Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 2013 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Importation of Beef From a Region in Brazil
Document Number: 2013-30464
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-12-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations governing the importation of certain animals, meat, and other animal products by allowing, under certain conditions, the importation of fresh (chilled or frozen) beef from a region in Brazil (the States of Bahia, Distrito Federal, Espirito Santo, Goias, Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul, Minas Gerais, Parana, Rio Grande do Sul, Rio de Janeiro, Rondonia, Sao Paulo, Sergipe, and Tocantins). Based on the evidence in a recent risk assessment, we have determined that fresh (chilled or frozen) beef can be safely imported from those Brazilian States provided certain conditions are met. This action would provide for the importation of beef from the designated region in Brazil into the United States while continuing to protect the United States against the introduction of foot-and-mouth disease.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Ovine Meat From Uruguay
Document Number: 2013-30022
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-12-17
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of ovine meat from Uruguay into the United States.
Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy; Importation of Bovines and Bovine Products
Document Number: C1-2013-28228
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-12-10
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Concurrence With OIE Risk Designations for Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy
Document Number: 2013-28338
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-12-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our preliminary concurrence with the World Organization for Animal Health's (OIE) bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE) risk designations for 14 regions. The OIE recognizes these regions as being of either negligible risk for BSE or of controlled risk for BSE. We are taking this action based on our review of information supporting the OIE's risk designations for these regions.
Bovine Spongiform Encephalopathy; Importation of Bovines and Bovine Products
Document Number: 2013-28228
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-12-04
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations that govern the importation of animals and animal products to revise the conditions for the importation of live bovines and products derived from bovines with regard to bovine spongiform encephalopathy (BSE). We are basing importation conditions on the inherent risk of BSE infectivity in specified commodities, as well as on the BSE risk status of the region in which the commodities originate. We are establishing a system for classifying regions as to BSE risk that is consistent with the system employed by the World Organization for Animal Health (OIE), the international standard-setting organization for guidelines related to animal health. The conditions we are adopting for the importation of specified commodities are based on internationally accepted scientific literature, and are, in general, consistent with guidelines set out in the OIE's Terrestrial Animal Health Code. We are also classifying certain specified countries as to BSE risk and are removing BSE restrictions on the importation of cervids and camelids and products derived from such animals. We are making these amendments after conducting a thorough review of relevant scientific literature and a comprehensive evaluation of the issues and concluding that the changes to the regulations will continue to guard against the introduction of BSE into the United States, while allowing the importation of additional animals and animal products into this country.
Notice of Determination; New and Revised Treatments for the Imported Fire Ant Program
Document Number: 2013-28322
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are adding or revising certain treatment schedules for the Imported Fire Ant Program in the Plant Protection and Quarantine (PPQ) Treatment Manual. In a previous notice, we made available to the public for review and comment a treatment evaluation document that discussed the existing treatment schedules, described the new treatment schedules, and explained why these changes are necessary. We also made available an environmental assessment that explained pesticide use in the new and revised treatments in the imported fire ant program. Based on the treatment evaluation document, the environmental assessment, and the comments we received, we are announcing our determination to add those new and revised treatments to the PPQ Treatment Manual.
Petition To Promulgate Standards for Bears Under the Animal Welfare Act Regulations
Document Number: 2013-28312
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-11-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition requesting that we amend the Animal Welfare Act regulations to add specific standards for the humane handling, care, treatment, and transportation of all species of bears held in captivity except polar bears, for which there are already standards. We are making this petition available to the public and soliciting comments regarding the petition and any issues raised by the petition that we should take into account as we consider this petition.
Notice of Decision To Authorize the Importation of Swiss Chard From Colombia Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-27703
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-20
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation into the continental United States of Swiss chard from Colombia. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we have determined that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of Swiss chard from Colombia.
Importation of Fresh Beans, Shelled or in Pods, From Jordan Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-27689
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-11-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of commercial shipments of fresh beans, shelled or in pods (French, green, snap, and string), from Jordan into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, the beans must be produced in accordance with a systems approach that includes requirements for packing, washing, and processing. The beans must also be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate attesting that all phytosanitary requirements have been met and that the consignment was inspected and found free of quarantine pests. This action allows for the importation of fresh beans, shelled or in pods, from Jordan into the continental United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of plant pests.
