Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service June 2019 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for the Biological Control of Brazilian Peppertree
Document Number: 2019-13705
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-06-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a final environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to the release of Calophya latiforceps and Pseudophilothrips ichini for the biological control of Brazilian peppertree, a significant invasive weed, within the contiguous United States. Based on our finding of no significant impact, we have determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Amendments to the Pale Cyst Nematode Regulations
Document Number: 2019-13610
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-06-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that would amend the domestic quarantine regulations for pale cyst nematode by adding procedures that would allow persons to review and comment on the protocols for regulating and deregulating quarantine and associated areas. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Plant Pest Regulations
Document Number: 2019-13246
Type: Rule
Date: 2019-06-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are revising our regulations regarding the movement of plant pests. We are also adding criteria to the regulations for the importation, interstate movement, and release of biological control organisms. This final rule also establishes regulations to allow the interstate movement of certain plant pests and biological control organisms without restriction by granting exceptions from permit requirements for those pests and organisms. Finally, we are revising our regulations regarding the importation and interstate movement of soil. This rule clarifies the points that we will consider when assessing the risks associated with the movement and release of certain organisms and facilitates the movement of regulated organisms and articles in a manner that protects U.S. agriculture.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Horse Protection Regulations
Document Number: 2019-13149
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-06-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the Horse Protection Program and enforcement of the Horse Protection Act.
Swine Health Protection Act; Amendments to Garbage Feeding Regulations
Document Number: 2019-13154
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-06-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the Swine Health Protection Act regulations by removing the State status lists from the regulations in order to maintain these lists on the Agency's website. These changes would allow us to use a notice-based, streamlined approach to update the lists while continuing to protect swine health in the United States.
Scrapie in Sheep and Goats; Correction
Document Number: 2019-12820
Type: Rule
Date: 2019-06-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule that was published in the Federal Register on March 25, 2019, and effective on April 24, 2019, we amended the regulations by changing the requirements for records needed to trace animals and by adding provisions to link official individual animal identification applied by persons other than the flock owner to the flock of origin in the National Scrapie Database rather than just the person who applied the official identification. This document corrects an error in that final rule.
Concurrence With OIE Risk Designation for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
Document Number: 2019-12654
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-06-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our preliminary concurrence with the World Organization for Animal Health's (OIE) bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk designation for Nicaragua. The OIE recognizes this region as being of negligible risk for BSE. We are taking this action based on our review of information supporting the OIE's risk designation for this region.
Addition of Mongolia to the List of Regions Affected by African Swine Fever
Document Number: 2019-12067
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-06-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added Mongolia to the list of regions that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service considers to be affected with African swine fever (ASF). We are taking this action because of the confirmation of ASF in Mongolia.
Environmental Impact Statement for Predator Damage Management in Idaho
Document Number: 2019-12066
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-06-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service plans to prepare an environmental impact statement (EIS) analyzing alternatives for predator damage management in Idaho. This notice proposes issues and alternatives for consideration in the EIS and requests public comments to further delineate the scope of the alternatives, the environmental issues, and other issues of public concern to be considered.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment; Importation of Plants in Approved Growing Media Into the United States
Document Number: 2019-12020
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-06-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our draft programmatic environmental assessment for the importation of plants in approved growing media, which considers the potential environmental effects of a standardized set of pest risk mitigations for routine market requests to import plants in approved growing media. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Movement of Certain Genetically Engineered Organisms
Document Number: 2019-11704
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-06-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to revise our regulations regarding the movement (importation, interstate movement, and environmental release) of certain genetically engineered organisms in response to advances in genetic engineering and our understanding of the plant pest risk posed by them, thereby reducing regulatory burden for developers of organisms that are unlikely to pose plant pest risks. This proposed rule, which would mark the first comprehensive revision of the regulations since they were established in 1987, would provide a clear, predictable, and efficient regulatory pathway for innovators, facilitating the development of new and novel genetically engineered organisms that are unlikely to pose plant pest risks.