Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service August 2013 – Federal Register Recent Federal Regulation Documents

Notice of Request for Revision to and Reinstatement of an Expired Information Collection; Bees and Related Articles
Document Number: 2013-21131
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-08-29
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and reinstatement of an expired information collection associated with the regulations for the importation of bees and related articles into the United States.
Bayer CropScience LP; Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Herbicide Resistance
Document Number: 2013-20380
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-08-21
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our determination that a soybean line developed by Bayer CropScience LP (Bayer), designated as event FG72, which has been genetically engineered for resistance to the herbicides glyphosate and isoxaflutole, is no longer considered a regulated article under our regulations governing the introduction of certain genetically engineered organisms. Our determination is based on our evaluation of data submitted by Bayer in its petition for a determination of nonregulated status, our analysis of available scientific data, and comments received from the public in response to our previous notice announcing the availability of the petition for nonregulated status and its associated environmental assessment and plant pest risk assessment. This notice also announces the availability of our written determination and finding of no significant impact.
Importation of Cape Gooseberry From Colombia Into the United States
Document Number: 2013-19959
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-08-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to amend the fruits and vegetables regulations to allow the importation of cape gooseberry from Colombia into the United States. As a condition of entry, cape gooseberry from Colombia would be subject to a systems approach that would include requirements for establishment of pest-free places of production and the labeling of boxes prior to shipping. The cape gooseberry would also have to be imported in commercial consignments and accompanied by a phytosanitary certificate issued by the national plant protection organization of Colombia certifying that the fruit has been produced in accordance with the systems approach. This action would allow for the importation of cape gooseberry from Colombia into the United States while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of plant pests.
Importation of Fresh Oranges and Tangerines From Egypt Into the United States
Document Number: 2013-19958
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-08-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to allow the importation of oranges and tangerines from Egypt. Based on the findings of a pest list and commodity import evaluation document, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we have concluded that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the pest risk associated with the importation of oranges and tangerines from Egypt. In addition, based on the findings of a treatment evaluation document, we are advising the public that we are adding a new treatment schedule in the Plant Protection and Quarantine Treatment Manual that can be used to neutralize peach fruit fly (Bactrocera zonata) and Mediterranean fruit fly (Ceratitis capitata) in oranges and tangerines.
Environmental Impact Statement; Asian Longhorned Beetle Eradication Program
Document Number: 2013-19957
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-08-16
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service plans to prepare an environmental impact statement to analyze the effects of a program to eradicate the Asian longhorned beetle from wherever it might occur in the United States. This notice identifies potential issues and alternatives that will be studied in the environmental impact statement and requests public comments to further delineate the scope of the alternatives and environmental impacts and issues.
Oral Rabies Vaccine Trial; Availability of a Supplement to an Environmental Assessment and Finding of No Significant Impact
Document Number: 2013-19835
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-08-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has prepared a supplement to an environmental assessment and finding of no significant impact relative to an oral rabies vaccination field trial in New Hampshire, New York, Ohio, Vermont, and West Virginia. Based on its finding of no significant impact, the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has determined that an environmental impact statement need not be prepared.
Wildlife Services Policy on Wildlife Damage Management in Urban Areas
Document Number: 2013-19831
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-08-14
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's Wildlife Services (APHIS-WS) program is making a policy decision on how to define ``urban rodent control,'' as referred to in the Act of December 22, 1987. This action is necessary to make it clearer when APHIS-WS may or may not conduct activities and enter into agreements in order to control nuisance rodent species or those rodent species that are reservoirs for zoonotic diseases.
Notice of Decision To Authorize the Importation of Fresh Pitayas and Pomegranates From Mexico Into the Continental United States
Document Number: 2013-19551
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-08-13
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public of our decision to authorize the importation into the continental United States of fresh pitayas and pomegranates from Mexico. Based on the findings of pest risk analyses, which we made available to the public for review and comment through a previous notice, we believe that the application of one or more designated phytosanitary measures will be sufficient to mitigate the risks of introducing or disseminating plant pests or noxious weeds via the importation of fresh pitayas and pomegranates from Mexico.
Importation of Papayas From Peru
Document Number: 2013-19314
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-08-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are proposing to allow, under certain conditions, the importation of commercial consignments of fresh papayas from Peru into the continental United States. The conditions for the importation of papayas from Peru would include requirements for approved production locations; field sanitation; hot water treatment; procedures for packing and shipping the papayas; and fruit fly trapping in papaya production areas. This action would allow for the importation of papayas from Peru while continuing to provide protection against the introduction of quarantine pests into the continental United States.
Notice of Request for Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Plum Pox Compensation
Document Number: 2013-19313
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-08-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request an extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations that provide for the payment of compensation to owners of commercial stone fruit orchards and fruit tree nurseries whose trees or nursery stock were destroyed to eradicate plum pox virus.
Notice of Request for Revision to and Extension of Approval of an Information Collection; Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza, All Subtypes, and Newcastle Disease; Additional Restrictions
Document Number: 2013-19312
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-08-09
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
In accordance with the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, this notice announces the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service's intention to request a revision to and extension of approval of an information collection associated with the regulations to prevent the introduction of highly pathogenic avian influenza, all subtypes, and Newcastle disease into the United States through the importation of birds, poultry, and unprocessed bird and poultry products.
Monsanto Co.; Availability of Plant Pest Risk Assessment and Environmental Assessment for Determination of Nonregulated Status of Soybean Genetically Engineered for Increased Yield
Document Number: 2013-18876
Type: Notice
Date: 2013-08-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are advising the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service is making available for public comment our plant pest risk assessment and our draft environmental assessment regarding a request from the Monsanto Company seeking a determination of nonregulated status of soybean designated as MON 87712, which has been genetically engineered for increased yield. We are soliciting comments on whether this genetically engineered soybean is likely to pose a plant pest risk.
Petition to Amend Animal Welfare Act Regulations To Prohibit Public Contact With Big Cats, Bears, and Nonhuman Primates
Document Number: 2013-18874
Type: Proposed Rule
Date: 2013-08-05
Agency: Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
We are notifying the public that the Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service has received a petition requesting amendments to the Animal Welfare Act regulations and standards, including to prohibit licensees from allowing individuals, with certain exceptions, from coming into direct or physical contact with big cats, bears, or nonhuman primates of any age, to define the term ``sufficient distance,'' and to prohibit the public handling of young or immature big cats, bears, and nonhuman primates and the separation of such animals from their dams before the species-typical age of weaning absent medical necessity. We are making this petition available to the public and soliciting comments regarding the petition and any additional issues we should take into account as we consider this petition.