Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service February 2016 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Horse Protection Regulations
Document Number: 2016-04377
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-02-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the Horse Protection Program.
Recognizing European Union (EU) and EU Member State Regionalization Decisions for African Swine Fever (ASF) by Updating the APHIS List of Regions Affected With ASF
Document Number: 2016-03675
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-02-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we added European Union (EU) and EU Member State-defined regions of the EU to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) list of regions affected with African swine fever (ASF). Going forward we will recognize as affected with ASF any region of the EU that the EU or any EU Member State has placed under restriction because of detection of ASF. These regions currently include portions of Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, and Poland, and all of Sardinia. APHIS will list the EU- and EU Member State-defined regions as a single entity. We also removed Sardinia as an individually listed region from the APHIS list of ASF affected regions. We took these actions because of the detection of ASF in Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, and Poland.
Golden Nematode; Removal of Regulated Areas in Orleans, Nassau, and Suffolk Counties, New York
Document Number: 2016-03672
Type: Rule
Date: 2016-02-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the golden nematode regulations by removing areas in Orleans, Nassau, and Suffolk Counties in the State of New York from the list of generally infested areas. The interim rule was necessary to relieve restrictions on the movement of regulated articles from areas no longer under quarantine for golden nematode. As a result of the interim rule, movement of such articles from areas no longer under quarantine can proceed while preventing the spread of golden nematode from infested areas to noninfested areas of the United States.
Monsanto Co.; Availability of a Preliminary Plant Pest Risk Assessment, Draft Environmental Assessment, Preliminary Finding of No Significant Impact, and Preliminary Determination of Nonregulated Status for Maize Genetically Engineered for Resistance to Dicamba and Glufosinate
Document Number: 2016-03194
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-02-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a preliminary determination regarding a request from Monsanto Co. seeking a determination of nonregulated status for maize designated as event MON 87419, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to the herbicides dicamba and glufosinate. We are also making available for public review and comment our preliminary plant pest risk assessment, draft environmental assessment, and preliminary finding of no significant impact for the preliminary determination of nonregulated status.
Syngenta Seeds Inc.; Availability of a Preliminary Finding of No Significant Impact and Preliminary Decision for an Extension of a Determination of Nonregulated Status of Corn Genetically Engineered for Insect and Glufosinate-Ammonium Resistance
Document Number: 2016-03193
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-02-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has reached a preliminary decision to extend our determination of nonregulated status of Pioneer corn event DP-004114-3 (hereinafter Pioneer 4114 corn) to Syngenta's corn event MZIR098 in response to a request from Syngenta Seeds Inc. MZIR098 corn has been genetically engineered for resistance to insects and to the herbicide glufosinate-ammonium using the same mechanism of action as Pioneer 4114. We are making available for public comment our preliminary regulatory determination, preliminary finding of no significant impact, and plant pest risk similarity assessment for the proposed determination of nonregulated status.
Importation of Phalaenopsis Spp. Plants for Planting in Approved Growing Media From China to the Continental United States
Document Number: 2016-02822
Type: Rule
Date: 2016-02-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of plants for planting to authorize the importation of Phalaenopsis spp. plants for planting from China in approved growing media into the continental United States, subject to a systems approach. The systems approach consists of measures that are currently specified in the regulations as generally applicable to all plants for planting authorized for importation into the United States in approved growing media. This rule allows for the importation of Phalaenopsis spp. plants for planting from China in approved growing media, while providing protection against the introduction of quarantine plant pests.
Notice of Request for an Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Specimen Submission
Document Number: 2016-02751
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-02-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with livestock disease surveillance programs.
Conditions for Payment of Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza Indemnity Claims
Document Number: 2016-02530
Type: Rule
Date: 2016-02-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations pertaining to certain diseases of livestock and poultry to specify conditions for payment of indemnity claims for highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). Specifically, we are providing a formula that will allow us to split such payments between poultry and egg owners and parties with which the owners enter into contracts to raise or care for the eggs or poultry based on the proportion of the production cycle completed. This action is necessary to ensure that all contractors are compensated appropriately. We are also providing for the payment of indemnity for eggs required to be destroyed due to HPAI, thus clarifying an existing policy. Finally, we are requiring owners and contractors, unless specifically exempted, to provide a statement that at the time of detection of HPAI in their facilities, they had in place and were following a biosecurity plan aimed at keeping HPAI from spreading to commercial premises.
Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza; Availability of Final Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact
Document Number: 2016-02526
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-02-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a final environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to a national approach for the control of highly pathogenic avian influenza outbreaks within the United States. Based on the environmental assessment and our review of all public comments received, we have concluded that such an approach will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment.
Environmental Impact Statement; Introduction of the Products of Biotechnology
Document Number: 2016-02247
Type: Notice
Date: 2016-02-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) plans to prepare a programmatic environmental impact statement in connection with potential changes to the regulations regarding the importation, interstate movement, and environmental release of certain genetically engineered organisms. This notice identifies reasonable alternatives and potential issues to be evaluated in the environmental impact statement and requests public comments to further define the scope of the alternatives and environmental impacts and issues for APHIS to consider.
Importation of Orchids in Growing Media From Taiwan
Document Number: 2016-02141
Type: Rule
Date: 2016-02-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of plants and plant products to add orchid plants of the genus Oncidium from Taiwan to the list of plants that may be imported into the United States in an approved growing medium, subject to specified growing, inspection, and certification requirements. We are taking this action in response to a request from the Taiwanese Government and after determining that the plants could be imported, under certain conditions, without resulting in the introduction into, or the dissemination within, the United States of a quarantine plant pest.
Animal Welfare; Marine Mammals
Document Number: 2016-01837
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2016-02-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the Animal Welfare Act regulations concerning the humane handling, care, treatment, and transportation of marine mammals in captivity. These proposed changes would affect sections in the regulations relating to variances and implementation dates, indoor facilities, outdoor facilities, space requirements, and water quality. We are also proposing to revise the regulations that relate to swim-with-the-dolphin programs. We believe these actions are necessary to ensure that the minimum standards for the humane handling, care, treatment, and transportation of marine mammals in captivity are based on current industry and scientific knowledge and experience.