Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service March 2016 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; APHIS Pest Reporting and Asian Longhorn Beetle Program
Document Number: 2016-07291
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-03-31
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection that allows the public to report sightings of plant pests and diseases.
Modernizing the Regulatory System for Biotechnology Products; Notice of Third Public Meeting
Document Number: 2016-07015
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-03-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Under the auspices of the National Science and Technology Council, USDA, along with the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, the Environmental Protection Agency and the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) are holding the third public meeting related to the memorandum entitled, ``Modernizing the Regulatory System for Biotechnology Products,'' issued by the Executive Office of the President in July 2015. The purpose of the third public meeting is to illustrate current Federal roles and responsibilities regarding biotechnology products. The docket, FDA-2015-N-3403, established by FDA prior to the first public meeting, will continue to be used for this interagency effort.
Submission for OMB Review; Comment Request
Document Number: 2016-07003
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-03-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
National Poultry Improvement Plan and Auxiliary Provisions
Document Number: 2016-06664
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2016-03-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the National Poultry Improvement Plan (NPIP, the Plan), its auxiliary provisions, and the indemnity regulations for the control of H5 and H7 low pathogenic avian influenza to clarify participation in the NPIP and amend participation requirements, amend definitions for poultry and breeding stock, amend the approval process for new diagnostic tests, and amend laboratory inspection and testing requirements. These changes would align the regulations with international standards and make them more transparent to Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service stakeholders and the general public. The proposed changes were voted on and approved by the voting delegates at the Plan's 2014 National Plan Conference.
Asian Longhorned Beetle Eradication Program; Record of Decision
Document Number: 2016-06660
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-03-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a record of decision for the final environmental impact statement for the Asian Longhorned Beetle Eradication Program.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Live Poultry, Poultry Meat, and Other Poultry Products From Specified Regions
Document Number: 2016-06659
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-03-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a revision to and extension of an information collection associated with regulations for the importation of live poultry, poultry meat, and other poultry products from specified regions.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for the Biological Control of Cape Ivy
Document Number: 2016-06658
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-03-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a draft environmental assessment relative to the control of Cape ivy, Delairea odorata. The environmental assessment considers the effects of, and alternatives to, the field release of a gall-forming fly, Parafreutreta regalis, into the continental United States for use as a biological control agent to reduce the severity of Cape Ivy infestations. We are making the environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Environmental Impact Statement; Animal Carcass Management: Record of Decision
Document Number: 2016-06657
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-03-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a record of decision for the programmatic environmental impact statement titled ``Carcass Management During a Mass Animal Health Emergency.''
Black Stem Rust; Additions of Rust-Resistant Species and Varieties
Document Number: 2016-06476
Type: Rule
Date: 2016-03-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
On January 22, 2016, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service published a direct final rule. The direct final rule notified the public of our intention to amend the black stem rust quarantine and regulations by adding nine varieties to the list of rust-resistant Berberis species and varieties. We received two comments, which are addressed in this document.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Pomegranates From Peru Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2016-05670
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-03-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh pomegranate fruit from Peru into the continental United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh pomegranates from Peru. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for the Importation of Fresh Figs From Peru Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2016-05669
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-03-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with importation of fresh figs (Ficus carica) from Peru into the continental United States. Based on the analysis, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh figs from Peru. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Animal Welfare; Marine Mammals
Document Number: 2016-05535
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2016-03-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our proposed rule that would amend the Animal Welfare Act regulations concerning the humane handling, care, treatment, and transportation of marine mammals in captivity. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Brucellosis and Bovine Tuberculosis; Update of General Provisions
Document Number: 2016-05534
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2016-03-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our proposed rule that would consolidate the domestic regulations governing bovine tuberculosis and those governing brucellosis and revise the bovine tuberculosis- and brucellosis-related import requirements for cattle and bison to make these requirements clearer and assure that they more effectively mitigate the risk of introduction of these diseases into the United States. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing a Canine Osteosarcoma Vaccine, Live Listeria Vector
Document Number: 2016-05533
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-03-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purpose of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Canine Osteosarcoma Vaccine, Live Listeria Vector. The environmental assessment, which is based on a risk analysis prepared to assess the risks associated with the field testing of this vaccine, examines the potential effects that field testing this veterinary vaccine could have on the quality of the human environment. Based on the risk analysis and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment, and that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared. We intend to authorize shipment of this vaccine for field testing following the close of the comment period for this notice unless new substantial issues bearing on the effects of this action are brought to our attention. We also intend to issue a U.S. Veterinary Biological Product license for this vaccine, provided the field test data support the conclusions of the environmental assessment and the issuance of a finding of no significant impact and the product meets all other requirements for licensing.
International Sanitary and Phytosanitary Standard-Setting Activities
Document Number: 2016-05527
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-03-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with legislation implementing the results of the Uruguay Round of negotiations under the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, we are informing the public of the international standard- setting activities of the World Organization for Animal Health, the Secretariat of the International Plant Protection Convention, and the North American Plant Protection Organization, and we are soliciting public comment on the standards to be considered.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fresh Bananas From the Philippines Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2016-05464
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-03-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of fresh bananas from the Philippines into the continental United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Sand Pears From China
Document Number: 2016-05462
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-03-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of sand pears from China into the United States.
Environmental Impact Statement; Introduction of the Products of Biotechnology
Document Number: 2016-04992
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-03-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are extending the comment period for our notice of intent to prepare a programmatic environmental impact statement in connection with potential changes to the regulations regarding the importation, interstate movement, and environmental release of certain genetically engineered organisms. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Submission for OMB Review; Comment Request
Document Number: 2016-04892
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-03-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan; Meeting
Document Number: 2016-04379
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-03-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice of a meeting of the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan.
General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan; Solicitation for Membership
Document Number: 2016-04378
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-03-01
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice that the Secretary of Agriculture is soliciting nominations for the election of regional membership, a member-at-large, and alternates to the General Conference Committee of the National Poultry Improvement Plan.