Compilation of Rules and Regulations of the State of Georgia
Rule 97-1-.01 - Organization of the Board; Membership

Universal Citation: GA Rules and Regs r 97-1-.01

RULE 97-1-.01. Organization of the Board; Membership

The Board of the Department of Juvenile Justice consists of fifteen members appointed by the Governor with the consent of the Senate with at least one but not more than two Board members from each congressional district in the State.

(a) The Governor shall designate the initial terms of the members of the Board as follows: three members shall be appointed for one year; three members shall be appointed for two years; three members shall be appointed for three years; three members shall be appointed for four years; and three members shall be appointed for five years. Thereafter, all succeeding appointments shall be for five-year terms from the expiration of the previous term.

(b) Vacancies in office are to be filled by appointment of the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate for the balance of the unexpired term.

(c) There shall be a Chairman of the Board elected by and from the membership of the Board who shall be the presiding officer of the Board.

(d) The Board shall meet monthly in Atlanta unless otherwise determined by the Board.

(e) Eight members of the Board shall constitute a quorum. The action of a majority of a quorum present at any meeting shall be the action of the Board, except as otherwise provided in the Bylaws of the Board.

O.C.G.A. Secs. 49-4A-2, 49-4A-6.

(Original Rule entitled "Organization of the Board; Membership" adopted. F. Sept. 1, 1992; eff. Sept. 21, 1992. Amended: F. May 28, 1997; eff. Jul. 1, 1997, as specified by the Agency.)
Disclaimer: These regulations may not be the most recent version. Georgia may have more current or accurate information. We make no warranties or guarantees about the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the information contained on this site or the information linked to on the state site. Please check official sources.