Importation of Ovine Meat From Uruguay
Document Number: 2013-27285
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-11-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of certain animals, meat, and other animal products to allow, under certain conditions, the importation of fresh (chilled or frozen) ovine meat from Uruguay. A risk assessment that we have prepared indicates that fresh (chilled or frozen) ovine meat can safely be imported from Uruguay under these conditions. This action will allow the importation of fresh ovine meat from Uruguay into the United States while continuing to protect the United States against the introduction of foot-and-mouth disease.
Notice of Affirmation of Addition of a Treatment Schedule for Methyl Bromide Fumigation of Blueberries
Document Number: 2013-27134
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are affirming our earlier determination that it was necessary to immediately add to the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual a treatment schedule for methyl bromide fumigation of blueberries for Mediterranean fruit fly and South American fruit fly. In a previous notice, we made available to the public for review and comment a treatment evaluation document that described the new treatment schedule and explained why we have determined that it is effective at neutralizing these fruit flies.
Evaluation of Established Plant Pests for Action at Ports of Entry
Document Number: 2013-27132
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have been and are assessing certain plant pests that are present in the United States to determine whether we should take action to mitigate the risk posed by those pests when they are found in consignments of imported goods at ports of entry into the United States. We have determined that it is no longer appropriate or necessary to take such action on some plant pests on which we had been taking action at ports of entry because we are not taking any regulatory action on those same pests when we find them in interstate movement, due to our scientific determination that we do not need to mitigate their pest risk. This process relieves restrictions that are no longer needed and ensures that actions taken on plant pests found in imported goods are consistent with the actions we take on those same pests when they appear in interstate commerce.
Okanagan Specialty Fruits, Inc.; Availability of Plant Pest Risk Assessment and Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Apples Genetically Engineered to Resist Browning
Document Number: 2013-26792
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-08
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available for public comment our plant pest risk assessment and our draft environmental assessment regarding a request from Okanagan Specialty Fruits, Inc., seeking a determination of nonregulated status of apple events designated as events GD743 and GS784, which have been genetically engineered to resist browning. We are soliciting comments on whether these genetically engineered apples are likely to pose a plant pest risk.
Monsanto Co.; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Increased Yield
Document Number: 2013-26703
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a soybean event developed by the Monsanto Company, designated as MON 87712, which has been genetically engineered for increased yield, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by the Monsanto Company in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notices announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
BASF Plant Science LP; Availability of Plant Pest Risk Assessment and Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Herbicide Resistance
Document Number: 2013-26701
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available for public comment our plant pest risk assessment and our draft environmental assessment regarding a request from BASF Plant Science LP seeking a determination of nonregulated status of soybean designated as event BPS-CV127-9, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to herbicides in the imidazolinone family. We are soliciting comments on whether this genetically engineered soybean is likely to pose a plant pest risk.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Clementines, Mandarins, and Tangerines From Chile
Document Number: 2013-26700
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of clementines, mandarins, and tangerines from Chile into the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of French Beans and Runner Beans From Kenya Into the United States
Document Number: 2013-26448
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-11-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of French beans and runner beans from Kenya into the United States.
Environmental Impact Statement; Animal Carcass Management
Document Number: 2013-25158
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-10-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are announcing to the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service intends to prepare an environmental impact statement (EIS) to examine the potential environmental effects of animal carcass management options used throughout the United States. This notice identifies potential alternatives and environmental effects that will be examined in the EIS and requests that the public comment on these proposed alternatives and environmental effects and identify other issues that could be examined in the EIS.
