Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 2013 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Results 101 - 150 of 172
Environmental Impact Statement; Feral Swine Damage Management
Document Number: 2013-11271
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-05-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service plans to prepare an environmental impact statement (EIS) to address the need for a national feral swine damage management program to protect agriculture, natural resources, property, and human health and safety. This notice identifies potential issues and alternatives that will be studied in the EIS, requests public comments to further delineate the scope of the alternatives and environmental impacts and issues, and provides notice of public meeting.
Notice of Request for Reinstatement of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Dairy 2014 Study
Document Number: 2013-11030
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-05-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a reinstatement of an information collection to support the National Animal Health Monitoring System's Dairy 2014 Study to support the dairy industry of the United States.
Horse Protection Act; Requiring Horse Industry Organizations To Assess and Enforce Minimum Penalties for Violations; Correction
Document Number: 2013-11028
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-05-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In a final rule that was published in the Federal Register on June 7, 2012, and effective on July 9, 2012, we amended the horse protection regulations to require horse industry organizations or associations that license Designated Qualified Persons to assess and enforce minimum penalties for violations of the Horse Protection Act. This document corrects an error in that final rule.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Commercial Transportation of Equines for Slaughter
Document Number: 2013-11027
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-05-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the commercial transportation of equines to slaughtering facilities.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Table Eggs From Regions Where Newcastle Disease Exists
Document Number: 2013-11026
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-05-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of table eggs from regions where Newcastle disease exists.
Importation of Jackfruit, Pineapple, and Starfruit From Malaysia Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-10826
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-05-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of fresh jackfruit, pineapple, and starfruit from Malaysia into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, all three commodities would have to be irradiated for insect pests, inspected, and imported in commercial consignments. There would also be additional, commodity-specific requirements for other pests associated with jackfruit, pineapple, and starfruit from Malaysia. This action would provide for the importation of jackfruit, pineapple, and starfruit from Malaysia while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Recordkeeping for Approved Livestock Facilities and Slaughtering and Rendering Establishments
Document Number: 2013-10825
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-05-07
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations regarding the interstate movement of livestock to require approved livestock facilities and listed slaughtering and rendering establishments to maintain certain records for 5 years. Currently, approved livestock facilities are required to retain certain records for 2 years, and there are no record retention provisions that apply to listed slaughtering and rendering establishments. Requiring the retention of certain records for 5 years will allow us to trace the prior movements of diseased livestock further into the past than is currently possible, thus providing the opportunity to locate potentially infected or exposed livestock that might otherwise remain unidentified. We are also requiring the operators of slaughtering and rendering establishments to sign listing agreements to document their agreement to comply with the requirements of the regulations for listed slaughtering and rendering establishments. Such agreements are currently required for approved livestock facilities, but not for slaughtering and rendering facilities. This change will eliminate that inconsistency.
Plants for Planting Whose Importation is Not Authorized Pending Pest Risk Analysis; Notice of Availability of Data Sheets for Taxa of Plants for Planting That Are Quarantine Pests or Hosts of Quarantine Pests
Document Number: 2013-10656
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-05-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that 22 taxa of plants for planting are quarantine pests and 37 taxa of plants for planting are hosts of 9 quarantine pests and therefore should be added to our lists of taxa of plants for planting whose importation is not authorized pending pest risk analysis. We have prepared data sheets that detail the scientific evidence we evaluated in making the determination that the taxa are quarantine pests or hosts of quarantine pests. We are making these data sheets available to the public for review and comment.
Changes to Scrapie Flock Certification Program
Document Number: 2013-10543
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-05-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are giving notice of changes to the Scrapie Flock Certification Program (SFCP), a voluntary program for sheep and goat flock owners who wish to reduce and/or eliminate the risk of introducing classical scrapie into their flocks. In order to refocus the program's risk reduction strategy on animal sampling, we plan to eliminate the Complete Monitored category of the SFCP. This will affect all ``Complete Monitored'' and ``Certified'' flocks. Flock owners who are currently enrolled in the Complete Monitored or Certified category who wish to remain in the SFCP will be allowed to enroll in either the Select category or the Export category. This change will allow us to apply limited agency resources to areas that most effectively contribute to scrapie eradication, such as nationwide surveillance activities for the disease in sheep and goats.
