Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service January 2017 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Importation of Lemons From Northwest Argentina; Stay of Regulations
Document Number: 2017-01773
Type: Rule
Date: 2017-01-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
On December 23, 2016, we published a final rule amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of lemons from northwest Argentina into the continental United States under certain conditions. In this document, we are issuing a stay of those regulations for 60 days.
Notice of Availability of an Evaluation of the Classical Swine Fever, Foot-and-Mouth Disease, Swine Vesicular Disease, and Rinderpest Status of Cyprus
Document Number: 2017-01396
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are proposing to recognize Cyprus as being free of foot-and-mouth disease, rinderpest, and swine vesicular disease, and as low risk for classical swine fever. This proposed recognition is based on evaluations we have prepared in connection with this action, which we are making available for review and comment.
Addition of the Republic of Korea to the List of Regions Affected by Contagious Equine Metritis
Document Number: 2017-01394
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have added the Republic of Korea to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) list maintained on the APHIS Web site of regions considered affected with contagious equine metritis (CEM). We took this action because of the confirmation of CEM in the Republic of Korea.
Notice of Request for an Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza, All Subtypes, and Newcastle Disease; Additional Restrictions
Document Number: 2017-01393
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations to prevent the introduction of highly pathogenic avian influenza, all subtypes, and Newcastle disease into the United States through the importation of birds, poultry, and unprocessed bird and poultry products.
Addition of Lebanon to the List of Regions Affected by Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza
Document Number: 2017-01392
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we added Lebanon to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) list maintained on the APHIS Web site of regions considered affected with highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). We are taking this action because of the confirmation of HPAI detection in Lebanon.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Horses, Ruminants, Swine, and Dogs; Inspection and Treatment for Screwworm
Document Number: 2017-01391
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of horses, ruminants, swine, and dogs from regions of the world where screwworm is considered to exist.
Concurrence With OIE Risk Designations for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
Document Number: 2017-01390
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our preliminary concurrence with the World Organization for Animal Health's (OIE) bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk designations for seven regions. The OIE recognizes these regions as being of negligible risk for BSE. We are taking this action based on our review of information supporting the OIE's risk designations for these regions.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Unshu Oranges
Document Number: 2017-01389
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of Unshu oranges.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Plum Pox Compensation
Document Number: 2017-01388
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations that provide for the payment of compensation to owners of commercial stone fruit orchards and fruit tree nurseries whose trees or nursery stock were destroyed to eradicate plum pox virus.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; National Veterinary Accreditation Program Application Form
Document Number: 2017-01387
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a reinstatement of an information collection associated with the National Veterinary Accreditation Program application form.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; National Veterinary Services Laboratories; Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy Surveillance Program
Document Number: 2017-01386
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request the reinstatement of an information collection associated with National Veterinary Services Laboratories diagnostic support for the bovine spongiform encephalopathy surveillance program.
The Scotts Co. and Monsanto Co.; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Creeping Bentgrass Genetically Engineered for Resistance to Glyphosate
Document Number: 2017-01077
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that creeping bentgrass designated as event ASR368, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to the herbicide glyphosate by the Scotts Company and Monsanto Company is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by the Scotts Company and Monsanto Company in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of publically available scientific data, and comments received from the public on the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental impact statement and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and record of decision.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Avocados From Continental Spain
Document Number: 2017-01028
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of avocados from continental Spain.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fresh Beans, Shelled or in Pods, From Jordan Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2017-01026
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of fresh beans, shelled or in pods, from Jordan into the continental United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Federally Recognized State Managed Phytosanitary Program
Document Number: 2017-01023
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with Federal recognition of a State's plant pest containment, eradication, or exclusion program as a Federally Recognized State Managed Phytosanitary Program.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Cooperative Agricultural Pest Survey
Document Number: 2017-01020
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the Cooperative Agricultural Pest Survey.
Availability of a Final Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for a Biological Control Agent for Giant Reed
Document Number: 2017-01018
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a final environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to the release of Lasioptera donacis for the biological control of giant reed, Arundo donax, in the continental United States. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Updates to the Biotechnology Regulatory Services BQMS Program
Document Number: 2017-01017
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that Biotechnology Regulatory Services of the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) is updating its Biotechnology Quality Management System Program and renaming it the Biotechnology Quality Management Support Program to offer a more flexible, more customizable, and less costly program that is easily accessible to a wider universe of researchers and developers conducting biotechnology activities under APHIS' regulations. These updates represent the next step in the continual improvement to this voluntary quality management program.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Emerald Ash Borer Host Material From Canada
Document Number: 2017-01016
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of emerald ash borer host material from Canada to prevent the introduction and spread of emerald ash borer in the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fresh Apricots From Continental Spain
Document Number: 2017-01014
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of fresh apricots from continental Spain.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing a Vaccine for Use Against Infectious Bursal Disease, Marek's Disease, and Newcastle Disease
Document Number: 2017-01010
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purpose of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Bursal Disease-Marek's Disease-Newcastle Disease Vaccine, Serotype 3, Live Marek's Disease Vector. Based on the environmental assessment, risk analysis, and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment. We are making the documents available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Interstate Movement of Fruit From Hawaii
Document Number: 2017-01009
Type: Notice
Date: 2017-01-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the interstate movement of fruit from Hawaii.
Importation of Hass Avocados From Colombia
Document Number: 2017-00672
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2017-01-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for a proposed rule to allow the importation of Hass avocados from Colombia into the continental United States. We are also notifying the public of the availability of a revised pest risk assessment and risk management document associated with the proposed rule. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.