Citrus Canker, Citrus Greening, and Asian Citrus Psyllid; Interstate Movement of Regulated Nursery Stock
Document Number: 2013-25019
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, with nonsubstantive changes, an interim rule that amended the regulations governing the interstate movement of regulated articles from areas quarantined for citrus canker, citrus greening, and/or Asian citrus psyllid (ACP) to allow the movement of regulated nursery stock under a certificate to any area within the United States. In order to be eligible to move regulated nursery stock, a nursery had to enter into a compliance agreement with the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service that specified the conditions under which the nursery stock must be grown, maintained, and shipped. The interim rule also amended the regulations that allow the movement of regulated nursery stock from an area quarantined for ACP, but not for citrus greening, to amend the existing regulatory requirements for the issuance of limited permits for the interstate movement of the nursery stock. The interim rule was necessary on an immediate basis in order to provide nursery stock producers in areas quarantined for citrus canker, citrus greening, and/or ACP with the ability to ship regulated nursery stock to markets within the United States that would otherwise be unavailable to them due to the prohibitions and restrictions contained in the regulations while continuing to provide adequate safeguards to prevent the spread of the three pests into currently unaffected areas of the United States.
Gypsy Moth Generally Infested Areas; Additions in Wisconsin
Document Number: 2013-25018
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, without change, an interim rule that amended the regulations to add areas in Wisconsin to the list of generally infested areas based on the detection of infestations of gypsy moth in those areas. The interim rule was necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the gypsy moth to noninfested areas of the United States.
Cold Treatment for Fresh Fruits and Vegetables; MidAmerica St. Louis Airport, Mascoutah, IL
Document Number: 2013-25005
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations to allow, under certain conditions, the cold treatment of imported fruits and vegetables upon arrival at the MidAmerica St. Louis Airport, Mascoutah, IL. We have determined that there are biological barriers at this port that, along with certain safeguards, would prevent the introduction of fruit flies and other insect pests into the United States in the unlikely event that they escape from shipments of fruits or vegetables before the fruits or vegetables undergo cold treatment. This action will facilitate the importation of fruit requiring cold treatment while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of fruit flies and other insect pests into the United States.
Petition To Amend Animal Welfare Act Regulations To Prohibit Public Contact With Big Cats, Bears, and Nonhuman Primates
Document Number: 2013-25004
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for a petition requesting amendments to the Animal Welfare Act regulations and standards, including to prohibit licensees from allowing individuals, with certain exceptions, from coming into direct or physical contact with big cats, bears, or nonhuman primates of any age, to define the term ``sufficient distance,'' and to prohibit the public handling of young or immature big cats, bears, and nonhuman primates and the separation of such animals from their dams before the species-typical age of weaning absent medical necessity. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Notice of Decision To Allow Interstate Movement of Sapote Fruit From Puerto Rico Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-25003
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-10-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin allowing the interstate movement into the continental United States of fresh sapote fruit from Puerto Rico. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the interstate movement of sapote fruit from Puerto Rico.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Tomatoes With Stems From the Republic of Korea
Document Number: 2013-24098
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-10-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of tomatoes with stems from the Republic of Korea.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fresh Baby Kiwi From Chile
Document Number: 2013-24097
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-10-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of fresh baby kiwi from Chile into the continental United States.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Live Swine, Pork, and Pork Products from Certain Regions Free of Classical Swine Fever in Brazil, Chile, and Mexico
Document Number: 2013-24095
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-10-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of live swine, pork, and pork products from certain regions free of classical swine fever in Brazil, Chile, and Mexico.
Importation of Potatoes From Mexico
Document Number: 2013-23667
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-09-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations concerning the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of fresh potatoes (Solanum tuberosum L.) from Mexico into the United States. As a condition of entry, the potatoes would have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach employing a combination of mitigation measures to prevent the introduction and dissemination of plant pests into the United States. The potatoes would have to be imported in commercial consignments, would have to be produced by a grower who is registered in a certification program, would have to be packed in registered packinghouses, would have to be washed, cleaned, and treated with a sprout inhibitor, and would have to be inspected after packing for quarantine pests. The potatoes would also have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate that declares that the conditions for importation have been met. Finally, the national plant protection organization (NPPO) of Mexico would have to provide a bilateral workplan to the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) that details the activities that the NPPO of Mexico will carry out to meet these requirements, subject to APHIS' approval. This action would allow the importation of potatoes from Mexico while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Citrus Canker; Interstate Movement of Regulated Nursery Stock and Fruit From Quarantined Areas
Document Number: 2013-23309
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-09-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the interstate movement of regulated nursery stock and fruit from quarantined areas to prevent the spread of citrus canker.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fresh Pomegranates From Chile
Document Number: 2013-23307
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-09-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of fresh pomegranates from Chile into the continental United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Phytophthora Ramorum; Quarantine and Regulations
Document Number: 2013-23301
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-09-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the interstate movement of regulated articles to prevent the spread of Phytophthora ramorum.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Swine Health
Document Number: 2013-23194
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-09-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations to prevent the interstate spread of swine diseases and protect swine health.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Horses, Ruminants, Swine, and Dogs; Inspection and Treatment for Screwworm
Document Number: 2013-23193
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-09-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of horses, ruminants, swine, and dogs from regions of the world where screwworm is considered to exist.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Communicable Diseases in Horses
Document Number: 2013-23192
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-09-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the interstate movement of horses that have tested positive for equine infectious anemia.