Stine Seed Farm, Inc.; Extension of a Determination of Nonregulated Status of Corn Genetically Engineered for Herbicide Resistance
Document Number: 2013-10510
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-05-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is extending to maize line HCEM485, which has been genetically engineered to be resistant to the herbicide glyphosate, our determination of nonregulated status of Roundup Ready[supreg] corn line GA21. Therefore, APHIS no longer considers maize line HCEM485 to be a regulated article under Agency regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our decision is based on our evaluation of data submitted by Stine Seed Farm, Inc., in its request for an extension of a determination of nonregulated status, an analysis of other scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to a previous notice announcing our preliminary determination. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination, final environmental assessment, plant pest risk assessment, and our finding of no significant impact.
J.R. Simplot Co.; Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Potato Genetically Engineered for Low Acrylamide Potential and Reduced Black Spot Bruise
Document Number: 2013-10504
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-05-03
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from the J.R. Simplot Company (Simplot) seeking a determination of nonregulated status of potatoes designated as Innate\TM\ potatoes (events E12, E24, F10, F37, J3, J55, J78, G11, H37, and H50), which have been genetically engineered for low acrylamide potential (acrylamide is a human neurotoxicant and potential carcinogen that may form in potatoes and other starchy foods under certain cooking conditions) and reduced black spot bruise. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the Simplot petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that APHIS may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Controlled Import Permits
Document Number: 2013-10385
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-05-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations concerning the importation of plants and plant products by establishing the controlled import permit as a single type of authorization for the importation into the United States of otherwise prohibited or restricted plant material for experimental, therapeutic, or developmental purposes. Currently, some sections of the regulations provide for those articles to be imported under a departmental permit, while other sections provide for their importation under administrative instructions or conditions specified by the Administrator or Deputy Administrator. This action will consolidate and harmonize the conditions for obtaining authorization for the importation of otherwise prohibited or restricted plant material for scientific or certain other purposes.
Notice of Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Barhi Dates From Israel
Document Number: 2013-10384
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-05-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation into the United States of fresh dates of the cultivar Barhi from Israel. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh dates of the cultivar Barhi from Israel. In addition, based on the findings of a treatment evaluation document, we are advising the public of our decision to add a treatment schedule for Ceratitis capitata in Barhi dates to the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual.
Importation of Fresh Beans, Shelled or in Pods, From Jordan Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-10383
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-05-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of commercial shipments of fresh beans, shelled or in pods (French, green, snap, and string), from Jordan into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, the beans would have to be produced in accordance with a systems approach that would include requirements for packing, washing, and processing. The beans would also be required to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate attesting that all phytosanitary requirements have been met and that the consignment was inspected and found free of quarantine pests. This action would allow for the importation of fresh beans, shelled or in pods, from Jordan into the continental United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of plant pests.
Importation of Female Squash Flowers From Israel Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-10382
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-05-02
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations governing the importation of fruits and vegetables to allow the importation of female squash flowers from Israel into the continental United States. As a condition of entry, female squash flowers from Israel would be subject to a systems approach that would include requirements for pest exclusion at the production site and fruit fly trapping and monitoring. The female squash flowers would also be required to be accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the national plant protection organization of Israel with an additional declaration that the female squash flowers had been inspected and found free of quarantine pests. This action would allow for the importation of female squash flowers from Israel into the continental United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests.
Notice of a Determination Regarding the Swine Vesicular Disease Status of Certain Regions in Italy
Document Number: 2013-09929
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-04-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that the Italian Regions of Lombardia, Emilia-Romagna, Veneto, and Piemonte and the autonomous provinces of Trento and Bolzano are free of swine vesicular disease. Based on an assessment of the animal health status of these areas, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice of availability, the Administrator has determined that the importation of pork or pork products from these areas presents a low risk of introducing swine vesicular disease into the United States. This determination is based on our review of the documentation submitted by the Government of Italy in support of its request and the findings of our own animal health risk evaluation.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Seed and Screenings From Canada Into the United States
Document Number: 2013-09911
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of seed and screenings from Canada into the United States.
Gypsy Moth Generally Infested Areas; Additions in Wisconsin
Document Number: 2013-09804
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-04-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the gypsy moth regulations by adding areas in Wisconsin to the list of generally infested areas based on the detection of infestations of gypsy moth in those areas. As a result of this action, the interstate movement of regulated articles from those areas is restricted. This action is necessary to prevent the artificial spread of the gypsy moth to noninfested areas of the United States.
