Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service May 2019 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Approval of Laboratories To Conduct Official Testing; Consolidation of Regulations
Document Number: 2019-11278
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-05-30
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to consolidate the regulations governing diagnostic laboratory approval authorities for select animal diseases into a single regulation and establish a set of standard procedures which we may use to conduct future diagnostic laboratory approvals. The consolidated regulations would provide consistent inspection protocols, proficiency testing methods, quality system guidelines, and definitions. This would also facilitate the approval of additional laboratories in emergency situations. The consolidated regulations would serve to simplify regulatory oversight and compliance.
Animal Welfare; Amendments to Licensing Provisions and to Requirements for Dogs
Document Number: 2019-11031
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2019-05-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for our proposed rule that would amend the licensing requirements under the Animal Welfare Act regulations to promote compliance, reduce licensing fees, and strengthen existing safeguards that prevent individuals and businesses who have a history of noncompliance from obtaining a license or working with regulated animals. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment for the Release of Cheilosia urbana
Document Number: 2019-11027
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to permitting the release of the hoverfly Cheilosia urbana for the biological control of invasive hawkweeds (Pilosella species) within the contiguous United States. Based on the environmental assessment and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that the release of these control agents will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of an Environmental Assessment for the Release of Aphalara Itadori for the Biological Control of Japanese, Giant, and Bohemian Knotweeds
Document Number: 2019-11026
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-28
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment relative to permitting the release of Aphalara itadori for the biological control of Japanese, Giant, and Bohemian knotweeds (Fallopia japonica, F. sachalinensis, and F. x bohemica), significant invasive weeds, within the contiguous United States. Based on the environmental assessment and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that the release of this biological control organism will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Decision To Revise Conditions Governing the Importation of Fresh Peppers From the Republic of Korea Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-09514
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to revise the conditions regarding the importation into the continental United States of peppers from the Republic of Korea. We have decided that the mesh size of screenings over vent openings can be increased from 0.6 mm to 1.6 mm, provided that sticky traps are used as an additional measure for pest monitoring. This action modifies the conditions under which peppers from the Republic of Korea may be imported into the continental United States while continuing to protect against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Pepper Fruit From Colombia Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-09512
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh pepper fruit from Colombia into the continental United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh pepper fruit from Colombia. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Importation of Dianthus spp. From Kenya
Document Number: 2019-09511
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public that we propose to make changes to the import requirements in the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Plants for Planting Manual for imports of Dianthus spp. (carnation) cuttings from Kenya. Currently, Dianthus spp. cuttings from Kenya require mandatory postentry quarantine within the United States. We are proposing to allow Dianthus spp. cuttings from Kenya to be imported into the United States without postentry quarantine, subject to certain conditions. These changes to the USDA Plants for Planting Manual would relieve restrictions on Dianthus spp. cuttings from Kenya while continuing to address the possible introduction of quarantine pests through the importation of such cuttings. We are making these changes available to the public for review and comment.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan; Meeting
Document Number: 2019-09015
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice of a meeting of the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Mamey Sapote Fruit From Mexico Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-08970
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh mamey sapote fruit from Mexico into the continental United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh mamey sapote fruit from Mexico. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Mombin Fruit From Mexico Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-08969
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh mombin fruit from Mexico into the continental United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh mombin fruit from Mexico. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Soursop Fruit From Mexico Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-08966
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh soursop fruit from Mexico into the continental United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh soursop fruit from Mexico. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Sapodilla Fruit From Mexico Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-08965
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh sapodilla fruit from Mexico into the continental United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh sapodilla fruit from Mexico. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Citrus From China Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2019-08767
Type: Notice
Date: 2019-05-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the importation of fresh citrus fruit (pomelo, Nanfeng honey mandarin, ponkan, sweet orange, and Satsuma mandarin) from China into the continental United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh citrus fruit from China. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.