Supplemental Environmental Impact Statement for the Bird Hazard Reduction Program at John F. Kennedy International Airport
Document Number: 2013-23184
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-09-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that a supplemental environmental impact statement will be prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service to analyze a proposed method for managing hazards to aircraft at John F. Kennedy International Airport associated with non- native mute swans in the Gateway National Recreation Area. This action is a supplement to the Gull Hazard Reduction Program at John F. Kennedy International Airport Final Environmental Impact Statement (EIS), May 1994, and the Supplemental EIS, June 2012.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing of a DNA Immunostimulant
Document Number: 2013-23175
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-09-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purpose of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed DNA Immunostimulant recommended for reduction in morbidity and mortality due to Escherichia coli in chickens and reduction in bovine respiratory disease due to Mannheimia haemolytica in cattle. The environmental assessment, which is based on a risk analysis prepared to assess the risks associated with the field testing of this veterinary biological product and related information, examines the potential effects that field testing this product could have on the quality of the human environment. Based on the risk analysis and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this product will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment, and that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared. We intend to authorize shipment of this product for field testing following the close of the comment period for this notice unless new substantial issues bearing on the effects of this action are brought to our attention. We also intend to issue a U.S. Veterinary Biological Product license for this product, provided the field test data support the conclusions of the environmental assessment and the issuance of a finding of no significant impact and the product meets all other requirements for licensing.
Importation of Litchi Fruit From Australia
Document Number: 2013-23044
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations in order to allow, under certain conditions, the importation of commercial shipments of litchi fruit from Australia into the continental United States, except Florida. As a condition of entry, the litchi fruit must be treated with irradiation and subject to inspection. If irradiation is applied outside the United States, the fruit must be inspected jointly by inspectors from the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service and the national plant protection organization (NPPO) of Australia prior to departure and accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the NPPO of Australia certifying that the fruit received the required irradiation treatment. If irradiation is to be applied upon arrival in the United States, the fruit must be inspected by Australian inspectors prior to departure and accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the NPPO of Australia. Additionally, the litchi fruit may not be imported into or distributed within the State of Florida, due to the presence of litchi rust mite in Australia. This action allows for the importation of litchi fruit from Australia into the continental United States, except Florida, while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Requirements for Poultry and Hatching Eggs for Export
Document Number: 2013-23039
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the export of poultry and hatching eggs from the United States.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Bison 2014 Study
Document Number: 2013-23038
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection for the National Animal Health Monitoring System's Bison 2014 Study to support the bison industry of the United States.
Notice of Request for Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Cervid 2014 Study
Document Number: 2013-23037
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-09-23
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request approval of a new information collection for the National Animal Health Monitoring System's Cervid 2014 Study to support the farmed cervid industry in the United States.
Importation of Mangoes From Australia Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-22786
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-09-19
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations concerning the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of fresh mangoes from Australia into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, the mangoes would have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach employing a combination of mitigation measures for the fungus Cytosphaera mangiferae and would have to be inspected prior to exportation from Australia and found free of this disease. The mangoes would have to be imported in commercial consignments only and would have to be treated by irradiation to mitigate the risk of the mango seed weevil and fruit flies. The mangoes would also have to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate with an additional declaration that the conditions for importation have been met. This action would allow the importation of mangoes from Australia while continuing to protect against the introduction of plant pests into the United States.