Updates to the List of Plant Inspection Stations
Document Number: 2013-09801
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-04-26
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of plants for planting to remove the entries for the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) plant inspection stations in New Orleans, LA, and Baltimore, MD, and to add an entry for the USDA plant inspection station in Beltsville, MD. We are also updating the addresses provided for the USDA plant inspection stations in Florida, Guam, and Hawaii. This final rule is necessary for the regulations to reflect the most current information regarding USDA plant inspection stations.
Restructuring of Regulations on the Importation of Plants for Planting
Document Number: 2013-09737
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-04-25
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to restructure our regulations governing the importation of plants for planting. In the proposed structure, restrictions on the importation of specific types of plants for planting would no longer be found in the regulations, but instead would be found in the Plants for Planting Manual. We would change those restrictions after taking public comment through notices published in the Federal Register. As part of this restructuring, we would group together restrictions in the plants for planting regulations that apply to the importation of most or all plants for planting, and we would add general requirements for the development of integrated pest risk management measures that we would use to mitigate the risk associated with the importation of a specific type of plants for planting. We would also amend our foreign quarantine regulations to remove various provisions regarding the importation of specific types of plants for planting that are not currently subject to the general plants for planting regulations; these provisions would also be found in the Plants for Planting Manual. This action would not make any major changes to the restrictions that currently apply to the importation of plants for planting. These changes would make restrictions on the importation of specific types of plants for planting easier for readers to find and less cumbersome for us to change.
Notice of Emergency Approval of an Information Collection; National Animal Health Monitoring System; Equine Herpesvirus Myeloencephalopathy Study
Document Number: 2013-09736
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has requested and received emergency approval of an information collection for a National Animal Health Monitoring System Equine Herpesvirus Myeloencephalopathy Study to support the equine industry in the United States.
Notice of Availability of a Pest Risk Analysis for Interstate Movement of Sapote Fruit From Puerto Rico Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-09735
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest risk analysis that evaluates the risks associated with the interstate movement into the continental United States of fresh sapote fruit from Puerto Rico. Based on that analysis, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the interstate movement of sapote fruit from Puerto Rico. We are making the pest risk analysis available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of a National Animal Health Laboratory Network Reorganization Concept Paper
Document Number: 2013-09733
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-24
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available a concept paper that describes a revised structure for the National Animal Health Laboratory Network (NAHLN) for public review and comment. The NAHLN is a nationally coordinated network and partnership of Federal, State, and university- associated animal health laboratories working to protect animal and public health and the nation's food supply by providing diagnostic testing aimed at detecting biological threats to the nation's food animals. The concept paper we are making available for comment presents a structure we believe will give the NAHLN increased capacity and flexibility to detect and respond to emerging and zoonotic diseases.
Gypsy Moth Program; Record of Decision
Document Number: 2013-09395
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our record of decision for the final supplemental environmental impact statement for the Gypsy Moth Program.
Notice of Availability of a Swine Brucellosis and Pseudorabies Proposed Action Plan
Document Number: 2013-09394
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are reopening the comment period for a notice that made a proposed action plan describing a potential new approach to managing swine brucellosis and pseudorabies available for public review and comment. This action will allow interested persons additional time to prepare and submit comments.
Monsanto Company and Forage Genetics International (FGI); Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Genetically Engineered Alfalfa
Document Number: 2013-09384
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-22
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from the Monsanto Company and Forage Genetics International (FGI) seeking a determination of nonregulated status of alfalfa designated as event KK179, which has been genetically engineered to express reduced levels of guaiacyl lignin. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the Monsanto Company and FGI petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that APHIS may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Plants for Planting Whose Importation Is Not Authorized Pending Pest Risk Analysis; Notice of Addition of Taxa of Plants for Planting To List of Taxa Whose Importation Is Not Authorized Pending Pest Risk Analysis
Document Number: 2013-09147
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we are adding 31 taxa of plants for planting that are quarantine pests and 107 taxa of plants for planting that are hosts of 13 quarantine pests to our lists of taxa of plants for planting whose importation is not authorized pending pest risk analysis. A previous notice made data sheets that detailed the scientific evidence we evaluated in making the determination that the taxa are quarantine pests or hosts of quarantine pests available to the public for review and comment. This notice responds to the comments we received and makes available final versions of the data sheets, with changes in response to comments.
