New Mexico Administrative Code
Title 7 - HEALTH
Chapter 32 - ALCOHOL AND DRUG ABUSE
Part 20 - DRIVING WHILE IMPAIRED (DWI) SCHOOLS
Section 7.32.20.12 - TERM OF DWI SCHOOL LICENSE

Universal Citation: 7 NM Admin Code 7.32.20.12

Current through Register Vol. 35, No. 6, March 26, 2024

A. Term. An initial license shall be valid until October 31 of each year, unless suspended or revoked for cause before that date. Initial licenses shall be valid from the date of issuance to the next October 31. Renewal licenses shall be valid from November 1 of the year of renewal to October 31 of the following year.

B. License renewal.

(1) A licensee shall file an application for renewal of its license with the bureau on or before October 1 of each year to ensure license renewal by November 1. A licensee who files an application for renewal after October 1 shall pay a late fee of $25.00.

(2) A person may obtain an application for renewal by contacting the bureau at 1-800-541 -7952 or accessing the bureau's website at http://www.nmshtd.state.nm.us and clicking on "traffic safety".

(3) The application for renewal shall be accompanied by the documents specified in Subsection C of 7.32.20.10 NMAC, except for the documents specified in Paragraphs (7) and (8) of Subsection C of 7.32.20.10 NMAC.

(4) The bureau shall review applications for renewal in the order in which they are received.

C. Approval/disapproval of application for license renewal.

(1) The bureau will renew a license for a period of one (1) year if:
(a) the bureau or its designee finds that the DWI school is in compliance with the requirements of this rule;

(b) the licensee has submitted all required reports to the bureau;

(c) the licensee has submitted a continuation certificate or proof of payment for the surety bond required by Paragraph 3 of Subsection B of 7.32.20.11 NMAC; and

(d) the licensee pays the $50.00 annual license fee and, if applicable, the $35.00 extension site fee for each extension site and the $25.00 late fee if the application was filed after October 1.

(2) The bureau shall not renew the license of any DWI school not in compliance with the requirements of this rule.

D. Notice of rule violation. The bureau may send any licensee a notice of rule violation if it finds that the DWI school is not in compliance with one or more requirements of this rule. The notice of rule violation shall specify the provisions of this rule with which the licensee is not in compliance. Failure to correct the rule violation in the time requested by the bureau may result in suspension or revocation of the license.

E. Early termination.

(1) A license shall automatically terminate if a DWI school ceases operation.

(2) The bureau may suspend or revoke a license for cause as provided in this rule.

(3) If a DWI school ceases operation for any reason, the school shall comply with the requirements of Subsection L of 7.32.20.14 NMAC.

F. Restriction on sale of license. A DWI school license shall not be sold or transferred.

Disclaimer: These regulations may not be the most recent version. New Mexico may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.
This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.