Animal Welfare; Retail Pet Stores and Licensing Exemptions
Document Number: 2013-22616
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-09-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are revising the definition of retail pet store and related regulations in order to ensure that the definition of retail pet store in the regulations is consistent with the Animal Welfare Act (AWA), thereby bringing more pet animals sold at retail under the protection of the AWA. Specifically, we are narrowing the definition of retail pet store to mean a place of business or residence at which the seller, buyer, and the animal available for sale are physically present so that every buyer may personally observe the animal prior to purchasing and/ or taking custody of that animal after purchase, and where only certain animals are sold or offered for sale, at retail, for use as pets. Retail pet stores are not required to be licensed and inspected under the AWA. In addition, we are removing the limitation on the source of gross income from the licensing exemption in the regulations for any person who does not sell or negotiate the sale of any wild or exotic animal, dog, or cat and who derives no more than $500 gross income from the sale of the animals other than wild or exotic animals, dogs, or cats during any calendar year. We are also increasing from three to four the number of breeding female dogs, cats, and/or small exotic or wild mammals that a person may maintain on his or her premises and be exempt from the licensing and inspection requirements if he or she sells only the offspring of those animals born and raised on his or her premises, for pets or exhibition. This exemption applies regardless of whether those animals are sold at retail or wholesale. These actions are necessary so that all animals sold at retail for use as pets are monitored for their health and humane treatment.
Interstate Movement of Sharwil Avocados From Hawaii
Document Number: 2013-22205
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-09-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the Hawaii quarantine regulations to allow the interstate movement of untreated Sharwil avocados from Hawaii into the continental United States. As a condition of movement, Sharwil avocados from Hawaii will have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that includes requirements for registration and monitoring of places of production and packinghouses, an orchard trapping program, grove sanitation, limits on harvest periods and distribution areas, and harvesting and packing requirements to ensure that only intact fruit that have been protected against infestation are shipped. This action will allow for the interstate movement of Sharwil avocados from Hawaii into other States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Brucellosis in Sheep, Goats, and Horses; Payment of Indemnity
Document Number: 2013-21586
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-09-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the payment of indemnity for sheep, goats, and horses destroyed because of brucellosis.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Emerald Ash Borer Host Material From Canada
Document Number: 2013-21585
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-09-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of emerald ash borer host material from Canada to prevent the introduction and spread of emerald ash borer in the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Credit Account Approval for Reimbursable Services
Document Number: 2013-21565
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-09-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with credit account approval for reimbursable services.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Swine Health Protection
Document Number: 2013-21559
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-09-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the swine health protection program.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Reinstatement of an Expired Information Collection; Bees and Related Articles
Document Number: 2013-21131
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-08-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and reinstatement of an expired information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of bees and related articles into the United States.
Bayer CropScience LP; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Herbicide Resistance
Document Number: 2013-20380
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-08-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a soybean line developed by Bayer CropScience LP (Bayer), designated as event FG72, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to the herbicides glyphosate and isoxaflutole, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by Bayer in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notice announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Importation of Cape Gooseberry From Colombia Into the United States
Document Number: 2013-19959
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-08-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of cape gooseberry from Colombia into the United States. As a condition of entry, cape gooseberry from Colombia would be subject to a systems approach that would include requirements for establishment of pest-free places of production and the labeling of boxes prior to shipping. The cape gooseberry would also have to be imported in commercial consignments and accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the national plant protection organization of Colombia certifying that the fruit has been produced in accordance with the systems approach. This action would allow for the importation of cape gooseberry from Colombia into the United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of plant pests.
Importation of Fresh Oranges and Tangerines From Egypt Into the United States
Document Number: 2013-19958
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-08-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to allow the importation of oranges and tangerines from Egypt. Based on the findings of a pest list and commodity import evaluation document, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the pest risk associated with the importation of oranges and tangerines from Egypt. In addition, based on the findings of a treatment evaluation document, we are advising the public that we are adding a new treatment schedule in the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual that can be used to neutralize peach fruit fly (Bactrocera zonata) and Mediterranean fruit fly (Ceratitis capitata) in oranges and tangerines.