Importation of Fresh Oranges and Tangerines From Egypt Into the United States
Document Number: 2013-09146
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have prepared a pest list associated with oranges and tangerines from Egypt that identifies pests of concern. Subsequently, we prepared a commodity import evaluation document to determine the risk posed by peach fruit fly in oranges and tangerines from Egypt. Based on that evaluation, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the pest risk. In addition, we are advising the public that we have prepared a treatment evaluation document that describes a new treatment schedule that can be used to neutralize peach fruit fly and Mediterranean fruit fly in oranges and tangerines. We are making the pest list, commodity import evaluation document, and treatment evaluation document available to the public for review and comment.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment for Field Testing of a Yersinia Pestis Vaccine, Live Raccoon Poxvirus Vector
Document Number: 2013-09144
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-04-18
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment concerning authorization to ship for the purpose of field testing, and then to field test, an unlicensed Yersinia Pestis Vaccine, Live Raccoon Poxvirus Vector. The environmental assessment, which is based on a risk analysis prepared to assess the risks associated with the field testing of this vaccine and related information, examines the potential effects that field testing this veterinary vaccine could have on the quality of the human environment. Based on the risk analysis and other relevant data, we have reached a preliminary determination that field testing this veterinary vaccine will not have a significant impact on the quality of the human environment, and that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared. We intend to authorize shipment of this vaccine for field testing following the close of the comment period for this notice unless new substantial issues bearing on the effects of this action are brought to our attention. We also intend to issue a U.S. Veterinary Biological Product license for this vaccine, provided the field test data support the conclusions of the environmental assessment and the issuance of a finding of no significant impact and the product meets all other requirements for licensing.
Importation of Live Birds and Poultry, Poultry Meat, and Poultry Products From a Region in the European Union
Document Number: 2013-07345
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-03-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are amending the regulations governing the importation of animals and animal products by recognizing 25 Member States of the European Union (EU) as the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS)-defined EU poultry trade region and adding it to the list of regions we consider to be free of Newcastle disease. We are taking this action based on a risk evaluation that we prepared in which we determined that the region meets our requirements for being considered free of Newcastle disease. We also determined that the region meets our requirements for being considered free of highly pathogenic avian influenza (HPAI). In addition, we are establishing requirements governing the importation of live birds and poultry and poultry meat and products from the APHIS-defined EU poultry trade region and updating avian disease terms and definitions. We are also allowing importation from the APHIS-defined EU poultry trade region of hatching eggs under official seal, including those that have transited a restricted zone established because of detection of HPAI within the boundaries of the APHIS-defined EU poultry trade region. These actions will facilitate the importation of live birds and poultry, including hatching eggs, and poultry meat and products from the APHIS-defined EU poultry trade region while maintaining safeguards to protect the United States from the introduction of communicable avian diseases.
Information Sharing With Agency Stakeholders: Public Meeting
Document Number: 2013-05566
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-03-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are informing the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) is soliciting feedback from our stakeholders regarding cross-Agency strategic priorities. We are also announcing that APHIS is hosting a public meeting to share information about the Agency's budget and program restructuring, as well as to provide an opportunity for stakeholders to ask questions and share their perspective.
Notice of Affirmation of Addition of a Treatment Schedule for Methyl Bromide Fumigation of Cottonseed
Document Number: 2013-05142
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-03-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are affirming our earlier determination that it was necessary to immediately add to the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual a treatment schedule for methyl bromide fumigation of cottonseed for the fungal plant pathogen Fusarium oxysporum f. sp. vasinfectum (FOV). In a previous notice, we made available to the public for review and comment a treatment evaluation document that described the new treatment schedule and explained why we have determined that it is effective at neutralizing FOV, certain strains of which are quarantine pests.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for a Biological Control Agent for Hemlock Woolly Adelgid
Document Number: 2013-05141
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-03-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to the release of Scymnus coniferarum to control hemlock woolly adelgid. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Availability of an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact for the Field Release of Aphelinus glycinis for the Biological Control of the Soybean Aphid in the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-05140
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-03-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to the release of Aphelinus glycinis for the biological control of soybean aphid, Aphis glycines, in the continental United States. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Notice of Availability of a Treatment Evaluation Document and an Environmental Assessment for Pesticide Use in the Imported Fire Ant Program
Document Number: 2013-05139
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-03-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that we have determined that it is necessary to add and revise certain treatment schedules for the Imported Fire Ant Program in the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual. Thus, we have prepared a treatment evaluation document that discusses the existing treatment schedules, describes the new treatment schedules, and explains why these changes are necessary. In addition, an environmental assessment has been prepared by the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service relative to pesticide use in the new and revised treatments in the imported fire ant program. The environmental assessment documents our review and analysis of environmental impacts associated with proposed new pesticides and new uses for previously approved pesticides. We are making this treatment evaluation document and environmental assessment available to the public for review and comment.
