Oregon Administrative Rules
584 - Teacher Standards and Practices Commission
584-420-0020 - Preliminary Teaching License: Program Standards

Universal Citation: OR Admin Rules 584-420-0020
Teacher Standards and Practices Commission Chapter 584 Division 420

Preliminary Teaching License: Program Standards

(1) Purpose of the Program: To prepare candidates for the Preliminary Teaching License. Program completers must demonstrate the knowledge, skills, professional dispositions and cultural competencies necessary to promote the academic, career, personal and social development of pre-kindergarten to grade 12 students within the endorsement areas on the license.

(2) To receive state recognition of a Preliminary Teaching License program, the program must include:

(a) Content that will enable candidates to gain the knowledge, skills, abilities, professional dispositions, and cultural competencies to meet the standards set forth in this rule and the TSPC Program Review and Standards Handbook;

(b) Integration of principles of cultural competency and equitable practice in each standard through the entire Preliminary Teaching License program;

(c) A requirement for candidates to complete:

(A) A teacher performance assessment, as provided in 584-400-0120; and

(B) Student teaching, as provided in 584-400-0140, Clinical Practices;

(d) A requirement for candidates to demonstrate knowledge of U.S. and Oregon civil rights laws and professional ethics; and

(e) A requirement for candidates to qualify for at least one endorsement, as provided:

(A) To be eligible for a program-required endorsement, as defined in 584-400-0020 Definitions, the candidate must complete the state-recognized endorsement program.

(B) To be eligible for a single-subject endorsement, as defined in 584-400-0020 Definitions, the candidate must:

(i) Complete the Commission-adopted test or assessment for the endorsement;

(ii) Complete student teaching in the endorsement area, as provided in 584-400-0140, Clinical Practices;

(iii) Demonstrate knowledge of the Oregon Department of Education’s curriculum standards for the endorsement area, if the Oregon Department of Education has adopted standards in the subject area.

(3) Standard 1: The Learner and Learning:

(a) Learner Development: The teacher understands how children learns grow and develop, recognizing that patterns of learning and development vary individually within and across the cognitive, linguistic, social, emotional, and physical areas, and designs and implements developmentally appropriate and challenging learning experiences. [InTASC Standard #1]

(b) Learning Differences: The teacher uses understanding of individual differences and diverse cultures and communities to ensure inclusive learning environments that enable each learner to meet high standards. [InTASC Standard #2]

(c) Learning Environments: The teacher works with others to create environments that support individual and collaborative learning, and that encourage positive social interaction, active engagement in learning, and self-motivation. [InTASC Standard #3]

(4) Standard 2: Content

(a) Content Knowledge: The teacher understands the central concepts, tools of inquiry, and structures of the discipline(s) he or she teaches and creates learning experiences that make these aspects of the discipline accessible and meaningful for learners to assure mastery of the content. [InTASC Standard #4]

(b) Application of Content: The teacher understands how to connect concepts and use differing perspectives to engage learners in critical thinking, creativity, and collaborative problem solving related to authentic local and global issues. [InTASC Standard #5]

(5) Standard 3: Instructional Practice

(a) Assessment: The teacher understands and uses multiple methods of assessment to engage learners in their own growth, to monitor learner progress, and to guide the teacher’s and learner’s decision making. [InTASC Standard #6]

(b) Planning for Instruction: The teacher plans instruction that supports every student in meeting rigorous learning goals by drawing upon knowledge of content areas, curriculum, cross-disciplinary skills and pedagogy, as well as learners and the community context. [InTASC Standard #7]

(c) Instructional Strategies: The teacher understands and uses a variety of instructional strategies to encourage learners to develop deep understanding of content areas and their connections, and to build skills to apply knowledge in meaningful ways. [InTASC Standard #8]

(6) Standard 4: Professional Responsibility

(a) Professional Learning and Ethical Practice: The teacher engages in ongoing professional learning and uses evidence to continually evaluate his or her practice, particularly the effects of his/her choices and actions on others (learners, families, other professionals, and the community), and adapts practice to meet the needs of each learner. [InTASC Standard #9]

(b) Leadership and Collaboration: The teacher demonstrates leadership by taking responsibility for student learning and by collaborating with learners, families, colleagues, other school professionals, and community members to ensure learner growth and development, learning, and well-being. [InTASC Standard #10]

Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 342
Statutes/Other Implemented: ORS 342.120 – 342.430; 342.455-342.495; 342.553
TSPC 3-2019, amend filed 04/08/2019, effective 04/08/2019
TSPC 7-2018, minor correction filed 06/13/2018, effective 06/13/2018
TSPC 1-2017, f. & cert. ef. 2-1-17
TSPC 1-2016, f. & cert. ef. 2-10-16
TSPC 13-2015(Temp), f. 11-13-15, cert. ef. 1-1-16 thru 6-28-16

Disclaimer: These regulations may not be the most recent version. Oregon may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.