Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service February 2017 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Agricultural Bioterrorism Protection Act of 2002; Biennial Review and Republication of the Select Agent and Toxin List; Amendments to the Select Agent and Toxin Regulations; Delay of Effective Date
Document Number: 2017-03125
Type: Rule
Date: 2017-02-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
On January 19, 2017, we published a final rule amending the select agent and toxin regulations in several ways, including the addition of provisions to address the inactivation of select agents, provisions addressing biocontainment and biosafety, and clarification of regulatory language concerning security, training, incident response, and records. In this document, we are delaying the effective date of that final rule.
Plant Pest Regulations; Update of Provisions
Document Number: 2017-02871
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2017-02-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our proposed rule that would revise our regulations regarding the movement of plant pests to propose criteria regarding the movement and environmental release of biological control organisms, and to establish regulations to allow the importation and movement in interstate commerce of certain types of plant pests without restriction by granting exceptions from permitting requirements for those pests. The proposal would also revise our regulations regarding the movement of soil. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Notice of Availability of Proposed Changes to the National Poultry Improvement Plan Program Standards
Document Number: 2017-02870
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-02-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that proposed changes to the National Poultry Improvement Plan Program Standards are available for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; Federal Plant Pest and Noxious Weeds Regulations
Document Number: 2017-02868
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-02-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection associated with the Federal plant pest and noxious weeds regulations.
Importation, Interstate Movement, and Environmental Release of Certain Genetically Engineered Organisms
Document Number: 2017-02783
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2017-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our proposed rule that would revise our regulations regarding the importation, interstate movement, and environmental release of certain genetically engineered organisms in order to update the regulations in response to advances in genetic engineering and understanding of the plant pest and noxious weed risk posed by genetically engineered organisms, thereby reducing burden for regulated entities whose organisms pose no plant pest or noxious weed risks. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Importation of Hass Avocados From Colombia
Document Number: 2017-02781
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2017-02-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for a proposed rule to allow the importation of Hass avocados from Colombia into the continental United States. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.