Notice of Availability of New Guidelines for Pest Risk Assessments of Imported Fruits and Vegetables
Document Number: 2013-05138
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-03-06
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has prepared a document that describes the revised methodology that APHIS will use to conduct plant health pest risk assessments for imported fruit and vegetable commodities. These new guidelines are necessary to incorporate advancements in pest risk assessment methods, provide clearer and more transparent analyses, and streamline the market access analysis process.
Dow AgroSciences LLC; Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2013-04523
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from Dow AgroSciences LLC (DAS) seeking a determination of nonregulated status of soybean designated as DAS-81419-2, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to certain lepidopteran pests. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the DAS petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that APHIS may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Monsanto Co.; Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Dicamba and Glufosinate Tolerant Cotton
Document Number: 2013-04522
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from the Monsanto Company (Monsanto) seeking a determination of nonregulated status of cotton designated as MON 88701, which has been genetically engineered for tolerance to the herbicides dicamba and glufosinate. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the Monsanto petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that APHIS may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Syngenta Seeds, Inc., and Bayer CropScience AG; Availability of Petition for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Herbicide Tolerance
Document Number: 2013-04521
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) has received a petition from Syngenta Seeds, Inc., and Bayer CropScience AG seeking a determination of nonregulated status of soybean designated as event SYHTOH2, which has been genetically engineered for tolerance to the herbicides glufosinate and mesotrione. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are making the Syngenta Seeds, Inc., and Bayer CropScience AG petition available for review and comment to help us identify potential environmental and interrelated economic issues and impacts that APHIS may determine should be considered in our evaluation of the petition.
Stine Seed Farm, Inc.; Availability of Plant Pest Risk Assessment, Environmental Assessment, and Preliminary Decision for an Extension of a Determination of Nonregulated Status of Corn Genetically Engineered for Herbicide Tolerance
Document Number: 2013-04520
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a preliminary decision regarding a request from Stine Seed Farm, Inc., to extend to maize line HCEM485, which has been genetically engineered to be tolerant to the herbicide glyphosate, our determination of nonregulated status of Roundup Ready[supreg] corn line GA21. We are seeking comment on whether this genetically engineered corn is likely to pose a plant pest risk. We are making available for public comment our plant pest risk assessment and draft environmental assessment for the proposed determination of nonregulated status.
ArborGen Inc.; Availability of Petition, Notice of Intent To Prepare an Environmental Impact Statement for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Freeze Tolerant Eucalyptus Lines, and Notice of Virtual Public Meetings
Document Number: 2013-04519
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition from ArborGen Inc. seeking a determination of nonregulated status of Freeze Tolerant Eucalyptus lines designated 427 and 435, which have been genetically engineered (GE) to be more tolerant of cold conditions. The incorporation of the GE trait allows these eucalyptus hybrid trees to be grown in a broader geographic area than non-GE eucalyptus hybrid trees. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain GE organisms and products. We are making available for public comment the ArborGen Inc. petition and are soliciting comments on whether these GE eucalyptus lines are likely to pose a plant pest risk. We are also announcing to the public our intent to prepare an environmental impact statement (EIS) on the action with regard to the petition for nonregulated status, identifying potential issues and alternatives that may be studied in the EIS, and requesting public comments to further delineate the scope of the alternatives and environmental impacts and issues. We are also announcing that APHIS will be hosting two virtual meetings during the comment period. The purpose of the meetings will be to further delineate the scope of alternatives and environmental impacts and issues discussed in the EIS.
Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.; Availability of Petition, Plant Pest Risk Assessment, and Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Maize Genetically Engineered for Herbicide Tolerance and Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2013-04518
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition from Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc., (Pioneer) seeking a determination of nonregulated status of maize designated as maize event DP-[Oslash][Oslash]4114-3, which has been genetically engineered to be resistant to certain lepidopteran and coleopteran pests and tolerant to the herbicide glufosinate. The petition has been submitted in accordance with our regulations concerning the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms and products. We are soliciting comments on whether this genetically engineered maize is likely to pose a plant pest risk. We are making available for public comment the Pioneer petition, our plant pest risk assessment, and our draft environmental assessment for the proposed determination of nonregulated status.
Syngenta Biotechnology, Inc.; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Corn Genetically Engineered for Insect Resistance
Document Number: 2013-04517
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a corn line developed by the Syngenta Biotechnology, Inc., designated as event SYN-05307-1, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to corn rootworm, an insect pest of corn, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by Syngenta Biotechnology, Inc., in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notice announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Spring Viremia of Carp; Import Restrictions on Certain Live Fish, Fertilized Eggs, and Gametes
Document Number: 2013-04496
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of live fish, fertilized eggs, and gametes to prevent the introduction of spring viremia of carp into the United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Importation of Fruits and Vegetables
Document Number: 2013-04495
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of certain fruits and vegetables into the United States.
Sharing Certain Business Information Regarding the Introduction of Genetically Engineered Organisms With State and Tribal Government Agencies
Document Number: 2013-04478
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend our regulations regarding genetically engineered organisms regulated by the United States Department of Agriculture by adding provisions for sharing certain business information with State and Tribal government agencies. The proposed provisions would govern the sharing of certain information contained in permit applications and notifications for importations, interstate movements, or releases into the environment of regulated articles. The procedures would allow the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) to share certain business information with State and Tribal governments without impairing our ability to protect confidential business information from disclosure. APHIS currently withholds such information when it shares applications with non-Federal Government agencies. This action would improve our collaborative and cooperative efforts with State and Tribal governments as well as improve the effectiveness of our notification and permitting procedures as APHIS continues to regulate certain genetically engineered organisms.
Notice of Decision To Issue Permits for the Importation of Strawberry Fruit From Egypt Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-04475
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-27
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to begin issuing permits for the importation into the continental United States of fresh strawberry fruit from Egypt. Based on the findings of a pest risk analysis, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh strawberry fruit from Egypt.
Agency Information Collection Activities; OMB Approval Received
Document Number: 2013-03584
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-02-15
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act, this notice announces the Office of Management and Budget's approval of a collection of information contained in the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's final rule regarding the possession, use, and transfer of select agents and toxins.
Importation of Plants for Planting
Document Number: 2013-03058
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-02-12
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the regulations on importing plants for planting to add Turkey to the list of countries from which the importation of restricted articles of Chrysanthemum spp., Leucanthemella serotina, and Nipponanthemum nipponicum into the United States is prohibited due to the presence of white rust of Chrysanthemum; to require permits for the importation of any seed that is coated, pelleted, or embedded in a substrate that obscures visibility; to provide for an alternate additional declaration on phytosanitary certificates that accompany articles imported from a country in which potato cyst nematodes are known to occur; to provide conditions for the importation of Prunus spp. articles from Canada that address the presence of plum pox potyvirus in that country; and to provide for the importation of Dianthus spp. (carnations) from the Netherlands. We are also proposing other changes to update and clarify the regulations and to improve their effectiveness. These changes are necessary to relieve restrictions that appear unnecessary, to update existing provisions, and to make the regulations easier to understand and implement.
Importation of Horses From Contagious Equine Metritis-Affected Countries
Document Number: 2013-03024
Type: Rule
Date: 2013-02-11
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are adopting as a final rule, with changes, an interim rule that amended the regulations regarding the importation of horses from countries affected with contagious equine metritis (CEM) by incorporating an additional certification requirement for imported horses 731 days of age or less and adding new testing protocols for test mares and imported stallions and mares more than 731 days of age. This document revises certain CEM-testing requirements for imported stallions and mares, and for test mares, that were amended in the interim rule. The interim rule was necessary to provide additional safeguards against the introduction of CEM through the importation of affected horses.