07-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a preliminary determination regarding a request from GENECTIVE SA, seeking a determination of nonregulated status of maize designated as VCO-01981-5, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to the herbicide glyphosate. We are also making available for public review our plant pest risk assessment, environmental assessment, and preliminary finding of no significant impact for the preliminary determination of nonregulated status.
Monsanto Co.; Availability of Plant Pest Risk Assessment, Environmental Assessment, Preliminary Finding of No Significant Impact, and Preliminary Determination of Nonregulated Status of Maize Genetically Engineered With Tissue-Selective Glyphosate Resistance Facilitating the Production of Hybrid Maize Seed
Document Number: 2013-17935
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-07-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a preliminary determination regarding a request from the Monsanto Company seeking a determination of nonregulated status of maize designated as MON 87427, which has been genetically engineered with tissue-selective resistance to glyphosate in order to facilitate the production of hybrid maize seed. We are also making available for public review our plant pest risk assessment, environmental assessment, and preliminary finding of no significant impact for the preliminary determination of nonregulated status.
Monsanto Co.; Availability of Plant Pest Risk Assessment, Environmental Assessment, Preliminary Finding of No Significant Impact, and Preliminary Determination of Nonregulated Status of Canola Genetically Engineered for Herbicide Resistance
Document Number: 2013-17933
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-07-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a preliminary determination regarding a request from the Monsanto Company seeking a determination of nonregulated status of canola designated as MON 88302, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to the herbicide glyphosate with more flexibility in the timing of herbicide application. We are also making available for public review our plant pest risk assessment, environmental assessment, and preliminary finding of no significant impact for the preliminary determination of nonregulated status.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Veterinary Services Customer Service Survey
Document Number: 2013-17806
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-07-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection to evaluate service delivery by Veterinary Services to the public.
Environmental Impact Statement; Proposed Cattle Fever Tick Control Barrier in South Texas
Document Number: 2013-17804
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-07-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a draft environmental impact statement (DEIS) to analyze the effects that may result from installing game fencing as a barrier to keep animals that carry cattle fever ticks and southern cattle ticks out of areas which are free of them and which are beyond the permanent tick quarantine zone in South Texas. We are seeking public comment on the DEIS and our evaluation of the alternatives we have identified as they relate to potential effects on the human environment.
Restructuring of Regulations on the Importation of Plants for Planting
Document Number: 2013-16762
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-07-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that would restructure the regulations governing the importation of plants for planting. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments. We are also giving notice of a conference call and Web presentation in which we will provide participants with an overview of the proposed rule.
Plants for Planting Whose Importation Is Not Authorized Pending Pest Risk Analysis; Notice of Availability of Data Sheets for Taxa of Plants for Planting That Are Quarantine Pests or Hosts of Quarantine Pests
Document Number: 2013-16722
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-07-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for a notice that made available to the public data sheets detailing the scientific evidence we evaluated in making the determination that certain taxa of plants for planting are quarantine pests or hosts of quarantine pests and, therefore, should be added to our lists of plants for planting whose importation is not authorized pending pest risk analysis. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Importation of Fresh Citrus Fruit From Uruguay, Including Citrus
Document Number: 2013-16548
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-07-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of several varieties of fresh citrus fruit, as well as Citrus hybrids and the Citrus-related genus Fortunella, from Uruguay into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, the fruit will have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that includes requirements for importation in commercial consignments, pest monitoring and pest control practices, grove sanitation and packinghouse procedures designed to exclude the quarantine pests, and treatment. The fruit also will have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the national plant protection organization of Uruguay with an additional declaration confirming that the fruit is free from all pests of quarantine concern and has been produced in accordance with the systems approach. These actions will allow for the importation of fresh citrus fruit, including Citrus hybrids and the Citrus-related genus Fortunella, from Uruguay while continuing to protect the United States against the introduction of plant pests.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Interstate Movement of Fruit From Hawaii
Document Number: 2013-16546
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-07-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the interstate movement of fruit from Hawaii.
Lacey Act Implementation Plan; Definitions for Exempt and Regulated Articles
Document Number: 2013-16463
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-07-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In response to recent amendments to the Lacey Act, we are establishing definitions for the terms ``common cultivar'' and ``common food crop'' and several related terms. The amendments to the Act expanded its protections to a broader range of plant species, extended its reach to encompass products, including timber, that derive from illegally harvested plants, and require that importers submit a declaration at the time of importation for certain plants and plant products. Common cultivars and common food crops are among the categorical exclusions to the provisions of the Act. The Act does not define the terms ``common cultivar'' and ``common food crop'' but instead gives authority to the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the U.S. Department of the Interior to define these terms by regulation. Our definitions specify which plants and plant products will be excluded from the provisions of the Act, including the declaration requirement.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Swiss Chard From Colombia Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-16207
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-07-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation of Swiss chard from Colombia into the continental United States. Based on that analysis, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of Swiss chard from Colombia. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.