Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service July 2005 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Notice of Availability of a Document Concerning the Identification of EU Administrative Units
Document Number: E5-4061
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-07-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are finalizing, with minor changes, a draft document that had been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service to identify the smallest administrative jurisdictions within 11 Member States of the European Union that we would consider ``regions'' in the event of future animal disease outbreaks. The draft document referred to these jurisdictions as ``administrative units'' and also reevaluated the administrative units already identified for Italy.
Notice of Public Meeting on the Proposed Design and Development of an ePermits System
Document Number: 05-15092
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-07-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is holding a public meeting to introduce, and obtain feedback on, one portion of our proposed ePermits system. This meeting will focus on applications and permits for transiting and importing plants and plant products, including propagative material, fruits and vegetables, logs and lumber, and material listed in the Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora.
Tuberculosis in Cattle and Bison; State and Zone Designations; California
Document Number: 05-14986
Type: Rule
Date: 2005-07-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the bovine tuberculosis regulations regarding State and zone classifications by raising the designation of California from modified accredited advanced to accredited-free. The interim rule was based on our determination that California met the criteria for designation as an accredited-free State.
Tuberculosis in Cattle and Bison; State and Zone Designations; New Mexico
Document Number: 05-14445
Type: Rule
Date: 2005-07-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the bovine tuberculosis regulations regarding State and zone classifications by removing New Mexico from the list of modified accredited advanced States, adding portions of two counties in New Mexico to the list of modified accredited advanced zones, and adding the remainder of the State to the list of accredited-free zones. We are taking this action based on our determination that New Mexico meets the requirements of the regulations for zone recognition and that one of the zones meets the criteria for designation as accredited-free.
Syngenta Seeds, Inc.; Determination of Nonregulated Status for Cotton Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance
Document Number: 05-14263
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-07-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that cotton designated as transformation Event COT102, which has been genetically engineered for insect resistance, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by Syngenta Seeds, Inc., in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of other scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to a previous notice. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and our finding of no significant impact.
Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza; Additional Restrictions
Document Number: 05-14262
Type: Rule
Date: 2005-07-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the regulations concerning the importation of animals and animal products to prohibit or restrict the importation of birds, poultry, and unprocessed birds and poultry products from regions that have reported the presence of the H5N1 subtype of highly pathogenic avian influenza and to establish additional permit and quarantine requirements for U.S. origin pet birds and performing or theatrical birds and poultry returning to the United States. The interim rule was necessary to prevent the introduction of highly pathogenic avian influenza subtype H5N1 into the United States.
Phytosanitary Treatments; Location of Treatment Schedules and Other Requirements
Document Number: C5-9387
Type: Rule
Date: 2005-07-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service, Federal Communications Commission, Agencies and Commissions
Phytosanitary Treatments; Location of Treatment Schedules and Other Requirements; Correction
Document Number: 05-13853
Type: Rule
Date: 2005-07-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are correcting errors in the amendatory instructions in our final rule that removed the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual from the list of materials incorporated by reference and added treatment schedules and related requirements from that document to our phytosanitary treatments regulations. The final rule was effective and published in the Federal Register on June 7, 2005 (70 FR 33263-33326, Docket No. 02-019-1).
Cut Flowers From Countries With Chrysanthemum White Rust
Document Number: 05-13313
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2005-07-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the cut flowers regulations to establish specific requirements for the importation of cut flowers that are hosts of chrysanthemum white rust (CWR) from countries where the disease is known to occur. We are also proposing to amend the nursery stock regulations to update lists of countries where CWR is known to occur. We are proposing these changes in order to make our cut flowers and nursery stock regulations consistent. This action is necessary because of numerous recent findings of CWR on cut flowers from Europe that pose a risk of introducing CWR in the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Gypsy Moth Host Material From Canada
Document Number: 05-13298
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-07-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection in support of regulations to prevent the introduction of gypsy moth into noninfested areas of the United States from Canada.
Mycogen Seeds/Dow AgroScience LLC and Pioneer Hi-Bred International Inc.; Availability of Petition and Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status for Genetically Engineered Corn
Document Number: E5-3464
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-07-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition from Mycogen Seeds/Dow AgroScience LLC and Pioneer Hi-Bred International Inc seeking a determination of nonregulated status for corn designated as corn line DAS-59122-7, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to a corn rootworm complex and for tolerance to the herbicide glufosinate. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. In accordance with those regulations, we are soliciting public comments on whether this corn presents a plant pest risk. We are also making available for public comment an environmental assessment for the proposed determination of nonregulated status.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Johne's Disease in Domestic Animals; Interstate Movement
Document Number: E5-3463
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-07-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection in support of the regulations for the interstate movement of animals affected with Johne's disease.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; User Fee Regulations
Document Number: E5-3462
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-07-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection for collecting user fees, ensuring remittances in a timely manner, and determining proper credit for payment of international air passenger, aircraft clearance, commercial truck, commercial railroad car, commercial vessel, phytosanitary certificate, import/export, and veterinary diagnostic user fees.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Pork-Filled Pasta
Document Number: E5-3461
Type: Notice
Date: 2005-07-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection in support of the regulations for the importation of pork- filled pasta products from regions affected with swine vesicular disease.