Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service April 2013 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Notice of a Determination Regarding the Swine Vesicular Disease Status of Certain Regions in Italy
Document Number: 2013-09929
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-04-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that the Italian Regions of Lombardia, Emilia-Romagna, Veneto, and Piemonte and the autonomous provinces of Trento and Bolzano are free of swine vesicular disease. Based on an assessment of the animal health status of these areas, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice of availability, the Administrator has determined that the importation of pork or pork products from these areas presents a low risk of introducing swine vesicular disease into the United States. This determination is based on our review of the documentation submitted by the Government of Italy in support of its request and the findings of our own animal health risk evaluation.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Seed and Screenings From Canada Into the United States
Document Number: 2013-09911
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of seed and screenings from Canada into the United States.
Gypsy Moth Generally Infested Areas; Additions in Wisconsin
Document Number: 2013-09804
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-04-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the gypsy moth regulations by adding areas in Wisconsin to the list of generally infested areas based on the detection of infestations of gypsy moth in those areas. As a result of this action, the interstate movement of regulated articles from those areas is restricted. This action is necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the gypsy moth to noninfested areas of the United States.
Updates to the List of Plant Inspection Stations
Document Number: 2013-09801
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-04-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of plants for planting to remove the entries for the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) plant inspection stations in New Orleans, LA, and Baltimore, MD, and to add an entry for the USDA plant inspection station in Beltsville, MD. We are also updating the addresses provided for the USDA plant inspection stations in Florida, Guam, and Hawaii. This final rule is necessary for the regulations to reflect the most current information regarding USDA plant inspection stations.
Restructuring of Regulations on the Importation of Plants for Planting
Document Number: 2013-09737
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-04-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to restructure our regulations governing the importation of plants for planting. In the proposed structure, restrictions on the importation of specific types of plants for planting would no longer be found in the regulations, but instead would be found in the Plants for Planting Manual. We would change those restrictions after taking public comment through notices published in the Federal Register. As part of this restructuring, we would group together restrictions in the plants for planting regulations that apply to the importation of most or all plants for planting, and we would add general requirements for the development of integrated pest risk management measures that we would use to mitigate the risk associated with the importation of a specific type of plants for planting. We would also amend our foreign quarantine regulations to remove various provisions regarding the importation of specific types of plants for planting that are not currently subject to the general plants for planting regulations; these provisions would also be found in the Plants for Planting Manual. This action would not make any major changes to the restrictions that currently apply to the importation of plants for planting. These changes would make restrictions on the importation of specific types of plants for planting easier for readers to find and less cumbersome for us to change.
Notice of Emergency Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Equine Herpesvirus Myeloencephalopathy Study
Document Number: 2013-09736
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has requested and received emergency approval of an information collection for a National Animal Health Monitoring System Equine Herpesvirus Myeloencephalopathy Study to support the equine industry in the United States.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for Interstate Movement of Sapote Fruit From Puerto Rico Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-09735
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the interstate movement into the continental United States of fresh sapote fruit from Puerto Rico. Based on that analysis, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the interstate movement of sapote fruit from Puerto Rico. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a National Animal Health Laboratory Network Reorganization Concept Paper
Document Number: 2013-09733
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available a concept paper that describes a revised structure for the National Animal Health Laboratory Network (NAHLN) for public review and comment. The NAHLN is a nationally coordinated network and partnership of Federal, State, and university- associated animal health laboratories working to protect animal and public health and the nation's food supply by providing diagnostic testing aimed at detecting biological threats to the nation's food animals. The concept paper we are making available for comment presents a structure we believe will give the NAHLN increased capacity and flexibility to detect and respond to emerging and zoonotic diseases.
Gypsy Moth Program; Record of Decision
Document Number: 2013-09395
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our record of decision for the final supplemental environmental impact statement for the Gypsy Moth Program.
Notice of Availability of a Swine Brucellosis and Pseudorabies Proposed Action Plan
Document Number: 2013-09394
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for a notice that made a proposed action plan describing a potential new approach to managing swine brucellosis and pseudorabies available for public review and comment. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Monsanto Company and Forage Genetics International (FGI); Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Genetically Engineered Alfalfa
Document Number: 2013-09384
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from the Monsanto Company and Forage Genetics International (FGI) seeking a determination of nonregulated status of alfalfa designated as event KK179, which has been genetically engineered to express reduced levels of guaiacyl lignin. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the Monsanto Company and FGI petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that APHIS may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Plants for Planting Whose Importation Is Not Authorized Pending Pest Risk Analysis; Notice of Addition of Taxa of Plants for Planting To List of Taxa Whose Importation Is Not Authorized Pending Pest Risk Analysis
Document Number: 2013-09147
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are adding 31 taxa of plants for planting that are quarantine pests and 107 taxa of plants for planting that are hosts of 13 quarantine pests to our lists of taxa of plants for planting whose importation is not authorized pending pest risk analysis. A previous notice made data sheets that detailed the scientific evidence we evaluated in making the determination that the taxa are quarantine pests or hosts of quarantine pests available to the public for review and comment. This notice responds to the comments we received and makes available final versions of the data sheets, with changes in response to comments.
Importation of Fresh Oranges and Tangerines From Egypt Into the United States
Document Number: 2013-09146
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest list associated with oranges and tangerines from Egypt that identifies pests of concern. Subsequently, we prepared a commodity import evaluation document to determine the risk posed by peach fruit fly in oranges and tangerines from Egypt. Based on that evaluation, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the pest risk. In addition, we are advising the public that we have prepared a treatment evaluation document that describes a new treatment schedule that can be used to neutralize peach fruit fly and Mediterranean fruit fly in oranges and tangerines. We are making the pest list, commodity import evaluation document, and treatment evaluation document available to the public for review and comment.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing of a Yersinia Pestis Vaccine, Live Raccoon Poxvirus Vector
Document Number: 2013-09144
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purpose of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Yersinia Pestis Vaccine, Live Raccoon Poxvirus Vector. The environmental assessment, which is based on a risk analysis prepared to assess the risks associated with the field testing of this vaccine and related information, examines the potential effects that field testing this veterinary vaccine could have on the quality of the human environment. Based on the risk analysis and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment, and that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared. We intend to authorize shipment of this vaccine for field testing following the close of the comment period for this notice unless new substantial issues bearing on the effects of this action are brought to our attention. We also intend to issue a U.S. Veterinary Biological Product license for this vaccine, provided the field test data support the conclusions of the environmental assessment and the issuance of a finding of no significant impact and the product meets all other requirements for licensing.