West Virginia Code of State Rules
Title 15 - Pharmacy
15-07 - Registration of Pharmacy Technicians
§15-7-3 - Qualifications For Registration as a Pharmacy Technician; 20 Hour Training Program.
§15-7-3. Qualifications For Registration as a Pharmacy Technician; 20 Hour Training Program.
3.1. To be eligible for registration as a pharmacy technician, an individual shall comply with West Virginia Code § 30-5-11, and shall submit an application on the forms provided by the board, together with the application fee of $25.00 unless the individual qualifies for a fee waiver, evidencing that the individual:
3.1.a. was registered as a pharmacy technician in the State of West Virginia prior to July 1, 2014, the registration was still active and in good standing through June 30, 2014, and he or she is otherwise eligible to renew his or her registration ; or
3.1.b. for those obtaining registration beginning July 1, 2014, and forward:
3.1.b.1 has either:
3.1.b.1.A. graduated from a competency-based pharmacy technician education and training program of a learning institution or training center approved by the Board;
3.1.b.1.B. completed a pharmacy-provided, on-the-job, competency-based education and training program approved by the Board; or
3.1.b.1.C. Obtained a national certification as a pharmacy technician and have practiced in another jurisdiction for at least one year; and
3.1.b.2. successfully passed the ExCPT national examination administered by NHA or the PTCE national examination administered by PTCB, and holds a current certification from NHA or PTCB, respectively, as a CPhT;
3.1.b.3. completed a 20-hour training program as outlined in subsection 3.2 of this rule. The pharmacist-in-charge must submit to the Board certification in the form of an affidavit from the pharmacist-in-charge that the pharmacy technician trainee has adequately completed this training program; and
3.1.b.4. complete a criminal history records check as prescribed in § 29 of Title 15, Series 1.
3.1.b.4.A. The criminal history records must have been requested within the 12 months immediately before the application is filed with the board.
3.1.b.4.B. To be qualified for registration, the results of the criminal history records check must be unremarkable, and verified by a source acceptable to the board other than the applicant.
3.1.b.4.C. The board may deny registration to any applicant who fails or refuses to submit the criminal history records checks required by this subsection.
3.1.c. If the individual is seeking registration pursuant to 3.1.b.1.C. then the individual must provide satisfactory proof to the Board of his or her licensure status with the board of pharmacy in the state in which the individual is licensed. In states where there is no Board oversight, then a notarized document of proof of satisfactory employment by previous pharmacist-in-charge will suffice.
3.2. The pharmacist-in-charge of each pharmacy shall create a 20-hour training program regarding the drug dispensing process in that pharmacy which shall include the following:
3.2.a. the steps in receiving prescriptions;
3.2.b. the creation of or updating of patient profiles;
3.2.c. the entering of prescription information into the computer;
3.2.d. the updating of files and the printing of labels;
3.2.e. the pulling of stock packages from shelves;
3.2.f. the checking of medications;
3.2.g. the preparing of medications;
3.2.h. refill procedures and regulations; and
3.2.i. record keeping.